DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1 & 6, the Applicant argues [Remarks: pg. 12, last para. – pg. 15, 3rd para.], there is no relation between grayscale value and voltage value.
The Office respectfully disagrees.
Refer to paragraphs 7 of Kwak, which teaches how a liquid crystal display is operated. “The arrangement of the liquid crystal molecules in the liquid crystal layer is based on the magnitude of the pixel voltage and determines the polarization of light passing through a liquid crystal layer. The change in the polarization affects a change in the transmittance of light through a polarizer attached to the liquid crystal display and thus the luminance of the pixels may be controlled to reflect the gray level of an image signal.” [para. 7] Basically, a liquid crystal molecule of the liquid crystal display is controlled by voltage. When a voltage is applied to the liquid crystal molecule, the amount of light passing through is controlled. The gray level representing the voltage applied to the liquid crystal molecule to provide a desired light transmittance.
Refer to paragraph 45 of Kwak which states that “The number of gray voltages included in one set of gray voltage groups, generated by the gray voltage generator 800, may be equal to the number of gray levels which may be displayed by the liquid crystal display.”
Basically, if there are 0-255 gray levels, there would be 0-255 corresponding gray voltages, respectively.
Thus, a direct and explicit relation between gray levels and gray voltages is taught by Kwak.
Further over driving is old and well known in the art, refer to paragraphs 8-9 of Kwak, which teaches that:
“[0008] However, the response speed of the liquid crystal molecules is relatively slow, since it takes time to reach a desired pixel voltage in the liquid crystal capacitor, it will also take time to reach the desired luminance. Therefore, when the difference between the target voltage and the previous voltage applied to the liquid crystal capacitor is large, the voltage applied to the liquid crystal capacitor may not reach the target voltage while the switching element is turned on.
[0009] One method to improve the response speed of the liquid crystal without changing its physical properties is a dynamic capacitance compensation (DCC, hereinafter referred to as DCC) method. The DCC method uses the fact that when the voltage at both ends of the liquid crystal capacitor is increased, the charging speed is increased. Therefore, the data voltage applied to the pixel (the difference between the data voltage and the common voltage, for convenience, the common voltage is assumed to be zero) is set to be higher than the target voltage, shortening the time required for the voltage in the liquid crystal capacitor to reach the target voltage.”
Basically, it is known that the response speed for the liquid crystal molecules to change polarization when a voltage is applied is relatively slow. To improve the response speed when there is a large gap between a previous gray voltage and a target gray voltage, a higher than the target gray voltage is applied to the liquid crystal molecule to reduce the time it takes to get to the target gray voltage.
Further, refer to table 1 and corresponding paragraph 97, the range for the grayscale [gray level], is between 0 and 255.
Thus, the minimum value would be 0 and the maximum value would be 255 [gray level values represented via 8 bits].
Refer to paragraph 62-63 of Kwak, which teaches that DCC is dynamic capacitance compensation. Basically, a larger voltage or smaller voltage is utilized to achieve a desired target grayscale [overdriving].
If a target grayscale value is directly applied, the target grayscale could be different than the desired target grayscale due to capacitance of the pixel [see para. 62].
Referring to table 1, which shows a DCC LUT [dynamic capacitance compensation look-up table].
The previous image signal for each pixel g(n-1) is along a x-axis of table 1, the previous image signal values go from 0 – 255 by intervals of 16.
The targeted or current image signal for each pixel g(n) is along a y-axis of table 1, the values go from 0 – 255 by intervals of 16.
Table 1 being a look-up table, the value that is utilized is determined by finding the intersection of the current image signal g(n) [target grayscale, see left hand side of table] and the previous image signal g(n-1) [see values along x-axis above bold line].
When the current image signal g(n) needs to be 0 [first target grayscale], regardless of what the previous image signal g(n-1) was [from 0-255], a first target grayscale value of 0 is utilized, regardless of what the previous image signal g(n-1) was. See first row of table 1, when g(n) needs to be 0, note that for the entire first row, 0 is utilized.
When the current image signal g(n) needs to be 255 [third target grayscale], regardless of what the previous image signal g(n-1) was [from 0-255], a third target grayscale of 255 is utilized, regardless of what the previous image signal g(n-1) was. See last row of table 1, when g(n) needs to be 255, note that for the entire last row, 255 is utilized.
