DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Arguments and Amendment filed, 04/28/2026, wherein the Amendment amended claims 1 and 33, and cancelled claims 27-29 and 32.
Claims 1-26, 30-31, and 33-51 are pending.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected Group I and the species E057
as the compound of Formula I and elected chronic urticaria as the inflammatory disease, in the reply filed on 04/04/2025.
The elected species is allowable over the prior art. The examination of the Markush claim has been extended. If a Markush grouping as set forth in a claim is proper and election of species has been required, the examiner must continue to search the species of the claim unless the claim has been found to be unpatentable over prior art. MPEP 803.02.
As detailed in the following prior art rejections, the generic claim encompassing the elected species was not found patentable. Therefore, the provisional election of species is given effect, the examination is restricted to the elected species only, and claims not reading on the elected species are held withdrawn. MPEP 803.02; Ex parte Ohsaka, 2 USPQ2d 1460, 1461 (Bd. Pat. App. lnt. 1987).
Should applicant, in response to this rejection of the Markush-type claim, overcome the rejection through amendment, the amended Markush-type claim will be reexamined to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. See MPEP 803.02.
The 04/28/2026 Amendment amended the definition of R1 to limit its scope to 3-10 membered heterocycloalkyls having 1-3 heteroatoms selected from N, O, and S, which is optionally substituted with 1, 2 or 3 R51 groups. As such, the species searched and examined in the previous Office Action do not read on the amended claims; the search has been extended as detailed in the following prior art rejection.
Claims 3, 5-11, 15, 17-18, 20-21, 24-25, 31 and 34-51 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and non-elected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-2, 4, 12-14, 16, 19, 22-23, 26, 30, and 33 are examined on the merits herein.
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
The status for each rejection and/or objection in the previous Office Action is set out below.
Specification Objections
Applicant’s amendment to the specification is sufficient to overcome the objection.
Claim Objections
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 33 are sufficient to overcome the objections.
35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 is sufficient to overcome this rejection.
35 U.S.C. § 102
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 that limits the definition of R1 to limit its scope to 3-10 membered heterocycloalkyls having 1-3 heteroatoms selected from N, O, and S, which is optionally substituted with 1, 2 or 3 R51 groups, is sufficient to overcome these rejections.
Double Patenting
Copending Application No. 19/349,768 defines k as 1, while the instant claims recite k as 0. As such, the compounds of ‘769 and the instant application are distinct.
REJECTIONS-NEW
In view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the below rejections are new.
Substantial Duplicates
Applicant is advised that should claim 19 be found allowable, claim 22 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)-New Matter
Claims 1-2, 4, 12-14, 16, 19, 22-23, 26, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
This is a new matter rejection.
-In claim 1, in the definition of R51, the term “oxo” is added as a member of the Markush group. However, neither the original disclosure nor the original claims provide support for “oxo” as R51. While Applicant states that “No new matter has been added,” on pg. 39, Remarks, Applicant does not point to specific support for “oxo” as R51.
All other claims not specifically recited are rejected for depending from an indefinite claim and failing to cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 12, 14, 23, 26, 30, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by STN File Registry No. 1625921-90-5 (published 2014, PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1 and 33, STN teaches
which meets the limitation of instant formula (I) when:
W is –L1-A2, wherein L1 is -CH2-, p is 1, and A2 is a phenyl substituted with 1 R60, the halogen F,
A1 is ring system 1
R1 is a 5 membered heterocycloalkyl with one heteroatom, oxygen.
Regarding claim 2, A1 is ring system 1.
Regarding claims 4, 12, 14, and 23, A2 is a phenyl substituted with one R60 group, F, at the 2-position.
Regarding claim 26, p is 1 and L1 is CH2.
Regarding claim 30, R1 is tetrahydrofuran-3-yl.
"A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus." The species in that case will anticipate the genus. See MPEP 2131.02.
Registry number 1625921-90-5 is available as prior art as of 09/25/2014, the date it was indexed into the CAPlus database. Since this date represents the date that the compound entered the CAPlus database on STN, this represents the date that each compound was made accessible to the public.
Per MPEP 2128, an electronic publication, including an online database or Internet publication (e.g., discussion group, forum, digital video, or social media post), is considered to be a "printed publication" within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) and (b) provided the publication was accessible to persons concerned with the art to which the document relates. See In re Wyer, 655 F.2d 221, 227, 210 USPQ 790, 795 (CCPA 1981). . . Electronic publications on the internet or on an online database are considered to be publicly available as of the date the item was publicly posted.”
As such, the instantly claimed compound is anticipated.
Claims 1-2, 4, 12, 16, 23, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Obushak (Heterocyclic Syntheses on the Basis of Arylation Products of Unsaturated Compounds: X. 3-Aryl-2-chloropropanals as Reagents for the Synthesis of 2-Amino-1,3-thiazole Derivatives, published 2004, PTO-892).
Regarding claim 1, Obushak teaches:
(pg. 387), which meets the limitation of instant formula (I) when:
W is –L1-A2, wherein L1is -CH2-, p is 1, and A2 is phenyl substituted with one R60, the halogen F,
A1 is ring system 1
R1 is a 5 membered heterocycloalkyl with one heteroatom, oxygen.
Regarding claim 2, A1 is ring system 1.
Regarding claims 4, 12, 16, and 23, A2 is phenyl substituted with one R60, the halogen, F at the 4 position.
Regarding claim 26, p is 1 and Li is CH2.
"A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus." The species in that case will anticipate the genus. See MPEP 2131.02.
Claims 1-2, 4, 13, 19, 22, 23, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO2008/050600 to Kazunori (published 2008, PTO-892).
Regarding claim 1 Kazunori teaches:
(pg. 2), which meets the limitations of instant Formula (I) when:
W is (L1)p-A2, wherein L1 is-CH2-, p is 1, and A2 is phenyl substituted with two halogens
A1 is Ring system 1
R1 is a 5-membered heterocycloalkyl with one heteroatom, oxygen.
Regarding claim 2, A1 is ring system 1.
Regarding claims 4, 13, 19, 22, and 23, A2 is a phenyl substituted with 2 R60, the halogens Cl, at the 2 and 5 position.
Regarding claim 26, p is 1 and L1 is CH2.
"A generic claim cannot be allowed to an applicant if the prior art discloses a species falling within the claimed genus." The species in that case will anticipate the genus. See MPEP 2131.02.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN WELLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1622