Status of Claims
In the amendments filed November 12, 2025, claims 1, 8-9, 15, and 18 were amended, claims 4 and 17 were cancelled, and claims 19-20 were added. Claims 1-3, 5-16, and 18-20 are pending for examination and are considered on the merits below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed November 12, 2025, with respect to the specification objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections to the specification have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed November 12, 2025, with respect to the objection to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The shortened and lengthened form names “tetramethyl orthosilicate (TMOS)” are not recited at the first instance of TMOS in line 3 of amended claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks and amendments, filed November 12, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed November 12, 2025, with respect to amended claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention in amended claim 1, it is noted that the feature upon which applicant relies (i.e., isolation of a selected portion of the inorganic nanoparticles, where the selected portion is a fraction of the nanoparticles) is not recited in rejected claim 1. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Amended claim 1 recites isolating a selected portion of a plurality of inorganic nanoparticles, which is a fraction of the reaction mixture from e). Wiesner teaches isolating a selected portion of a plurality of inorganic nanoparticles (wherein, “after synthesis (e.g., after e)… additional purification processes, including gel permeation chromatography and high-performance liquid chromatography, can be applied to the nanoparticles to further ensure the high purify of the synthesized particles (e.g., 1% or less unreacted reagents or aggregates),” and therefore unreacted reagents and aggregates are removed to 1% or less which thereby isolates the synthesized nanoparticles from the removed unreacted reagents and aggregates leaving the selected portion of the plurality of inorganic nanoparticles; ¶ [0044]), which is a fraction of the reaction mixture (wherein the selected, synthesized nanoparticles are a fraction of the reaction mixture; ¶¶ [0043]-[0044]) as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 7-8 and 17-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 7-8 and 17-18 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “TMOS” is recited in line 3 which is the shortened form name for tetramethyl orthosilicate. Examiner suggests amending claim 1 to include both the shortened and lengthened form names “tetramethyl orthosilicate (TMOS)” at the first instance of TMOS to provide further clarity in the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wiesner et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0133346, listed on Information Disclosure Statement; hereinafter "Wiesner").
Regarding claim 1, Wiesner discloses a method for synthesizing an inorganic nanoparticle (e.g., fluorescent core-shell silica nanoparticles; [0012]) comprising one or more dyes and surface functionalized with polyethylene glycol (PEG) groups (see [0043], [0062]), comprising:
a) forming a reaction mixture at room temperature comprising water, TMOS, a base (see step a. in [0043]), and a dye precursor (wherein the reaction mixture further comprises a dye precursor; [0048]);
b) either i) holding the reaction mixture at a time (t1) and temperature (T1), whereby inorganic nanoparticles having an average size of 2 to 15 nm are formed, or ii) cooling the reaction mixture to room temperature, if necessary, and adding a shell forming monomer to the reaction mixture from a), whereby inorganic nanoparticles have a core size of 2 to 15 nm and/or an average size of 2 to 50 nm are formed (see step b. in [0043]);
c) adjusting, if necessary, the pH of the reaction mixture comprising the inorganic nanoparticles from b) i) or b) ii) to a pH of 6 to 10 (see step c. in [0043]);
d) adding at room temperature to the reaction mixture comprising the inorganic nanoparticles from b) i) or b) ii) a PEG-silane conjugate and holding the reaction mixture comprising the inorganic nanoparticles from b) i) or b) ii) and the PEG-silane conjugate at a time (t2) and temperature (T2) (see step d. in [0043]);
e) heating the mixture from d) at a time (t3) and temperature (T3), whereby the inorganic nanoparticles surface functionalized with PEG groups are formed (see step e. in [0043]); and
f) purifying the reaction mixture from e) by liquid chromatography (purification processes include gel permeation chromatography and high-performance liquid chromatography; [0044]), wherein the purifying comprises isolating a selected portion of a plurality of inorganic nanoparticles (wherein, “after synthesis (e.g., after e)… additional purification processes, including gel permeation chromatography and high-performance liquid chromatography, can be applied to the nanoparticles to further ensure the high purify of the synthesized particles (e.g., 1% or less unreacted reagents or aggregates),” and therefore unreacted reagents and aggregates are removed to 1% or less which thereby isolates the synthesized nanoparticles from the removed unreacted reagents and aggregates leaving the selected portion of the plurality of inorganic nanoparticles; ¶ [0044]), which is a fraction of the reaction mixture from e) (wherein the selected, synthesized nanoparticles are a fraction of the reaction mixture; ¶¶ [0043]-[0044]), from the reaction mixture from e) (see ¶¶ [0043]-[0044]), and
the method yields the inorganic nanoparticle comprising one or more dyes and surface functionalized with polyethylene glycol (PEG) groups (see [0043], [0062]).
