DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
In response to the Office Action (dated 24 July 2025), the Applicant submits the following:
Independent base claim 1 has been substantially amended. Support for most of the amendment(s) is found in the instant Specification (p. 31, [0072]). New matter has been entered
Dependent base claims 4 – 8 have also been substantially amended, both in terms of subject matter and claim dependency.
Unelected dependent claims have also been substantially amended.
Applicant states the amended instant claim 1 differs from Sergio in that Sergio uses a polar modifier and does not teach or suggest the amended reaction kinetics limitations (Remarks, p. 2).
Examiner notes the above, however, Sergio discusses processes in which a polar additive is used (col. 6, line 46 – col. 7, line 49). The argument pertaining to the aforementioned reaction kinetics is considered moot as the limitations established on said reaction kinetics is rejected herein for indefiniteness.
Applicant discloses various claim dependency changes & requests that claims 9-42 be rejoined and examined (Remarks, p. 3).
The propriety of the restriction requirement will be reconsidered when all the claims directed to the elected invention are in condition for allowance. See MPEP § 821.04.
This rejection is FINAL.
Election/Restriction
Claim 7 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected species, namely species (ii), which was not elected in Applicant’s reply (dated 5 June 2025). Applicant elected species (i) – a copolymer comprising CD, UVA & SVA, as opposed to species (ii) – a mixture/blend of copolymers comprising CD, UVA & SVA. The fact that claim 7 does not abide by subject matter previously elected is further supported by the express disclosure that claim 7 results in a mixture (claim 7, lines 1-4).
Thus, claim 7 does not align with inventive subject matter previously elected by the Applicant and is therefore withdrawn from consideration. See MPEP § 821.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the independent base claim 1 has been substantially amended. Support for most of the amendments has been found in the Specification. New matter is also present in the amendments, shown below:
“…wherein the SVA content in the MDC composition is from 0.5 to 10 wt.% based on a total monomer mixture content in the MDC composition…” (Claim 1, lines 17-18).
New matter is identified in the bolded claimed weight range. The closest range in the Specification is disclosed at 5-10 wt.% (p. 13, [0040]). As the independent base claim 1 now requires the SVA content in the MDC composition in the range of 0.5-10 wt.% while the Specification discloses 5-10 wt.%, claim 1 is rejected for the introduction of new matter. See MPEP § 2163.06 & § 608.04.
Regarding claims 2-4 & 6-8, said claims all depend from independent claim 1 and inherit all the limitations established therein. Similarly, said claims also inherit the failure to abide by the written description requirement as required under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) and are therefore similarly rejected. See MPEP § 2163.06 & § 608.04.
Claims 1-4, 6 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 establishes new limitations, two of which create ambiguity, shown below:
“…than would be obtained in the presence of a polar modifier or by otherwise altering reaction kinetics…” (Claim 1, lines 11-12)
“…than would be expected by calculated relative monomer reactivity ratios in the absence of a polar modifier and without otherwise altering reaction kinetics…” (Claim 1, lines 14-16).
Ambiguity arise from the two instances boldened above. No point of reference has been established to determine whether reaction kinetics have been modified. One of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine the full metes and bounds of the independent base Claim 1 because it is unclear what conditions are required for determining a calculated SVA content.
Thus, the phrase(s) do not definitively establish the full metes and bounds of the claim limitations, and is therefore indefinite.
Regarding claims 2-4, 6 & 8, said claims all depend from independent claim 1 and inherit all the limitations established therein. Similarly, said claims also inherit the failure to abide by the requirements under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) and are therefore similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 is further rejected, as the amended claim details subscript ‘n’ but establishes the limitation of ‘n’ being an “…integer from 2 to about 30” (Claim 8, lines 4 & 5).
Ambiguity arises from the descriptor “about” as the instant specification does not provide an elaboration on “about” or adequately define it in such a way that said claim 8 may be examined (i.e., is 30 the endpoint of the established range or does ‘about’ allow for ‘n’ to go as high as 31 or higher?).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over Sergio et al. (US 8,981,008 B2).
Regarding claims 1, 2 & 4, Sergio teaches tapered triblock copolymers with controlled vinyl distribution (Abstract), said copolymers created via polymerizing conjugated dienes and aromatic monomers. The conjugated dienes, such as butadiene &/or isoprene, may be copolymerized with (unsubstituted) monovinyl aromatics and substituted monovinyl aromatics (col. 1, lines 24-29).
Sergio details the tapered triblock copolymer of the invention (col. 3, lines 22-54) corresponding to the formula B-(B/A)-A, wherein:
- B is a conjugated diene copolymer of at least: one conjugated diene & one monovinyl aromatic.
- (B/A) is distributed monovinyl copolymer of at least: one conjugated diene & one monovinyl aromatic.
- A is a block polymer of at least one monovinyl aromatic.
Conjugated dienes, monovinyl aromatics & substituted monovinyl aromatics suitable for use in this capacity are provided (col. 12, lines 49-63), expressly disclosing combinations of conjugated dienes &/or monovinyl aromatics are also suitable in this capacity. As such, given the examples of compounds suitable in their respective role/function, an embodiment of the formula B-(B/A)-A, may viably be:
- B is a conjugated diene copolymer of:
--1,3 butadiene or isoprene and p-methyl styrene or t-butyl styrene
---This effectively teaches B as [CD/SVA].
