DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7 and 9-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of an aqueous electrolyte solution comprising water, a salt comprising sodium perchlorate and a chaotropic additive comprising an urea [H2N-C(=O)-NH2] and does not further comprise a second chaotropic additive in the reply filed on 12-9-2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-6 and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12-9-2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 is rejected because the claim is a method of for producing an electrochemical device but there are no method steps claimed to produce the electrochemical device. The only method step is adding an electrolyte solution but no steps to make the electrochemical device. In addition, a method should contain at least two method steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. (US 2021/0028452). Su et al. teaches in [0112], an electrolyte comprising an aqueous alkaline metal hydroxide including lithium hydroxide, sodium hydroxide (NaOH), etc. and in some embodiments, may contain hydrogen evolution reaction (HER) suppressors such as sodium chlorate, allyl urea, 1,3-diethylthiourea, N,N’-diethylthiourea, urea, N-allylthiourea, thiourea,
. Su et al. discloses the claimed invention except for specifically teaching that the electrolyte solution comprises sodium chlorate (NaClO3) and urea, thiourea, allyl urea, 1,3-diethylthiourea, N,N’-diethylthiourea, allylthiourea, etc. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use sodium chlorate and urea, thiourea, allyl urea, 1,3-diethylthiourea, N,N’-diethylthiourea, allylthiourea, etc. in the electrolyte solution taught by Su et al. because it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a third composition that is to be used for the very same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06 Art Recognized Equivalence for the Same Purpose. Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Amendola et al. (US 2012/0021303) teaches in [0057-0061 and 0063], that the battery electrolyte may be an aqueous, chloride-based electrolyte comprising a mixture of soluble chloride salts in an aqueous solution. The cations of suitable chloride salts may include, zinc, ammonium, sodium or any other cation that can yield soluble chloride salts in an aqueous solution. A conductive electrolyte may be a mixture of soluble salts based on sulfates, nitrates, carbonates, tetrafluoroborates, hexafluorophosphates, borates, phosphates, etc. either singularly or mixed together in an aqueous solution. In an embodiment, KOH or other electrolytes may be used. In some embodiments, the aqueous electrolyte may contain varying amounts of zinc chloride and ammonium chloride or other salts or chlorides such as LiCl. Amendola et al. teaches in [0077 and 0165], that there are water soluble additives such as urea , which are known to react with chlorine (if it is formed) to produce non-toxic, easily vented gases. Urea may be added to the aqueous battery electrolyte to control chlorine generation. Sanchez et al. (CA 1324978) teaches in Figure 12, an “electrolyte” solution comprising ethylenediamine [EDA is an alkaline solvent] in dimethylformamide (DMF) [a chaotropic additive] in lithium perchlorate [LiClO4 salt]. Suemori et al. (JP 7-192758, machine translation) teaches adding an urea compound to a nonaqueous electrolyte solution to suppress self-discharge during storage and increase shelf life. Suemori et al. teaches a battery comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode and an electrolyte solution comprising LiPF6, LiClO4; a solvent and 1.0-20 wt% or 5,0-10 wt% urea compound. Suemori et al. teaches an electrolyte solution comprising 1 M LiPF6 in DME and 10 wt% urea. Hiwara et al. (WO 2006/075392, machine translation) teaches examples of non-aqueous solvents other than carbonate ester include ureas such as N,N-dimethylimidazolidinone, etc. wherein the non-aqueous solvent can be used individually or two or more. Hiwara et al. teaches that the lithium battery may contain a solvent, an additive and like and include ureas, etc. Hiwara et al. teaches that the electrolyte salt can comprise LiPF6, LiClO4, [a known chaotropic additive], etc. in an amount of 0.1 to 10M. Hiwara et al. teaches an electrochemical device comprising a negative electrode, a positive electrode, a separator and the nonaqueous electrolyte. Hiwara et al. teaches adding Varnish C which is a mixed solvent comprising toluene and butanol [a known chaotropic additive] to a nonaqueous electrolyte solution comprising 1 M lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6) in ethylene carbonate and ethyl methyl carbonate.
/LAURA S. WEINER/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/Laura Weiner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723