Claim Status
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted on October 1st, 2025 have been entered into the file.
Currently claims 1-2, 5, 11-12 are amended, resulting in claims 1-17 pending for examination.
Response to Amendment
The arguments and amendments filed October 1st, 2025 have been received and entered into the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 11, the instant claims recite “adding a concentrated acid providing acid concentration from 3.0% to 7.5% or from 10.0% to 40.0%.” It is unclear from the wording of the claims if the acid concentration recited is the concentration of the instant claimed concentrated acid.
Further it is unclear if the “providing acid concentration from 3.0% to 7.5% or from 10.0% to 40.0%” is referring to a concentration of the acid itself (concentration of the solution of acid that is added) or the concentration of the acid once added to the mixture.
Further, as applicant has not provided any units with respect to 3.0% to 7.5% or from 10.0% to 40.0%, it is unclear if the recited concentration refers to a weight percent, volume percent, or molar percent, for example.
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the limitation of “adding a concentrated acid providing acid concentration from 3.0% to 7.5% or from 10.0% to 40.0%” to mean a volume, molar, or weight percent concentration of acid itself or the acid after its addition, as any of the aforementioned interpretations are to be understood to meet the instant claimed limitations. Appropriated correction is required.
Regarding claims 2-4, 6-10, and 12-17, they are rejected based on their dependence on a previously rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Floyd et al., US Patent 6,201,095 B1 (hereinafter “Floyd”).
Regarding claim 1, Floyd discloses a method of manufacturing a polymer, the method comprising:
providing copolymerization reaction of melamine and formaldehyde with one or more polyols (i.e., dipropylene glycol) [col. 4, Table I, Samples A-C]; and
adding a concentrated acid (i.e., 40% sulfuric acid) [col. 4, Table I, Samples B-C; col. 4, lines 7-12] (see above 112b rejection), to form an optically transparent (i.e., Gardner color 1; “clear colorless and water dilutable”) gel-polymer [col. 4, Table I, Samples B-C; col. 4, lines 48-50].
With respect to the limitations of the method of manufacturing forming a proton-conducting gel-polymer, the Examiner presents that the recitation of “proton-conductive” and “electrolyte” in the claim is a recitation of intended use that occurs in the preamble, which merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure. The Examiner further notes that such limitations are not accorded patentable weight when the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See MPEP 2111.02.
Further, as described above, Floyd teaches a method including a copolymerization step and an acid addition step, where the components and concentration of these steps are shared between Floyd and the instant disclosure. As such, the Examiner presents that there is a reasonable basis to conclude that by performing the same method steps with the same materials, a proton-conducting gel polymer would also be formed.
Additionally, the Examiner also notes that in the disclosure of the method by Floyd, the aforementioned acid catalyst is understood to facilitate reactions with affect crosslinking (Column 4, Lines 10-15). Therefore, Floyd is considered to teach some amount of crosslinking, which is understood by the Examiner to pertain to at least some portion of the product resulting from the method described being a gel.
Regarding claim 2, Floyd discloses the method of claim 1. Floyd further discloses the use of dipropylene glycol (which is listed as a polyol and is therefore interpreted as belonging to the group of polypropylene glycols) [col. 4, Table I, Samples A-C], and provides support for dialkylene glycol, polyalkylene glycols, and polyvinyl alcohol as suitable polyols [col. 3, lines 39-41].
Regarding claim 4, Floyd discloses the method of claim 1. Floyd further discloses the use of sulfuric acid [col. 4, Table I, Samples B-C], which is an inorganic (mineral) acid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9-13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Floyd et al., US Patent 6,201,095 B1.
Alternately regarding claim 1, as described above in the rejection of claim 1, Floyd discloses a method of manufacturing proton-conductive gel-polymer electrolytes, the method comprising:
providing copolymerization reaction of melamine and formaldehyde with one or more polyols (i.e., dipropylene glycol) [col. 4, Table I, Samples A-C]; and
adding an acid to form an optically transparent proton-conducting gel-polymer (Column 4).
The Examiner notes that Floyd teaches the acid catalyst for the reaction in the method of manufacture is suitably added in an amount of 0.1% to 15% based on the weight (dry basis) of the reaction product (Column 4, Lines 5-15). As described above, the interpretation of “adding a concentrated acid providing acid concentration from 3.0% to 7.5% or from 10.0% to 40.0%” is understood by the Examiner to mean a volume, molar, or weight percent concentration of acid itself or the acid after its addition (see above 112b rejection). Therefore, the range of the acid concentration disclosed by Floyd is considered to overlap with the instant claimed range of acid concentration. Thus, prima facie obviousness is established and the instant claimed limitations are met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
With respect to the limitations of the method of manufacturing forming a proton-conducting gel-polymer, the Examiner presents that the recitation of “proton-conductive” and “electrolyte” in the claim is a recitation of intended use that occurs in the preamble, which merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure. The Examiner further notes that such limitations are not accorded patentable weight when the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See MPEP 2111.02.
