DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claim 1-14, and 21-22 in the reply filed on 4/9/022 is acknowledged. The following species were also elected:
1-1) Immune check point molecule: PD-L1
1-2) Molecule configured to bind to said immune checkpoint molecule: PD1 (SEQ ID NO: 5)
2-1) Fusion site: C-terminus
2-2) Nature of relationship (i.e., stoichiometry): 24 ferritin monomers fused with the immune checkpoint molecule-binding molecule
3) Mutation: SEQ ID NO: 1 in which an amino acid of 81st and 83rd are substituted with alanine.
4) Type of cancer: Melanoma
5) Disease antigen epitope: gp100
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 4/29/2022, 9/9/2022, 3/28/2023, 10/5/2023, and 11/27/2023 before the mailing of a first office action. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 6-10, 12-14, and 21-22 are currently under examination. Claims 15-20 and 23-30 are withdrawn from examination. Claims 3-5 and 11 are canceled.
Specification
Previous Objections
The specification was previously objected to because of informalities located in paragraph [0165] of the specification. The recited text disclosed SEQ ID NOs did not match the SEQ ID NOs in Table 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Reply, page 10, section I, filed 10/20/2025, with respect to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the specification has been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
Previous Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such a claim limitation is: the generic placeholder is “molecule configured to” and the function is “bind to an immune checkpoint molecule.” in claim 1.
Response to Arguments
No argument was made in opposition to the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) in Applicant’s Reply, filed 10/20/2025. Consequently, claim 1 is interpreted under this statute. Based on the specification at Tables 1, 10, and 13, these molecules are interpreted to be peptides and polypeptides disclosed by these tables inserted at the locations designated by claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Previous Rejections
Claims 1-14, and 21-22 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, Applicant Reply, page 10, section IIB, filed 10/20/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-2, 6-10, 12-14, and 21-22 under U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. The rejection of claims 3-4 and 11 have been rendered moot due to cancellation of said claims. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made as described below.
New Rejections
Claims 1-2, 6-10, 12-14, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for the immune checkpoints Gp100, Ovalbumin, AH1, PD1, TPP1, PD-L1, SmPD1, RFP, TIGIT, CTLA4, LAG3, and TIM3, does not reasonably provide enablement for immune checkpoint inhibitors Her-2/neu, VISTA, 4-1BBL, Galectin-9, Adenosine A2a receptor, CD80, CD86, ICOS, ICOSL, BTLA, OX-40L, CD155, BCL2, MYC, PP2A, BRD1. BRD2, BRD3, BRD4, BRDT, CBP, E2F1, MDM2, MDMX, PPP2CA, PPM1D, STAT3, IDH1, PD-L2, BTLA, SLAMF7, 4-1BB, OX-40, ICOS, GITR, ICAM-1. BAFFR, HVEM, LFA-1, LIGHT, NKG2C, SLAMF7, NKp80, LAIR1, 2B4, CD2, CD3, CD 16, CD20, CD27, CD28, CD40L, CD48, CD52, EGFR family, AXL, CSF1R, DDR1, DDR2, EPH receptor family, FGFR family, VEGFR family, IGF1R, LTK, PDGFR family, RET, KIT, KRAS, NTRK1 and NTRK2. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
In order to determine compliance with the enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a), the Federal Circuit developed a framework of factors in In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988), referred to as the Wands factors to assess whether any necessary experimentation required by the specification is "reasonable" or is "undue." Consistent with Amgen Inc. et al. v. Sanofi et al., 598 U.S. 594, 2023 USPQ2d 602 (2023), the Wands factors continue to provide a framework for assessing enablement in a utility application or patent, regardless of technology area. Guidelines for Assessing Enablement in Utility Applications and Patents in View of the Supreme Court Decision in Amgen Inc. et al. v. Sanofi et al., 89 FR 1563 (January 10, 2024). These factors include, but are not limited to:
(A) The breadth of the claims;
Claim 1 is broad as claimed because the sheer number of immune checkpoint molecules claimed. Some of these molecules include entire families.
