DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3 and 5-14 are pending. Claim 4 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/15/26, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues ‘that one of ordinary skill in the art would have lacked motivation to combine Ohmi with Yoshida. Ohmi is directed to a differential pressure- type flowmeter that determines flow rate based on a pressure difference across a flow path and therefore relies on stable flow conditions and consistent fluid properties for accurate measurement. By contrast, Yoshida is directed to a heat-recovery structure employing a porous ceramic body within a metal pipe. Yoshida further presupposes a configuration involving a second fluid for heat recovery, and Yoshida's metal pipe functions as a partition and heat-conductive member rather than as the claimed block body defining an internal flow path and fixing the fluid resistance element. Accordingly, Applicant submits that the combination of Ohmi and Yoshida would not have been made by one of ordinary skill in the art and, even if made, would not result in the claimed configuration’ (page 8).
It is respectfully submitted that it is not necessary for the inventions of Ohmi and Yoshida to share an identical purpose or for each component to be individually combinable, the test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art."); In re Sneed, 710 F.2d 1544, 1550, 218 USPQ 385, 389 (Fed. Cir. 1983) ("[I]t is not necessary that the inventions of the references be physically combinable to render obvious the invention under review."); see MPEP 2145 III. In this instance it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known fluid resistance element arranged in an internal flow path, as taught by Yoshida, for the known fluid resistance member arranged in an internal flow path, as taught by Ohmi, for the predictable result of a fluid control device with a ceramic fluid resistance element arranged in an internal flow path, as specified by Yoshida. In addition, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the ceramic fluid resistance element of Yoshida for the fluid resistance member of Ohmi to improve adhesion, as taught by Yoshida [0043-0045], i.e. this would have motivated the combination. Applicant states that combining Ohmi and Yoshida as described in the last office action would not result in the claimed configuration but no evidence or reasoned argument is provided support this contention and this statement is therefore not persuasive.
Applicant argues that ‘Kamahori discloses the cited aspect ratio in the context of a flow-control capillary used in a pressure-type liquid transfer apparatus for dispensing extremely small liquid volumes (see Par. [0030] of Kamahori). Kamahori does not disclose a fluid resistance element comprising a ceramic flow-path forming member covered by a metal covering member and fixed within a block body as presently claimed. Moreover, Kamahori discloses the cited aspect ratio as a characteristic of a capillary used for liquid injection under particular dispensing conditions. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references do not suggest modifying the porous ceramic resistance structure of Yoshida to provide the claimed aspect ratio while preserving the structural relationships recited in amended claim 1. Rather, the Office action relies upon selectively extracting the aspect-ratio teaching from Kamahori and applying it to the substantially different fluid-resistance structure of Yoshida. Accordingly, even when considered in combination with Kamahori, the cited references fail to teach or suggest the claimed configuration as presently recited’ (page 9).
It is respectfully submitted that it is not necessary for the inventions of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori to share an identical purpose or for each component to be individually combinable; see MPEP 2145 III. Kamahori is merely cited for teaching that an aspect ratio that is a ratio of a length dimension to a diameter dimension of each of one or plurality of resistance flow paths is 200 or more (see rejection below under 35 U.S.C. § 103). Kamahori also describes ‘a capillary in a resistance tube’ [0030] and that this would be advantageous to improve accuracy when processing small volumes of fluid [0030]. In addition, simply substituting the known high aspect ratio flow path, as taught by Kamahori, for the flow path, as taught by the combination of Ohmi and Yoshida, would have resulted in the predictable result of a fluid resistance element having a flow path with an aspect ratio of 200 or more. Applicant’s argument is therefore not persuasive.
Applicant’s comments regarding the other references (page 9) are moot as these are not required to reject independent claim 1.
Applicant’s argument regarding the dependent claims (page 9) are moot given the continued rejection of independent claim 1.
For at least these reasons, the rejection of the claims is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohmi et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20060236781 (hereinafter Ohmi) in view of Yoshida et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130248159 (hereinafter Yoshida) and further in view of Kamahori et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20070231882 (hereinafter Kamahori).