Further, as described above, Floyd teaches a method including a copolymerization step and an acid addition step, where the components and concentration of these steps are shared between Floyd and the instant disclosure. As such, the Examiner presents that there is a reasonable basis to conclude that by performing the same method steps with the same materials, a proton-conducting gel polymer would also be formed.
Additionally, the Examiner also notes that in the disclosure of the method by Floyd, the aforementioned acid catalyst is understood to facilitate reactions with affect crosslinking (Column 4, Lines 10-15). Therefore, Floyd is considered to teach some amount of crosslinking, which is understood by the Examiner to pertain to at least some portion of the product resulting from the method described being a gel.
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 16 Floyd discloses the methods of claims 1, 5, and 11. Floyd discloses the use of 40% sulfuric acid as the concentrated acid. Floyd also teaches a list alternatively usable acids suitable for the catalyst, which includes the organic acid of p-toluene sulfonic acid [col. 4, lines 7-12]. It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (hereinafter “skilled artisan), as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the sulfuric acid of Floyd’s Samples A-C with p-toluene sulfonic acid as taught by Floyd.
Regarding claim 5, Floyd discloses a method of manufacturing a polymer, the method comprising:
providing copolymerization reaction of melamine and formaldehyde [col. 4, Table I, Samples A-C] with one or more polyols (see below); and
adding a concentrated acid (i.e., 40% sulfuric acid) [col. 4, Table I, Samples B-C; col. 4, lines 7-12] (see above 112b rejection), to form an optically transparent (i.e., Gardner color 1; “clear colorless and water dilutable”) gel-polymer [col. 4, Table I, Samples B-C; col. 4, lines 48-50].
Floyd discloses the use of dipropylene glycol as a polyol in Samples A-C. Floyd also teaches a list of alternatively usable polyols including monosaccharides (i.e., dextrose), oligosaccharides (i.e., dextrose oligomers) or polysaccharides (i.e., polysaccharides) and/or their derivativities [col. 3, lines 41-46]. It therefore would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to substitute the dipropylene glycol of Samples A-C for one of the alternatively usable saccharide options as taught by Floyd.
Additionally, The Examiner notes that Floyd teaches the acid catalyst for the reaction in the method of manufacture is suitably added in an amount of 0.1% to 15% based on the weight (dry basis) of the reaction product (Column 4, Lines 5-15). As described above, the interpretation of “adding a concentrated acid providing acid concentration from 3.0% to 7.5% or from 10.0% to 40.0%” is understood by the Examiner to mean a volume, molar, or weight percent concentration of acid itself or the acid after its addition (see above 112b rejection). Therefore, the range of the acid concentration disclosed by Floyd is considered to overlap with the instant claimed range of acid concentration. Thus, prima facie obviousness is established and the instant claimed limitations are met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
With respect to the limitations of the method of manufacturing forming a proton-conducting gel-polymer, the Examiner presents that the recitation of “proton-conductive” and “electrolyte” in the claim is a recitation of intended use that occurs in the preamble, which merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure. The Examiner further notes that such limitations are not accorded patentable weight when the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See MPEP 2111.02.
Further, as described above, Floyd teaches a method including a copolymerization step and an acid addition step, where the components and concentration of these steps are shared between Floyd and the instant disclosure. As such, the Examiner presents that there is a reasonable basis to conclude that by performing the same method steps with the same materials, a proton-conducting gel polymer would also be formed.
Additionally, the Examiner also notes that in the disclosure of the method by Floyd, the aforementioned acid catalyst is understood to facilitate reactions with affect crosslinking (Column 4, Lines 10-15). Therefore, Floyd is considered to teach some amount of crosslinking, which is understood by the Examiner to pertain to at least some portion of the product resulting from the method described being a gel.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Floyd discloses the methods of claims 5 and 11. Floyd further teaches starch as an example of a suitable polysaccharide [col. 3, line 43]. It therefore would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to further select starch as the saccharide from claim 5.
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Floyd discloses the methods of claims 5 and 11. Floyd further discloses the use of sulfuric acid [col. 4, Table I, Samples B-C], which is an inorganic (mineral) acid.
Regarding claim 11, Floyd discloses a method of manufacturing a polymer, the method comprising:
providing copolymerization reaction of melamine and formaldehyde [col. 4, Table I, Samples A-C] with one or several polyols (see below); and
adding a concentrated acid (i.e., 40% sulfuric acid) [col. 4, Table I, Samples B-C; col. 4, lines 7-12] (see above 112b rejection), to form an optically transparent (i.e., Gardner color 1; “clear colorless and water dilutable”) gel-polymer [col. 4, Table I, Samples B-C; col. 4, lines 48-50].