(B) The nature of the invention;
The invention is a protein formed by self-assembly of 24 ferritin monomers, the protein having an outer surface on which a molecule configured to bind to an immune checkpoint molecule is fused to an N-terminus, a C-terminus or at least one of sites between adjacent a-helices of the ferritin monomer, including an A-B loop, B-C loop, C-D loop, or D-E loop, such that the ferritin protein is formed by self-assembly of 24 ferritin monomers.
(C) The state of the prior art;
These immune checkpoint molecules are known in the art, but each one has a separate pool of binding molecules. A few entries are families of molecules, each of which would potentially have their own binders.
For example, Kim et al. (Kim, et al. Cancer research 74.8: 2144-2151 (2014)) discloses STAT-3 binding molecules: “In summary, we screened and identified a specific STAT3-binding peptide (APTSTAT3) using aptide platform technology. With the addition of a cell-penetrating motif, the resulting APTSTAT3-9R aptide was able to suppress the viability and proliferation of cancer cells by blocking STAT3 phosphorylation, thereby inhibiting STAT3 downstream signaling.” (Kim et al., page 2149, col. 2, para. 2; page 2145, Figure 1).
For another example, Prochownik et al. (Prochownik, et al. Genes & cancer 1.6: 650-659. (2010)) discusses targeting MYC: “Improving the model by incorporating new and structurally diverse compounds as they become available will likely increase the rate at which more potent inhibitors are detected. Despite these shortcomings, there have been 2 dividends of this approach, particularly when considered in light of the random analog approach. The first is the simple demonstration that the overall pharmacophore model for identifying Myc compounds is viable and reasonably robust. The second is the surprising structural diversity of Myc inhibitors (Figure 2).”(Prochownik et al., page 654, col. 3, para. 2; page 655, Fig. 2).
This analysis can be repeated for each immune checkpoint molecule claimed for which no examples are provided.
(D) The level of one of ordinary skill;
A person of ordinary skill in the art would likely have at least a Master’s level education, and many would possess a Ph.D.
(E) The level of predictability in the art;
The predictability of protein-protein interactions is by default rather low. Access to large data sets of interactions can improve predictability through systems such as Alpha Fold.
Specifically for peptides, a single point mutation can change the biophysical properties of a peptide: “In summary, we have shown that the structural changes in the fibrillar state of the Aβ42 peptide that are observed to occur upon introduction of single point mutations can be accompanied by changes in the dominance of the microscopic processes by which these aggregates are themselves formed.” (Bolognesi et al. ACS Chem Bio 9:2 (2013) page 381 col. 2 para. 3) and “In summary, while ovispirin-1 and novispirin G-10 both had solution structures that were helical and amphipathic in the presence of TFE, a relatively simple change in their primary structure (a single glycine–isoleucine exchange) had profound effects on their respective toxicities for human erythrocytes and epithelial cells.” (Sawai et al. Protein Eng. 15:3 (2002) page 232 col. 1 para. 3).
Furthermore, many sequences allowed by the current scope of the claims, result in non-functional aggregates. Wang (Wang, et al. MAbs. Vol. 1. No. 3. Taylor & Francis, (2009)) discloses a variety of aggregation prone motifs that occur in commercial antibodies (Wang, page 262, Table 2). The scope of the claims currently may incorporate such motifs and result in non-functional aggregates.
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor and the existence of working examples;
Regarding claim 1, Applicants disclose working examples for Gp100, Ovalbumin, AH1, PD1, TPP1, PD-L1, SmPD1, RFP, TIGIT, CTLA4, LAG3, and TIM3. The data for these targets is thorough and enabling. However, the other recited targets differ in structure and function. When inserted between ferritin monomers in various locations, the wide range of the other claimed binding molecules will not necessarily still bind correctly. Consequently, a person of ordinary skill in the art would need to conduct undue experimentation to determine the best immune checkpoint binders for insertion into the ferritin monomers as well as determining the best location for said insertion. Claim 1 is rejected.