Regarding claim 1, Ohmi teaches a fluid control device unit [0140-0141, Figs. 7-8 — a whole block diagram of a differential pressure type flowmeter according to the fourth embodiment. Referring to FIG. 7, 10 designates the No. 1 switching valve (NC type), 11 the No. 2 switching valve (NC type), a a gas inlet side, b a gas outlet side, 1' the No. 1 orifice (for a small quantity), 1'' the No. 2 orifice (for a large quantity), 5' the No. 1 control computation circuit, and 5'' the No. 2 control computation circuit. Namely, a differential pressure type flow controller for a small flow quantity side (i.e., a flow rate range of 10-100 sccm) is formed with the No. 1 orifice 1, the No. 1 computation circuit 5' and the like, and a differential pressure type flow controller for a large flow quantity side (i.e., a flow rate range of 100-1000 sccm) is formed with the No. 2 orifice 1', the No. 2 computation circuit 5'' and like. Therefore, highly accurate measurements of a flow rate can be achieved over the wide flow rate range of 1000 sccm (100%)-10 sccm (1%) with errors of less than 1 (% SP) by using both differential pressure type flow controllers.] comprising:
a block body having an internal flow path through which a fluid flows [0144-0148, Fig. 8 — body 12 made of stainless steel is formed by hermetically assembling a gas inlet element 12a, a gas outlet element 12b, the No. 1 body element 12c and the No. 2 body element 12d… a fluid passage 16, there is made an orifice 1' for a small flow quantity, and on a fluid passage 16a (or 16b), there is made an orifice 1'' for a large flow quantity.],
a flow rate measurement mechanism measuring a flow rate of the fluid flowing through the internal flow path, wherein a portion of the flow rate measurement mechanism is provided in the block body [0141-0145, Fig. 7-8 — a differential pressure type flow controller for a small flow quantity side (i.e., a flow rate range of 10-100 sccm) is formed with the No. 1 orifice 1, the No. 1 computation circuit 5'… a pressure detector 2 on the upstream side of an orifice and a pressure detector 3 on the downstream side of an orifice in the block body; 0111-0117, Fig. 1 — a basic block diagram of a differential pressure type flowmeter according to the first embodiment of the present invention. The said differential pressure type flowmeter comprises an orifice 1, an absolute pressure type pressure detector on the upstream side of an orifice 2, an absolute pressure type pressure detector on the downstream side of an orifice 3, a gas absolute temperature detector on the upstream side of an orifice 4, a control computation circuit 5… With the differential pressure type flowmeter according to the present invention, a gas flow rate Q passing through an orifice 1 under differential pressure conditions… is computed by an empirical flow rate equation — describes how the flow rate measurement is performed for Figs. 7-8]; and
a fluid resistance element disposed in the internal flow path, wherein the fluid resistance element includes: a flow path forming member and having one or a plurality of resistance flow paths [0144-0152, Fig. 8 — body 12 made of stainless steel is formed by hermetically assembling a gas inlet element 12a, a gas outlet element 12b, the No. 1 body element 12c and the No. 2 body element 12d… a fluid passage 16, there is made an orifice 1' for a small flow quantity, and on a fluid passage 16a (or 16b), there is made an orifice 1'' for a large flow quantity… a gas flows out from a gas outlet b through a passage 16a, a passage 16e, an orifice 1' for a small flow quantity (fluid resistance element)].
But Ohmi fails to clearly specify that the fluid resistance element includes: a flow path forming member made of ceramic and having one or a plurality of resistance flow paths; and a covering member that is made of metal and covers an outer peripheral face of the flow path forming member, and has a cylindrical shape, the fluid resistance element is fixed such that an outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical shape of the covering member is in contact with an inner wall surface of the body forming the internal flow path along an entire cylindrical length of the covering member, and the covering member has a hardness lower than a hardness of the flow path forming member and that an aspect ratio that is a ratio of a length dimension to a diameter dimension of each of one or plurality of resistance flow paths is 200 or more.
