DETAILED ACTION
Final action
Claims 1, 3-12 and 14-15 are pending.
Claims 5-9 and 12 are rejected below.
Claims 1, 3-4, 10-11 and 14-15 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsuo (U.S. PG Pub. 2020/0108481).
As to claim 5, Matsuo teaches a tool arm comprises: an upper arm configured to be connected to the drive unit(element 4); a lower arm (element 5)[0026] mechanically connected to the upper arm (fig. 1) and configured to be connected with the tool holder; and a force transducer disposed between in contact with both the upper arm and the lower arm in a main path of the transmission of a tool force (element 9) from the workpiece through the tool during chip-removing machining of the workpiece[0047].
As to claim 5, Matsuo teaches a process for operating a cutting machine f including the following steps: using the tool holder to hold the required tool[0026]; using the drive unit to move the tool arm so that the required tool held in the tool holder is aligned with the workpiece[0029];using the required tool in performing chip-removing machining of the workpiece[0045]; and using the force transducer to measure a tool force exerted by the required tool during chip-removing machining of the workpiece[0045], wherein the measurement eliminates an inaccuracy attributable to a dampinq effect of a structure interposed between the force transducer and one or both of the upper arm and the lower arm (this is intended use and does not actually occur and therefore isn’t given weight).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo (U.S. PG Pub. 2020/0108481) in view of Hwa (U.S. KR20030061076A).
Matsuo teaches most of the claimed invention, but does not teach all of the claimed invention, however, some of this is taught by Hwa as follows:
As to claims 7 and 8, Hwa teaches the force sensor portion 14 detects the voltage of each of the main component force, for component force and feed component force generated at the front end of the diamond tool 10 during the machining of the workpiece. Here, the main component force represents the force generated in the Y-axis direction of the workpiece (which is equivalent to the transverse shear component (Kwx) of the present application), for component force represents the force generated in the Z-axis direction which is equivalent to the vertical shear component (Kwz) of the present application), a transfer component force represents the force generated in the X-axis direction (which is equivalent to the horizontal force component Kwy) of the present application). The detected analog voltage signal is applied to the charge amplifier via cables connected to the first cable jack 52a, the second cable jack S2b and the third cable jack 52c respectively[32-33].
As to claim 9, Hwa teaches wherein the cutting machine includes a converter unit and wherein for each chip-removing machining step performed with a required tool said converter unit converts analog measurement signals into digital measurement signals[0033].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to include the teachings of Hwa into the system and methods of Matsuo. The motivation to combine is that Hwa teaches that dynamic errors can be compensated for using the force sensor readings[46].
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo (U.S. PG Pub. 2020/0108481) in view of Hwa (U.S. KR20030061076A) in view Sonderegger (U.S. PG Pub. 2019/0242768).
Matsuo in view of Hwa teaches most of the claimed invention, but does not teach all of the claimed invention, however, some of this is taught by Sonderegger as follows:
As to claim 12, Sonderegger teaches wherein the force transducer includes a first piezoelectric element that is oriented to generate electrical polarization charges with maximum sensitivity to the transverse shear component; wherein the force transducer includes a second piezoelectric element that is oriented to generate electrical polarization charges with maximum sensitivity to the vertical shear component; and wherein the force transducer includes a third piezoelectric element that is oriented to generate electrical polarization charges with maximum sensitivity to the horizontal force component[0049 and claim 8].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to include the teachings of Sonderegger into the system and methods of Matsuo in view of Hwa. The motivation to combine is that Sonderegger teaches using piezoelectric transducing elements for the force sensor high sensitivity can be detected [0036].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-4, 10-11, 14 and 15 are allowed
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12-19-25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments seem to state that the transducer is not in contact with both the upper and lower arm. Examiner disagrees as seen above the force transducer (element 9) is in contact with element 4 and 5. See fig. 1 and paragraphs 0045, 0047 Examiner would also like to not that the claims don’t state they transducer is in direct contact with the arms. Also, there is a large portion of the claim that is in the preamble and cannot be given weight.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN L LAUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119