DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 5/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 13-14, 16-17, 19-21, 23, 28-29, 31-32, 41, and 43 are pending in the application. Claims 7-12, 15, 18, 22, 24-27, 30, 33-40, 42, and 44 are cancelled. Claims 5 and 41 are withdrawn. The amendments to the claims, abstract, and specification overcome most of the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 2/17/2026. Any objections which have not been overcome are included again below.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
-The specification amendment filed on 5/18/2026 should be further amended to include the application numbers and filing dates of the three foreign applications from which the instant application claims priority.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
-Claim 3, lines 1-2: please correct “wherein air valve” to “wherein the air valve”
-Claim 3, line 2: please correct “the level” to “a level”
-Claim 3, line 3: please correct “negative pressure” to “the negative air pressure”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites “a non-return or one-way air valve”. However, claim 1, from which claim 23 depends, has been amended to recite “an air valve”. It is unclear whether the air valve in claim 23 is intended to be an additional air valve to the air valve of claim 1 (such that a total of two air valves are required) or whether the air valve in claim 23 is intended to further limit the air valve of claim 1. For examination purposes, the Examiner interprets claim 23 as further limiting the air valve of claim 1 to be a non-return or one-way air valve (such that only one air valve is required).
Claim 32 recites “an air valve…wherein the upper section is configured to expose the air valve”. However, claim 1, from which claim 32 depends, has been amended to recite “an air valve”. It is unclear whether the air valve in claim 32 is intended to be an additional air valve to the air valve of claim 1 (such that a total of two air valves are required) or whether the air valve in claim 32 is intended to further limit the air valve of claim 1. Further, if Applicant intends for claim 32 to introduce a second air valve, it would be further unclear whether the air valve in line 3 of claim 32 is referring to the air valve of line 1 of claim 32 or the air valve of claim 1. For examination purposes, the Examiner interprets claim 32 as further limiting the air valve of claim 1 (such that only one air valve is required).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholz (US 2019/0351114 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Scholz discloses a wearable passive suction-based milk collection device (apparatus 100, see Figs. 1-9, par. [0074], [0076]), the device comprising:
a compressible milk pouch (body 102, see par. [0076], [0079]) with a nipple hole or opening (opening 114, see par. [0076]-[0078], [0086]) in a rear face (rear side 106) of the compressible milk pouch (body 102) (see Figs. 1-9, par. [0076]), the rear face (rear side 106) of the compressible milk pouch (body 102) configured to seal against at least part of a breast of a user when the compressible milk pouch (body 102) is compressed by the user to create a negative air pressure inside the compressible milk pouch (body 102), providing suction onto a nipple of the breast thereby drawing milk from the nipple for collection in the compressible milk pouch (body 102) (see Figs. 1-9, par. [0077], [0079], [0082], [0085]),
wherein the device (apparatus 100) is shaped to at least partially fit inside a bra (see par. [0066], the apparatus 100 is sized/shaped to fit in a user's hand such that apparatus 100 would also be sized/shaped to at least partially fit within a pumping bra).
However, Scholz, in the embodiment of Figs. 1-9, fails to expressly state wherein the compressible milk pouch includes an air valve.
Scholz teaches an alternative embodiment of a milk collection device (apparatus 200, see Figs. 10-13, par. [0091]) wherein the compressible milk pouch (body 202) includes an air valve (valve 252) (see Figs. 10-13, par. [0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the milk collection device of the embodiment of Figs. 1-9 of Scholz to include wherein the compressible milk pouch includes an air valve, as taught by the embodiment of Figs. 10-13 of Scholz, in order to enhance the seal within the cavity of the compressible milk pouch when pressed against the breast of the user (see Scholz par. [0094]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 1 substantially as claimed. Scholz further teaches wherein the compressible milk pouch (body 102, see par. [0076], [0079]) comprises a dome shaped front face or front face portion (front side 104, see Fig. 3, front side 104 is dome shaped).
Regarding claim 6, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 1 substantially as claimed. Scholz further teaches wherein a front surface (front side 104) of the compressible milk pouch (body 102, see par. [0076], [0079]) comprises a flat portion (flattened portion 117) configured to allow the device to rest stably on a flat surface at an angle that prevents milk from spilling from the nipple hole (opening 114, see par. [0076]-[0078], [0086]) (see Figs. 7-9, par. [0080]-[0081]).
Regarding claim 23, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 1 substantially as claimed. Modified Scholz further teaches wherein the air valve (Scholz, valve 252) is a non-return or one-way valve in fluid communication with the compressible milk pouch (Scholz, body 102) (see 112b rejection/interpretation of claim 23 above, see Scholz Figs. 1-13, par. [0094], see previous modifications in rejection of claim 1 above).