However, Yoshida teaches that the fluid resistance element includes: a flow path forming member made of ceramic and having one or a plurality of resistance flow paths [0051, Figs. 1-5 — a hollow ceramic pipe having only the outer peripheral wall 7]; and a covering member that is made of metal and covers an outer peripheral face of the flow path forming member, and has a cylindrical shape [0042-0074, Figs. 1-5 — the intermediate member 13 has a cylindrical/columnar shape, covers the outer face of the hollow ceramic pipe 7, has a constant cross section and is made of … a metal sheet.], the fluid resistance element is fixed such that an outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical shape of the covering member is in contact with an inner wall surface of the body forming the internal flow path along an entire cylindrical length of the covering member [0042-0074, Figs. 1-5 — metal intermediate member 13 is in contact with the ceramic pipe having only the outer peripheral wall 7 and the circular metal pipe 12 along the entire length of intermediate member 13], and the covering member has a hardness lower than a hardness of the flow path forming member [0042-0074, Figs. 1-5 — the intermediate member 13 has a cylindrical/columnar shape, covers the outer face of the hollow ceramic pipe 7, has a constant cross section and is made of … a metal sheet... As the metal constituting the metal sheet, Au, Ag, Cu, Al, and the like can be mentioned… or the cylindrical ceramic body 11, it is preferable to use a ceramic having excellent heat resistance. In particular, if heat conductance is considered, the main component is preferably SiC (silicon carbide) having high heat conductance — Note that hardness is a basic physical property of a material and the hardness of copper (Cu) (covering member of Yoshida) is necessarily lower than that of silicon carbide (ceramic pipe of Yoshida), see for example Sijben U.S. Patent Publication No. 20090079525 that states ‘The (Knoop 100 g) hardness of SiC and SiSiC is 2800 Kg/mm.sup.2 corresponding to a Moh's hardness of 9-10… Copper has a Moh's hardness of about 3-5 which means it is much softer than the above mentioned Silicon Carbides’ (0041)].
Ohmi and Yoshida are analogous art. They relate to fluid measurement/control/management systems, particularly involving flow paths/tubing.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known fluid resistance element arranged in an internal flow path, as taught by Yoshida, for the known fluid resistance member arranged in an internal flow path, as taught by Ohmi, for the predictable result of a fluid control device with a ceramic fluid resistance element arranged in an internal flow path, as specified by Yoshida. In addition, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the ceramic fluid resistance element of Yoshida for the fluid resistance member of Ohmi to improve adhesion, as taught by Yoshida [0043-0045].
But the combination of Ohmi and Yoshida fails to clearly specify that an aspect ratio that is a ratio of a length dimension to a diameter dimension of each of one or plurality of resistance flow paths is 200 or more.
However, Kamahori teaches that an aspect ratio that is a ratio of a length dimension to a diameter dimension of each of one or plurality of resistance flow paths is 200 or more [0030 — When the volume to be injected is 1 µL or less, the pressure type liquid transfer apparatus using a capillary in a resistance tube is desirable. For example, in a case where the volume to be injected is 0.2 µL, injection can be performed with accuracy under conditions of pressure of 2 atmosphere and a pressing time of 2 seconds by using a flow control capillary having an inner diameter of 25 µm and a length of 20 mm (a ratio of 800)].
Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori are analogous art. They relate to fluid measurement/control/management systems, particularly involving flow paths/tubing.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known high aspect ratio flow path, as taught by Kamahori, for the flow path, as taught by the combination of Ohmi and Yoshida, for the predictable result of a fluid resistance element having a flow path with an aspect ratio of 200 or more. In addition, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above fluid resistance element, as taught by Yoshida, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Kamahori, in order to improve accuracy when processing small volumes of fluid, as suggested by Kamahori [0030].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further Yoshida teaches that an entire outer peripheral face of the flow path forming member is covered with the covering member [0042-0074, Figs. 1-5 — the intermediate member 13 has a cylindrical/columnar shape, covers the outer face of the hollow ceramic pipe 7, has a constant cross section and is made of … a metal sheet... As the metal constituting the metal sheet, Au, Ag, Cu, Al, and the like can be mentioned].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known fluid resistance element, as taught by Yoshida, for the known fluid resistance member, as taught by Ohmi, for the predictable result of a fluid control device with a ceramic fluid resistance element as specified by Yoshida. Furthermore, it would be obvious to cover the entire outer face improve adhesion over the whole ceramic surface.