DETAILED ACTION
All outstanding objections and rejections made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 2, 4-14, and 16-22 as amended are pending.
Claim Interpretation
The monomer species “N-vinyl isopropamide” used in claims 1, 4, 5, and 7 is interpreted to mean a derivative of the drug Benzenepropanaminium, γ-(aminocarbonyl)-N-methyl-N,N-bis(1-methylethyl)-γ-phenyl- (9CI, ACI) having a vinyl substitution on the amide nitrogen. This is because the compound N-vinyl isopropamide is not known, and the aforementioned drug compound, colloquially known as “isopropamide”, is the only known compound having this root nomenclature, as “isopropamide” is not an analogous moiety to “formamide” or “acetamide”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4-14, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 7 (as well as claims 4 and 5) recite the species “trimethylammonium 2-hydroxy propyl methacrylate hydrochloride”. It is unclear what structure is referred to here, as no known structures have such a name, and applicant’s specification does not provide a structure nor any route to synthesizing the same if it is new. It is unclear by name, because the term “hydrochloride” is generally used in such compounds to indicate an ammonium chloride salt of secondary or tertiary amine; however, the species recited appears to have a quaternary ammonium group recited, and as such, it is unclear how a “hydrochloride” anion is part of a compound, especially a neutral compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-14, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0146823 (“Lee”) in view of US 2019/0009482 (“Lai”).
As to claims 1 and 16-18, Lee teaches a hydrogel contact lens having a wet modified surface. Lee teaches a general method of modifying the surface by immersing a hydrogel contact lens in a solution including hydrophilic monomer (para. 0056) and which may include an initiator (paras. 0068-0070). Lee teaches an interpenetrating network formed by this process and a physical intermixed layer formed with the lens substrate (para. 0042), thus a hydrophilic polymer layer entangled with the lens. While Lee does not state that the initiator is adsorbed on the lens, it is applied in the same way as described in applicant’s specification, and thus presumed to be adsorbed onto the lens. Lee teaches polymerization (para. 0072).
While Lee does not exemplify the recited monomers, Lee teaches N,N-dimethylacrylamide and glycerol monomethacrylate (same as 2,3-dihydroxpropyl methacrylate) and copolymers of these may be used (para. 0062). Lee does not discuss the recited ratio; however, Lai teaches hydrophilic polymers for use as a surface modification for contact lens (abstract). Lai teaches the hydrophilic polymer made from a hydrophilic monomer and bifunctional monomer (para. 0064) where the hydrophilic monomer may be N,N-cimethylacrylamide, and the bifunctional monomer may be glyceryl methacrylate (2,3-dihydroxpropyl methacrylate) as required by claims 1 and 17 (paras. 0067, 0070). Lai teaches a preferable ratio of these being 25:1 to 2:1, or 10:1 (para. 0064), which is within the ranges of claims 1, 16, and 18. Lai teaches such a ratio provides crosslinking with the lens surface body (para. 0064), and as such, the use of such monomers in combination is an obvious modification suggested for contact lens treatments by Lai.
As to claim 2, while not exemplified with the recited monomer, Lee teaches the initiator may include recited initiators including AIBN and 4,4-azobis(4-cyanovaleric acid) (para. 0068).
As to claim 4, Lee does not teach the recited monomers. However, as discussed with respect to claim 1, Lai teaches similar surface treatment polymers, and teaches the recited ratio of two monomers. Furthermore, Lai teaches a bifunctional monomer that may include 2-acrylamido-2-methylpropanesulfonic acid (para. 0070), itself or in combination with other such monomers. Lai also teaches the polymer may be reacted with ethylene glycol diacrylate (para. 0072), and as such, the use of these monomers is an obvious modification suggested by Lai for providing crosslinking. Note that Lee also teaches the analogous compound ethylene glycol dimethacrylate for crosslinking (Lee, para. 0066), so the use of an analogous compound is an obvious modification of Lee.
