DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species ranibizumab in the reply filed on 10 June 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 18 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10 June 2025.
Status of Application, Amendments, And/Or Claims
The preliminary amendment of 15 September 2022 has been entered in full. Claims 1, 7, 8, and 22-36 are canceled. Claim 18 is withdrawn from consideration as discussed above. Claims 2-6, 9-17, 19-21, 37, and 38 are under examination.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency - The Incorporation by Reference paragraph required by 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) is missing or incomplete. See item 1) a) or 1) b) above. Specifically, the Incorporation by Reference paragraph refers to the size of the file in kilobytes rather than bytes. Upon allowance, the printer will not accept “kilobytes.”
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation-by-reference paragraph, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite the acronyms VEGF, VEGFR2 and VEGFR. In the interest of clarity, acronyms should be spelled out at their first usage, followed by the acronym in parentheses. Subsequent recitations of the term may be by acronym alone. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US 2014/0315947 A1; published 23 October 2014).
Kwon et al. teach a method of treating Ménière’s Disease (MD) in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering a therapeutically effective dose of a VEGF inhibitor to the subject. See [0032] and [0045]-[0046] regarding treatment of MD. See [0027] and [0032] regarding the VEGF inhibitory activity of at least compounds A1893 and A1938. This anticipates claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, systemic administration is taught at [0050].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6, 9-17, 19-21, 37, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 2014/0315947 A1; published 23 October 2014) in view of Ishiyama et al. (March 2017, Scientific Reports 7:253; POI:10.1038/s41598-017-00330-5; pp. 1-10) and Lichter et al. (US 2009/0306225 A1; published 10 December 2009).
Kwon et al. teach a method of treating Ménière’s Disease (MD) in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering a therapeutically effective dose of a VEGF inhibitor to the subject. See [0032] and [0045]-[0046] regarding treatment of MD. See [0027] and [0032] regarding the VEGF inhibitory activity of at least compounds A1893 and A1938.
Kwon et al. do not teach administering a VEGF inhibitor to an affected ear of the subject.
Ishiyama et al. teach that subjects suffering from MD had differential ultrastructural pathological changes in the cellular elements of the microvasculature of the utricular stroma (located in the inner ear), including moderate degeneration of the blood labyrinthine barrier (BLB) and damaged vascular endothelial cells. See abstract. Ishiyama et al. state that understanding the dynamics of the BLB is important to develop therapeutic drug delivery systems to the inner ear to control the BLB inflammatory response (p. 1).
Lichter et al. teach aural formulations to treat diseases of the ear including MD. See abstract; [0033]; [0057]; [0065]; [0099]; [0153]; [0155]-[166]; [0312]. Lichter et al. focus on formulations comprising an active ingredient that can be locally administered to an affected ear of the subject. These formulations can take the form of a hydrogel and/or sustained release formulations, for example. Lichter et al. teach that formulations of this sort can be delivered to the inner ear, including the labyrinth. See [0671]-[0673]. This is relevant to claims 4-6, 11, 12.
Lichter et al. further teach administration of ranibizumab. See [0367]. This is relevant to claims 19-21 and 38. While none of the references explicitly recite at least a 10-fold selectivity of ranibizumab for VEGFR2 over VEGFR, it is noted that this is an inherent feature of ranibizumab, absent evidence to the contrary.
Lichter et al. also teach intratympanic injection of their formulations. See [0034], [0058], for example.
None of the references explicitly teach volumes, w/w amounts, or length of sustained release as recited in claims 9, 10, 13-16, and 37. However, Kwon et al. teach that factors such as dosage are routinely optimized by the ordinary skilled artisan, taking into account such factors as formulating method, manner of administration, age, body weight, sex, morbidity of patient, food, time of administration, route of administration, excretion rate, and response sensitivity. See [0051]. Lichter et al. echo these teachings at [0731], [0816]-[0830], and [0845]-[0846], for examples.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the method of treating MD comprising administering a VEGF inhibitor as taught by Kwon et al. by utilizing the localized delivery formulations including extended release, hydrogels, intratympanic injection, and ranibizumab as taught by Lichter et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to do so would have been apparent from the teachings of Ishiyama et al. that the microvasculature of the BLB in MD patients is abnormal, and delivery routes effective therefor and effective thereon would be expected to be beneficial.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-6, 9-17, 19-21, 37, and 38 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8, 9, 11-15, 17-22, and 39-45 of copending Application No. 17/797,606 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
Both sets of claims recite limitations including treatment of subjects suffering from MD, local administration to the affected ear(s), administration of ranibizumab, overlapping concentrations of effective agents, hydrogels and amounts of gelling agents therein, intratympanic injection, and total amounts of administered formulations.
The claims differ in that the instant claims are limited to treatment of MD whereas the copending claims recite MD in the alternative with other otic diseases/conditions. However, the copending claims clearly suggest treating MD, and render the instant claims obvious in this respect.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ELIZABETH C. KEMMERER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1674
/ECK/
23 June 2025