The values determined from the look-up table are then utilized as part of a process for providing over-driving voltages to pixels [see para. 72 & 45 & fig. 3].
Thus, Kwak teaches the amended independent claims 1 & 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 8-10, 12, 15, & 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwak et al. (US 20140347384).
As to claim 1, Kwak discloses a pixel driving method [abstract & figs. 1-3], comprising:
disposing an over-driving voltage value table (table 1, corresponding to first DCC LUT 650) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99],
wherein the over-driving voltage value table comprises a plurality of initial grayscale values (previous image signal G(n-1), table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99] and a plurality of target grayscale values (current image signal G(n), table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99] corresponding to each other, each of the initial grayscale values and the target grayscale values comprises an over-driving voltage value (overdrive value where value of current image signal G(n) & value of previous image signal G(n-1) intersect, table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99] corresponding to the initial grayscale value or the target grayscale value, the target grayscale values comprise first target grayscale values (current image signal G(n), 0, table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99], a plurality of second target grayscale values (current image signal G(n), 1-254, table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99], and third target grayscale values (current image signal G(n), 255, table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99], each of the second target grayscale values is greater than the first target grayscale values and is less than the third target grayscale values (current image signal G(n), table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99],
the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value is the same as the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the initial grayscale values that are different from the first target grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to current image signal G(n), 0) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value is the same as the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the initial grayscale values that are different from the third target grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to current image signal G(n), 255) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99];
obtaining a grayscale value of a frame to be displayed of a sub-pixel [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60], and setting in the over- driving voltage value table the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the target grayscale values the same as the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as a value of a driving voltage [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60]; and
driving the sub-pixel to emit light to display an image of the frame to be displayed according to the driving voltage [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60];
wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60];
wherein the first target grayscale value is a minimum value of the grayscale value of the sub- pixel (current image signal G(n), 0, table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99], the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value is the same as the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the first target grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to current image signal G(n), 0) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99],
the third target grayscale value is a maximum value of the grayscale value of the sub-pixel (current image signal G(n), 255, table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value is the same as the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the third target grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to current image signal G(n), 255) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99];
wherein the initial grayscale values comprise the first initial grayscale value that is less than the second target grayscale value (example, current image signal G(n) @ 80 & previous image signal G(n-1) @ 32) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first initial grayscale value and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the second target grayscale value are greater than the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel that is the same as the second target grayscale value (overdriving voltage would be 110, where current image signal G(n) @ 80 & previous image signal G(n-1) @ 32 intersect in table 1, compared to overdrive voltage of 80 where current image signal G(n) @ 80 & previous image signal G(n-1) @ 80 intersect in table 1) [table 1];
wherein the step of setting in the over-driving voltage value table the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the target grayscale values the same as the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as a value of a driving voltage [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60], comprises:
obtaining a relationship between the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed and the target grayscale values [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60];
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the first target grayscale value, setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value as the value of the driving voltage regardless of the initial grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to current image signal G(n), 0) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99];
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the third target grayscale value, setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value as the value of the driving voltage regardless of the initial grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to current image signal G(n), 255) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99]; and
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the second target grayscale value, obtaining a grayscale value of a currently displayed frame of the sub-pixel, and setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to both the initial grayscale value equal to the grayscale value of the currently displayed frame in the over-driving voltage value table [table 1] and the second target grayscale value equal to the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as the value of the driving voltage (diagonal of table 1) [table 1];
wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 45, 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60]; and
wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a second initial grayscale value (example previous image signal g(n-1) @ 160) [table 1] greater than the second target grayscale value, and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the second initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values is less than the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the second target grayscale value (overdrive value of 36 utilized when going from pervious image signal g(n-1) @ 160 to image signal g(n) @ 80 is less than overdrive value of 80 utilized when going from pervious image signal g(n-1) @ 80 to image signal g(n) @ 80) [table 1].
As to claim 3, Kwak discloses the pixel driving method according to claim 1, wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a third initial grayscale value (example previous image signal g(n-1) @ 32) [table 1] and a fourth initial grayscale value (example previous image signal g(n-1) @ 64) [table 1] both less than the second target grayscale values (example image signal g(n) @ 80) [table 1], and the third initial grayscale value is less than the fourth initial grayscale value [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the third initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values are greater than the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the fourth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values (overdrive value of 110 utilized when going from pervious image signal g(n-1) @ 32 to image signal g(n) @ 80 is greater than overdrive value of 86 utilized when going from pervious image signal g(n-1) @ 64 to image signal g(n) @ 80) [table 1].
