DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and species of CD52g for the single, specific sperm antigen in the reply filed on 7/23/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Status
The amendments filed 7/23/25 are acknowledged. Claims 15, 17-18, 22-27, 29-30 are cancelled. Claims 1-14, 16, 19-21 and 28 are pending. Claims 1, 3-6, 16, and 19-21 are amended. Claims 16, 19-21, and 28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/23/25.
Claims 1-10 and 12-14 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 7/15/22 has been considered. A signed copy is enclosed.
Notably, the disclosure statement filed lists a Search Report. The listing of the references cited in a Search Report itself is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, "the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper." Therefore, the references cited in the Search Report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information or any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the IDS, including all "statement" requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Note: If copies of the individual references cited on the Search Report are also cited separately on the IDS (and these references have not been lined-through) they have been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “GPI” contains an acronym and/or abbreviation that should be spelled out upon first occurrence. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “SEQ ID No:” should be amended for consistency to read “SEQ ID NO:”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed. The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include “level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention.”
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, disclosure of drawings, or by disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, for example, structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the Applicants were in possession of the claimed genus.
The instant claims are directed to a recombinant genetic construct encoding an antibody or antigen binding fragment that binds to a sperm antigen and a membrane anchor and provides contraception to a female subject in need thereof. The construct can comprise a nucleic acid encoding a heavy chain encoded by a nucleic acid having 99% or 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:2, a light chain encoded by a nucleic acid having 99% or 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:5, and a nucleic acid encoding a GPI membrane anchor having 99% or 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:3.
The claims are also directed to a genus of non-hormonal pharmaceutical contraception compositions comprising a recombinant genetic construct encoding an antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof that specifically binds to a sperm antigen and a membrane anchor, and an excipient.
The claim scope is indefinite, as indicated in the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) below. It is unclear which targets must be bound by the antibody, and whether the recited heavy and light chains are the same as the required antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof. The construct requires the antibody and the construct to have specific functions, including requiring that the antibody bind a sperm antigen and possibly bind a membrane anchor, and that the construct or antibody provides contraception to a female subject. It is unclear if the heavy and light chains that are named by SEQ ID NO are sufficient to meet the functional limitations of the claims. Additionally, the recitation of 99% sequence identity provides for 1% sequence variation, which in a heavy/light chain pair of SEQ ID NO:7 and 10, can result in at least 6 mutations. These mutations can occur at any location within the sequences, indicating that CDRs, which confer binding specificity, could be affected. Furthermore, the claims recite a broad range of possible sperm antigens, which could be targeted at any point on the antigen protein. There are thousands, and potentially millions, of constructs possible to encode these variable antibodies and other components.
The specification does not fully define any species of construct by complete sequence, and these constructs have no correlation between their structure and function. The claim requires specific functions, but the specification provides no guidance regarding which construct variants, or specific construct components such as the required antibody and membrane anchor, that are capable of the required functions. Therefore, the specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus encompassed by the claim. Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that
"applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
The skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed polypeptides, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. The nucleic acid and/or protein itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. In Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404. 1405 held that:
...To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and does so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines Inc. , 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli , 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (" [T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2datl966.
Regarding the encompassed polypeptides that are required to have specific functions, protein chemistry is one of the most unpredictable areas of biotechnology. This unpredictability prevents prediction of the effects that a given number or location of mutation will have on a protein (such as TNF or a cytokine) As taught by Skolnick et al (Trends Biotechnol. 2000 Jan;18(1):34-9), sequence based methods for predicting protein function are inadequate because of the multifunctional nature of proteins (see e.g. abstract). Further, just knowing the structure of the protein is also insufficient for prediction of functional sites (see e.g. abstract). Sequence to function methods cannot specifically identify complexities for proteins, such as gain and loss of function during evolution, or multiple functions possible within a cells (see e.g. page 34, right column). Skolnick advocates determining the structure of the protein, then identifying the functionally important residues since using the chemical structure to identify functional sites is more in line with how a protein actually works (see e.g. page 34, right column).