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Ohmi teaches the fluid control device unit [0140-0141, Figs. 7-8 — a whole block diagram of a differential pressure type flowmeter according to the fourth embodiment. Referring to FIG. 7, 10 designates the No. 1 switching valve (NC type), 11 the No. 2 switching valve (NC type), a a gas inlet side, b a gas outlet side, 1' the No. 1 orifice (for a small quantity), 1'' the No. 2 orifice (for a large quantity), 5' the No. 1 control computation circuit, and 5'' the No. 2 control computation circuit. Namely, a differential pressure type flow controller for a small flow quantity side (i.e., a flow rate range of 10-100 sccm) is formed with the No. 1 orifice 1, the No. 1 computation circuit 5' and the like, and a differential pressure type flow controller for a large flow quantity side (i.e., a flow rate range of 100-1000 sccm) is formed with the No. 2 orifice 1', the No. 2 computation circuit 5'' and like. Therefore, highly accurate measurements of a flow rate can be achieved over the wide flow rate range of 1000 sccm (100%)-10 sccm (1%) with errors of less than 1 (% SP) by using both differential pressure type flow controllers] further comprising:
an upstream pressure sensor and a downstream pressure sensor provided on an upstream side and a downstream side, respectively, of the fluid resistance element in the internal flow path [0140-0145, Fig. 7-8 — 1' the No. 1 orifice (for a small quantity), 1'' the No. 2 orifice (for a large quantity… a differential pressure type flow controller for a small flow quantity side (i.e., a flow rate range of 10-100 sccm) is formed with the No. 1 orifice 1 (fluid resistance element), the No. 1 computation circuit 5'… a pressure detector 2 on the upstream side of an orifice and a pressure detector 3 on the downstream side of an orifice in the block body; 0111-0117, Fig. 1 — a basic block diagram of a differential pressure type flowmeter according to the first embodiment of the present invention. The said differential pressure type flowmeter comprises an orifice 1, an absolute pressure type pressure detector on the upstream side of an orifice 2, an absolute pressure type pressure detector on the downstream side of an orifice 3, a gas absolute temperature detector on the upstream side of an orifice 4, a control computation circuit 5… With the differential pressure type flowmeter according to the present invention, a gas flow rate Q passing through an orifice 1 under differential pressure conditions… is computed by an empirical flow rate equation — describes how the flow rate measurement is performed for Figs. 7-8].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Ohmi teaches a flow rate calculation circuit that calculates the flow rate of the fluid flowing through the internal flow path, wherein a measured flow rate calculated by the flow rate calculation circuit is a predetermined target flow rate [0156, Fig. 10 — s the first embodiment of a differential pressure type flow controller according to the present invention. The aforementioned differential pressure type flowmeter shown in FIG. 1 is equipped with a control valve 21 and a valve driving part 22, and a control computation circuit 5 is equipped with a flow rate comparison circuit 5g whereat a flow rate difference A Q between a set flow rate Qs inputted from the outside and the computed flow rate Q computed with a flow rate computation circuit 5a is computed, thus the said flow rate difference .DELTA.Q being inputted to a valve driving part 22 as a control signal. With this performance, a control valve 21 is operated so that the aforementioned flow rate difference .DELTA.Q is moved toward a zero direction, thus the gas flow rate passing through an orifice 1 being controlled to be a set flow rate Qs (target flow rate); 0141-0145, Fig. 7-8 — a differential pressure type flow controller for a small flow quantity side (i.e., a flow rate range of 10-100 sccm) is formed with the No. 1 orifice 1, the No. 1 computation circuit 5'… a pressure detector 2 on the upstream side of an orifice and a pressure detector 3 on the downstream side of an orifice in the block body; 0111-0117, Fig. 1 — a basic block diagram of a differential pressure type flowmeter according to the first embodiment of the present invention. The said differential pressure type flowmeter comprises an orifice 1, an absolute pressure type pressure detector on the upstream side of an orifice 2, an absolute pressure type pressure detector on the downstream side of an orifice 3, a gas absolute temperature detector on the upstream side of an orifice 4, a control computation circuit 5… With the differential pressure type flowmeter according to the present invention, a gas flow rate Q passing through an orifice 1 under differential pressure conditions… is computed by an empirical flow rate equation — describes how the flow rate measurement is performed for Figs. 7-8].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Ohmi teaches the internal flow path is straight [0144-0148, Fig. 8 — body 12 made of stainless steel is formed by hermetically assembling a gas inlet element 12a, a gas outlet element 12b, the No. 1 body element 12c and the No. 2 body element 12d… a fluid passage 16 (internal flow path), there is made an orifice 1' for a small flow quantity, and on a fluid passage 16a (or 16b), there is made an orifice 1'' for a large flow quantity — cf. Fig. 2 of the instant application that shows a straight flow path proximate to the restriction].