Floyd discloses the use of dipropylene glycol as a polyol in Samples A-C. Floyd also teaches a that the method may include one or more polyols [col. 1, line 66] and a list of alternatively usable polyols including dialkylene or polyalkylene glycols as well as monosaccharides (i.e., dextrose), oligosaccharides (i.e., dextrose oligomers) or polysaccharides (i.e., polysaccharides) and/or their derivativities [col. 3, lines 39-46]. It therefore would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to substitute the dipropylene glycol of Samples A-C for a combination of polyols including a dialkylene or polyalkylene glycol and any one of the alternatively usable saccharide options as taught by Floyd.
The Examiner notes that Floyd teaches the acid catalyst for the reaction in the method of manufacture is suitably added in an amount of 0.1% to 15% based on the weight (dry basis) of the reaction product (Column 4, Lines 5-15). As described above, the interpretation of “adding a concentrated acid providing acid concentration from 3.0% to 7.5% or from 10.0% to 40.0%” is understood by the Examiner to mean a volume, molar, or weight percent concentration of acid itself or the acid after its addition (see above 112b rejection). Therefore, the range of the acid concentration disclosed by Floyd is considered to overlap with the instant claimed range of acid concentration. Thus, prima facie obviousness is established and the instant claimed limitations are met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
With respect to the limitations of the method of manufacturing forming a proton-conducting gel-polymer, the Examiner presents that the recitation of “proton-conductive” and “electrolyte” in the claim is a recitation of intended use that occurs in the preamble, which merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure. The Examiner further notes that such limitations are not accorded patentable weight when the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See MPEP 2111.02.
Further, as described above, Floyd teaches a method including a copolymerization step and an acid addition step, where the components and concentration of these steps are shared between Floyd and the instant disclosure. As such, the Examiner presents that there is a reasonable basis to conclude that by performing the same method steps with the same materials, a proton-conducting gel polymer would also be formed.
Additionally, the Examiner also notes that in the disclosure of the method by Floyd, the aforementioned acid catalyst is understood to facilitate reactions with affect crosslinking (Column 4, Lines 10-15). Therefore, Floyd is considered to teach some amount of crosslinking, which is understood by the Examiner to pertain to at least some portion of the product resulting from the method described being a gel.
Regarding claim 12, Floyd discloses the method of claim 11. Floyd further discloses the use of dipropylene glycol (which is listed as a polyol and is therefore interpreted as belonging to the group of polypropylene glycols) [col. 4, Table I, Samples A-C], and provides support for dialkylene and polyalkylene glycols as suitable polyols [col. 3, lines 39-40].
Claims 7-8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Floyd et al., US Patent 6,201,095 B1 in view of Watanabe et al., US 2019/0048528 A1 (hereinafter “Watanabe”). Watanabe qualifies as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(1) with its publication date of 14 February 2019.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Floyd teaches the methods of 6 and 13. Floyd further teaches that starch derivatives are a suitable choice of polyol [col. 3, line 42] but does not further limit the starch derivatives to include carboxylate compounds.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Watanabe discloses a material formed from a hydrophilic polymer (e.g., carboxyl-modified starch) [¶ 0078] that is crosslinked by a crosslinking agent (e.g., melamine formaldehyde resin) [¶ 0081] to form a material analogous to that of Floyd and the instant application. Watanabe and Floyd are analogous art because both form a melamine/formaldehyde-based polymer additionally comprising saccharide and/or saccharide derivatives. It therefore would have been obvious to a skilled artisan, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select a carboxyl-modified starch as suggested by Watanabe for use as the specific starch derivative in the method of Floyd to yield the predictable result of a melamine/formaldehyde-based polymer additionally comprising a carboxyl-modified starch unit. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Floyd teaches the methods of 6 and 13. Floyd further teaches that starch derivatives are a suitable choice of polyol [col. 3, line 42] but does not further limit the starch derivatives to include ester derivatives.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Watanabe discloses a material formed from a hydrophilic polymer (e.g., phosphoric esterified starch; note: in the instant claim, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “ester,” in light of the specification, includes esters formed from any oxoacid, including phosphoric acid) [¶ 0078] that is crosslinked by a crosslinking agent (e.g., melamine formaldehyde resin) [¶ 0081] ] to form a material analogous to that of Floyd and the instant application. Watanabe and Floyd are analogous art because both form a melamine/formaldehyde-based polymer additionally comprising saccharide and/or saccharide derivatives. It therefore would have been obvious to a skilled artisan, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select a phosphoric esterified starch as suggested by Watanabe for use as the specific starch derivative in the method of Floyd to yield the predictable result of a melamine/formaldehyde-based polymer additionally comprising an esterified starch unit. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Response to Arguments
In the remarks submitted October 1st, 2025, applicant argues that the term concentrated relates to the maximum amount of solute that can be dissolved, and is a term widely used in chemistry, citing additional references for the Examiner to consider to show that concentration has a very specific and well-defined meaning in chemistry and one or ordinary skill in the art would readily understand what the claims are referring to.
