Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, & 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Specification ¶0191 identifies the fluctuation of the inter-terminal voltage of the electric storage module 110 as fluctuation line 730 and the fluctuation of the inter-terminal voltage of the electric storage module 130 as fluctuation line 710. However, in subsequent paragraphs it would appear that the fluctuation line numbers were inadvertently flipped. This can be seen in ¶’s 0193 (110 reaches Vai at t2, and 130 is turned on at t2), 0194 (110 reaches charge end voltage Vbc at t3 and 110 is disconnected from the wiring), and 0195 (130 reaches Vac at t4 and 130 is disconnected from the wiring), which appear to correlate fluctuation line 710 to electric storage module 110 and fluctuation line 730 to electric storage module 130, in view of Figure 7.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Applicant amended the claims in include the limitation “wherein the first electric storage device and the second electric storage device are connected in parallel using the wiring while the charging device charges the first electric storage device by the constant current method and then the second electric storage device by the trickle method”. However, the second electric storage device is previously limited to an electric storage unit including a second type of secondary battery which is expressed by a reaction formula in which an irreversible change occurs in the battery system in principle when an overcharge state continues. Looking at the specification, the second type of secondary battery corresponds to a lithium ion battery (¶0100: a reaction formula involving an irreversible change, examples include a lithium ion battery) which is then identified with electric storage module 110 (¶0080: lithium ion, electric storage module 110 does not support a trickle charging method). The applicant appears to have introduced new matter with a limitation of trickle charging the lithium ion battery which has not been disclosed in the specification, and appears to be discouraged by the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 & 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao (USPGPN 2019/0148963 A1 – published May 16, 2019), in view of Kachi (USPGPN 2014/0184159 A1 – published July 3, 2014), Scott (US Patent 4,152,635 – published May 1, 1979), Brake et al. (US Patent 5,734,253 – published 1998), and Wang et al. (USPGPN 2007/0247107).
Regarding Claim 1, Nakao (Figs.1 & 2) teaches an electric storage system comprising:
a first electric storage device (110) including a first electric storage unit (210);
a second electric storage device (120) including a second electric storage unit (210); and
a wiring (106) for connecting the first electric storage device and the second electric storage device in parallel, and
a signal generating unit (240), wherein
the first electric storage device includes
a first switching unit (230) disposed between the wiring and the first electric storage unit and configured to switch an electrical connection relationship between the wiring and the first electric storage unit based on a voltage difference between the wiring and the first electric storage unit (¶0117: the terminal voltage of switching unit 230, which is used to determine if a predetermined condition is satisfied, is based on a voltage between positive terminal 112 and positive terminal 212),
the second electric storage device includes
a second switching unit (230) disposed between the wiring and the second electric storage unit and configured to switch an electrical connection relationship between the wiring and the second electric storage unit based on a voltage difference between the wiring and the second electric storage unit (¶0117),
the first electric storage unit includes a first type of secondary battery (¶0107: lead-acid battery),
the second electric storage unit includes a second type of secondary battery (¶0107: lithium-ion battery), and
based on acquired characteristics of the first type of secondary battery and the second type of secondary battery, the signal generating unit transmits signals to a charging device (Fig.1, 14) for controlling charging voltage of the charging device (¶0124: module control unit 240 acquires battery characteristic information which is transmitted to the external charging device).
Nakao fails to explicitly teach a battery system of the first type of secondary battery is expressed by a reaction formula in which an irreversible change does not occur in the battery system in principle even when an overcharge state continues,
a battery system of the second type of secondary battery is expressed by a reaction formula in which an irreversible change occurs in the battery system in principle when an overcharge state continues,
the transmitted signals to a charging device are used for controlling charging voltages of the charging device such that a charge end voltage of the first electric storage unit is equal to or less than a full charging voltage of the first electric storage unit and
is greater than a charge end voltage of the second electric storage unit, and
the charging device charges the first electric storage device by a constant current method when a voltage of the first electric storage unit is equal to or less than a charge end voltage and charges the first electric storage device by a trickle charging method when the voltage of the first electric storage unit is greater than a charge end voltage;
wherein the first electric storage device and the second electric storage device are connected in parallel using the wiring while the charging device charges the first electric storage device by the constant current method and then the second electric storage device by the trickle method.