The sensitivity of proteins to alterations of even a single amino acid in a sequence are exemplified by Burgess et al. (J. Cell Biol. 111:2129-2138, 1990) who teach that replacement of a single lysine reside at position 118 of acidic fibroblast growth factor by glutamic acid led to the substantial loss of heparin binding, receptor binding and biological activity of the protein and by Lazar et al. (Mol. Cell. Biol., 8:1247-1252, 1988) who teach that in transforming growth factor alpha, replacement of aspartic acid at position 47 with alanine or asparagine did not affect biological activity while replacement with serine or glutamic acid sharply reduced the biological activity of the mitogen. These references demonstrate that even a single amino acid substitution will often dramatically affect the biological activity and characteristics of a protein.
Further, Miosge (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2015 Sep 15;112(37):E5189-98) teach that Short of mutational studies of all possible amino acid substitutions for a protein, coupled with comprehensive
functional assays, the sheer number and diversity of missense mutations that are possible for proteins means that their functional importance must presently be addressed primarily by computational inference (see e.g. page E5189, left column). However, in a study examining some of these methods, Miosge shows that there is potential for incorrect calling of mutations (see e.g. page E5196, left column, top paragraph). The authors conclude that the discordance between predicted and actual effect of missense mutations creates the potential for many false conclusions in clinical settings where sequencing is performed to detect disease-causing mutations (see e.g. page E5195, right column, last paragraph). The findings in their study show underscore the importance of interpreting variation by direct experimental measurement of the consequences of a candidate mutation, using as sensitive and specific an assay as possible (see e.g. page E5197, left column, top paragraph). Additionally, Bork (Genome Research, 2000,10:398-400) clearly teaches the pitfalls associated with comparative sequence analysis for predicting protein function because of the known error margins for high-throughput computational methods. Bork specifically teaches that computational sequence analysis is far from perfect, despite the fact that sequencing itself is highly automated and accurate (p. 398, column 1). One of the reasons for the inaccuracy is that the quality of data in public sequence databases is still insufficient. This is particularly true for data on protein function. Protein function is context dependent, and both molecular and cellular aspects have to be considered (p. 398, column 2). Conclusions from the comparison analysis are often stretched with regard to protein products (p. 398, column 3). Further, although gene annotation via sequence database searches is already a routine job, even here the error rate is considerable (p. 399, column 2). Most features predicted with an accuracy of greater than 70% are of structural nature and, at best, only indirectly imply a certain functionality (see legend for table 1, page 399). As more sequences are added and as errors accumulate and propagate it becomes more difficult to infer correct function from the many possibilities revealed by database search (p. 399, paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3). The reference finally cautions that although the current methods seem to capture important features and explain general trends, 30% of those features are missing or predicted wrongly. This has to be kept in mind when processing the results further (p. 400, paragraph bridging cols 1 and 2).
One key issue is the prediction of protein function based on sequence similarity, which could be one way to identify the functional constructs that are useful in the instant claims. Kulmanov et al (Bioinformatics, 34(4), 2018, 660–668), teach that there are key challenges for protein function prediction methods (see e.g. page 661, left column). These challenges arise from the difficulty identifying and accounting for the complex relationship between protein sequence structure and function (see e.g. page 661, left column). Despite significant progress in the past years in protein structure prediction, it still requires large efforts to predict protein structure with sufficient quality to be useful in function prediction (see e.g. page 661, left column). Another challenge is that proteins do not function in isolation. In particular higher level physiological functions that go beyond simple molecular interactions will require other proteins and cannot usually be predicted by considering a single protein in isolation (see e.g. page 661, left column). Due to these challenges it is not obvious what kinds of features should be used to predict the functions of a protein and whether they can be generated efficiently for a large number of proteins (see e.g. page 661, left column).
Given the teachings of these references that point out the limitations and pitfalls of using sequence to predict functions, and the lack of a representative number of species across the breadth of the genus, one of skill in the art would not reasonably conclude that the full breadth of the claims meets the written description provision of 35 USC 112(a).