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Yoshida teaches the fluid resistance element has a columnar shape [0042-0074, Figs. 1-5 — the fluid resistance element shown has a columnar shape has a cylindrical/columnar shape].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known fluid resistance element, as taught by Yoshida, for the known fluid resistance member, as taught by Ohmi, for the predictable result of a fluid control device with a ceramic fluid resistance element as specified by Yoshida.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori in view of Licnit et al. U.S. Patent No. 4484472 (hereinafter Licnit).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further Yoshida teaches the flow path forming member has a columnar shape, and the covering member has the cylindrical shape into which the flow path forming member is fitted [0042-0074, Figs. 1-5 — the intermediate member 13 has a cylindrical/columnar shape, covers the outer face of the hollow ceramic pipe 7 that has a columnar shape, has a constant cross section and is made of … a metal sheet... As the metal constituting the metal sheet, Au, Ag, Cu, Al, and the like can be mentioned].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known fluid resistance element, as taught by Yoshida, for the known fluid resistance member, as taught by Ohmi, for the predictable result of a fluid control device with a ceramic fluid resistance element as specified by Yoshida. In addition, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the ceramic fluid resistance element of Yoshida for the fluid resistance member of Ohmi to improve adhesion, as taught by Yoshida [0043-0045].
But the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori fails to clearly specify that a flow path forming member is fitted with a fitting tolerance.
However, Licnit teaches that a flow path forming member is fitted with a fitting tolerance [col. 6 lines 1-16, Figs. 1-2 — It is preferred that opening 42 have a close tolerance, sliding fit with the outer surface of the end of tube 33 so that opening 42 positively receives and locates the tube in concentric relation with the bushing.].
Ohmi, Yoshida, Kamahori and Licnit are analogous art. They relate to fluid measurement/control/management systems, particularly involving flow paths/tubing.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a fitting tolerance to assure an acceptable fit between the elements, as suggested by Licnit [col. 6 lines 1-16].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori in view of Yasuda U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130087230 (hereinafter Yasuda2013).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Ohmi teaches a sensor flow path that connects an upstream side and a downstream side of the internal flow path; an upstream element and a downstream element provided in the sensor flow path [0140-0145, Fig. 7-8 — 1' the No. 1 orifice (for a small quantity), 1'' the No. 2 orifice (for a large quantity… a differential pressure type flow controller for a small flow quantity side (i.e., a flow rate range of 10-100 sccm) is formed with the No. 1 orifice 1 (fluid resistance element), the No. 1 computation circuit 5'… a pressure detector 2 on the upstream side of an orifice and a pressure detector 3 on the downstream side of an orifice in the block body; 0111-0117, Fig. 1 — a basic block diagram of a differential pressure type flowmeter according to the first embodiment of the present invention. The said differential pressure type flowmeter comprises an orifice 1, an absolute pressure type pressure detector on the upstream side of an orifice 2, an absolute pressure type pressure detector on the downstream side of an orifice 3, a gas absolute temperature detector on the upstream side of an orifice 4, a control computation circuit 5… With the differential pressure type flowmeter according to the present invention, a gas flow rate Q passing through an orifice 1 under differential pressure conditions… is computed by an empirical flow rate equation — describes how the flow rate measurement is performed for Figs. 7-8].
But the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori fails to clearly specify an upstream electric resistance element and a downstream electric resistance element provided in the sensor flow path.
However, Yasuda2013 teaches an upstream electric resistance element and a downstream electric resistance element provided in the sensor flow path [0069-0071, Figs. 4-6 — pressure sensor 21, 22 comprises, as shown in FIGS. 4-6, a flat body member 2A and an element for detecting pressure 2B… The element for detecting pressure 2B uses four equivalent electric resistance elements; 0057, Fig. 3 — The mass flow controller 10 comprises, as shown in its fluid circuit diagram in FIG. 3 and in its perspective view in FIG. 4, a body 1 having an internal flow channel 1a where the fluid flows, a flow rate adjust valve 4, which is a fluid device arranged in the internal flow channel 1a, pressure sensors 21, 22 and a fluid resistive member 3].