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 is rejected as described above. This claim does not provide any additional examples to resolve the enablement rejection of claim 1. Therefore, claim 2 is rejected.
Regarding claim 6, claim 1 is rejected as described above. This claim reduces the possible locations for insertion, but does not address the wide array of possible binding molecules to be tested to address the wide array of immune checkpoint molecules. Consequently, claim 6 is rejected.
Regarding claims 7-10, 12-14, and 21-22, claim 1 is rejected as described above. None of these claims provide any additional examples or reduce the number of immune checkpoint molecules claimed. Consequently, these claims do not remedy the issue of undue experimentation of claim 1 and are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Previous Rejections
Claims 1, 2 ,4, and 12-13 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nam et al. (WO2018012954, published 1/18/2018) as evidenced by Matlung et al. (Matlung et al., Immunol Rev. 276: 145–164 (2017).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, page 14, section III, filed 10/20/2025, with respect to claims 1, 2, 4, and 12-13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claim 4 was canceled, rendering that rejection moot. The rejection of claims 1, 2, 4, and 12-13 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Previous Rejections
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 11-13 were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. by Nam et al. (WO2018012954, published 1/18/2018) in view of Sunshine et al. Current Opinion in Pharmacology, 23, 32-38, (2015).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, page 15, section IV, filed 10/20/2025, with respect to claims 1, 2, 4, and 11-13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Claim 4 was canceled, rendering that rejection moot. The rejection of claims 1, 2, 4, and 11-13 has been withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Previous Rejections
Claims 1-5 and 11-13 were provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 5, 6, 25 of copending Application No. 18/034,193 as evidenced by Sunshine et al. Current Opinion in Pharmacology, 23, 32-38, (2015) and Zhang et al. (Zhang et al. Chem. Int. Ed. 55, 16064 (2016)). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, page 16, section V, filed 10/20/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-5 and 11-13 under nonstatutory double patenting have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. Claims 3-5 and 11 have been canceled, rendering those rejections moot. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made as described below.
Claims 1-7, and 9-13 were provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 9, 11-15 of copending Application No. 18/289,152 as evidenced by Zhang et al. (Zhang et al. Chem. Int. Ed. 55, 16064 (2016)). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, page 16, section V, filed 10/20/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-7 and 9-13 under nonstatutory double patenting have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. Claims 3-5 and 11 have been canceled, rendering those rejections moot. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made as described below.
New Rejections
Claims 1-2 and 12-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 5, 6, 25 of copending Application No. 18/034,193 as evidenced by Sunshine et al. Current Opinion in Pharmacology, 23, 32-38, (2015) and Zhang et al. (Zhang et al. Chem. Int. Ed. 55, 16064 (2016)). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant claim 1 recites A protein formed by self-assembly of 24_ferritin monomers, the protein having an outer surface on which a molecule configured to bind to an immune checkpoint molecule is fused to an N-terminus, a C-terminus or at least one of sites between adjacent a-helices of the ferritin monomer, including an A-B loop, B-C loop, C-D loop, or D-E loop, such that the ferritin protein is formed by self-assembly of 24 ferritin monomers, wherein the immune checkpoint molecule is any one selected from the group consisting of Her-2/neu, VISTA, 4-1BBL, Galectin-9, Adenosine A2a receptor, CD80, CD86, ICOS, ICOSL, BTLA, OX-40L, CD155, BCL2, MYC, PP2A, BRD1. BRD2, BRD3, BRD4, BRDT, CBP, E2F1, MDM2, MDMX, PPP2CA, PPM1D, STAT3, IDH1, PD1. CTLA4, PD-L1, PD-L2, LAG3, TIM3, TIGIT, BTLA, SLAMF7, 4-1BB, OX-40. ICOS, GITR, ICAM-1. BAFFR, HVEM, LFA-1, LIGHT, NKG2C, SLAMF7, NKp80, LAIR1, 2B4, CD2, CD3, CD 16, CD20, CD27, CD28, CD40L, CD48, CD52, EGFR family, AXL, CSF1R, DDR1, DDR2, EPH receptor family, FGFR family, VEGFR family, IGF1R, LTK, PDGFR family, RET, KIT, KRAS, NTRK1 and NTRK2.