However, Kachi teaches that lead-acid batteries do not typically require overcharge protective circuits where-as lithium-ion batteries do (¶0004: unlike lead-acid batteries, lithium-ion batteries usually need protective circuits against overcharge. This would indicate that irreversible change does not occur in lead-acid batteries, but would occur in lithium-ion batteries when an overcharge state occurs.). Kachi also teaches that a charge end voltage of a lead-acid battery is greater than the charge end voltage of a lithium-ion battery (¶0030: final charging voltage of the lithium-ion battery is lower than the final charging voltage of the lead-acid battery), and that it is equal to the full charging voltage (Pg.14, Table 1: lead-acid battery final charging voltage equals the full charging voltage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao with Kachi to set the final charging voltage for the lead-acid battery higher than the lithium-ion battery, and set it equal to the full charging voltage. Doing so allows for a reduction in cost for a battery while improving the power performance.
Moreover, Brake teaches a charging system which receives battery type characteristics which are used to determine charging algorithms which control charging voltage (Claim 1.e: battery type is identified and charging voltage is controlled in response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao with Brake to include the charging device using the transmitted signals to control the charging voltage. Doing so ensures the batteries are provided their proper charging voltage for efficient charging.
Moreover, Scott discloses that it is common in the art to provide a constant current charge (Col.1, lines 24-26) and then a float charge (Col.1, lines 30-33: maintain a float or trickle charge).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao with Scott to use a constant current charging method followed by a float charging stage. Doing so allows for a fast recharge and an assurance that it remains at a full charge when the battery is needed, as evidenced by Scott.
Lastly, Wang teaches a hybrid battery charging method wherein a first electric storage device and a second electric storage device (Fig.2A, 220 & 230) are connected in parallel using wiring while a charging device charges the first electric storage device by the constant current method (Figs.2B & 3, Pre-charge 290 is constant current, 206, and the cell stacks are simultaneously pre-charged between T0 and T-1) and then the second electric storage device by the trickle method (cell stacks are simultaneously trickle charged at T4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao with Wang to include parallel charging by a constant current method and then charging the second electric storage device by the trickle method. Doing so improves the charging time of a hybrid battery, as evidenced by Wang (¶0001).
Claim 2 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao, in view of Kachi, Brake, Scott, and Wang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nagai et al. (US Patent 5,637,981 A – published June 10, 1997).
Regarding Claim 3, Nakao, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the full charging voltage of the first electric storage unit is less than a charging voltage of a charging device that charges the first electric storage device and the second electric storage device connected in parallel.
However, Nagai teaches that it is common in the art to supply a charging voltage that is higher than a full charging voltage for a lead type battery (Fig.9, charging voltage V’c is greater than full charging voltage Vc).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao, in view of Kachi, Brake, Scott, and Wang, with Nagai to use a charging voltage larger than the full charging voltage. Doing so can help prevent damage to the battery, as evidenced by Nagai.
Regarding Claim 4, Nakao, as modified, fails to explicitly teach further comprising: a charging voltage control unit configured to control a set value of the charging voltage of the charging device.
However, Nagai further teaches the use of a control unit for controlling the charge voltage of the device (Fig.8, 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Nakao, in view of Kachi, Brake, Scott, Wang, and Nagai, with Nagai to include a control unit for controlling the charge voltage of the device. Doing so can help prevent damage to the battery.
Regarding Claim 5, Nakao, as modified, further teaches wherein the charging device charges the first electric storage device and the second electric storage device by a constant current method in at least a part of a charging period of the first electric storage device and the second electric storage device (¶0059: example charging methods include CCCV or CC methods).
Claim(s) 7 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao, in view of Kachi, Brake, Scott, and Wang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ashida (Japanese Publication 2012-85461 A – published April 26, 2012).
Regarding Claim 7, Nakai, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the first electric storage device further includes a limiting unit that is connected in parallel with the first switching unit between the wiring and the first electric storage unit, has a larger resistance than the first switching unit, allows a current to pass in a direction from the wiring toward the first electric storage unit, and suppresses the current from passing in a direction from the first electric storage unit toward the wiring.