Regarding the encompassed antibodies and fragments thereof, the functional characteristics of antibodies (including binding specificity and affinity are dictated on their structure. Amino acid sequence and conformation of each of the heavy and light chain CDRs are critical in maintaining the antigen binding specificity and affinity which is characteristic of the parent immunoglobulin. For example, Vajdos et al. (J Mol Biol. 2002 Jul 5;320(2):415-28 at 416) teaches that, “ … Even within the Fv, antigen binding is primarily mediated by the complementarity determining regions (CDRs), six hypervariable loops (three each in the heavy and light chains) which together present a large contiguous surface for potential antigen binding. Aside from the CDRs, the Fv also contains more highly conserved framework segments which connect the CDRs and are mainly involved in supporting the CDR loop conformations, although in some cases, framework residues also contact antigen. As an important step to understanding how a particular antibody functions, it would be very useful to assess the contributions of each CDR side-chain to antigen binding, and in so doing, to produce a functional map of the antigen-binding site." The art shows an unpredictable effect when making single versus multiple changes to any given CDR. For example, Brown et al. (J Immunol. 1996 May;156(9):3285-91 at 3290 and Tables 1 and 2), describes how the VH CDR2 of a particular antibody was generally tolerant of single amino acid changes, however the antibody lost binding upon introduction of two amino changes in the same region.
The claims encompass an extremely large number of recombinant constructs encoding polypeptides that have specific required functions, but the specification does not provide any guidance as to which protein structures, sequences or individual amino acids are necessary, or can be varied, within the polypeptide and still retain the required functions.
Recently, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (Federal Circuit) decided Amgen v. Sanofi, 872 F.3d 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2017), which concerned adequate written description for claims drawn to antibodies. The Federal Circuit explained in Amgen that when an antibody is claimed, 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) requires adequate written description of the antibody itself even when preparation of such an antibody would be routine and conventional. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79. A key role played by the written description requirement is to prevent “attempt[s] to preempt the future before it has arrived.” Ariad at 1353, (quoting Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d at 1171). Upholding a patent drawn to a genus of antibodies that includes members not previously characterized or described could negatively impact the future development of species within the claimed genus of antibodies. In the instant application, neither the art nor the specification provide a sufficient representative number of antibodies or a sufficient structure-function correlation to meet the written description requirements.
The prior art recognizes that the antigen binding by antibodies requires precise orientation of the complementarity determining region (CDR) loops in the variable domain to establish the correct contact surface. For example, Vattekatte, (PeerJ. 2020 Mar 6:8:e8408. doi: 10.7717/peerj.8408. eCollection 2020.) teach that antigen binding in heavy chain only antibodies, (HCAbs) is mediated by only three CDR loops from the single variable domain (VHH) at the N-terminus of each heavy chain, (see abstract). The Vattekatte et al further teach that the amino acid length distribution in different regions of VHH (see Fig. S7) shows diversity in CDR lengths, and that most diversity in CDR3, (see page 7 and 19). However, the prior art also recognizes that a single protein can be bound by a very large and structurally diverse genus of antibodies (i.e., there is no common structural relationship even for antibodies that bind to the same protein, epitope, or overlapping epitopes). For example, Edwards et al. (Mol Biol. 2003 Nov 14;334(1):103-18) teach that over 1,000 different antibodies to a single protein can be generated, all with different sequences, and representative of almost the entire extensive heavy and light chain germline repertoire (42/49 functional heavy chain germlines and 33 of 70 V-lambda and V-kappa light chain germlines), and with extensive diversity in the HCDR3 region sequences (that are generated by VDJ germline segment recombination) as well (see table 2, figure 2).
Lloyd et al. (Protein Eng Des Sel. 2009 Mar;22(3):159-68. Epub 2008 Oct 29.) teach that a large majority of VH/VL germline gene segments are used in the antibody response to an antigen, even when the antibodies were selected by antigen binding, (abstract). The Lloyd et al reference further teaches that in their studies, of the 841 unselected and 5,044 selected antibodies sequenced, all but one of the 49 functional VH gene segments was observed, and that there are on average about 120 different antibodies generated per antigen (page 167, column 1). Said reference also teaches that a wide variety of VH and VL pairings further increase diversity. (page 159, column 2).