Ohmi, Yoshida, Kamahori and Yasuda2013 are analogous art. They relate to fluid measurement/control/management systems, particularly involving flow paths/tubing.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known electrical resistance pressure sensors, as taught by Yasuda2013, for the pressure sensors, as taught by the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori, for the predictable result of a fluid control device utilizing electrical resistance pressure sensors.
Claim(s) 8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori in view of ‘Conductance in Vacuum Pumping Systems’ https://vacaero.com/information-resources/vacuum-pump-technology-education-and-training/1025-conductance-in-vacuum-pumping-systems.html, VAC AERO International, published October 12, 2015 (hereinafter Vacaero).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Ohmi teaches the fluid resistance element is provided to the fluid control device unit [0144-0152, Fig. 8 — body 12 made of stainless steel is formed by hermetically assembling a gas inlet element 12a, a gas outlet element 12b, the No. 1 body element 12c and the No. 2 body element 12d… a fluid passage 16, there is made an orifice 1' for a small flow quantity, and on a fluid passage 16a (or 16b), there is made an orifice 1'' for a large flow quantity… a gas flows out from a gas outlet b through a passage 16a, a passage 16e, an orifice 1' for a small flow quantity (fluid resistance element)].
But the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori fails to clearly specify the fluid resistance element is one of a plurality of fluid resistance elements provided in series or in parallel, each of the plurality of fluid resistance elements having the one or plurality of resistance flow paths, and the plurality of fluid resistance elements have different resistance values.
However, Vacaero teaches the fluid resistance element is one of a plurality of fluid resistance elements provided in series or in parallel, each of the plurality of fluid resistance elements having the one or plurality of resistance flow paths, and the plurality of fluid resistance elements have different resistance values [page 1 — Conductance is the characteristic of a vacuum component or system to readily allow the flow of gas and can be thought of as the inverse of resistance to flow; Pages 2-4 — The total system conductance CT for components and pipes connected in series is calculated as follows, where the inverse of the system conductance is equal to the sum of the inverse of each the individual conductance values… For components and pipes in parallel conductance is the sum of the individual conductances; Table 12 shows conductances (inverse of resistance to fluid flow) for various pipes/tubes/fluid resistance elements that are different and similar].
Ohmi, Yoshida, Kamahori and Vacaero are analogous art. Ohmi and Yoshida relate to fluid measurement/control/management systems; and Ohmi, Yoshida, Kamahori and Vacaero are concerned with fluid flow in flow paths/tubing.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known fluid resistance elements having different resistance values in series or in parallel, as taught by Vacaero, for the known fluid resistance member, as taught by the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori, for the predictable result of a fluid control device that controls fluid flow by monitoring the flow with a ceramic fluid resistance element that comprises fluid resistance elements having different resistance values in series or in parallel. Note that how to combine various resistance/conductive flow elements is described in some detail by Vacaero as well as how to determine the conductance (inverse of resistance) for pipes/tubes.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida, Kamahori and Vacaero teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Vacaero teaches the second fluid resistance element is provided in parallel with the first fluid resistance element [page 1 — Conductance is the characteristic of a vacuum component or system to readily allow the flow of gas and can be thought of as the inverse of resistance to flow; Pages 2-4 — The total system conductance CT for components and pipes connected in series is calculated as follows, where the inverse of the system conductance is equal to the sum of the inverse of each the individual conductance values… For components and pipes in parallel conductance is the sum of the individual conductances; Table 12 shows conductances (inverse of resistance to fluid flow) for various pipes/tubes/fluid resistance elements].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known fluid resistance elements in parallel, as taught by Vacaero, for the known fluid resistance member, as taught by the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori, for the predictable result of a fluid control device that controls fluid flow by monitoring the flow with a ceramic fluid resistance element that comprises fluid resistance elements in parallel. Note that how to combine various resistance/conductive flow elements is described in some detail by Vacaero as well as how to determine the conductance (inverse of resistance) for pipes/tubes.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Ohmi teaches the fluid resistance element is provided to the fluid control device [0144-0152, Fig. 8 — body 12 made of stainless steel is formed by hermetically assembling a gas inlet element 12a, a gas outlet element 12b, the No. 1 body element 12c and the No. 2 body element 12d… a fluid passage 16, there is made an orifice 1' for a small flow quantity, and on a fluid passage 16a (or 16b), there is made an orifice 1'' for a large flow quantity… a gas flows out from a gas outlet b through a passage 16a, a passage 16e, an orifice 1' for a small flow quantity (fluid resistance element)].
