DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 1 is amended. Claims 2, 8 & 13 are canceled. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-12 & 14-21 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7 & 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noumi (US 2010/0227223 A1) in view of Hiraoka (US 2008/0216942 A1).
Regarding claims 1 & 14-19, Noumi teaches a lithium secondary battery comprising a positive electrode, negative electrode and a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, wherein the separator comprises a crosslinked separator comprising a crosslinked polyolefin porous substrate having a crosslinking degree of 20% to 80% and which is produced by applying a Type 2 photoinitiator composition comprising a Type 2 photoinitiator such as benzophenone (BPO) and a solvent for the photoinitiator to a polyolefin substrate; and irradiating ultraviolet (UV) rays to the polyolefin porous substrate coated with the photoinitiator composition ([0013], [0032] & [0039]-[0042], [0045] & [0051]-[0053]), wherein a content of the photoinitiator is 0.01 wt% to 1 wt% in the polyolefin porous substrate ([0043]) and wherein a content of the photoinitiator is 0.2 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the solvent for the photoinitiator in a specific embodiment (Example 1). Noumi does not explicitly teach a plurality of fibrils including polyolefin chains being crosslinked directly with one another and forming pores between entangles fibrils but nevertheless discloses polyolefin molecular chains being cut by the irradiation in a surface area of the porous polyolefin substrate and then crosslinked ([0013] & [0040]) where pores would be expected to form between the entangled fibrils resulting from the crosslinking. While Noumi is silent as to the claimed tensile strength of 20% or more in a machine direction relative to a non-crosslinked separator, it is noted that Noumi, similarly to the present invention, discloses a method of producing a crosslinked separator comprising a crosslinked porous polyolefin substrate by irradiating UV rays while using a photoinitator to perform the crosslinking. Noumi is silent as to the dose of the UV light, however one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use a light dose of 200 mJ/cm2 to 2,000 mJ/cm2 as a suitable range for crosslinking a polyolefin-based battery separator as taught by Hiraoka ([0030], [0067]-[0075], [0085]-[0086] & [0088]). Accordingly, when Noumi’s separator is crosslinked with a light dose of 200 mJ/cm2 to 2,000 mJ/cm2, which overlaps with the light dose used in the present invention (i.e 10-1000 mJ/cm2), Noumi’s crosslinked separator would be expected to possess the claimed tensile strength properties. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding claim 3 & 5-7, Noumi as modified by Hiraoka teaches the crosslinked separator of claim 1 but is silent as to the properties recited in claims 3 & 5-7. However, as noted above, modified by Noumi teaches substantially the same method of forming a crosslinked polyolefin as that of the present invention. Accordingly, the presently claimed properties of claims 3 & 5-7 would be expected to be present within the separator of Noumi as modified by Hiraoka. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noumi (US 2010/0227223 A1) and Hiraoka (US 2008/0216942 A1), as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-7 & 14-19 above, and further in view of Modeki (US 2018/0097256 A1) and Arnold (US 2017/0170441 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Noumi as modified by Hiraoka teaches the crosslinked separator of claim 1 but is silent as to a first porous coating layer disposed on at least one surface of the crosslinked polyolefin porous substrate, wherein the non-crosslinked separator further comprises a second porous coating layer disposed on at least one surface of the polyolefin porous substrate before crosslinking, and the first and second porous coating layer comprise a binder polymer and inorganic particles, and has interstitial volumes among the inorganic particles that are in contact with one another, wherein the interstitial volumes are spaces defined by the inorganic particles that are in contact with one another in a packed structure of the inorganic particles, and the interstitial volumes among the inorganic particles correspond to pores of the first and second porous coating layer (claim 4) and wherein the inorganic particles are least one selected from the group recited in claim 20 (claim 20). Modeki teaches a crosslinked separator obtained by irradiating UV rays on a non-crosslinked separator comprising a porous polyolefin substrate with an applied photoinitiator composition, wherein the non-crosslinked separator comprises a porous polyolefin substrate preferably having a ceramic layer including inorganic particles and a binder polymer on at least one surface of the substrate before crosslinking ([0075]-[0076], [0096]-[0102] & [0104]-[0118]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to form a first porous coating layer including inorganic particles and a binder polymer on at least one surface of the substrate in order to improve heat resistance and reduce thermal shrinkage thereby preventing short-circuiting between electrodes as taught by Modeki ([0096]-[0097]). Arnold teaches a method of manufacturing a crosslinked separator by applying a photoinitiator composition comprising a photoinitiator such as BPO, inorganic particles and a binder polymer to a porous polyolefin substrate and a irradiating with UV rays to obtain a porous coating layer comprising the inorganic particles and the binder polymer on the porous polyolefin substrate ([0099]-[0129]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to form a porous coating layer including inorganic particles and a binder polymer with the photoinitiator composition in order to strengthen and protect separators and improve the operational safety of electrochemical devices using such separators as taught by Arnold ([0097]). Accordingly, Arnold teaches the claimed first porous coating layer including inorganic particles and binder polymer disposed on at least one surface of the crosslinked polyolefin porous substrate. While Noumi as modified by Modeki and Arnold does not explicitly teach interstitial volumes among the inorganic particles that are in contact with one another, wherein the interstitial volumes are spaces defined by the inorganic particles that are in contact with one another in a packed structure of the inorganic particles, and the interstitial volumes among the inorganic particles corresponding to pores of the first and second porous coating layer, one of ordinary skill in the art, readily understands that the solvent used to form the first and second porous coating layers would evaporate when the first and second porous coating layers are dried which leaves pores in the remaining first and second porous coating layers corresponding to the claimed interstitial volumes.
