Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over CN109402479A(CN’479).
Regarding claim 1, CN’479 discloses a high wear-resistant and tough NbC-based lightweight cermet alloy and a preparation method thereof, comprising the following steps: the powder is weighed and prepared according to the mass percentage: the mass fraction of the hard phase powder is 35-90% NbC, 0-55% (Nb,M)C; the mass fraction of the chemical powder of the strengthening phase is 5-30% WC, 0-25% TiC, 0-25% TiN, 0-25% Ti(C,N), 0-15% Mo2C, 0~10%TaC; binder phase matrix alloy powder chemical composition mass percentage is 0-20% Ni, 0-20% Mo, 0-20% Cr, 0-15% Fe, 0-15% Co; grain suppression he powder of the agent is 0 to 2.5% ZrC, 0 to 2.5% VC, 0 to 5% Cr2C3, and 0 to 1.2% of carbon black powder. The powdered material is pressed and sintered. Further, the M element of (Nb, M)C is any one or more of Mo, W, Ta, Ti, Zr, Cr, V solid solution powders, wherein the mass fraction ratio Nb accounts for 50% to 95%. See pages 1-2.
The reference differs from Applicant's recitations of claims by not disclosing identical ranges. However, the reference discloses "close" ranges, and close ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Regrading claim 12, it has been held that same or similar process produces same or similar product. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 17, although the prior art is silent about the core-rim structure, it has been held that same or similar process produces same or similar product. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that CN'479 forms the wear-resistant cermet alloy by specifically using a (Nb, M)C powder alloy as an indispensable component in an amount of from 5 wt. % to 55 wt.%. In other words, CN'479 explicitly requires the presence of the (Nb, M)C powder alloy in an amount of from 5 wt. % to 55 wt. % in the wear-resistant cermet alloy.
The Examiner respectfully submits that the prior art discloses that the mass fraction of the hard phase powder is 35-90% NbC, 0-55% (Nb,M)C…… See page 1, last second paragraph. Thus (Nb,M)C content can be zero. Furthermore, a reference is not limited to the teaching in its preferred embodiment (A reference is good not only for what it teaches but also for what one of ordinary skill might reasonably infer from the teachings. In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (CAFC 1989); In re Bode USPQ 12; In re Lamberti 192 USPQ 278; In re Bozek 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969); In re Van Mater 144 USPQ 421; In re Jacoby 135 USPQ 317; In re LeGrice 133 USPQ 365; In re Preda 159 USPQ 342 (CCPA 1968). In addition, "A reference can be used for all it realistically teaches and is not limited to the disclosure in its preferred embodiments" See In re Van Marter, 144 USPQ 421).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731