But the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori fails to clearly specify the fluid resistance element is one of a plurality of fluid resistance elements provided in series or in parallel, each of the plurality of fluid resistance elements having the one or plurality of resistance flow paths, and the plurality of fluid resistance elements have resistance values equal to each other.
However, Vacaero teaches the fluid resistance element is one of a plurality of fluid resistance elements provided in series or in parallel, each of the plurality of fluid resistance elements having the one or plurality of resistance flow paths, and the plurality of fluid resistance elements have resistance values equal to each other [page 1 — Conductance is the characteristic of a vacuum component or system to readily allow the flow of gas and can be thought of as the inverse of resistance to flow; Pages 2-4 — The total system conductance CT for components and pipes connected in series is calculated as follows, where the inverse of the system conductance is equal to the sum of the inverse of each the individual conductance values… For components and pipes in parallel conductance is the sum of the individual conductances; Table 12 shows conductances (inverse of resistance to fluid flow) for various pipes/tubes/fluid resistance elements at least some of which have approximately equal conductances (inverse of resistance to fluid flow)].
Ohmi, Yoshida, Kamahori and Vacaero are analogous art. Ohmi and Yoshida relate to fluid measurement/control/management systems; and Ohmi, Yoshida, Kamahori and Vacaero are concerned with fluid flow in flow paths/tubing.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known the fluid resistance elements having resistance values equal to each other is provided in series, as taught by Vacaero, for the known fluid resistance member, as taught by the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori, for the predictable result of a fluid control device that controls fluid flow by monitoring the flow with a ceramic fluid resistance element that comprises fluid resistance elements having resistance values equal to each other is provided in series. Note that how to combine various resistance/conductive flow elements is described in some detail by Vacaero as well as how to determine the conductance (inverse of resistance) for pipes/tubes.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida, Kamahori and Vacaero teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Ohmi teaches the fluid resistance element is provided between the upstream pressure sensor and the downstream pressure sensor [0141-0145, Fig. 7-8 — a differential pressure type flow controller for a small flow quantity side (i.e., a flow rate range of 10-100 sccm) is formed with the No. 1 orifice 1, the No. 1 computation circuit 5'… a pressure detector 2 on the upstream side of an orifice and a pressure detector 3 on the downstream side of an orifice in the block body; 0111-0117, Fig. 1 — a basic block diagram of a differential pressure type flowmeter according to the first embodiment of the present invention. The said differential pressure type flowmeter comprises an orifice 1, an absolute pressure type pressure detector on the upstream side of an orifice 2, an absolute pressure type pressure detector on the downstream side of an orifice 3, a gas absolute temperature detector on the upstream side of an orifice 4, a control computation circuit 5… With the differential pressure type flowmeter according to the present invention, a gas flow rate Q passing through an orifice 1 under differential pressure conditions… is computed by an empirical flow rate equation — describes how the flow rate measurement is performed for Figs. 7-8].
Further, Vacaero teaches the plurality of fluid resistance elements [page 1 — Conductance is the characteristic of a vacuum component or system to readily allow the flow of gas and can be thought of as the inverse of resistance to flow; Pages 2-4 — The total system conductance CT for components and pipes connected in series is calculated as follows, where the inverse of the system conductance is equal to the sum of the inverse of each the individual conductance values… For components and pipes in parallel conductance is the sum of the individual conductances; Table 12 shows conductances (inverse of resistance to fluid flow) for various pipes/tubes/fluid resistance elements].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to simply substitute the known plurality of fluid resistance elements, as taught by Vacaero, for the known fluid resistance member, as taught by the combination of Ohmi, Yoshida and Kamahori, for the predictable result of a fluid control device that controls fluid flow by monitoring the flow with a ceramic fluid resistance element that comprises a plurality of fluid resistance elements. Note that how to combine various resistance/conductive flow elements is described in some detail by Vacaero as well as how to determine the conductance (inverse of resistance) for pipes/tubes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 9 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Note that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BERNARD G LINDSAY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119