DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1, the Applicant argues [Remarks: pg. 11, 1st para. – pg. 14, 1st para.], that “II. Chang does not disclose that the over-driving voltage value table stores voltage values applied to electrodes of a sub-pixel, as required by amended claim 1
Amended claim 1 recites, among other limitations, that the over-driving voltage value table comprises a plurality of initial grayscale values and a plurality of target grayscale values corresponding to each other, and further recites that the over-driving voltage values stored in the over-driving voltage value table are voltage values applied to electrodes of the sub-pixel to drive a liquid crystal layer of the sub-pixel.
As shown in FIG. 2 of the present application, reproduced below, the liquid crystal display panel of the present application comprises an array substrate layer 10 including a plurality of sub- pixel electrodes 102, a color filter substrate layer 20, and a liquid crystal layer 30 disposed between the array substrate layer 10 and the color filter substrate layer 20, the liquid crystal layer 30 comprising a plurality of liquid crystal units 301 each corresponding to one of the sub-pixel electrodes 102. As described in the present specification, the over-driving voltage value stored in the over-driving voltage value table is understood as a voltage directly or indirectly applied to the sub-pixel electrode 102 to drive the liquid crystal molecules in the corresponding liquid crystal unit 301. The values themselves that are stored in the claimed over-driving voltage value table are therefore voltage magnitudes, not merely digital grayscale codes awaiting further conversion.
Chang does not disclose a table that stores voltage values in this sense. Paragraph [0181] of Chang expressly states that "TABLE 1 shows exemplary modified image signals for pairs of previous image signals gN-1 and current image signals gN in a 256 gray system." The values recorded in Table 1 of Chang are therefore, by the express language of Chang, modified image signals, that is, digital grayscale-domain codes within a 256-gray system, rather than voltage magnitudes.
This reading is confirmed by the structure of the image signal modifier 650 described in paragraphs [0189] through [0192] of Chang. The LUT 641 outputs reference modified image signals f, and the calculator 643 outputs a modified image signal gN' to the data driver 500. Paragraph [0193] of Chang states that "the data driver 500 of the image signal modifier applies a data voltage to the pixel PX, which is greater or less than a target data voltage." The generation and application of an actual voltage is therefore performed downstream of the LUT 641 and the calculator 643, by the data driver 500 in conjunction with the gray voltage generator 800 shown in FIG. 1 of Chang, using the same conversion mechanism that is applied to every pixel PX regardless of whether the corresponding image signal was modified by the signal converter 640. The LUT 641 and Table 1 of Chang therefore store and output grayscale-domain image signals, not the voltage values that are ultimately applied to a pixel electrode.
Paragraph [0194] of Chang further supports this reading. Paragraph [0194] states that "[t]he example shown above with respect to TABLE 1 does not modify a current image signal having the highest gray of 255 or the lowest gray of zero such that a target data voltage corresponding thereto is applied." That is, even where Chang describes a relationship between a gray value and an applied voltage, the applied voltage is described as being generated by applying the ordinary, unmodified image signal to the ordinary data-voltage generation process performed by the data driver 500, rather than being stored within Table 1 or the LUT 641 itself.
Because Chang does not disclose that the values stored in its lookup table are voltage values applied to the electrodes of a sub-pixel to drive a liquid crystal layer, Chang does not disclose each and every element of amended claim 1, and Chang does not anticipate amended claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
III. Amended claim 1 recites additional structure not separately addressed by the rejection
Amended claim 1 further recites that the initial grayscale values comprise a third initial grayscale value and a fourth initial grayscale value both less than the second target grayscale values, wherein the third initial grayscale value is less than the fourth initial grayscale value, and that the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the third initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values are greater than the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the fourth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values. This recitation further particularizes the over-driving voltage value table required by amended claim 1, in combination with the other limitations of amended claim 1 discussed above, including the requirement that the values stored in that table be voltage values applied to the electrodes of the sub-pixel.
For at least the reasons set forth above, amended claim 1 is not anticipated by Chang.”