Goel et al. (J Immunol. 2004 Dec 15;173(12):7358-67) teach that three mAbs that bind to the same short (12-mer) peptide, exhibit diverse V gene usage, indicating their independent germline origin. Said reference further teaches that two of these mAbs recognize the same set of amino acid residues defining the epitope (alternate amino acid residues spread over the entire sequence), however, the relative contribution of each set of residues in the peptide showed significant variation. The reference notes that all of the mAbs do not show any kind of V gene restriction among themselves, implying variable paratope structure, despite that two of these mAbs bind to the peptide through a common set of residues. (See entire reference).
Khan et al. (J Immunol (2014) 192 (11): 5398–5405) teach that two structurally diverse germline mAbs recognizing overlapping epitopes of the same short peptide do so in different topologies, the antibodies possessing entirely different CDR sequences. Said reference teaches that unrelated mAbs structurally adjust to recognize an antigen, indicating that the primary B cell response is composed of BCRs having a high degree of structural adaptability. Said reference also teaches that the common epitope(s) also adopt distinct conformations when bound to different mAbs, with the higher degree of structural plasticity inherent to the mAbs. Said reference further teaches “It has been shown that both the framework region and the CDRs have a considerable amount of inherent conformational plasticity...Therefore, it is not surprising that distinct germline Abs recognize the same epitope by rearranging the CDR conformations. This may well have implications of Ag specificity beyond the naive BCR repertoire, because Kaji et al... .have shown in a recent report that the B cell memory can contain both germline-encoded and somatically mutated BCRs.” (See entire reference).
Poosarla et al. (Biotechnol Bioeng. 2017 June ; 114(6): 1331–1342) teach substantial diversity in designed mAbs (sharing less than 75% sequence similarity to all existing natural antibody sequences) that bind to the same 12-mer peptide, binding to different epitopes on the same peptide. Said reference further teaches “most B-cell epitopes... in nature consist of residues from different regions of the sequence and are discontinuous...de novo antibody designs against discontinuous epitopes present additional challenges...". (See entire reference.)
Rabia, et al. (Biochem Eng J. 2018 Sep 15:137:365-374. Epub 2018 Jun 5) teach what effects mutations can have on an antibody's stability, solubility, binding affinity and binding specificity. Rabia et al. report that an increase in antibody affinity can be associated with a decrease in stability (p. 366, col. 2 last paragraph; Fig. 2). Rabia et al. thus teach that affinity and specificity are not necessarily correlated and that an increase in affinity does not indicate an increase in specificity (Fig. 3; p. 368, col. 1, section 3,1st full paragraph to col. 2, 2nd full paragraph).
Therefore, neither the art nor the specification provide a sufficient representative number of antibodies or a sufficient structure-function correlation to meet the written description requirements.
Applicant is reminded that generally, in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus (Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen- Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956 (Fed. Cir. 2002); Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343 (Fed. Cir. 2004); Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly Co., 119 F.3d 1559 (Fed. Cir. 1997)). A patentee must disclose “a representative number of species within the scope of the genus of structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus” (see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017) at page 1358). An adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products — “a precise definition, such as structure, formula, chemic name, physical properties of other properties, of species falling with the genus sufficient to distinguish the gene from other materials”, which may be present in “functional terminology when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” (Amgen page 1361).
MPEP § 2163.02 states, “[a]n objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, 'does the description clearly allow person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed’”. The courts have decided: the purpose of the "written description" requirement is broader than to merely explain how to "make and use"; the Applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art, that as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is for purposes of the “written description” inquiry, whatever is now claimed. See Vas-Cath, Inc v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Federal Circuit, 1991).
Furthermore, the written description provision of 35 USC §112 is severable from its enablement provision; and adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993). And Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. Moreover, an adequate written description of the claimed invention must include sufficient description of at least a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. However, factual evidence of an actual reduction to practice has not been disclosed by Applicant in the specification; nor has Applicant shown the invention was “ready for patenting” by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete; nor has the Applicant described distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant were in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Therefore for all these reasons the specification lacks adequate written description, and one of skill in the art cannot reasonably conclude that Applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the instant application was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 7, and 13 recite “an antibody or antigen binding fragment that specifically binds to a sperm antigen and a membrane anchor”. It is unclear if the antibody has bi-specificity, or if the membrane anchor is not a target of the antibody.
