DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 11/10/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 21-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a storage unit, a cleaning unit and a protection unit in claims 16, 17 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-20 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2016/0334432, hereinafter Miyazaki.
Regarding claim 16, Miyazaki teaches an automatic analyzer (abstract), comprising: a storage unit (item 222) configured to store a rod-shaped member along a vertical direction (functional limitation MPEP § 2114 and a rod-shaped member would be able to be stored in item 222); and a cleaning unit (item 205) configured to clean the rod-shaped member (paragraph [0052]), wherein the storage unit and the cleaning unit are respectively arranged in parallel in a horizontal direction (figure 13), and the storage unit is arranged so that cleaning water overflowing from the cleaning unit flows into the storage unit (paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 17, Miyazaki teaches a protection unit (item 303) is provided at an upper part of the storage unit (figure 13) to prevent damage to the rod-shaped member when the rod-shaped member is taken in and out of the storage unit (functional limitation MPEP § 2114 and item 303 would be able to prevent damage), and the protection unit is arranged vertically above a position where the cleaning water flows into the storage unit (figure 13).
Regarding claim 18, Miyazaki teaches the storage unit has a cylindrical shape (figure 13), and an inner diameter of the protection unit is smaller than an inner diameter of the cylindrical storage unit (paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 19, the rod-shaped member is not positively claimed and therefore any limitation on the rod-shaped member has minimal patentable weight (MPEP § 2115). The claim is therefore taught by Miyazaki. Further, Miyazaki teaches this limitation in paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 20, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Miyazaki and the apparatus of Miyazaki is capable of storing the rod-shaped member during a maintenance operation. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Miyazaki (see MPEP §2114).
Regarding claim 28, Miyazaki teaches wherein a vertical length of the storage unit is longer than a vertical length of the cleaning unit (figure 3, the total length of item 222 is longer than the portion of item 205 doing the washing).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796