The Office respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that an over-driving voltage table comprising over-driving voltage magnitudes [Remarks: pg. 12, 1st – last para.]) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Refer to table 1 & table 2 & paragraph 210 of Chang. In table 1 of Chang an over-driving value is selected corresponding to the intersection in table 1 between an initial grayscale value of a previous frame (gn-1) and a target grayscale value of a current frame (frame gn), such that to reach the desired target grayscale value of the current frame, an over-driving value is utilized for the current frame (gn’). The selected over-driving value represents a corresponding over-driving voltage, see table 2 & para. 210, (for example gray 255 being equal to 6 volts & gray 0 being equal to 0 volts) which teaches in the relation between grays [grayscales] & gray voltages.
Regarding amendments to claim 1, refer to office action below in light of table 1 & table 2 of Chang.
Thus, Chang teaches independent claim 1.
Regarding the rejection of claim 6, the Applicant argues [Remarks: pg. 14, 2nd – 3rd para.], that “amended claim 6 is allowable for similar reasons”.
The Office respectfully disagrees.
Refer to response to claim 1 above.
Further, refer to office action below regarding amendments to claim 6 in light of table 1 & table 2 of Chang.
Thus, Chang teaches amended independent claim 6.
Regarding the rejection of claim 15, the Applicant argues [Remarks: pg. 14, last para.], that “claim 15 is allowable by virtue of its dependency on amended claim 6”.
The Office respectfully disagrees.
Refer to response to claims 1 & 6 above.
Thus, Chang teaches claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 9-10, 12, 15, & 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (US 20060038952).
As to claim 1, Chang discloses a pixel driving method [abstract & figs. 1 & 14-16], comprising:
disposing an over-driving voltage value table [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 186-193], wherein the over-driving voltage value table comprises a plurality of initial grayscale values (previous image signals gn-1) [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16] and a plurality of target grayscale values (current image signal gn) [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16] corresponding to each other, each combination of one of the initial grayscale values and one of the target grayscale values has a corresponding over-driving voltage value stored in the over-driving voltage value table (modified image signals (f)) [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181 & 186-193], the target grayscale values comprise first target grayscale values (lowest gray of 0) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], a plurality of second target grayscale values (gray values 1-254) [table 1 & para. 210], and third target grayscale values (highest gray of 255) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], each of the second target grayscale values is greater than the first target grayscale values and is less than the third target grayscale values (gray values 1-254) [table 1 & para. 210], the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value is the same as the over- driving voltage values corresponding to the initial grayscale values that are different from the first target grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 0) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value is the same as the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the initial grayscale values that are different from the third target grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 255) [table 1];
obtaining a grayscale value of a frame to be displayed of a sub-pixel [figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 186-193], and setting in the over- driving voltage value table the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the target grayscale values the same as the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as a value of a driving voltage [figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 186-193]; and
driving the sub-pixel to emit light to display an image of the frame to be displayed according to the driving voltage [figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 186-193];
wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel corresponds to a data voltage value (data voltage) [figs. 1 & 14-16 & table 1 & para. 175-181] that is a voltage value required to maintain the sub-pixel at the grayscale value in a steady state (stable state) [ figs. 1 & 14-16 & table 1 & para. 175-181];
wherein the first target grayscale value is a minimum value of the grayscale value of the sub- pixel (lowest gray of 0) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value is the same as the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel equal to the first target grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 0) [table 1], the third target grayscale value is a maximum value of the grayscale value of the sub-pixel (highest gray of 255) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value is equal to the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the third target grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 255) [table 1];
wherein the initial grayscale values comprise the first initial grayscale value that is less than the second target grayscale value (intersection of when gn is 96 & gn-1 is at 32) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first initial grayscale value and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the second target grayscale value are greater than the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel that is the same as the second target grayscale value (voltage corresponding to 146, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 32, compared to when voltage corresponding to 96, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 96) [table 1];
wherein the step of setting in the over-driving voltage value table the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the target grayscale values the same as the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as a value of a driving voltage [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181 & 186-193], comprises:
obtaining a relationship between the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed and the target grayscale values [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210];
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the first target grayscale value, setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value as the value of the driving voltage regardless of the initial grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 0) [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210];
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the third target grayscale value, setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value as the value of the driving voltage regardless of the initial grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 255) [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210]; and
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the second target grayscale value, obtaining a grayscale value of a currently displayed frame of the sub-pixel, and setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to both the initial grayscale value equal to the grayscale value of the currently displayed frame in the over-driving voltage value table and the second target grayscale value equal to the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as the value of the driving voltage (diagonal of table 1) [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210];
wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210]; and
wherein each of the initial grayscale values comprises a second initial grayscale value greater than the second target grayscale value (intersection of when gn is 96 & gn-1 is at 160) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the second initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale value is less than the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the second target grayscale value (voltage corresponding to 70, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 160, compared to when voltage corresponding to 96, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 96) [table 1];