However, Ashida (Fig.2) teaches that it is common in the art to provide a limiting unit (D5 & R) in parallel with a switching unit (3). The resistor R indicates a resistance greater than the switching unit 3, and the diode D5 allows current to pass to the battery C while restricting flow out of the battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao, in view of Kachi, Brake, Scott, and Wang, with Ashida to include a limiting unit parallel to the switching unit. Doing so prevents a large flow of current from flowing into the battery and the diode limits the flow of current to a single direction, providing a safe connection of a battery.
Regarding Claim 8, Nakao, as modified, further teaches wherein the limiting unit includes: a current amount limiting unit configured to limit an amount of current flowing through the limiting unit; and a current direction limiting unit that is connected in series with the current amount limiting unit, allows a current to pass in a direction from the wiring toward the first electric storage unit, and does not allow a current to pass in a direction from the first electric storage unit toward the wiring (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 7 above).
Claim(s) 9-12, 16, 17, 19, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao, in view of Kachi, Brake, Scott, and Wang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takizawa et al. (USPGPN 2016/0049813 A1 – published February 18, 2016).
Regarding Claim 9, Nakao, as modified, teaches wherein the first electric storage device further includes a short-circuiting unit (Fig.6, 632) disposed between the wiring and the first electric storage unit, connected in parallel with the first switching unit (510/512/514/516/520/522/524/526) between the wiring and the first electric storage unit, and configured to short-circuit the first switching unit (¶0172: relay 632 provides a smaller resistance), the short-circuiting unit includes a short-circuiting state switching unit (Fig.6, trigger device for 632 connected to signal generating unit 330) configured to shift the short-circuiting unit to a state in which the short-circuiting unit short-circuits the first switching unit,.
Nakao, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the short-circuiting state switching unit short-circuits the first switching unit when it is detected that an output current of the electric storage system is greater than a charging current of the electric storage system, or when it is predicted that the output current of the electric storage system is greater than the charging current of the electric storage system.
However, Takizawa (Fig.14) teaches a system which includes a switching unit (SWp1 & Reg1) which is connected in parallel with a short-circuiting unit (SWc1) which are connected between an electric storage unit (MO1) and wiring (connection to CHL). The short-circuiting unit is activated when the output current of the system exceeds the input charging current (the system is charged and discharged from CHL and therefore, as shown in Fig.14, a discharging current of 20A would be greater than a charging current of 0A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao, in view of Kachi, Brake, Scott, and Wang, with Takizawa to control the short-circuiting state switching unit, and subsequently the short-circuiting unit, when the output current exceeds the input current. Doing so assists in providing efficient power supply to a load, as a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that a single relay has less resistance than a resistor and switch in series, and would therefore have less energy waste.
Regarding Claim 10, Nakao, as modified, further teaches wherein the short-circuiting switching unit (SWc1) is not activated in a case where it is detected that an output current of the electric storage system is less than a charging current of the electric storage system (Fig.12, system charging current exceeds a 0A discharging current).
Nakao, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the short-circuiting state switching unit switches a state of the short-circuiting unit from a state in which the short-circuiting unit short-circuits the first switching unit to a state in which the short-circuiting unit does not short-circuit the first switching unit in at least one of (i) a case where a predetermined period has elapsed after the short-circuiting state switching unit short-circuits the first switching unit, or a case where it is predicted that the output current of the electric storage system is less than the charging current of the electric storage system.
However, Takizawa teaches that a switch may be activated for a predetermined amount of time before being deactivated (¶0012: discharging switch for at least one module maintains an on state for a predetermined time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Nakao, in view of Kachi, Brake, Scott, Wang, and Takizawa, with Takizawa to set a minimum time for activation of the short-circuiting switch. Doing so avoids the potential for the short-circuiting switch to rapidly change states by maintaining a minimum “on” time.
Regarding Claim 11, Nakao, as modified, further teaches wherein the short-circuiting state switching unit short-circuits the first switching unit when the electric storage system acquires information indicating that a load device that uses power supplied from the electric storage system starts using the power (as applied to claim 9 above; for the switches to be controlled based on the need of providing an output, the system would require receiving an indication that the device is a load and requires power).
Regarding Claim 12, Nakao, as modified, further teaches wherein further the short-circuiting state switching unit short-circuits the first switching unit before the electric storage system outputs a current (The short-circuit switches would require being closed before the system outputs a current).
