Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 13, 14, 16, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDanel et al in view of Aldahir et al as set forth at paragraph 8 in the previous office action (10/9/2025).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDaniel et al in view of Aldahir et al and further in view of Koch et al as set forth at paragraph 9 in the previous office action.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDaniel et al in view of Aldahir et al and further in view of Sutherland et al as set forth in paragraph 10 of the previous office action.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDaniel et al in view of Aldahir et al and further in view of Cooley et al as set forth in paragraph 11 of the previous office action.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that McDaniel does not disclose sand as a core material, the examiner first notes that the sand is merely being claimed as loose, particulate material with the particles being coated with coating material. McDaniel discloses the loose particulate material can be finely divided mineral or finely divided mineral and fiber. The particle matter is bound by a suitable organic or inorganic binder (col 5 lines 67- col 6 lines 3). The finely divided mineral can include quartz sand (col 6 lines 22-23) so that sand is the core material as it is surrounded by suitable organic or inorganic binder. Applicant is arguing exemplary particles being disclosed in col 6 lines 40+ and col 41 lines 42-44. As disclosed in col 6 lines 22-23, sand is another exemplary filler particle that can be used. Therefore, McDaniel does teach the concept of using a sand as the loose, particulate material. McDaniel discloses a coating material coating material comprising a polymer chosen from a group of copolymers, and mixtures of the polymers (col 40 lines 62-column 41 line 8). The coupling agent comprises a silane (col 21 lines 32-40). Therefore, all three limitations are taught by McDaniel.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding secondary reference Aldahir, Aldahir was being used to teach the concept of PLA being a known biodegradable polymer and that it would have been obvious to use known materials based on the suitability of its intended use as set forth on p. 5 of the previous office action. See in re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). McDaniel does teach a variety of suitable materials can be used and McDaniel discloses that the specific goal of using a coating material for fill particles is to avoid leaking chemicals which might harm players using the sports field ( col 42 lines 14-17). Applicant needs to argue the combined teachings as the combined references teach the loose particulate material with a coating material and and a coupling agent as taught by McDaniel. The actual biodegradable polymer and methacrylate are taught by Aldahir.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUGENE L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711