‘193 claim 1 recites an antibody-like protein comprising self-assembly of a plurality of ferritin monomers, in which at least a CDR-ferritin fused with a complementarity determining region is included.
As shown by Sunshine, immune checkpoint molecules such as PD1 and PD-L1 may be targeted by antibodies (Sunshine, page 33, Table 1). Consequently, the CDR-ferritin fusions disclosed by ‘193 may be molecules configured to bind to an immune checkpoint molecule.
Claim 2 of ‘193 recites that: “the protein is a spherical protein formed by self-assembly of 24 ferritin monomers.” MPEP 2112.01(II) states: “A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable.” Zhang states: “All ferritins share the highly conserved architecture that comprises 24 subunits assembling into a spherical shell with octahedral symmetry.” (Zhang, page 16064, col. 2, para. 3). Consequently, the protein of claim 1 formed by self-assembly of ferritin monomers has 24 subunits has an inherent property that is inseparable from the sequence of ferritin. Therefore, claim 2 is anticipated by claim 1 of ‘193 and provisionally rejected.
Regarding the fusion locations, claim 6 of ‘193 discloses: “The antibody-like protein according to claim 1, wherein the complementarity determining region is fused to any one selected from the group consisting of the inside of a-helix, between adjacent a-helices, N-terminus, C-terminus, A-B loop, B-C loop, C-D loop, D-E loop, between N-terminus and A helix, and between E helix and C-terminus of the ferritin monomer.”
Applicant claim 1 also recites a Markush group that contains potential immune checkpoint molecules. Claim 25 of ‘193 discloses the antibody-like protein of claim 1, wherein the antibody is an antibody against one of a group of targets. Claim 25 of ‘193 recites all but 10 of the 60+ targets listed in Applicant claim 11.
Therefore, claims 1, 6, and 25 of ‘193 anticipate Applicant claim 1 as evidenced by Sunshine et al. and Zhang et al. and claim 1 is provisionally rejected.
Regarding claim 2, Applicant claim 1 is anticipated as described above. Claim 2 recites that: “the protein is a spherical protein.” MPEP 2112.01(II) states: “A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable.” Zhang states: “All ferritins share the highly conserved architecture that comprises 24 subunits assembling into a spherical shell with octahedral symmetry.” (Zhang, page 16064, col. 2, para. 3). Consequently, the protein of claim 1 formed by self-assembly of ferritin monomers has 24 subunits has an inherent property that is inseparable from the sequence of ferritin.
Therefore, claims 1, 6, and 25 of ‘193 anticipate Applicant claim 2 as evidenced by Sunshine et al. and Zhang et al. and claim 1 is provisionally rejected.
Regarding claim 12, Applicant claim 1 is anticipated as described above. Applicant claim 12 further recites that the molecule configured to bind to the immune checkpoint is a ligand or an antibody to the immune checkpoint molecule or a fragment thereof. Because claim 1 of ‘193 specifically describes using an antibody, claim 1 of ‘193 reads on this limitation and therefore Applicant claim 12 is anticipated by claims 1, 6, and 25 of ‘193.
Regarding claim 13, Applicant claim 1 is anticipated as described above. Applicant claim 13 further recites that the ferritin comprises a human ferritin heavy chain.
Claim 5 of ‘193 discloses: “The antibody-like protein according to claim 1, wherein the CDR-ferritin monomer is characterized in that the complementarity determining region is fused to a human ferritin heavy chain monomer.”