Regarding Claim 16, Nakao, as modified, further teaches comprising: a detecting unit (Fig.10, 1020 & 1120) configured to detect that the electric storage system has supplied power to a load device (¶0191: current detecting element 1020 can be used to determine the direction of current), wherein the short-circuiting state switching unit short-circuits the first switching unit when the detecting unit detects that the electric storage system has supplied power to the load device (¶0194: module control unit 1040 controls the switching unit based on the current flowing; ¶0195: detecting current flowing can be based on the direction of the current; ¶0172: when switched on, switching unit 230 provides a fast response compared to relay 632, but relay 632 has a lower resistance and switches on after a delay for reduced power loss).
Regarding Claim 17, Nakao, as modified, further teaches wherein a current consumption of the load device increases continuously or stepwise after the electric storage system supplies power to the load device (¶0171: the load device may be a motor which has a pulse current pattern, which examiner equates to a stepwise increase).
Regarding Claim 19, Nakao, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the load device includes a current consumption control unit configured to control an amount of current consumption of the load device.
However, Takizawa teaches that a posistor can be used to limit the current that flows to a load (¶0096: a posistor is used to limit a current flowing to a resistor; in the prior art the load is a resistor, however this posistor could be used for any device that is being provided an electrical current).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Nakao, in view of Kachi, Brake, Scott, Wang, and Takizawa, with Takizawa to include a posistor in the load device to control an amount of current flowing to the load device. Doing so can inhibit an excessive current from flowing through the device avoiding an abnormal rise in the temperature of the device, as evidenced by Takizawa.
Regarding Claim 20, Nakao, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the electric storage system includes a plurality of the first electric storage devices connected in parallel, and at least two of the plurality of first electric storage devices include the short-circuiting unit.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide at least two of the first electric storage devices including the short-circuiting unit, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Doing so would provide a system with greater energy storage and a level of redundancy in the event of an electric storage device failure.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao, in view of Kachi, Brake, Scott, Wang, and Takizawa, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Fukuta et al. (USPGPN 2011/0080149 A1 – published April 7, 2011).
Regarding Claim 13, Nakao, as modified, fails to explicitly teach further comprising: a fluctuation suppressing unit configured to suppress fluctuation of an output voltage of the electric storage system.
However, Fukuta (Fig.1) teaches that a capacitor (16) in parallel with a battery (12) can be used to suppress fluctuation of an output voltage (¶0041: capacitor outputs voltage to the inverter, to help suppress the input voltage of the inverter/output voltage of the energy system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao, in view of Kachi, Brake, Scott, Wang, and Takizawa, with Fukuta to include a parallel capacitor to help suppress fluctuations in the output voltage of the energy system.
Regarding Claim 14, Nakao, as modified, further teaches wherein the short-circuiting state switching unit short-circuits the first switching unit after the electric storage system outputs a current (¶0194: module control unit 1040 controls the switching unit based on the current flowing; ¶0195: detecting current flowing can be based on the direction of the current; ¶0172: when switched on, switching unit 230 provides a fast response compared to relay 632, but relay 632 has a lower resistance and switches on after a delay for reduced power loss).
Regarding Claim 15, Nakao, as modified, further teaches wherein the fluctuation suppressing unit is disposed such that the fluctuation suppressing unit and a load device are connected in parallel when the load device that uses power supplied from the electric storage system is electrically connected to the electric storage system (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 13).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao, in view of Kachi, Brake, Scott, Wang, and Takizawa, as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Owen et al. (USPGPN 2015/0280466 – published 2015).
Regarding Claim 18, Nakao, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the electric storage system receives, from the load device, a request signal indicating a magnitude of current to be supplied to the load device and outputs a current having a magnitude indicated by the request signal.
However, Owen teaches a load device may request a total energy output of a storage system which the storage system then outputs (¶0051: a desired total energy, in the form of electric current, can be requested by the load, which the charge controller then allocates using control signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao, in view of Kachi, Brake, Scott, Wang, and Takizawa, with Owen to include the load device requesting a magnitude of current which the energy storage system then provides. Doing so improves the functionality of the system by ensuring the load is not provided with an insufficient current to drive the load.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao, in view of Kachi, Owen, and Wang.
