DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 & 6 [Remarks: pg. 13, 1st para. – pg. 16, last para.] have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 8-10, 12, 15, & 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (US 20060038952).
As to claim 1, Chang discloses a pixel driving method [abstract & figs. 1 & 14-16], comprising:
disposing an over-driving voltage value table [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 186-193], wherein the over-driving voltage value table comprises a plurality of initial grayscale values (previous image signals gn-1) [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16] and a plurality of target grayscale values (current image signal gn) [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16] corresponding to each other, each combination of one of the initial grayscale values and one of the target grayscale values has a corresponding over-driving voltage value stored in the over-driving voltage value table (modified image signals (f)) [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181 & 186-193], the target grayscale values comprise first target grayscale values (lowest gray of 0) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], a plurality of second target grayscale values (gray values 1-254) [table 1 & para. 210], and third target grayscale values (highest gray of 255) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], each of the second target grayscale values is greater than the first target grayscale values and is less than the third target grayscale values (gray values 1-254) [table 1 & para. 210], the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value is the same as the over- driving voltage values corresponding to the initial grayscale values that are different from the first target grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 0) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value is the same as the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the initial grayscale values that are different from the third target grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 255) [table 1];
obtaining a grayscale value of a frame to be displayed of a sub-pixel [figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 186-193], and setting in the over- driving voltage value table the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the target grayscale values the same as the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as a value of a driving voltage [figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 186-193]; and
driving the sub-pixel to emit light to display an image of the frame to be displayed according to the driving voltage [figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 186-193];
wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel corresponds to a data voltage value (data voltage) [figs. 1 & 14-16 & table 1 & para. 175-181] that is a voltage value required to maintain the sub-pixel at the grayscale value in a steady state (stable state) [ figs. 1 & 14-16 & table 1 & para. 175-181];
wherein the first target grayscale value is a minimum value of the grayscale value of the sub- pixel (lowest gray of 0) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value is the same as the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel equal to the first target grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 0) [table 1], the third target grayscale value is a maximum value of the grayscale value of the sub-pixel (highest gray of 255) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value is equal to the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the third target grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 255) [table 1];
wherein the initial grayscale values comprise the first initial grayscale value that is less than the second target grayscale value (intersection of when gn is 96 & gn-1 is at 32) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first initial grayscale value and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the second target grayscale value are greater than the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel that is the same as the second target grayscale value (voltage corresponding to 146, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 32, compared to when voltage corresponding to 96, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 96) [table 1];
wherein the step of setting in the over-driving voltage value table the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the target grayscale values the same as the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as a value of a driving voltage [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181 & 186-193], comprises:
obtaining a relationship between the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed and the target grayscale values [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210];
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the first target grayscale value, setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value as the value of the driving voltage regardless of the initial grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 0) [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210];
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the third target grayscale value, setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value as the value of the driving voltage regardless of the initial grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 255) [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210]; and
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the second target grayscale value, obtaining a grayscale value of a currently displayed frame of the sub-pixel, and setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to both the initial grayscale value equal to the grayscale value of the currently displayed frame in the over-driving voltage value table and the second target grayscale value equal to the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as the value of the driving voltage (diagonal of table 1) [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210];
wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210]; and
wherein each of the initial grayscale values comprises a second initial grayscale value greater than the second target grayscale value (intersection of when gn is 96 & gn-1 is at 160) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the second initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale value is less than the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the second target grayscale value (voltage corresponding to 70, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 160, compared to when voltage corresponding to 96, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 96) [table 1];
wherein the over-driving voltage values stored in the over-driving voltage value table are voltage values applied to electrodes of the sub-pixel to drive a liquid crystal layer of the sub-pixel [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 175-179, 181, 186-194, & 210].
As to claim 3, Chang discloses the pixel driving method according to claim 1, wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a third initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 0) [table 1] and a fourth initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 64) [table 1] both less than the second target grayscale values (gn @ 96) [table 1], and the third initial grayscale value is less than the fourth initial grayscale value [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the third initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values are greater than the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the fourth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values (voltage corresponding to 192, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 0 greater than voltage corresponding to 118, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 64) [table 1].
As to claim 5, Chang discloses the pixel driving method according to claim 1, wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a fifth initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 224) [table 1] and a sixth initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 192) [table 1] both greater than the second target grayscale value (gn @ 96) [table 1], and the fifth initial grayscale value is greater than the sixth initial grayscale value [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the fifth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale value are less than the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the sixth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale value (voltage corresponding to 36, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 224 less than voltage corresponding to 54, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 192) [table 1].