Claims 9 & 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noumi (US 2010/0227223 A1) and Hiraoka (US 2008/0216942 A1), as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-7 & 14-19 above, and further in view of Akita (US 2014/0335403 A1).
Regarding claims 9 & 11, Noumi as modified by Hiraoka teaches the same method of manufacturing the crosslinked separator of claim 1 except for the use of benzophenone as a photoinitiator instead of 2-isopropylthioxanthone as claimed. However, one of ordinary skill in the art readily understands that thioxanthone-based compounds such as 2-isopropylthioxanthone and benzophenone-based compounds are art recognized equivalents for the same purpose of functioning as photoinitiators as taught by Akita ([0076]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use 2-isopropylthioxanthone as a photoinitiator in place or in combination with the benzophenone compound described in Noumi ([0042]). “"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980)”. See MPEP 2144.06 I. “In order to rely on equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art, and cannot be based on applicant’s disclosure or the mere fact that the components at issue are functional or mechanical equivalents. In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958)”. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding claim 12, Noumi as modified by Hiraoka and Akita teaches the method of manufacturing the crosslinked separator of claim 9 but is silent as to the type 2 photoinitiator further comprising thioxanthone (TX). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use ITX and TX as art recognized equivalents for performing the same function (i.e photoinitiators for crosslinking polyolefin-based separator) as taught by Hiraoka ([0068]-[0069]). See MPEP 2144.06 I.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noumi (US 2010/0227223 A1), Hiraoka (US 2008/0216942 A1) and Akita (US 2014/0335403 A1), as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11-12 & 14-19 above, and further in view of Arnold (US 2017/0170441 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Noumi as modified by Hiraoka and Akita teaches the method of manufacturing the crosslinked separator of claim 9 but is silent as to the photoinitiator composition being a composition for forming a porous coating layer and further comprising inorganic particles and a binder polymer. Arnold teaches a method of manufacturing a crosslinked separator by applying a photoinitiator composition comprising a photoinitiator such as BPO, inorganic particles and a binder polymer to a porous polyolefin substrate and a irradiating with UV rays to obtain a porous coating layer comprising the inorganic particles and the binder polymer on the porous polyolefin substrate ([0099]-[0129]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to form a porous coating layer including inorganic particles and a binder polymer with the photoinitiator composition in order to strengthen and protect separators and improve the operational safety of electrochemical devices using such separators as taught by Arnold ([0097]).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noumi (US 2010/0227223 A1), Hiraoka (US 2008/0216942 A1), Modeki (US 2018/0097256 A1) and Arnold (US 2017/0170441 A1), as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 12 & 14-19 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2017/0331094 A1).
Regarding claims 20-21, Noumi as modified by Hiraoka, Modeki and Arnold teaches the crosslinked separator of claim 4 but is silent as to the inorganic particles being at least one selected from the recited groups in respective claims 20-21. Lee teaches a separator (100) comprising a porous coating layer (120) comprising inorganic particles (121) such as barium titanate (i.e BaTiO3) and/or SnO2 and a binder polymer (122) disposed on at least one surface of a porous polyolefin substrate (110) (Fig. 3; [0035] & [0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use any one the claimed inorganic materials for Noumi’s modified porous coating layer as suitable inorganic material for a porous coating layer of a battery separator as taught by Lee where the porous coating layer is beneficial for protecting the separator from a risk of failure and preventing thermal shrinkage ([0004]). “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)” See MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-7, 9-12 & 14-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. As presently recited, the subject matter of claim 1 is found to be obvious over the combined teachings of Noumi and Hiraoka. Specifically, the light dose used in the present invention to obtain the crosslinked separator would have been obvious in view of Hiraoka’s teachings.
Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 1, 3-7, 9-12 & 14-21 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727