Consequently, claims 1, 5, 6, and 25 of ‘193 anticipates Applicant claim 13, and Applicant claim 13 is provisionally rejected.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9-10, and 12-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 9, 11-15 of copending Application No. 18/289,152 as evidenced by Zhang et al. (Zhang et al. Chem. Int. Ed. 55, 16064 (2016)). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant claim 1 recites a protein formed by self-assembly of 24_ferritin monomers, the protein having an outer surface on which a molecule configured to bind to an immune checkpoint molecule is fused to an N-terminus, a C-terminus or at least one of sites between adjacent a-helices of the ferritin monomer, including an A-B loop, B-C loop, C-D loop, or D-E loop, such that the ferritin protein is formed by self-assembly of 24 ferritin monomers,wherein the immune checkpoint molecule is any one selected from the group consisting of Her-2/neu, VISTA, 4-1BBL, Galectin-9, Adenosine A2a receptor, CD80, CD86, ICOS, ICOSL, BTLA, OX-40L, CD155, BCL2, MYC, PP2A, BRD1. BRD2, BRD3, BRD4, BRDT, CBP, E2F1, MDM2, MDMX, PPP2CA, PPM1D, STAT3, IDH1, PD1. CTLA4, PD-L1, PD-L2, LAG3, TIM3, TIGIT, BTLA, SLAMF7, 4-1BB, OX-40. ICOS, GITR, ICAM-1. BAFFR, HVEM, LFA-1, LIGHT, NKG2C, SLAMF7, NKp80, LAIR1, 2B4, CD2, CD3, CD 16, CD20, CD27, CD28, CD40L, CD48, CD52, EGFR family, AXL, CSF1R, DDR1, DDR2, EPH receptor family, FGFR family, VEGFR family, IGF1R, LTK, PDGFR family, RET, KIT, KRAS, NTRK1 and NTRK2.
Claim 2 of ‘152 discloses: “The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, wherein the protein is a spherical protein formed by self-assembly of 24 ferritin monomers to which the molecule capable of binding to an immune checkpoint molecule is fused.
Claim 3 of ‘152 discloses: “The composition according to claim 1, wherein the molecule capable of binding to an immune checkpoint molecule is fused to at least one between adjacent a-helices of the ferritin monomer.”
p Claim 4 of ‘152 discloses: “The composition according to claim 1, wherein the molecule capable of binding to an immune checkpoint molecule is fused to N-terminus or C-terminus of the ferritin monomer.”
p Claim 5 of ‘152 discloses: “The composition according to claim 1, wherein the molecule capable of binding to an immune checkpoint molecule is fused to A-B loop, B-C loop, C-D loop or D-E loop of the ferritin monomer.”
Claim 13 of ‘152 discloses: “The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, wherein the immune checkpoint molecule is any one selected from the group consisting of Her-2/neu, VISTA, 4- 1BBL, Galectin-9, Adenosine A2a receptor, CD80, CD86, ICOS, ICOSL, BTLA, OX-40L, CD155, BCL2, MYC, PP2A, BRD1, BRD2, BRD3, BRD4, BRDT, CBP, E2F1, MDM2, MDMX, PPP2CA, PPM1D, STAT3, IDH1, PD1, CTLA4, PD-L1, PD-L2, LAG3, TIM3, TIGIT, 48 BTLA, SLAMF7, 4-1BB, OX -40, ICOS, GITR, ICAM-1, BAFFR, HVEM, LFA-1, LIGHT, NKG2C, SLAMF7, NKp80, LAIR1, 2B4, CD2, CD3, CD16, CD20, CD27, CD28, CD40L, CD48, CD52, EGFR family, AXL, CSF1R, DDR1, DDR2, EPH receptor family, FGFR family, VEGFR family, IGF1R, LTK, PDGFR family, RET, KIT, KRAS, NTRK1 and NTRK2.”
Consequently, claim 1 is anticipated by claims 2-5 and 13 of the ‘152 application and rejected.
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 is anticipated as described above. Claim 2 further recites the case wherein the protein is spherical. Claim 2 of ‘152 discloses: “The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, wherein the protein is a spherical protein formed by self-assembly of 24 ferritin monomers to which the molecule capable of binding to an immune checkpoint molecule is fused.
Consequently, claim 2 is anticipated by claims 2-5 and 13 of the ‘152 application and rejected.