As to claim 6, Chang discloses a pixel driving method [abstract & figs. 1 & 14-16], comprising:
disposing an over-driving voltage value table [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 186-193], wherein the over-driving voltage value table comprises a plurality of initial grayscale values (previous image signals gn-1) [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16] and a plurality of target grayscale values (current image signal gn) [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16] corresponding to each other, each combination of one of the initial grayscale values and one of the target grayscale values has a corresponding over-driving voltage value stored in the over-driving voltage value table modified image signals (f)) [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181 & 186-193], the target grayscale values comprise first target grayscale values (lowest gray of 0) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], a plurality of second target grayscale values (gray values 1-254) [table 1 & para. 210], and third target grayscale values (highest gray of 255) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], each of the second target grayscale values is greater than the first target grayscale values and is less than the third target grayscale values (gray values 1-254) [table 1 & para. 210], the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value is the same as the over- driving voltage values corresponding to the initial grayscale values that are different from the first target grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 0) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value is the same as the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the initial grayscale values that are different from the third target grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 255) [table 1];
obtaining a grayscale value of a frame to be displayed of a sub-pixel [figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 186-193], and setting in the over- driving voltage value table the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the target grayscale values the same as the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as a value of a driving voltage [figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 186-193]; and
driving the sub-pixel to emit light to display an image of the frame to be displayed according to the driving voltage [figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 186-193];
wherein the step of setting in the over-driving voltage value table the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the target grayscale values the same as the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as a value of a driving voltage [table 1 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181 & 186-193], comprises:
obtaining a relationship between the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed and the target grayscale values [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210];
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the first target grayscale value, setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value as the value of the driving voltage regardless of the initial grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 0) [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210];
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the third target grayscale value, setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value as the value of the driving voltage regardless of the initial grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 255) [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210]; and
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the second target grayscale value, obtaining a grayscale value of a currently displayed frame of the sub-pixel, and setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to both the initial grayscale value equal to the grayscale value of the currently displayed frame in the over-driving voltage value table and the second target grayscale value equal to the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as the value of the driving voltage (diagonal of table 1) [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210];
wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel corresponds to a data voltage value (data voltage) [figs. 1 & 14-16 & table 1 & para. 175-181] that is a voltage value required to maintain the sub-pixel at the grayscale value in a steady state (stable state) [ figs. 1 & 14-16 & table 1 & para. 175-181]; and
wherein each of the initial grayscale values comprises a second initial grayscale value greater than the second target grayscale value (intersection of when gn is 96 & gn-1 is at 160) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the second initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale value is less than the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as equal to the second target grayscale value (voltage corresponding to 70, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 160, compared to when voltage corresponding to 96, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 96) [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values stored in the over-driving voltage value table are voltage values applied to electrodes of the sub-pixel to drive a liquid crystal layer of the sub-pixel [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 175-179, 181, 186-194, & 210].
As to claim 8, Chang discloses the pixel driving method according to claim 6, wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210]; and
wherein the first target grayscale value is a minimum value of the grayscale value of the sub- pixel (lowest gray of 0) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value is the same as the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the first target grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 0) [table 1]; and
the third target grayscale value is a maximum value of the grayscale value of the sub-pixel (highest gray of 255) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value is the same as the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the third target grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 255) [table 1].
As to claim 9, Chang discloses the pixel driving method according to claim 6, wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210]; and
wherein the initial grayscale values comprise the first initial grayscale value that is less than the second target grayscale value (intersection of when gn is 96 & gn-1 is at 32) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first initial grayscale value and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the second target grayscale value are greater than the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel that is the same as the second target grayscale value (voltage corresponding to 146, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 32, compared to when voltage corresponding to 96, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 96) [table 1].
As to claim 10, Chang discloses the pixel driving method according to claim 6, wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a third initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 0) [table 1] and a fourth initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 64) [table 1] both less than the second target grayscale values (gn @ 96) [table 1], and the third initial grayscale value is less than the fourth initial grayscale value [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the third initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values are greater than the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the fourth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values (voltage corresponding to 192, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 0 greater than voltage corresponding to 118, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 64) [table 1].
As to claim 12, Chang discloses the pixel driving method according to claim 6, wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a fifth initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 224) [table 1] and a sixth initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 192) [table 1] both greater than the second target grayscale value (gn @ 96) [table 1], and the fifth initial grayscale value is greater than the sixth initial grayscale value [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the fifth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale value are less than the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the sixth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale value (voltage corresponding to 36, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 224 less than voltage corresponding to 54, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 192) [table 1].
As to claim 15, Chang discloses A display panel [abstract & figs. 1 & 14], wherein the display panel comprises a controller (signal controller 600) [fig. 1] and a memory [figs. 1 & 14 & para. 214], wherein the controller is configured to implement instructions stored in the memory to implement the method according to claim 6 [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 175-179, 181, 186-194, & 210].
As to claim 17, Chang discloses the display panel according to claim 15, wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210]; and
wherein the first target grayscale value is a minimum value of the grayscale value of the sub- pixel (lowest gray of 0) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value is the same as the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the first target grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 0) [table 1]; and
the third target grayscale value is a maximum value of the grayscale value of the sub-pixel (highest gray of 255) [table 1 & table 2 & para 194 & 210], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value is the same as the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the third target grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to gn, 255) [table 1].
As to claim 18, Chang discloses the display panel according to claim 15, wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [table 1 & table 2 & figs. 1 & 14-16 & para. 181, 186-194, & 210]; and
wherein the initial grayscale values comprise the first initial grayscale value that is less than the second target grayscale value (intersection of when gn is 96 & gn-1 is at 32) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first initial grayscale value and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the second target grayscale value are greater than the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel that is the same as the second target grayscale value (voltage corresponding to 146, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 32, compared to when voltage corresponding to 96, where gn @ 96 intersect with gn-1 @ 96) [table 1].
As to claim 19, Chang discloses the display panel according to claim 15, wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a third initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 0) [table 1] and a fourth initial grayscale value (gn-1 @ 64) [table 1] both less than the second target grayscale values (gn @ 96) [table 1], and the third initial grayscale value is less than the fourth initial grayscale value [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the third initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values are greater than the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the fourth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values (voltage corresponding to 192, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 0 greater than voltage corresponding to 118, where gn @ 96 intersects with gn-1 @ 64) [table 1].
Conclusion
/DAVID TUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622