These arguments have been fully considered by are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner presents that while applicant argues and provides references to support that the term concentrated is well-understood in the art, the Examiner presents that as exemplified by applicant’s references, having a solution be concentrated means a variety of different things in different contents. For example, while applicant describes 40% as being a concentrated solution of HCl, a concentrated solution of sulfuric acid contains 98.3% of H2SO4. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that the used of concentrated in the instant claim remains unclear to the ordinary artisan, including with the amended claimed limitations directed toward the numerical concentration (see above 112b rejection).
In the remarks submitted October 1st, 2025, applicant argues that Floyd fails to disclose the claimed ranges of acid concentration in the polymer solution, citing that Sample A of Table 1 has acetic acid concentration of 0.065%, Sample B of Table 1 has sulfuric acid concentration of 0.02%, and Sample C of Table 1 has sulfuric acid concentration of 0.031%, which are self-evidently very low concentrations.
These arguments have been fully considered by are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner presents that applicant has not provided how they arrived at the acid concentrations of Sample A of Table 1 of 0.065%, Sample B of Table 1 of 0.02%, and Sample C of Table 1 of 0.031%. Additionally, as described above in the 112b rejection of claims 1, 5, and 11, the amended limitations with respect to the concentration are unclear if the concentration of the acid recited is of the acid prior to its addition or once added in the method, or which either interpretation was understood to meet the instant claimed limitations. While applicant appears to be arguing Floyd failing to disclose the claimed range of acid in the polymer solution, this scope does not reflect the limitations of the instant claims.
As such, Floyd teaches the addition of 40% sulfuric acid as a catalyst for the reaction, a concentration with overlapped with the instant claimed range for at least samples B and C. Additionally, the Examiner also noted Floyd teaches the acid catalyst for the reaction in the method of manufacture is suitably added in an amount of 0.1% to 15% based on the weight (dry basis) of the reaction product, which also established prima facie obviousness for overlapping the instant claimed range.
In the remarks submitted October 1st, 2025, applicant argues that the claims requiring a proton-conductive gel-polymer are neither taught nor suggested by Floyd, given that Floyd does not provide the required acid concentration. Applicant additionally argues that Floyd neither teachings nor suggests obtaining any gel as such, instead providing an aqueous solution which is opposite to a gel.
These arguments have been fully considered by are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the Examiner presents that described above, the claimed acid concentration in claims 1, 5, and 11 is unclear, and therefore interpreted broadly by the Examiner as any volume, weight, or molar percent of acid pre or post addition to the polymer solution. The general disclosure of Floyd directed toward acid suitably added in an amount of 0.1% to 15% based on the weight (dry basis) of the reaction product as well as the Examples shown in Table 1 were used to show that Floyd does in fact teach the required acid concentration. Given the overlapping composition and concentration of the reactants in the method of Floyd and that of the instant disclosure, there is nothing to preclude the ordinary artisan from concluding that the gel-polymer electrolyte of Floyd wouldn’t also be proton-conducting in accordance with the instant claimed limitations.
With respect to the limitations of the instant claims directed toward a gel polymer, the Examiner notes that the description of the teachings of Floyd by applicant are not in line with the disclosure of Floyd. While applicant cites Column 4, Lines 48-49 to provide evidence that Floyd teaches a dilutable aqueous solution that is a flowing liquid, this portion of Floyd only supports that the samples in the Examples of Floyd are water dilutable, i.e., capable of being diluted with water. This is different from a “flowing liquid” and that the products themselves are solutions, as argued by applicant.
Additionally, the Examiner presents that in the method disclosed by Floyd, the reactants of the copolymerization reaction as well as the composition and identity of the concentrated acid are shared with the instant disclosure, which is a reasonable basis to conclude that by performing the same method steps with the same materials, a gel polymer would also be formed. Additionally, the Examiner also notes that in the disclosure of the method by Floyd, the aforementioned acid catalyst is understood to facilitate reactions with affect crosslinking (Column 4, Lines 10-15). Therefore, Floyd is considered to teach some amount of crosslinking, which is understood by the Examiner to pertain to at least some portion of the product resulting from the method described being a gel.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.A.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789