As to claim 5, Lee does not teach the recited monomers. However, as discussed with respect to claim 1, Lai teaches similar surface treatment polymers. Furthermore, Lai teaches a bifunctional monomer that may include 2-acrylamido-2-methylpropanesulfonic acid (para. 0070), itself or in combination with other such monomers, thus contemplating at least three different hydrophilic monomers. Lai also teaches the polymer may be reacted with ethylene glycol diacrylate (para. 0072), and as such, the use of these monomers is an obvious modification suggested by Lai for providing crosslinking. Note that Lee also teaches the analogous compound ethylene glycol dimethacrylate for crosslinking (Lee, para. 0066), so the use of an analogous compound is an obvious modification of Lee.
As to claim 6, Lee teaches forming on a silicone hydrogel lens (para. 0107).
As to claims 7, 8, and 21, Lee teaches a hydrogel contact lens having a wet modified surface. Lee teaches a general method of immersing a hydrogel contact lens in a solution including a hydrophilic monomer (para. 0056) and which may include an initiator (paras. 0068-0070). Lee teaches an interpenetrating network formed by this process and a physical intermixed layer formed with the lens substrate (para. 0042), thus a hydrophilic polymer layer entangled with the lens. While Lee does not state that the initiator is adsorbed thereon, the initiator is applied by immersing the lens in a solution of the initiator (paras. 0105-0106), and it is reasonable to presume that it is adsorbed thereon. Lee teaches polymerization (para. 0072). Lee teaches an interpenetrating network formed by this process and a physical intermixed layer formed with the lens substrate (para. 0042), thus a hydrophilic polymer layer entangled with the lens.
While Lee does not exemplify the recited monomers, Lee teaches N,N-dimethylacrylamide and glycerol monomethacrylate (same as 2,3-dihydroxpropyl methacrylate) and copolymers of these may be used (para. 0062). Lee does not discuss the recited ratio; however, Lai teaches hydrophilic polymers for use as a surface modification for contact lens (abstract). Lai teaches the hydrophilic polymer made from a hydrophilic monomer and bifunctional monomer (para. 0064) where the hydrophilic monomer may be N,N-cimethylacrylamide, and the bifunctional monomer may be glyceryl methacrylate (2,3-dihydroxpropyl methacrylate) as required by claims 7 and 21 (paras. 0067, 0070). Lai teaches a preferable ratio of these being 25:1 to 2:1, or 10:1 (para. 0064), which is within the ranges of claim 7. Lai teaches such a ratio provides crosslinking with the lens surface body (para. 0064), and as such, the use of such monomers in combination is an obvious modification suggested for contact lens treatments by Lai.
As to claim 9, Lee does not exemplify the recited amount of initiator; however, Lee teaches the solution may include 0.005 to 0.2 wt % (para. 0072), which overlaps the recited range. Further, Lee teaches alternate solutions including 0.05 to 5 wt % of initiator; as such, Lee contemplates forming hydrophilic coatings having the recited amounts of initiator.
As to claim 10, Lee teaches soaking the lens in a monomer solution and heating both (para. 0105).
As to claims 11-13, Lee teaches heating at a temperature of 80 degrees C as required by claim 11, for 1 hour as required by claims 12 and 13.
As to claim 14, while not exemplified with the recited monomer, Lee teaches the initiator may include recited initiators including AIBN and 4,4-azobis(4-cyanovaleric acid) (para. 0068).
As to claims 19 and 22, Lee does not discuss the recited additional monomer. However, Lai teaches the hydrophilic monomers can be combination, including N-vinylpyrrolidone, and as such, the use of such monomer is an obvious modification suggested by Lai.
As to claim 20, Lee does not discuss the contact angle. However, Lai teaches similar hydrophilic polymers for coating a contact lens using the recited monomers in a recited ratio. Lai teaches obtaining contact angle hysteresis of 15 degrees or less (para. 0096), which is substantially overlapping the recited range, and as such, obtaining a contact angle hysteresis in the recited range is an obvious modification suggested by Lai.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4-14, and 16-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/KREGG T BROOKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764