Regarding claim 6, Applicant claim 1 is anticipated as described above. Applicant claim 6 further recites that the molecule configured to bind to the immune checkpoint molecule is fused between the N-terminus and the A helix or the C-terminus and the E helix of the ferritin monomers.
Claim 6 of ‘152 discloses: “The composition according to claim 1, wherein the molecule capable of binding to an immune checkpoint molecule is fused between N- terminus and A helix or between E helix and C-terminus of the ferritin monomer.”
Consequently, claim 6 is anticipated by claims 2-6 and 13 of the ‘152 application and rejected.
Regarding claim 7, Applicant claim 1 is anticipated as described above. Applicant claim 7 recites the case wherein the protein is mutated to reduce binding force to a human transferrin receptor. ‘152 claim 9 recites: “The composition according to claim 1, wherein the protein is mutated so that a binding force to a human transferrin receptor is reduced.”
Consequently, claim 7 is anticipated by claims 2-5, 9, and 13 of the ‘152 application and rejected.
Regarding claim 9, Applicant claim 1 is anticipated as described above. Applicant claim 9 recites:” The protein according to claim 1, wherein a binding force (K) of the protein to a transferrin receptor satisfies the following Equation 1:
K <= 100nM [Equation 1]
in Equation 1,wherein K = [P][T]/[PT], wherein [P] represents a concentration of the protein in an equilibrium state of a binding reaction between the protein and the transferrin receptor, [T] represents a concentration of the transferrin receptor in the equilibrium state, and [PT] represents a concentration of a complex of the protein and the transferrin receptor in the equilibrium state.
Claim 11 of ‘152 discloses: “The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, wherein the binding force (K) to the transferrin receptor satisfies Equation 1 below:
[Equation 1]
K > 10 nM
wherein Equation 1, K is [P][T]/[PT], wherein [P] represents a concentration of ferritin protein in an equilibrium state of a binding reaction between the ferritin protein and the transferrin receptor, [T] represents a concentration of the transferrin receptor in the equilibrium state, and [PT] represents a concentration of a complex of the ferritin protein and the transferrin receptor in the equilibrium state.
The K values of these two claims overlap substantially over the range of 10nM-100nM. MPEP 2144.05(I) states: “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, Applicant claim 9 is obvious over claims 2-5, 9, and 13 of the ‘152 application and rejected.
Regarding claim 10, Applicant claim 9 is obvious as described above. Applicant claim 10 further recites that the transferrin receptor is a human transferrin receptor.
Claim 12 of ‘152 discloses: “The composition according to claim 10, wherein the transferrin receptor is a human transferrin receptor.”
Therefore, Applicant claim 10 is obvious over claims 2-5, 9, 12, and 13 of the ‘152 application and rejected.
Regarding claim 12, Applicant claim 1 is anticipated as described above. Applicant claim 12 further recites that the molecule configured to bind to the immune checkpoint is a ligand or an antibody to the immune checkpoint molecule or a fragment thereof.
Claim 14 of ‘152 discloses: “The composition according to claim 1, wherein the molecule capable of binding to an immune checkpoint molecule is a ligand or a fragment thereof, a receptor or a fragment thereof, an antibody or a fragment thereof including an antigen binding region (CDR), which have a binding force to the immune checkpoint molecule.”
Therefore, Applicant claim 12 is anticipated by claims 2-5, 13, and 14 of the ‘152 application and rejected.
Regarding claim 13, Applicant claim 1 is anticipated as described above. Applicant claim 13 further recites that the ferritin comprises a human ferritin heavy chain.
Claim 15 of ‘152 discloses: “The composition according to claim 1, wherein the ferritin is a human ferritin heavy chain.”
Therefore, Applicant claim 13 is anticipated by claims 2-5, 13, and 15 of the ‘152 application and rejected.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Claims 1-2, 6-10, 12-14, and 21-22 are rejected.
/DAVID PAUL BOWLES/ Examiner, Art Unit 1654
/LIANKO G GARYU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1654