Regarding Claim 21, Nakao (Figs.1 & 2) teaches an electric storage system comprising:
a first electric storage device (110) including a first electric storage unit (210);
a second electric storage device (120) including a second electric storage unit (210); and
a wiring (106) for connecting the first electric storage device and the second electric storage device in parallel; and
a detecting unit (Fig.10, 1020 & 1120) configured to detect the electric storage system has supplied power to a load device (¶0191: current detecting element 1020 can be used to determine the direction of current), wherein
the first electric storage device includes
a first switching unit (230) disposed between the wiring and the first electric storage unit and configured to switch an electrical connection relationship between the wiring and the first electric storage unit based on a voltage difference between the wiring and the first electric storage unit (¶0117: the terminal voltage of switching unit 230, which is used to determine if a predetermined condition is satisfied, is based on a voltage between positive terminal 112 and positive terminal 212),
the second electric storage device includes
a second switching unit (230) disposed between the wiring and the second electric storage unit and configured to switch an electrical connection relationship between the wiring and the second electric storage unit based on a voltage difference between the wiring and the second electric storage unit (¶0117),
the first electric storage unit includes a first type of secondary battery (¶0107: lead-acid battery),
the second electric storage unit includes a second type of secondary battery (¶0107: lithium-ion battery).
Nakao fails to explicitly teach a battery system of the first type of secondary battery is expressed by a reaction formula in which an irreversible change does not occur in the battery system in principle even when an overcharge state continues,
a battery system of the second type of secondary battery is expressed by a reaction formula in which an irreversible change occurs in the battery system in principle when an overcharge state continues, and
a charge end voltage of the first electric storage unit
is equal to or less than a full charging voltage of the first electric storage unit and
is greater than a charge end voltage of the second electric storage unit, and
the electric storage system receives, from the load device, a request signal indicating a magnitude of current to be supplied to the load device and outputs a current having a magnitude indicated by the request signal;
wherein the first electric storage device and the second electric storage device are connected in parallel using the wiring while the charging device charges the first electric storage device by the constant current method and then the second electric storage device by the trickle method.
However, Kachi teaches that lead-acid batteries do not typically require overcharge protective circuits where-as lithium-ion batteries do (¶0004: unlike lead-acid batteries, lithium-ion batteries usually need protective circuits against overcharge. This would indicate that irreversible change does not occur in lead-acid batteries, but would occur in lithium-ion batteries when an overcharge state occurs.). Kachi also teaches that a charge end voltage of a lead-acid battery is greater than the charge end voltage of a lithium-ion battery (¶0030: final charging voltage of the lithium-ion battery is lower than the final charging voltage of the lead-acid battery), and that it is equal to the full charging voltage (Pg.14, Table 1: lead-acid battery final charging voltage equals the full charging voltage).
Nakao and Kachi are considered analogous to the claimed invention since they both pertain to mixed chemistry energy storage systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao to set the final charging voltage for the lead-acid battery higher than the lithium-ion battery, and set it equal to the full charging voltage. Doing so allows for a reduction in cost for a battery while improving the power performance.
Moreover, Owen teaches a load device may request a total energy output of a storage system which the storage system then outputs (¶0051: a desired total energy, in the form of electric current, can be requested by the load, which the charge controller then allocates using control signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao, in view of Kachi, with Owen to include the load device requesting a magnitude of current which the energy storage system then provides. Doing so improves the functionality of the system by ensuring the load is not provided with an insufficient current to drive the load.
Lastly, Wang teaches a hybrid battery charging method wherein a first electric storage device and a second electric storage device (Fig.2A, 220 & 230) are connected in parallel using wiring while a charging device charges the first electric storage device by the constant current method (Figs.2B & 3, Pre-charge 290 is constant current, 206, and the cell stacks are simultaneously pre-charged between T0 and T-1) and then the second electric storage device by the trickle method (cell stacks are simultaneously trickle charged at T4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Nakao with Wang to include parallel charging by a constant current method and then charging the second electric storage device by the trickle method. Doing so improves the charging time of a hybrid battery, as evidenced by Wang (¶0001).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cheng et al. (USPGPN 2015/0295420 A1) teaches a system which parallelly charges a multi-chemistry battery pack followed by trickle charging an acid battery.
JOHN P ONDRASIK/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859