DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on April 28, 2022 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 2, 7-9, 11, 19-21, 41, 77, 94-96, 98, 100, 102, and 104-109 are pending and under examination in this Office action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 27, 2022 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, 11, 19-20, 41, 77, 94-96, 98, 100, 102, and 104-109 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gootenberg et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2023/0127948).
Gootenberg et al., discloses methods for determining the presence of viral, SARS-CoV-2 and bacterial nucleic acids in a sample, the method comprising contacting the sample with a CRISPR/Cas complex comprising an effector nuclease and a guide RNA encoding a nucleic acid that hybridizes to a target nucleic acid, Cas12 nuclease, wherein the one or more nucleases is not the same as the effector nuclease, one or more oligonucleotides, and a fluorescence reporter, and measuring a fluorescence signal emitted from the fluorescence reporter, wherein a presence of the fluorescence signal indicates the presence of the target nucleic acid in the sample (see paragraphs [0026-0029], [0084-0096], [0318], [0392-0396], Figures 1-64).
Regarding present claim 41, Gootenberg et al., discloses a kit (see paragraph [0114])
Regarding present claim 2, Gootenberg discloses CRISPR/Cas complex exhibiting collateral cleavage activity (see paragraph [0584]).
Regarding present claim 11, Gootenberg discloses a sequence of an effector nuclease Cas12 comprising a sequence identical with present SEQ ID NO: 6 (see SEQ ID NO: 4 in Gootenburg and the sequence alignment below).
Regarding present claims 96 and 107, Gootenberg discloses SARS-CoV-2, Papillomavirus, Herpesvirus and more (see paragraph [0440].
Regarding present claim 98, Gootenberg discloses Staphylococcus aureus, Acinetobacter baumannii, Enterobacter cloacae, Enterococcus faecalis, Enterococcus faecium, Proteus mirabilis, Staphylococcus agalactiae, or Staphylococcus maltophilia (see paragraph [0440]).
Regarding present claims 98 and 102, Gootenberg discloses detecting the nucleic acid from a parasite such as Giardia lamblia (see paragraph [0246]).
Regarding present claims 104 and 106, Gootenberg discloses detecting the nucleic acid from a protozoa such as Amoebozoa (see paragraphs [0396] and [0433]).
Present SEQ ID NO: 6 and SEQ ID NO: 4 in Gootenberg
Query Match 100.0%; Score 6717; Length 1281;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 1281; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MKKSIFDQFVNQYALSKTLRFELKPVGETGRMLEEAKVFAKDETIKKKYEATKPFFNKLH 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MKKSIFDQFVNQYALSKTLRFELKPVGETGRMLEEAKVFAKDETIKKKYEATKPFFNKLH 60
Qy 61 REFVEEALNEVELAGLPEYFEIFKYWKRYKKKFEKDLQKKEKELRKSVVGFFNAQAKEWA
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 REFVEEALNEVELAGLPEYFEIFKYWKRYKKKFEKDLQKKEKELRKSVVGFFNAQAKEWA 120
Qy 121 KKYETLGVKKKDVGLLFEENVFAILKERYGNEEGSQIVDESTGKDVSIFDSWKGFTGYFI
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 KKYETLGVKKKDVGLLFEENVFAILKERYGNEEGSQIVDESTGKDVSIFDSWKGFTGYFI 180
Qy 181 KFQETRKNFYKDDGTATALATRIIDQNLKRFCDNLLIFESIRDKIDFSEVEQTMGNSIDK
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 KFQETRKNFYKDDGTATALATRIIDQNLKRFCDNLLIFESIRDKIDFSEVEQTMGNSIDK 240
Qy 241 VFSVIFYSSCLLQEGIDFYNCVLGGETLPNGEKRQGINELINLYRQKTSEKVPFLKLLDK
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 VFSVIFYSSCLLQEGIDFYNCVLGGETLPNGEKRQGINELINLYRQKTSEKVPFLKLLDK 300