Claim 1 recites “an provides contraception to a female subject in need thereof”. This phrase references a method step, while the claims otherwise appear to be directed to a composition. It is unclear if the claim is requiring a composition or a method. Therefore the scope of the claim is indefinite.
Claims 1 and 3-5 recite “having 99% or 100% sequence identity”. The scope of the transitional phrase “having” is not clear. If the term reads on open language such as “comprising” then the sequence identity could reference ranges of sequence identity. If the term “having” is restricted to closed language like “consisting of” the sequence identity could be restricted to exactly 99% or 100%. Therefore the scope of the required sequence identity is indefinite.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “having 99%”, and the claim also recites “having 100%” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. It is noted that the claim scope for the term “having” is indefinite as indicated above. However, if the term “having” is considered open-ended such as “comprising” the issue regarding a broad/narrow recitation is appropriate. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 1 recites “comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a heavy chain encoded by a nucleic acid having 99% or 100% sequence identity”. This language references a nucleic acid encoding a protein that is encoded by a nucleic acid. It is unclear how the first and second nucleic acids differ.
Claim 5 recites in three separate places “encoded by an amino acid sequence”. The heavy chain, light chain, and GPI membrane anchor are polypeptides that inherently comprise amino acid sequences. It is unclear how a polypeptide is “encoded by” an amino acid sequence.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the antibody binding fragment binds to a monoclonal antibody.” However, claim 6 depends from claim 1, which requires that the antibody binds to a sperm antigen. It is unclear if the antibody is bispecific, or if the claim is broadening the scope of the intended antigen proteins. See also the rejection under 35 USC 112(d) below.
In claim 7, it is unclear if the membrane anchor is required in the construct, or if it is merely an antigen protein for the antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the recombinant genetic construct comprises the construct of claim 1.” It is unclear if the construct of claim 1 is in addition to the components listed in claim 7, from which claim 8 depends, or if the construct of claim 1 is intended to overlap with the components of claim 7.
Claim 12 recites “the membrane anchor” and also recites plural “transmembrane domains, glycosylphosphatidylinositol anchors or myristoylation motifs”. It is unclear if multiple membrane anchors are required, given the plural recitation, or if a membrane anchor may be selected from among the members of the three listed membrane anchor genera.
Claims depending from the rejected claims do not remedy the deficiencies and therefore are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 4-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 4-5 and 13 recite the same construct components that are required by the claims from which they depend, and therefore claims 4-5 and 13 do not further limit the subject matter of the claim from which they depend. Claim 6 requires that the antibody bind to a completely different antigen (i.e. a monoclonal antibody) than the base claim requires (i.e. a sperm antigen). Therefore claim 6 improperly broadens the subject matter of the claim from which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Teitelbaum (WO 2011/138776 A2; filed 5/4/11; published 11/10/11).
The claims are also directed to a genus of non-hormonal pharmaceutical contraception compositions comprising a recombinant genetic construct encoding an antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof that specifically binds to a sperm antigen and a membrane anchor, and an excipient. The scope of the binding specificity of the antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof is indefinite, and therefore will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation that the antibody can bind to sperm antigen with or without binding to the membrane anchor. The membrane anchor limitation will be interpreted to read on antibodies that bind to both sperm antigen and the membrane anchor, or compositions comprising a membrane anchor.
Teitelbaum teaches a genetically engineered commensal bacterium of the female genital tract, wherein said genetically engineered bacterium is engineered to express an anti-sperm agent (see e.g. claim 1). The engineered bacterium of claim 1, wherein said anti-sperm agent is an scFv antibody fragment against sperm (see e.g. claim 2). For example, the scFv antibody fragment can specifically interact with a sperm FA-1 antigen or a fragment thereof (see e.g. claim 6). The composition can include water (see e.g. paragraph [0083]). The cell is engineered using an expression cassette that encodes an antibody and a cell wall anchoring domain (see e.g. paragraph [0119]. The anchoring sequences are known to attach to the membrane (see e.g. paragraph [0057]).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ANDREA K MCCOLLUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1674