Regarding claim 2, Wiesner discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above. Wiesner further discloses wherein the base is chosen from ammonium hydroxide, ammonia in ethanol, triethyl amine, sodium hydroxide, potassium hydroxide, and combinations thereof (wherein the base is ammonium hydroxide or ammonia in ethanol; [0042]-[0043], [0082]).
Regarding claim 3, Wiesner discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above. Wiesner further discloses wherein the base has a concentration and the concentration is 0.001 mM to 60 mM (0.02M ammonium hydroxide which is a base having a concentration of 20 mM; [0088]).
Regarding claim 5, Wiesner discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above. Wiesner further discloses analyzing the selected portion of the plurality of inorganic nanoparticles via gel permeation chromatography (GPC) (see [0044]).
Regarding claim 6, Wiesner discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above. Wiesner further discloses analyzing the selected portion of the plurality of inorganic nanoparticles via high performance liquid chromatography (HPLC) (see [0044]).
Regarding claim 9, Wiesner discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above. Wiesner further discloses wherein the reaction mixture further comprises an alumina or aluminosilicate core forming monomer (see [0046]) and the pH of the reaction mixture is adjusted to a pH of 1 to 2 prior to addition of the alumina or aluminosilicate core forming monomer (see [0047]) and, optionally, PEG is added to the reaction mixture prior to adjusting the pH to a pH of 7 to 9, and the core is an aluminosilicate core (see [0047]; Examiner’s Note – the term “optionally” is interpreted to mean that the step following that term is not required and therefore a teaching in the art for that step is not required).
Regarding claim 10, Wiesner discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above. Wiesner further discloses wherein the dye precursor is a positively charged dye precursor (Cy5, Cy5.5, Cy7, ATTO647N; [0048]), a negatively charged dye precursor (negatively charged fluorophores; [0119]), or a net neutral dye precursor (TMR; [0048]).
Regarding claim 11, Wiesner discloses the method of claim 10 as discussed above. Wiesner further discloses wherein the positively charged dye precursor is formed from a positively charged dye chosen from Cy5.5, Cy5, Cy3, ATTO647N, methylene blue, ATTO663, ATTO620, ATTO665, ATTO465, ATTO495, ATTO520, ATTORho6G, ATTORho3B, ATTORho11, ATTORho12, ATTOThio12, ATTO580Q, ATTORho101, ATTORho13, ATTO610, ATTO612Q, ATTO647N, ATTORho14, ATTOOxa12, ATTO725, ATT0740, ATTOMB2, and combinations thereof (Cy5.5, Cy5, ATTO647N; [0048]).
Regarding claim 13, Wiesner discloses the method of claim 10 as discussed above. Wiesner further discloses wherein the net neutral dyes precursor is formed from a net neutral dye chosen from tetramethylrhodamine (TMR), ATTO390, ATTO425, ATTO565, ATTO590, ATTO647, ATTO650, ATTO655, ATTO680, ATTO700, and combinations thereof (TMR; [0048]).
Regarding claim 14, Wiesner discloses the method of claim 1 as discussed above. Wiesner further discloses wherein the one or more dyes are fully encapsulated in the inorganic nanoparticle (see [0132]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiesner in view of Karathanasis et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2019/0111133, previously cited; hereinafter “Karathanasis”).
Regarding claim 12, Wiesner discloses the method of claim 10 as discussed above. As noted above, Wiesner discloses a negatively charged dye precursor (negatively charged fluorophores; [0119]). However, Wiesner does not explicitly disclose wherein the negatively charged dye precursor is formed from a negatively charged dye chosen from sulfo-Cy5.5, sulfo-Cy5, sulfo-Cy3, Alexa Fluor 532, Alexa Fluor 430, ATTO430LS, ATTO488, ATTO490LS, ATTO532, ATTO594, and combinations thereof.
Karathanasis, in the analogous art of silica nanoparticles, teaches detectable labels, such as fluorescent dyes (e.g., fluorescein isothiocyanate, cyanines such as Cy5, Cy5.5 and analogs thereof (e.g., sulfo-Cyanine 5 NHS ester and Cy5.5 maleimide)) (see [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wiesner to choose a negatively charged dye, such as sulfo-Cy5.5, sulfo-Cy5, as taught by Karathanasis for the benefit of generating a desired water solubility (Wiesner, [0119])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15-16 and 18-20 are allowed.
