Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants added language to claim 1 appears to add new matter and as set forth below the added language “singular composite device” seems to imply a singular device made of various or multiple parts, elements, or materials. The device of Callow(US20190274868) is at least a singular device made up of multiple parts, elements, or materials and is therefore a “singular composite device”.
The examiner recognizes the Callow(US20190274868) reference is markedly different than applicant’s intended use as disclosed in the specification however, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the structure as set forth in the current claims does not differentiate over the structure as set forth in the prior art. Applicant’s interpretation of the claimed language is narrower than the actual claim language allows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7-9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Applicants amended claim 1 to include the language “..a singular composite device..”.
The specification does not appear to specifically support this language. Page 11, line 6 sets forth “Base 12 can be of plastic, composites or similar materials that are partially rigid and flexible” and page 13, lines 8-13 sets forth “FIG. 9 illustrates the sexual aid shown in FIG. 8 with a removable top section 44 comprised of a plastic, composite, rubberized or similar material coated with silicone or other desired coating to finish the device for safe and comfortable use.” . The specification sets forth the device may be made of plastic, composite or similar materials and the removable part may similarly be made of plastic, composite or, rubberized or similar material. This seems to imply the device may be made of composite materials but does not seem to state a “singular composite device” nor is it clear to the examiner how to interpret the statement. A “singular composite device” seems to imply a singular device made of various or multiple parts, elements, or materials. Applicant’s arguments use the term “unitary composite device” but since the device includes a removable portion it does not seem this would be a unitary device but a device comprised of multiple separate parts that fit together
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-9 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Callow(US20190274868) hereinafter (Callow) in view of Mark(8512226) hereinafter (Mark).
Callow teaches a sexual aid device, system and method including a chassis with a distal end; a proximal end with at least one penile port; at least one penile support between the distal end and proximal end; at least one penile channel between the distal end and proximal end; wherein the chassis is configured to have an opening along the top toward the proximal end. When used with a sleeve and chassis cover the system provides additional support so that the combined device substantially surrounds the donning penis. Paragraph [0063] however, some penile channel 4100 and penile port 2400 shapes and size may exceed or fall outside the generally recommended ranges. In particular, in some applications it is desired to contain a vibrating mechanism(s), such as an unbalanced motor(s), spring(s) or bells. In these embodiments that chassis are often extended to include such mechanisms, and such mechanisms are activated prior and/or during insertion of the sexual aid device into an orifice.
Examiner notes the claims are very broad and have been given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
It is further noted the added language “singular composite device” seems to imply a singular device made of various or multiple parts, elements, or materials. The device of Callow is at least a singular device made up of multiple parts, elements, or materials and is therefore a “singular composite device”.
Regarding claim 1, Callow teaches a semi-rigid base member, for insertion into a woman's vagina; said semi-rigid flexible base member having a shape generally conforming to the shape of a male penis; Paragraph [0056] sets forth the materials used for the base or lower chassis may include various elastomers as well as memory foam may be used in the device or part of its core. Also, the base/chassis may include more rigid materials for structural support thus making it semi-rigid. The Base/chassis is also formed to support and conform to the male penis.
a top section secured to said semi-rigid base member;
said top section being a memory foam material; and
said top section for receiving said male penis.
Note Figures 11-16 and paragraphs 47 – 59.
Callow does teach in paragraphs [0056] and [0059] that the materials may include various elastomers and may incorporate memory foam.
However, Callow does not specifically teach that the top section being made of memory foam.
Mark teaches in the same field of endeavor a sexual aid device and method for inserting and occupying space within a human female's vagina to provide a sensation of increased fullness to the female and a sensation of increased tightness and friction to a penis of a human male during sexual intercourse, thereby enhancing sexual arousal of both the female and the male. The sexual aid can be a member having a bulbous end for insertion and a tapered end for externally grasping and manipulating the member. Paragraph [26], teaches the insertable member may be constructed of memory foam.
The use of various elastomers including memory foam are taught in both Callow and Mark.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Callow and construct the top section/chassis in Callow of memory foam as is well known and taught by Mark such that when constructed from memory foam, the foam changes shape as the insertable member is inserted to accommodate the shape of the vagina. The foam also compresses to accommodate the penis once the penis is inserted into the vagina.
Regarding claim 7, Callow teaches said semi-rigid base member having a general spoon shape and supporting said male penis; and said semi-rigid base member having an enlarged front section. Note Figures 11-16 and paragraphs 47 – 59.
Regarding claim 8, Callow teaches said semi-rigid base member having a protruding end opposite of said enlarged front section; said protruding end curving downwardly; and said protruding end for remaining external to a woman's vagina. Figures 11-16 and paragraphs 47 – 59.
Regarding claim 9, Callow teaches said top section having a removable member; and
said sexual aid device simulating a male penis when said removable member is attached to said semi-rigid base member. Figures 11-16 and paragraphs 47 – 59.
Regarding claim 21, Callow teaches silicone coating over said semi-rigid flexible base member. [0056] A preferred material for forming the chassis 2600 of the sexual aid device and system of the present invention contains polysiloxanes, a silicone plastic and/or silicone rubber blend. Various elastomers may also be used, including but not limited to natural rubbers. Ideally, in many cases, an inert or medical grade silicone rubber, latex or silicone blended material is used.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN L CASLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791