Claims 2, 13-14, 28, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholz (US 2019/0351114 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Quarles (US 2020/0246519 A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 1 substantially as claimed. However, modified Scholz fails to expressly state a rigid or semi-rigid frame configured to retain the compressible milk pouch.
Quarles teaches a device (see Figs. 1-2) comprising a rigid or semi-rigid frame (housing 12) configured to retain the compressible milk pouch (milk collection container 14) (see Figs. 1-2, par. [0015]-[0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of modified Scholz to include a rigid or semi-rigid frame configured to retain the compressible milk pouch, as taught by Quarles, in order to enclose the compressible milk pouch and latch to the breast to create a tighter seal between the device and the breast resulting in increased suction pressure (see Quarles par. [0015]-[0017]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 2 substantially as claimed. Modified Scholz further teaches wherein the compressible milk pouch (Scholz, body 102) is configured to latch on to the frame (Quarles, housing 12) (see previous modifications in rejection of claim 2 above, see Quarles Figs. 1-2, Quarles par. [0015]-[0018], housing 12 retains the milk pouch and latches to the breast such that the milk pouch would be considered latched to the frame when the frame is latched to the breast).
Regarding claim 14, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 2 substantially as claimed. Modified Scholz further teaches wherein the compressible milk pouch (Scholz, body 102) is configured to releasably attach to the frame (Quarles, housing 12) (see previous modifications in rejection of claim 2 above, see Quarles Figs. 1-2, Quarles par. [0015]-[0018]).
Regarding claim 28, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 2 substantially as claimed. Modified Scholz further teaches wherein the frame (Quarles, housing 12) is configured to expose an exposed surface (Scholz, front side 104 is exposed when the apparatus 100 is placed against the breast; see also Quarles Fig. 2, the entire outer/stippled surface of the milk collection container 14 can similarly be considered the exposed surface) of the compressible milk pouch (Scholz, body 102) (see previous modifications in rejection of claim 2 above, see Quarles Figs. 1-2), and wherein the exposed surface (Scholz, front side 104 is exposed when the apparatus 100 is placed against the breast; see also Quarles Fig. 2, the entire outer/stippled surface of the milk collection container 14 can similarly be considered the exposed surface) is squeezed or pressed to create the suction to draw the milk from the breast and secure the device (Scholz, apparatus 100) in position on the breast (see previous modifications in rejection of claim 2 above, see Scholz Figs. 1-9, Scholz par. [0077], [0079], [0082], [0085], see Quarles Figs. 1-2, Quarles par. [0015]-[0018]).
Regarding claim 43, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 2 substantially as claimed. However, modified Scholz fails to expressly state wherein the frame comprises a flat base configured to allow the device to rest upright on a surface.
Scholz further teaches wherein the compressible milk pouch (body 102) comprises a flat base (flattened portion 117) configured to allow the device (apparatus 100) to rest upright on a surface (see Figs. 7-9, par. [0080]-[0081], flattened portion 117 may be positioned on the bottom side 110). Although Quarles' frame (housing 12) does not expressly teach a similar flat base, Quarles' frame (housing 12) surrounds the bottom of the compressible milk pouch (milk collection container 14) of Quarles. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flat base (flattened portion 117) of Scholz onto the frame (housing 12) of Quarles rather than the milk pouch (body 102) of Scholz in order to maintain the ability of the device to be rested upright on a surface without spilling the milk from the pouch (see Scholz par. [0081]).
Claims 3, 16-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholz (US 2019/0351114 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Makower et al. (US 2017/0072118 A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 1 substantially as claimed. However, modified Scholz fails to expressly state wherein the air valve enables the user to reduce the level of negative pressure inside the compressible milk pouch.
Makower teaches a device (see Figs. 1A-B) comprising an air valve (pressure relief valve 150) which enables the user to reduce the level of negative pressure inside the compressible milk pouch (see Figs. 1A-B, par. [0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of modified Scholz to include wherein the air valve enables the user to reduce the level of negative pressure inside the compressible milk pouch, as taught by Makower, in order to release at least some of the vacuum in the compressible milk pouch when the vacuum level is too high (see Makower par. [0156]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 3 substantially as claimed. Modified Scholz further teaches wherein the air valve (Scholz, valve 252) is formed as part of the compressible milk pouch (Scholz, body 102) (see Scholz Figs. 1-13, Scholz par. [0094], see previous modifications in rejections of claims 1 and 3 above).
Regarding claim 17, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 3 substantially as claimed. Modified Scholz further teaches wherein the air valve (Scholz, valve 252) is configured to allow air to flow into the compressible milk pouch (Scholz, body 102) to decrease the suction on the nipple (see Scholz Figs. 1-13, Scholz par. [0094], Makower par. [0156], see previous modifications in rejections of claims 1 and 3 above).