Regarding claims 15-16 and 18, Wiesner teaches a composition comprising a plurality of inorganic nanoparticles, wherein individual inorganic nanoparticles of the plurality of inorganic nanoparticles comprise 1-7 dye group(s) (a composition wherein the core nanoparticles surface functionalized with PEG groups or core-shell nanoparticles surface functionalized with PEG groups have one or more dye molecules encapsulated therein and the number of dye molecules per core is 1 to 7; [0048], [0077]), wherein: none of the dye groups are disposed or partially disposed on a surface of the inorganic nanoparticles (fully encapsulated; [0048], [0077], [0132]), wherein the dye group is positively charged (Cy5, Cy5.5, Cy7, ATTO647N; [0048]) or has a net neutral charge (TMR; [0048]). However, none of the prior art of record nor any other references found (alone or in combination) teaches or fairly suggests wherein the plurality of inorganic nanoparticles do not exhibit size-dependent surface inhomogeneity as recited in claim 15.
Regarding claims 19-20, Wiesner discloses a method for synthesizing an inorganic nanoparticle (e.g., fluorescent core-shell silica nanoparticles; [0012]) comprising one or more dyes and surface functionalized with polyethylene glycol (PEG) groups (see [0043], [0062]), comprising: a) forming a reaction mixture at room temperature comprising water, TMOS, a base (see step a. in [0043]), and a dye precursor (wherein the reaction mixture further comprises a dye precursor; [0048]); b) either i) holding the reaction mixture at a time (t1) and temperature (T1), whereby inorganic nanoparticles having an average size of 2 to 15 nm are formed, or ii) cooling the reaction mixture to room temperature, if necessary, and adding a shell forming monomer to the reaction mixture from a), whereby inorganic nanoparticles have a core size of 2 to 15 nm and/or an average size of 2 to 50 nm are formed (see step b. in [0043]); c) adjusting, if necessary, the pH of the reaction mixture comprising the inorganic nanoparticles from b) i) or b) ii) to a pH of 6 to 10 (see step c. in [0043]); d) adding at room temperature to the reaction mixture comprising the inorganic nanoparticles from b) i) or b) ii) a PEG-silane conjugate and holding the reaction mixture comprising the inorganic nanoparticles from b) i) or b) ii) and the PEG-silane conjugate at a time (t2) and temperature (T2) (see step d. in [0043]); e) heating the mixture from d) at a time (t3) and temperature (T3), whereby the inorganic nanoparticles surface functionalized with PEG groups are formed (see step e. in [0043]); and f) purifying the reaction mixture from e) by liquid chromatography (purification processes include gel permeation chromatography and high-performance liquid chromatography; [0044]), the method yields the inorganic nanoparticle comprising one or more dyes and surface functionalized with polyethylene glycol (PEG) groups (see [0043], [0062])..
However, none of the prior art of record nor any other references found (alone or in combination) teaches or fairly suggests wherein the purifying comprises: depositing a plurality of inorganic nanoparticles in a chromatography column comprising an input in fluid communication with a stationary phase in fluid communication with an output in fluid communication with a detector; passing a mobile phase through the chromatography column, such that at least a portion of the plurality of inorganic nanoparticles elutes from the column in an eluent; and collecting the eluent comprising a selected portion of the plurality of inorganic nanoparticles, which is a fraction of the reaction mixture from e) as recited in claim 19.
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. None of the prior art of record nor any other references found (alone or in combination) teaches or fairly suggests (i) wherein the purifying comprises: depositing a plurality of inorganic nanoparticles in a chromatography column comprising an input in fluid communication with a stationary phase in fluid communication with an output in fluid communication with a detector; passing a mobile phase through the chromatography column, such that the plurality of inorganic nanoparticles elutes from the column; and collecting an eluent comprising the selected portion of the plurality of inorganic nanoparticles, as recited in claim 7, or (ii) depositing the selected portion of the plurality of inorganic nanoparticles in an HPLC column comprising an input in fluid communication with a stationary phase in fluid communication with an output in fluid communication with a detector; passing a mobile phase through the HPLC column, such that the selected portion of the plurality of inorganic nanoparticles elutes from the column and enters the detector, such that the detector generates a signal, wherein the signal indicates a location of the one or more dye on and/or in individual inorganic nanoparticles of the selected portion of the plurality of the inorganic nanoparticles; analyzing the signal to determine the location of the one or more dye on and/or in the individual inorganic nanoparticles of the selected portion of the plurality of inorganic nanoparticles; and optionally, collecting one or more fraction(s) of the mobile phase as recited in claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN RAY CASTANEDA/Examiner, Art Unit 1797
/JENNIFER WECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797