DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fichtner et. al., (US20090069495, herein Fichtner), in the view of Yang et. al, (US20090149591, herein Yang).
Regarding Claims 9, 12, 13, 14, Fichtner teaches pigmented latex composition [0018], comprising:
wherein the pigmented latex composition has “solids contents of from 20 to 70% by weight,” [0105] overlaps the claimed range, comprising “polyvinyl ester dispersions comprising, vinyl acetate and ethylene” [0089] and a plasticizer [0134];
Fichtner teaches “plasticizer” [0134], Fichtner is silent on wherein the pigmented latex composition comprises one or more plasticizers out of the group of polyethylene glycol diesters with 3 to 10 ethylene glycol units of C1-C10 alkyl carboxylic acids, wherein the carboxylic acids are identical or different and being branched or unbranched alkyl carboxylic acids. However, Yang teaches “Optifilm Enhancer 400” [0014] matches the plasticizer structure with 4 ethylene glycol units C8 alkyl carboxylic acids, as evidenced by CAS Registry Number: 105921-51-5 [Scifinder], structure see below, and in the range of “about 0.1 to 5.0 wt %” [0018] overlaps the claimed range.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Fichtner and Yang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of inorganic pigment based latex paint composition development for coating application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Fichtner to add the teachings of Yang and provide wherein said the “Optifilm Enhancer 400” [0014] and the range, into the composition development, which can further lead to the product development of “Optifilm Enhancer 400, which is a very low VOC, low odor coalescent that gives good film integrity, touch-up properties and scrub resistance.” [0014] as taught by Yang.
Regarding Claims 10, 11, Fichtner teaches “The preferred monomers of this type include vinyl acetate,” [0044] in the range of “at least 40% by weight” [0045] overlaps the claimed range;
“comonomers, such as ethylene, is up to 50% by weight” [0047] overlaps the claimed range.
“α,β-unsaturated monocarboxylic acids; is up to 5% by weight” [0048] lies in the claimed range.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding Claims 15-16, Fichtner and Yang teach the claimed composition and ranges, hence, the mastic and caulk, are the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
/Z.L./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767