Qy 301 QILSEKEKFMDEIENDEALLDTLKIFRKSAEEKTTLLKNIFGDFVMNQGKYDLAQIYISR 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 QILSEKEKFMDEIENDEALLDTLKIFRKSAEEKTTLLKNIFGDFVMNQGKYDLAQIYISR 360
Qy 361 ESLNTISRKWTSETDIFEDSLYEVLKKSKIVSASVKKKDGGYAFPEFIALIYVKSALEQI
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 ESLNTISRKWTSETDIFEDSLYEVLKKSKIVSASVKKKDGGYAFPEFIALIYVKSALEQI 420
Qy 421 PTEKFWKERYYKNIGDVLNKGFLNGKEGVWLQFLLIFDFEFNSLFEREIIDENGDKKVAG
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 PTEKFWKERYYKNIGDVLNKGFLNGKEGVWLQFLLIFDFEFNSLFEREIIDENGDKKVAG 480
Qy 481 YNLFAKGFDDLLNNFKYDQKAKVVIKDFADEVLHIYQMGKYFAIEKKRSWLADYDIDSFY
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 YNLFAKGFDDLLNNFKYDQKAKVVIKDFADEVLHIYQMGKYFAIEKKRSWLADYDIDSFY 540
Qy 541 TDPEKGYLKFYENAYEEIIQVYNKLRNYLTKKPYSEDKWKLNFENPTLADGWDKNKEADN
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 541 TDPEKGYLKFYENAYEEIIQVYNKLRNYLTKKPYSEDKWKLNFENPTLADGWDKNKEADN 600
Qy 601 STVILKKDGRYYLGLMARGRNKLFDDRNLPKILEGVENGKYEKVVYKYFPDQAKMFPKVC
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 STVILKKDGRYYLGLMARGRNKLFDDRNLPKILEGVENGKYEKVVYKYFPDQAKMFPKVC 660
Qy 661 FSTKGLEFFQPSEEVITIYKNSEFKKGYTFNVRSMQRLIDFYKDCLVRYEGWQCYDFRNL
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 661 FSTKGLEFFQPSEEVITIYKNSEFKKGYTFNVRSMQRLIDFYKDCLVRYEGWQCYDFRNL 720
Qy 721 RKTEDYRKNIEEFFSDVAMDGYKISFQDVSESYIKEKNQNGDLYLFEIKNKDWNEGANGK
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 RKTEDYRKNIEEFFSDVAMDGYKISFQDVSESYIKEKNQNGDLYLFEIKNKDWNEGANGK 780
Qy 781 KNLHTIYFESLFSADNIAMNFPVKLNGQAEIFYRPRTEGLEKERIITKKGNVLEKGDKAF
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 781 KNLHTIYFESLFSADNIAMNFPVKLNGQAEIFYRPRTEGLEKERIITKKGNVLEKGDKAF 840
Qy 841 HKRRYTENKVFFHVPITLNRTKKNPFQFNAKINDFLAKNSDINVIGVDRGEKQLAYFSVI
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 841 HKRRYTENKVFFHVPITLNRTKKNPFQFNAKINDFLAKNSDINVIGVDRGEKQLAYFSVI 900
Qy 901 SQRGKILDRGSLNVINGVNYAEKLEEKARGREQARKDWQQIEGIKDLKKGYISQVVRKLA
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 901 SQRGKILDRGSLNVINGVNYAEKLEEKARGREQARKDWQQIEGIKDLKKGYISQVVRKLA 960
Qy 961 DLAIQYNAIIVFEDLNMRFKQIRGGIEKSVYQQLEKALIDKLTFLVEKEEKDVEKAGHLL
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 961 DLAIQYNAIIVFEDLNMRFKQIRGGIEKSVYQQLEKALIDKLTFLVEKEEKDVEKAGHLL 1020
Qy 1021 KAYQLAAPFETFQKMGKQTGIVFYTQAAYTSRIDPVTGWRPHLYLKYSSAEKAKADLLKF
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1021 KAYQLAAPFETFQKMGKQTGIVFYTQAAYTSRIDPVTGWRPHLYLKYSSAEKAKADLLKF 1080
Qy 1081 KKIKFVDGRFEFTYDIKSFREQKEHPKATVWTVCSCVERFRWNRYLNSNKGGYDHYSDVT
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1081 KKIKFVDGRFEFTYDIKSFREQKEHPKATVWTVCSCVERFRWNRYLNSNKGGYDHYSDVT 1140
Qy 1141 KFLVELFQEYGIDFERGDIVGQIEVLETKGNEKFFKNFVFFFNLICQIRNTNASELAKKD
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1141 KFLVELFQEYGIDFERGDIVGQIEVLETKGNEKFFKNFVFFFNLICQIRNTNASELAKKD 1200
Qy 1201 GKDDFILSPVEPFFDSRNSEKFGEDLPKNGDDNGAFNIARKGLVIMDKITKFADENGGCE
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1201 GKDDFILSPVEPFFDSRNSEKFGEDLPKNGDDNGAFNIARKGLVIMDKITKFADENGGCE 1260
Qy 1261 KMKWGDLYVSNVEWDNFVANK 1281
|||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1261 KMKWGDLYVSNVEWDNFVANK 1281
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Gootenberg et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2023/0127948) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Tsou et al., (Translational Oncology, 2019) and Doudna et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2023/0357761).