As to claim 5, Kwak discloses the pixel driving method according to claim 1, wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a fifth initial grayscale value (example previous image signal g(n-1) @ 224) [table 1] and a sixth initial grayscale value (example previous image signal g(n-1) @ 144) [table 1] both greater than the second target grayscale value (example image signal g(n) @ 80) [table 1], and the fifth initial grayscale value is greater than the sixth initial grayscale value [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the fifth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale value are less than the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the sixth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale value (overdrive value of 20 utilized when going from pervious image signal g(n-1) @ 224 to image signal g(n) @ 80 is less than overdrive value of 50 utilized when going from pervious image signal g(n-1) @ 144 to image signal g(n) @ 80) [table 1].
As to claim 6, Kwak discloses a pixel driving method [abstract & figs. 1-3], comprising:
disposing an over-driving voltage value table (table 1, corresponding to first DCC LUT 650) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99],
wherein the over-driving voltage value table comprises a plurality of initial grayscale values (previous image signal G(n-1), table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99] and a plurality of target grayscale values (current image signal G(n), table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99] corresponding to each other, each of the initial grayscale values and the target grayscale values comprises an over-driving voltage value (overdrive value where value of current image signal G(n) & value of previous image signal G(n-1) intersect, table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99] corresponding to the initial grayscale value or the target grayscale value, the target grayscale values comprise first target grayscale values (current image signal G(n), 0, table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99], a plurality of second target grayscale values (current image signal G(n), 1-254, table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99], and third target grayscale values (current image signal G(n), 255, table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99], each of the second target grayscale values is greater than the first target grayscale values and is less than the third target grayscale values (current image signal G(n), table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99],
the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value is the same as the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the initial grayscale values that are different from the first target grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to current image signal G(n), 0) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value is the same as the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the initial grayscale values that are different from the third target grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to current image signal G(n), 255) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99];
obtaining a grayscale value of a frame to be displayed of a sub-pixel [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60], and setting in the over- driving voltage value table the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the target grayscale values the same as the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as a value of a driving voltage [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60]; and
driving the sub-pixel to emit light to display an image of the frame to be displayed according to the driving voltage [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60];
wherein the step of setting in the over-driving voltage value table the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the target grayscale values the same as the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as a value of a driving voltage [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60], comprises:
obtaining a relationship between the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed and the target grayscale values [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60];
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the first target grayscale value, setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value as the value of the driving voltage regardless of the initial grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to current image signal G(n), 0) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99];
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the third target grayscale value, setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value as the value of the driving voltage regardless of the initial grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to current image signal G(n), 255) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99]; and
when the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed is equal to the second target grayscale value, obtaining a grayscale value of a currently displayed frame of the sub-pixel, and setting the over-driving voltage value corresponding to both the initial grayscale value equal to the grayscale value of the currently displayed frame in the over-driving voltage value table [table 1] and the second target grayscale value equal to the grayscale value of the frame to be displayed as the value of the driving voltage (diagonal of table 1) [table 1];
wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 45, 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60]; and
wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a second initial grayscale value (example previous image signal g(n-1) @ 160) [table 1] greater than the second target grayscale value, and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the second initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values is less than the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the second target grayscale value (overdrive value of 36 utilized when going from pervious image signal g(n-1) @ 160 to image signal g(n) @ 80 is less than overdrive value of 80 utilized when going from pervious image signal g(n-1) @ 80 to image signal g(n) @ 80) [table 1].
As to claim 8, Kwak discloses the pixel driving method according to claim 6, wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60]; and
wherein the first target grayscale value is a minimum value of the grayscale value of the sub- pixel (current image signal G(n), 0, table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99], the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value is the same as the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the first target grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to current image signal G(n), 0) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99]; and
the third target grayscale value is a maximum value of the grayscale value of the sub-pixel (current image signal G(n), 255, table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value is the same as the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the third target grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to current image signal G(n), 255) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99].
As to claim 9, Kwak discloses the pixel driving method according to claim 6, wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60]; and
wherein the initial grayscale values comprise the first initial grayscale value that is less than the second target grayscale value (example, current image signal G(n) @ 80 & previous image signal G(n-1) @ 32) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first initial grayscale value and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the second target grayscale value are greater than the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel that is the same as the second target grayscale value (overdriving voltage would be 110, where current image signal G(n) @ 80 & previous image signal G(n-1) @ 32 intersect in table 1, compared to overdrive voltage of 80 where current image signal G(n) @ 80 & previous image signal G(n-1) @ 80 intersect in table 1) [table 1].