Regarding claim 19, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 3 substantially as claimed. Modified Scholz further teaches wherein the air valve (Scholz, valve 252) is configured to allow air to flow out from the compressible milk pouch (Scholz, body 102) when the device is being primed or squeezed to reduce the air from being substantially evacuated through the nipple hole (opening 114, see par. [0076]-[0078], [0086]) when the device is being primed or squeezed (see Scholz Figs. 1-13, Scholz par. [0094], see previous modifications in rejections of claims 1 and 3 above, valve 252 is a check valve which allows air to flow out of the cavity of the device to seal the cavity when the device is squeezed against the breast).
Regarding claim 20, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 3 substantially as claimed. Modified Scholz further teaches wherein the air valve (Scholz, valve 252) is operated via a push or touch (see Scholz Figs. 1-13, Scholz par. [0094], see previous modifications in rejections of claims 1 and 3 above, valve 252 seals the cavity of the device when the device is pushed or touched against the breast).
Regarding claim 21, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 3 substantially as claimed. Modified Scholz further teaches wherein the compressible milk pouch (Scholz, body 102) comprises a cut (Scholz, cut/slit/opening of valve 252), and wherein push or squeeze of the air valve (Scholz, valve 252) opens the cut (Scholz, cut/slit/opening of valve 252), the cut (Scholz, cut/slit/opening of valve 252) configured to allow air into the compressible milk pouch (Scholz, body 102) to lower a level of the suction (see Scholz Figs. 1-13, Scholz par. [0094], Makower par. [0156], see previous modifications in rejections of claims 1 and 3 above, valve 252 is a check valve which allows air to flow when the device is squeezed against the breast and has been previously modified by Makower to allow suction to be released when the suction pressure is too high).
Claims 29 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scholz (US 2019/0351114 A1) in view of Quarles (US 2020/0246519 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Harris (US 2017/0232165 A1).
Regarding claim 29, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 2 substantially as claimed. However, modified Scholz fails to expressly state wherein the frame comprises a crossbar configured to extend across the frame, the crossbar configured to divide the frame into a lower section and an upper section.
Harris teaches a device (see Fig. 8) wherein the frame (shield 41 and support apparatus 100 together can be considered a frame to retain the milk pouch/pump 40) comprises a cross bar (extension(s) 10 and/or 1 of support apparatus 100 can be considered a crossbar) configured to extend across the frame (shield 41 and apparatus 100) (see Fig. 8), the crossbar (extension(s) 10 and/or 1) configured to divide the frame (shield 41 and apparatus 100) into a lower section and an upper section (see Fig. 8, the portions of the shield 41/apparatus 100 above the extension(s) 10 and/or 1 can be considered the upper section and the portions of the shield 41/apparatus 100 below the extension(s) 10 and/or 1 can be considered the lower section) (see Fig. 8, par. [0025]-[0034], [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of modified Scholz to attach a crossbar to the frame, as taught by Harris, because the crossbar aids in fastening the device to a bra to enable the device to be securely and comfortably worn while allowing the user to move and accommodating fluctuations in breast size, pressure changes, and weight of the milk pouch (see Harris par. [0033]-[0034], [0037]).
Regarding claim 31, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 29 substantially as claimed. Modified Scholz further teaches wherein the lower section (Harris, see Fig. 8, the portions of the shield 41/apparatus 100 below the extension(s) 10 and/or 1 can be considered the lower section) is configured to expose an exposed surface (Scholz, front side 104 is exposed when the apparatus 100 is placed against the breast; see also Harris Fig. 8, outer portions not covered by the breast or extension(s) 10 and/or 1 can similarly be considered the exposed surface) of the milk pouch (Scholz, body 102), wherein the exposed surface (Scholz, front side 104 is exposed when the apparatus 100 is placed against the breast; see also Harris Fig. 8, outer portions not covered by the breast or extension(s) 10 and/or 1 can similarly be considered the exposed surface) is configured to be squeezed or pressed to create the suction to draw the milk from the breast and to secure the device (Scholz, apparatus 100) in position on the breast (see previous modifications in rejection of claims 2 and 29 above, see Scholz Figs. 1-9, Scholz par. [0077], [0079], [0082], [0085]).
Regarding claim 32, modified Scholz teaches the device of claim 29 substantially as claimed. Modified Scholz further teaches wherein the air valve (Scholz, valve 252) is in fluid communication with the compressible milk pouch (Scholz, body 102), wherein the upper section (Harris, see Fig. 8, the portions of the shield 41/apparatus 100 above the extension(s) 10 and/or 1 can be considered the upper section) is configured to expose the air valve (Scholz, valve 252) (see 112b rejection/interpretation of claim 32 above, see Scholz Figs. 1-13, Scholz par. [0094], Harris Fig. 8; the valve 252 of Scholz is on an upper section of the device such that when modified by Harris the upper section of the frame would expose the air valve and enable the air valve to communicate with air).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AVERY SMALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KAMI A BOSWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783