wherein the over-driving voltage values stored in the over-driving voltage value table are voltage values applied to electrodes of the sub-pixel to drive a liquid crystal layer of the sub-pixel [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 175-179, 181, 186-194, & 210]; and
wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a third initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 0) [table 1] and a fourth initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 64) [table 1] both less than the second target grayscale values (gn @ 96) [table 1], and the third initial grayscale value is less than the fourth initial grayscale value [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the third initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values are greater than the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the fourth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values (voltage corresponding to 192, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 0 greater than voltage corresponding to 118, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 64) [table 1].
As to claim 5, Chang discloses the pixel driving method according to claim 1, wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a fifth initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 224) [table 1] and a sixth initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 192) [table 1] both greater than the second target grayscale value (gn @ 96) [table 1], and the fifth initial grayscale value is greater than the sixth initial grayscale value [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the fifth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale value are less than the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the sixth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale value (voltage corresponding to 36, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 224 less than voltage corresponding to 54, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 192) [table 1].
As to claim 6, Chang discloses a pixel driving method [abstract & figs. 1 & 14-16], comprising:
disposing an over-driving voltage value table [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 186-193], wherein the over-driving voltage value table comprises a plurality of initial grayscale values (previous image signals gn-1) [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16] and a plurality of target grayscale values (current image signal gn) [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16] corresponding to each other, each combination of one of the initial grayscale values and one of the target grayscale values has a corresponding over-driving voltage value stored in the over-driving voltage value table modified image signals (f)) [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181 & 186-193], the target grayscale values comprise first target grayscale values (lowest gray of 0) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], a plurality of second target grayscale values (gray values 1-254) [table 1 & para. 210], and third target grayscale values (highest gray of 255) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], each of the second target grayscale values is greater than the first target grayscale values and is less than the third target grayscale values (gray values 1-254) [table 1 & para. 210], the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value is the same as the over- driving voltage values corresponding to the initial grayscale values that are different from the first target grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 0) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value is the same as the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the initial grayscale values that are different from the third target grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 255) [table 1];
obtaining a grayscale value of a frame to be displayed of a sub-pixel [figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 186-193], and setting in the over- driving voltage value table the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the target grayscale values the same as the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as a value of a driving voltage [figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 186-193]; and
driving the sub-pixel to emit light to display an image of the frame to be displayed according to the driving voltage [figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 186-193];
wherein the step of setting in the over-driving voltage value table the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the target grayscale values the same as the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as a value of a driving voltage [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181 & 186-193], comprises:
obtaining a relationship between the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed and the target grayscale values [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210];
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the first target grayscale value, setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value as the value of the driving voltage regardless of the initial grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 0) [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210];
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the third target grayscale value, setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value as the value of the driving voltage regardless of the initial grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 255) [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210]; and
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the second target grayscale value, obtaining a grayscale value of a currently displayed frame of the sub-pixel, and setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to both the initial grayscale value equal to the grayscale value of the currently displayed frame in the over-driving voltage value table and the second target grayscale value equal to the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as the value of the driving voltage (diagonal of table 1) [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210];
wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel corresponds to a data voltage value (data voltage) [figs. 1 & 14-16 & table 1 & para. 175-181] that is a voltage value required to maintain the sub-pixel at the grayscale value in a steady state (stable state) [ figs. 1 & 14-16 & table 1 & para. 175-181]; and
wherein each of the initial grayscale values comprises a second initial grayscale value greater than the second target grayscale value (intersection of when gn is 96 & gn-1 is at 160) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the second initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale value is less than the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as equal to the second target grayscale value (voltage corresponding to 70, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 160, compared to when voltage corresponding to 96, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 96) [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values stored in the over-driving voltage value table are voltage values applied to electrodes of the sub-pixel to drive a liquid crystal layer of the sub-pixel [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 175-179, 181, 186-194, & 210]; and
wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210]; and
wherein the first target grayscale value is a minimum value of the grayscale value of the sub- pixel (lowest gray of 0) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value is the same as the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the first target grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 0) [table 1]; and
the third target grayscale value is a maximum value of the grayscale value of the sub-pixel (highest gray of 255) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value is the same as the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the third target grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 255) [table 1].