As to claim 10, Kwak discloses the pixel driving method according to claim 6, wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a third initial grayscale value (example previous image signal g(n-1) @ 32) [table 1] and a fourth initial grayscale value (example previous image signal g(n-1) @ 64) [table 1] both less than the second target grayscale values (example image signal g(n) @ 80) [table 1], and the third initial grayscale value is less than the fourth initial grayscale value [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the third initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values are greater than the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the fourth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values (overdrive value of 110 utilized when going from pervious image signal g(n-1) @ 32 to image signal g(n) @ 80 is greater than overdrive value of 86 utilized when going from pervious image signal g(n-1) @ 64 to image signal g(n) @ 80) [table 1].
As to claim 12, Kwak discloses the pixel driving method according to claim 6, wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a fifth initial grayscale value (example previous image signal g(n-1) @ 224) [table 1] and a sixth initial grayscale value (example previous image signal g(n-1) @ 144) [table 1] both greater than the second target grayscale value (example image signal g(n) @ 80) [table 1], and the fifth initial grayscale value is greater than the sixth initial grayscale value [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the fifth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale value are less than the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the sixth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale value (overdrive value of 20 utilized when going from pervious image signal g(n-1) @ 224 to image signal g(n) @ 80 is less than overdrive value of 50 utilized when going from pervious image signal g(n-1) @ 144 to image signal g(n) @ 80) [table 1].
As to claim 15, Kwak discloses a display panel [abstract & figs. 1-3], wherein the display panel comprises a controller (signal controller 600) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 36, 65-66, & 87] and a memory [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 87], wherein the controller is configured to implement instructions stored in the memory to implement the method according to claim 6 [abstract & fig. 1 & para. 50-51 & 54-55].
As to claim 17, Kwak discloses the display panel according to claim 15, wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60]; and
wherein the first target grayscale value is a minimum value of the grayscale value of the sub- pixel (current image signal G(n), 0, table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99], the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first target grayscale value is the same as the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the first target grayscale value (first row of table 1 corresponding to current image signal G(n), 0) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99]; and
the third target grayscale value is a maximum value of the grayscale value of the sub-pixel (current image signal G(n), 255, table 1) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the third target grayscale value is the same as the data voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel the same as the third target grayscale value (last row of table 1 corresponding to current image signal G(n), 255) [figs. 1, 3, & 5 & para. 95-99].
As to claim 18, Kwak discloses the display panel according to claim 15, wherein each grayscale value of the sub-pixel comprises a data voltage value [figs. 1 & 3 & para. 65-69, 96-97, 50-51, 54, 57-58, & 60]; and
wherein the initial grayscale values comprise the first initial grayscale value that is less than the second target grayscale value (example, current image signal G(n) @ 80 & previous image signal G(n-1) @ 32) [table 1], and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the first initial grayscale value and the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the second target grayscale value are greater than the over-driving voltage value corresponding to the grayscale value of the sub-pixel that is the same as the second target grayscale value (overdriving voltage would be 110, where current image signal G(n) @ 80 & previous image signal G(n-1) @ 32 intersect in table 1, compared to overdrive voltage of 80 where current image signal G(n) @ 80 & previous image signal G(n-1) @ 80 intersect in table 1) [table 1].
As to claim 19, Kwak discloses the display panel according to claim 15, wherein the initial grayscale values comprise a third initial grayscale value (example previous image signal g(n-1) @ 32) [table 1] and a fourth initial grayscale value (example previous image signal g(n-1) @ 64) [table 1] both less than the second target grayscale values (example image signal g(n) @ 80) [table 1], and the third initial grayscale value is less than the fourth initial grayscale value [table 1]; and
wherein the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the third initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values are greater than the over-driving voltage values corresponding to the fourth initial grayscale value and the second target grayscale values (overdrive value of 110 utilized when going from pervious image signal g(n-1) @ 32 to image signal g(n) @ 80 is greater than overdrive value of 86 utilized when going from pervious image signal g(n-1) @ 64 to image signal g(n) @ 80) [table 1].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID TUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622