Gootenberg et al. teach the claimed invention as discussed above. They do not teach FAM-Q reporter or the unspecific nucleases Csx1, Cap4, Can1, or NucC.
Tsou teaches methods of detecting viral nucleic acids comprising using CRISPR and Cas12 and using FAM-Q reporter (see page 1567 under Fluorescent Readout of CRISPR Cas12 activity using FAM- Quencher and Results).
It would have been prima facie obvious to employ the FAM-Q quencher of Tsou in the method of Gootenberg because Tsou teaches that FAM-Q quencher enables convenient detection of circulating nucleic acid targets in body fluids (see Abstract and Results).
Doudna teaches Can1 and NucC non-specific nucleases used in methods of detecting nucleic acids that employ CRISPR. Doudna teaches that Cas proteins Cas12 or Cas13 group, and type III accessory nucleases including Csm6, Csx1, Can1, NucC and any other proteins that contain a cA-binding “sensor” domain and an effector nuclease domain as well as homologues, orthologues, and/or functional fragments of any Type III accessory nuclease (see paragraph [0064]).
Doudna teaches (in paragraph [0088]) The Type III accessory Cas nucleases include but are not limited to Csm6, and Csx1, Can1, NucC and any other proteins or homologues, orthologues or functional fragments thereof that contain a CARF “sensor” domain and an effector nuclease domain activators disclosed herein include any molecule (e.g., RNA) which generates sustained activation (e.g., by limiting or preventing self-inactivating mechanisms such as degradation of the activator by the activated protein) of the Cas protein as a non-specific nuclease while maintaining the fast kinetics. The molecules (also referred to as “RNA activators” or “activation sequences” or “activators”) can be modified in any way to provide sustained, robust activation as compared to cyclic and/or linear oligoadenylates currently used. Once activated, the Cas protein cleaves RNA indiscriminately, similar to the collateral effect of Cas13 enzymes. Thus, in addition to detection effector modification of reporter constructs, the activated Type III enzyme can be used in conjunction with another CRISPR enzyme (e.g., Cas13, Cas12 or Cas14) for signal amplification. Thus, the activators can be used to increase sensitivity of the assay and decrease cost.
It would have been prima facie obvious to employ Doudna’s Csx1, Can1, NucC in the methods of Gootenberg because Doudna teaches that the Csx1, Can1, NucC activators can be used to increase sensitivity of the assay and decrease cost.
Thus, the present invention would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 7-9, 11, 19-21, 41, 77, 94-96, 98, 100, 102, and 104-109 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2531, 33-39, and 71-75 of copending Application No. 17/607,970.
Present claims are drawn to a method for determining the presence of viral, SARS-CoV-2 and bacterial nucleic acids in a sample, the method comprising contacting the sample with a CRISPR/Cas complex comprising an effector nuclease and a guide RNA encoding a nucleic acid that hybridizes to a target nucleic acid, Cas12 nuclease, wherein the one or more nucleases is not the same as the effector nuclease, one or more oligonucleotides, and a fluorescence reporter, and measuring a fluorescence signal emitted from the fluorescence reporter, wherein a presence of the fluorescence signal indicates the presence of the target nucleic acid in the sample.
The claims of the copending application 17/607,970 are drawn to An engineered system comprising: a. a Cas12a.1 protein comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3, or at least 90% sequence identity thereto, a Cas12p protein comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 4, or at least 90% sequence identity thereto, or a Cas12q protein comprising an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 5 or 222, or at least 90% sequence identity thereto, or a nucleic acid encoding the Cas12a_1, Cas12p, or Cas12q protein; and b. a Cas12a.1, Cas12p, or Casl12q gRNA, or a nucleic acid encoding a Cas 12a.1, Cas12p, or Cas12q gRNA, wherein the gRNA and the Cas12a.1, Cas12p, or Cas12q protein do not naturally occur together, wherein the gRNA is capable of hybridizing to a target sequence in a target DNA, and the gRNA is capable of forming a complex with the Cas12a.1, Cas12p, or Cas12q protein. The copending application 17/607,970 discloses a Cas12 sequence identical with present SEQ ID NO: 6 (see SEQ ID NO: 4).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims and the claims of the copending application are drawn to similar methods of detecting nucleic acids in a sample comprising using the CRISPR/Cas12. The claims of the present application differ in that they recite the method step in a different order.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Contact Information
/AGNIESZKA BOESEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1648