As to claim 9, Chang discloses the pixel driving method according to claim 6, wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210]; and
wherein the initial grayscale values comprise the first initial grayscale value that is less than the second target grayscale value (intersection of when gn is 96 & gn-1 is at 32) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first initial grayscale value and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the second target grayscale value are greater than the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel that is the same as the second target grayscale value (voltage corresponding to 146, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 32, compared to when voltage corresponding to 96, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 96) [table 1].
As to claim 10, Chang discloses the pixel driving method according to claim 6, wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a third initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 0) [table 1] and a fourth initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 64) [table 1] both less than the second target grayscale values (gn @ 96) [table 1], and the third initial grayscale value is less than the fourth initial grayscale value [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the third initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values are greater than the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the fourth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values (voltage corresponding to 192, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 0 greater than voltage corresponding to 118, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 64) [table 1].
As to claim 12, Chang discloses the pixel driving method according to claim 6, wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a fifth initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 224) [table 1] and a sixth initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 192) [table 1] both greater than the second target grayscale value (gn @ 96) [table 1], and the fifth initial grayscale value is greater than the sixth initial grayscale value [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the fifth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale value are less than the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the sixth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale value (voltage corresponding to 36, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 224 less than voltage corresponding to 54, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 192) [table 1].
As to claim 15, Chang discloses A display panel [abstract & figs. 1 & 14], wherein the display panel comprises a controller (signal controller 600) [fig. 1] and a memory [figs. 1 & 14 & para. 214], wherein the controller is configured to implement instructions stored in the memory to implement the method according to claim 6 [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 175-179, 181, 186-194, & 210].
As to claim 17, Chang discloses the display panel according to claim 15, wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210]; and
wherein the first target grayscale value is a minimum value of the grayscale value of the sub- pixel (lowest gray of 0) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value is the same as the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the first target grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 0) [table 1]; and
the third target grayscale value is a maximum value of the grayscale value of the sub-pixel (highest gray of 255) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value is the same as the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the third target grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 255) [table 1].
As to claim 18, Chang discloses the display panel according to claim 15, wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210]; and
wherein the initial grayscale values comprise the first initial grayscale value that is less than the second target grayscale value (intersection of when gn is 96 & gn-1 is at 32) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first initial grayscale value and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the second target grayscale value are greater than the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel that is the same as the second target grayscale value (voltage corresponding to 146, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 32, compared to when voltage corresponding to 96, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 96) [table 1].
As to claim 19, Chang discloses the display panel according to claim 15, wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a third initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 0) [table 1] and a fourth initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 64) [table 1] both less than the second target grayscale values (gn @ 96) [table 1], and the third initial grayscale value is less than the fourth initial grayscale value [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the third initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values are greater than the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the fourth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values (voltage corresponding to 192, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 0 greater than voltage corresponding to 118, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 64) [table 1].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID TUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622