DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made to Applicant’s response filed 02/24/2026.
Claims 1-7, 12, 16-18, 20, 21, 23, 27, 29, 30, 33, 34, 36, and 42 are pending.
Claim 42 is newly added.
Claim 1 is currently amended.
Claims 20, 21, 23, 27, 29, 30, 33, 34, and 36 remain withdrawn.
Claims 1-7, 12, 16-18, and 42 are currently under consideration to the extent that they read upon Applicant’s elected species:
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Welter et al (US 4370277) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancellation of said claim.
The rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welter et al (US 4370277) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancellation of said claim.
Rejections Maintained and Made Again in view of Applicant’s Amendments with New Grounds for Newly Added Claim 42
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 12, 16-18, and 42 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Welter et al (US 4370277).
Welter teaches a compound of formula (II):
Wherein R1 is taught as being a C1 alkoxy (or OCH3), R2 is hydrogen, R3 is hydrogen, R4 is hydrogen, and R5 is a C1 alkyl (or CH3) (see entire document, for instance, column 1, lines 16-39). It is noted that this structure would be drawn as:
.
The compound of formula II is taught as being combined with hydrocarbons, water, or an alcohol as a solvent (see entire document, for instance, column 2, lines 1-15).
It is noted that MPEP 2131.02 states: “when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. Ex parte A, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) (The claimed compound was named in a reference which also disclosed 45 other compounds. The Board held that the comprehensiveness of the listing did not negate the fact that the compound claimed was specifically taught)”. It is further noted that MPEP 2131.02 additionally states that “[i]f one of ordinary skill in the art is able to “at once envisage” the specific compound within the generic chemical formula, the compound is anticipated. One of ordinary skill in the art must be able to draw the structural formula or write the name of each of the compounds included in the generic formula before any of the compounds can be “at once envisaged.” One may look to the preferred embodiments to determine which compounds can be anticipated. In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 133 USPQ 275 (CCPA 1962)”, wherein further “[t]he limited number of compounds covered by the preferred formula in combination with the fact that the number of substituents was low at each site […] resulted in a finding that the reference sufficiently described “each of the various permutations here involved as fully as if he had drawn each structural formula or had written each name.” The claimed compound was 1 of these 20 compounds. Therefore, the reference “described” the claimed compound and the reference anticipated the claims”. It is further noted that “In re Schauman, 572 F.2d 312, 197 USPQ 5 (CCPA 1978), claims to a specific compound were anticipated because the prior art taught a generic formula embracing a limited number of compounds closely related to each other in structure and the properties possessed by the compound class of the prior art was that disclosed for the claimed compound. The broad generic formula seemed to describe an infinite number of compounds but claim 1 was limited to a structure with only one variable substituent R. This substituent was limited to low alkyl radicals. One of ordinary skill in the art would at once envisage the subject matter within claim 1 of the reference”.
With regard to the limitation directed to the composition being present in “a range from about 1 µM to 100 µM” or “a range from about 1 µM to 10 µM”, and that the purpose of the compound of formula I being “to promote plant growth and/or inhibit growth of parasitic weed” it is noted that Welter teaches that the products of the process can be worked up in known manner, for example by dilution with water, acidification, extraction with an organic solvent, and separation of the solvent after drying by distillation. Welter also teaches that the novel compounds are obtained in the form of oils which can either be distilled or freed from the last volatile components by prolonged heating at moderately elevated temperature under reduced pressure, and thus purified (see entire document, for instance, column 2, lines 35-44). Further, it is noted that the methods of Welter are the making of the structures using the instantly claimed compound as a starting material. As such, on the front end of the process the compound would have a higher µM amount, and as the final product is being formed that µM would go down. As such, during the production of the product, the amount of the compound would fall within the instantly claimed range of about 1 µM to 100 µM or 1 µM to 10 µM. Further, in variant (a) the process includes additional components being present, such as water, thereby diluting the amount of the composition, which optimizes the µM amount.
