DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 8/5/2026 has been entered. Claims 16 and 18-28 remain pending in the application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a storage unit, a cleaning unit and a protection unit in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 18-20 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Application Publication No. 2016/0334432, hereinafter Miyazaki in view of United States Patent No. 5,408,891, hereinafter Barber.
Regarding claim 16, Miyazaki teaches an automatic analyzer (abstract), comprising: a storage unit (item 222) configured to store a rod-shaped member along a vertical direction (functional limitation MPEP § 2114 and a rod-shaped member would be able to be stored in item 222); and a cleaning unit (item 205) configured to clean the rod-shaped member (paragraph [0052]), wherein the storage unit and the cleaning unit are respectively arranged in parallel in a horizontal direction (figure 13), and the storage unit is arranged so that cleaning water overflowing from the cleaning unit flows into the storage unit (paragraph [0054]), a protection unit (item 303) is provided at an upper part of the storage unit (figure 13) to prevent damage to the rod-shaped member when the rod-shaped member is taken in and out of the storage unit (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), the protection unit is arranged vertically above a position where the cleaning water flows into the storage unit (figure 13), and the protection unit is a ring (figure 13, when viewed from above item 303 would have a ring shape).
Miyazaki fails to teach the protection unit having a tapered shape that is wider at a lower end and narrower at an upper end.
Barber teaches a fluid probe washing apparatus which has a protection unit (Barber, item 96) is a ring (Barber, figure 2) having a tapered shape (Barber, item 77a) that is wider at a lower end and narrower at an upper end (Barber, figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the protection unit having a tapered shape that is wider at a lower end and narrower at an upper end, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination, MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B). Further, the Examiner further finds that the prior art included each element claimed (as set forth above), although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements within a single reference. Moreover, an ordinarily skilled artisan could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., a straight sided protection unit with one with a taper), and that in combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately (i.e., protecting and venting), and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention to combine the straight sided protection unit of reference Miyazaki with the tapered shape of reference Barber, since the result would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 18, Miyazaki teaches the storage unit has a cylindrical shape (figure 13), and an inner diameter of the protection unit is smaller than an inner diameter of the cylindrical storage unit (paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 19, the rod-shaped member is not positively claimed and therefore any limitation on the rod-shaped member has minimal patentable weight (MPEP § 2115). The claim is therefore taught by Miyazaki. Further, Miyazaki teaches this limitation in paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 20, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Miyazaki and the apparatus of Miyazaki is capable of storing the rod-shaped member during a maintenance operation. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Miyazaki (see MPEP §2114).
Regarding claim 28, Miyazaki teaches wherein a vertical length of the storage unit is longer than a vertical length of the cleaning unit (figure 3, the total length of item 222 is longer than the portion of item 205 doing the washing).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 8/5/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16, 18-20 and 28 under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Miyazaki and Barber.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796