Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Acknowledgments
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 3/4/26 (3/12/26 RCE). In the reply, the applicant amended claims 1,14,37,231,238; canceled claims 38,254,258,393; added new claims 394-397. Claims 1-2,5-10,14-15,24-26,37,39,45-47,185,231-232,235-236,238-242,255-257,261-263,295,327,359-360,390-391,394-397 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,5-10,14-15,24-26,37,39,45-47,185,231-232,235-236,238-242,255-257,261-263,295,327,359-360,390-391,394-397 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0080196) (“Lee”) in view of Chen et al. (US 10,869,832) (“Chen”).
(claims 1, 231, 239) Lee discloses a periodontal drug delivery system (see abstract) comprising a microneedle patch, the microneedle patch comprising: a support layer 30 comprising a surface capable of a sealable application (Figs. 14a,b) to a diseased periodontal tissue of a subject in need thereof; and a plurality of transdermal microneedles 10 having bases disposed on the surface of the detachable support layer and projecting perpendicularly therefrom, wherein the transdermal microneedles comprise nano/microparticles loaded/coated with a drug 20, and the transdermal microneedles are formulated for sustained release of the drug ([0025,0076], viscous material affects the sustained release).
Lee does not directly disclose the support layer or the microneedles being detachable and wherein the detachable support layer comprises a first drug, the detachable support layer is formulated for immediate release of the first drug, and wherein the microneedles are loaded with a second drug. Chen, in the analogous art, teaches these features. The support layer 12 of Chen is formulated for immediate release of a first drug as it detaches from the substrate 11 and the microneedles 13 are loaded with a second drug and these microneedles detach from the supporting structure 12, C6L8-22, C3L42-50, C16L17-39. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support layer and microneedles of Lee with the detachable support layer and microneedles as taught by Chen for less discomfort for a user (Chen C3L63-65, C4L38-60, C16L17-39, Figs. 3, 4, 5, 6a,b)
The first drug comprising an antibiotic or antibacterial agent and the second drug comprising an immunomodulatory cytokine or a growth factor are design considerations. Chen and Lee both disclose devices for use in an oral cavity (Chen C6L26-32-oral cavity) (Lee [0003] Figs.14a,b, delivery to gums G).
Further, substances delivered depends on the use of the substance delivery device (Chen C6L22) (Chen C8L3-11-substances delivered by the device are not limited) A person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options of agents to apply to the system of Lee/Chen to cure a periodontal disease within his or her technical grasp.
This first drug is formulated for immediate release and can be an antibiotic or antibacterial selected from tetracycline, doxycycline, chlorhexidine and or minocycline, as above with design choice.
(claims 2, 232, 360) the detachable support layer, the transdermal microneedles, or both, independently comprise a biodegradable polymer. (Chen, C11L59-61,C16L12-16)
(claims 5, 6, 235, 236) the detachable support layer 12 is non-membranous and non-adhesive (Chen, the support layer is dissolvable, porous).
(claim 7) the first drug S1 is an antibiotic (Chen, C8L54-59, C8L3-11, {chitosan is a natural bioactive polymer with functional properties such as antibacterial, anti-infective activity}).
(claims 8, 238) the first drug is present within the detachable support layer, the first drug is coated on the detachable support layer, or a combination thereof. (Chen, C3L42-50, C16L8-16) The antibiotic or antibacterial is selected from tetracycline, doxycycline, chlorhexidine and or minocycline, as above with design choice.
(claims 9, 10) the first drug and second drug are dispersed within a biodegradable polymer (Chen, C3L42-50, C16L8-16).
(claim 14) the immunomodulatory cytokine, growth factor or combination thereof is encapsulated in the nano/microparticles, wherein the encapsulated nano/microparticles are dispersed within a biopolymer (Chen, C3L42-50, C16L8-16, C8L3-11).
(claim 15) the biopolymer comprises alginate and calcium chloride (Lee [0024]).
(claims 24, 240) the drug-loaded transdermal microneedles have a height ranging from about 300 microns to about 1200 microns (Chen, C7L43-60)
(claims 25, 241) the drug-loaded transdermal microneedles comprises a base diameter of from about 100 microns to about 400 microns. (Chen, C7L43-60)
(claims 26, 242) the drug-loaded transdermal microneedles have an aspect ratio of height to diameter of about 5 or more. (Chen, C7L43-60)
(claim 37) the second drug loaded in the transdermal microneedles comprises microparticles comprising an immunomodulatory cytokine, a growth factor, or combination thereof, and the detachable support layer comprises an antibiotic. (Chen, C8L54-59, C8L3-11, C3L42-50 {chitosan is a natural bioactive polymer with functional properties such as antibacterial, anti-infective activity}).
(claim 255) the drug loaded transdermal microneedles comprises an immunomodulatory cytokine, and the detachable support comprises an antibiotic or antibacterial agent. Chen, C8L54-59, C8L3-11, C3L42-50
(claim 39) the second drug loaded in the transdermal microneedles comprise an immunomodulatory cytokine, and the detachable support comprises an antibiotic. (Chen, C8L54-59, C8L3-11, C3L42-50)
(claims 45, 261) the diseased periodontal tissue comprises periodontal ligament, cementum, gingiva, and/or alveolar bone. (Lee [0084,0137,0148,0003)
(claims 46, 262) the subject has periodontitis and/or gingivitis. (treatment to gums Lee [0084,0137,0148,0003])
(claims 47, 185, 263, 295, 327, 359, 390, 391) A method for regenerating periodontal tissue in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising sealably applying to the periodontal tissue the periodontal delivery system of claim 1—see rejection above with respect to claims 1, 45, 46
(claims 256, 257) the antibiotic or antibacterial agent is tetracycline, doxycycline, chlorhexidine and/or minocycline;
an amount of from about 50 ng up to about 1,500 ng of the antibacterial agent per transdermal microneedle patch. (Chen C8L3-11, the inventions of Chen and Lee are not limited by the substances and amounts to be delivered—this is an obvious design choice)
(claims 394-397) the immunomodulatory cytokine is IL-4 or IL-10 or the combination thereof and the growth factor being TGF-β is, as above, design considerations. Chen and Lee both disclose devices for use in an oral cavity (Chen C6L26-32-oral cavity) (Lee [0003] Figs.14a,b, delivery to gums G).
Further, substances delivered depends on the use of the substance delivery device (Chen C6L22) (Chen C8L3-11-substances delivered by the device are not limited) A person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options of agents to apply to the system of Lee/Chen to cure a periodontal disease within his or her technical grasp, KSR.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that neither Chen nor Lee disclose antibiotics or antibacterial agents in the support layer, nor an immunomodulatory cytokine and/or growth factor in nano/microparticles in the microneedles.
Chen and Lee both disclose devices for use in an oral cavity (Chen C6L26-32-oral cavity) (Lee [0003] Figs.14a,b, delivery to gums G). Further, substances delivered depends on the use of the substance delivery device (Chen C6L22) (Chen C8L3-11-substances delivered by the device are not limited) A person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options of agents to apply to the system of Lee/Chen to cure a periodontal disease within his or her technical grasp KSR. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out a simple substitution of one agent for another to obtain predictable results when used in the same area of treatment (oral cavity, gums [Chen and Lee]), KSR.
The claimed subject matter is known. Both the use of Lee (and Chen) to address periodontal diseases in its application of its device to the gums and the substances delivered depends on the use of the substance delivery device (Chen C6L22) (Chen C8L3-11-substances delivered by the device are not limited). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options of agents to apply to the system of Lee/Chen to cure a periodontal disease within his or her technical grasp.
Conclusion
/DEANNA K HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783