Response to Arguments and Declaration
Applicant’s arguments and Declaration filed 09/09/2026 have been fully considered and are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues in the Remarks filed 09/09/2026 that the prior art does not teach the instantly claimed micromolar amount. It is noted that the prior art teaches the instantly claimed structure as a main reagent in a process for making a different product. Applicant asserts on page 16 of the Remarks that the examples in the prior art teach a higher µM amount than is instantly claimed. It is noted that the prior art teaches the component as a reagent, wherein when the composition is diluted and the reagent used up, the micromolar amount goes down, ideally to zero. Along the way from a higher micromolar amount to zero, the instantly claimed composition is present. It is noted that the instant claims are directed to a product, not a method, wherein the product itself would be present in the prior art.
It is noted that the instant declaration is not found persuasive. First, the declaration is not commensurate in scope with the breadth of the structures in claim 1. Second, even if the declaration had been commensurate (which it is not), unexpected results are not a persuasive argument with regard to rejections under 102.
It is noted that the instantly claims are directed to a product not a method, wherein the prior art product is deemed to be capable of performing the intended uses articulated in the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 12, 16-18, and 42 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welter et al (US 4370277).
Welter teaches a compound of formula (II):
Wherein R1 is taught as being a C1 alkoxy (or OCH3), R2 is hydrogen, R3 is hydrogen, R4 is hydrogen, and R5 is a C1 alkyl (or CH3) (see entire document, for instance, column 1, lines 16-39). It is noted that this structure would be drawn as:
.
The compound of formula II is taught as being combined with hydrocarbons, water, or an alcohol as a solvent (see entire document, for instance, column 2, lines 1-15).
Welter, while teaching a structure that directly overlaps the instantly claimed structure, does not draw out the structure in a singular image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to utilize a structure of formula II, wherein R1 is OCH3, R2 is hydrogen, R3 is hydrogen, R4 is hydrogen, and R5 is CH3. One would have been motivated to do so since Welter expressly teaches that said components are useful for the formulation of formula II.
With regard to the limitation directed to the composition being present in “a range from about 1 µM to 100 µM” or “a range from about 1 µM to 10 µM”, and that the purpose of the compound of formula I being “to promote plant growth and/or inhibit growth of parasitic weed” it is noted that Welter teaches that the products of the process can be worked up in known manner, for example by dilution with water, acidification, extraction with an organic solvent, and separation of the solvent after drying by distillation. Welter also teaches that the novel compounds are obtained in the form of oils which can either be distilled or freed from the last volatile components by prolonged heating at moderately elevated temperature under reduced pressure, and thus purified (see entire document, for instance, column 2, lines 35-44). Further, it is noted that the methods of Welter are the making of the structures using the instantly claimed compound as a starting material. As such, on the front end of the process the compound would have a higher µM amount, and as the final product is being formed that µM would go down. As such, during the production of the product, the amount of the compound would fall within the instantly claimed range of about 1 µM to 100 µM or about 1 µM to 10 µM. Further, in variant (a) the process includes additional components being present, such as water, thereby diluting the amount of the composition, which optimizes the µM amount.
Response to Arguments and Declaration
Applicant’s arguments and Declaration filed 09/09/2026 have been fully considered and are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues in the Remarks filed 09/09/2026 that the prior art does not teach the instantly claimed micromolar amount. It is noted that the prior art teaches the instantly claimed structure as a main reagent in a process for making a different product. Applicant asserts on page 16 of the Remarks that the examples in the prior art teach a higher µM amount than is instantly claimed. It is noted that the prior art teaches the component as a reagent, wherein when the composition is diluted and the reagent used up, the micromolar amount goes down, ideally to zero. Along the way from a higher micromolar amount to zero, the instantly claimed composition is present. It is noted that the instant claims are directed to a product, not a method, wherein the product itself would be present in the prior art. It is noted that the instant declaration is not found persuasive for at least the reason that the declaration is not commensurate in scope with the breadth of the structures in claim 1.
It is noted that the instantly claims are directed to a product not a method, wherein the prior art product is deemed to be capable of performing the intended uses articulated in the instant claims.
Conclusion
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611