- (B/A) is distributed monovinyl copolymer of:
--1,3 butadiene or isoprene and p-methyl styrene or t-butyl styrene and styrene
---Exercising disclosure that aromatic combinations are also suitable in this capacity, this effectively teaches (B/A) as [CD/SVA/UVA].
- A is a block polymer of:
-- Styrene and p-methyl styrene or t-butyl styrene
--- Exercising disclosure that aromatic combinations are also suitable in this capacity, this effectively teaches A as [UVA/SVA].
Sergio discloses in one embodiment the A block as a polystyrene homopolymer (col. 23, lines 32-33). In view of this disclosure, and in tandem with disclosure that aromatic combinations are also suitable in this capacity, Sergio effectively teaches the A block may viably be a polymer of:
-- Styrene and a p-methyl styrene homopolymer (col. 12, lines 56-60).
--- This exercise effectively teaches A as [UVA/SVA-SVA].
The substitutions in p-methyl styrene and t-butyl styrene will incorporate in-chain and end-chain reaction sites. These disclosures read on all limitations established by dependent claims 2 & 4. Sergio provides disclosures teaching & reading on the reaction dynamics in absence of a polar modifier limitations (col. 7, lines 26-49 and col. 9, lines 22-50).
Sergio provides disclosures teaching the limitations pertaining to the reaction dynamics in absence of a polar modifier (col. 7, lines 26-49 and col. 9, lines 22-50).
Sergio discloses the general configuration of the inventive triblock copolymer [B-(B/A)-A]n-X, wherein X is a residual moiety from a coupling agent & where n is an integer from about 2 to about 30 (col. 35, lines 57-61).
Therefore, Sergio teaches a tapered copolymer comprising conjugated diene, unsubstituted vinyl aromatic and substituted vinyl aromatic, said copolymer having the form [CD/SVA]-[CD/SVA/UVA]-[UVA/SVA-SVA], as detailed above. Thus, Sergio provides disclosures and teachings reading on limitations established by claims 1, 2 & 4.
Regarding claim 3, considering Sergio’s tapered triblock copolymer of the formula B-(B/A)-A as described in (col. 38, claim 1):
The B block is 70 – 90 wt.% CD and contains at least 10 wt.% of the total amount of the monovinyl aromatic monomer in the tapered triblock copolymer.
The (B/A) block is 45-66 wt.% CD
The A block is 17-31 wt.% of the tapered triblock copolymer and comprises at least one monovinyl aromatic monomer, & has no requirement of any CD content.
Thus, Sergio effectively describes a copolymer of conjugated dienes and vinyl aromatic monomers, of the form B-(B/A)-A, which tapers from mostly conjugated dienes & a minority of monovinyl aromatic monomers (block B) to zero conjugated dienes and all monovinyl aromatic monomers (block A). Suitable monovinyl aromatic monomers include p-methyl styrene or t-butyl styrene (col. 12, lines 56-59).
Therefore, Sergio teaches a copolymer of a conjugated diene and a substituted vinyl aromatic, further characterized by a tapered distribution of said CD & SVA monomers, from a high & low concentration of CD & SVA, respectively, at block B, to a low & high concentration of CD & SVA, respectively, at block A. As this tapering behavior is supported by the middle (B/A) block having at most 66 wt.% CD (4 wt.% less than the minimum amount of block B), the tapering pattern abides by all 3 blocks B, (B/A) & A, Sergio provides disclosures reading on the instant claim 3.
It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents where the equivalence is recognized by the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.06. It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over Sergio et al. (US 8,981,008 B2; hereinafter Sergio’008) in view of Sergio et al. (US 2017/0210841 A1; hereinafter Segio’841).
Regarding claim 8, Sergio’008 remains as applied above. Sergio’008 discloses copolymerization of conjugated diene and monovinyl aromatic monomers in the absence of a polar modifier will result in a tapered diblock copolymer (col. 7, lines 26-30), however does not expressly teach the structure as required by the claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Sergio’841 teaches counter tapered diblock copolymers – applicable for use in asphaltic compositions (i.e., road paving), adhesives, and sealants. Said copolymers are of the form A-[A/B], comprising conjugated dienes and monovinyl aromatic compounds (Abstract). Sergio’841 discloses the general configuration of the form (A-[A/B])n-X wherein X is a residue of a coupling agent & n is an integer from 2 to about 30 (p. 30, claim 4).
Sergio’841 details the A-[A/B] diblock copolymer comprises at least one conjugated diene and at least one monovinyl aromatic monomer (p. 2, [0013]). Examples of embodiments wherein the monovinyl aromatic monomers and conjugated diene monomers are styrene and butadiene or isoprene are provided, disclosing one embodiment as (S-[B/S]m)n-X wherein m is an integer, X is a residue of a coupling agent & n is an integer from 2 to about 30 (p. 7, [0060]). Suitable conjugated dienes for this purpose are butadiene, isoprene or combinations thereof (p. 8, [0069]). Suitable monovinyl aromatic monomers for this purpose are styrene, p-methylstyrene, t-butyl styrene or combinations thereof (p. 8, [0070]).
In the instance where the integer m is 1, disclosures and teachings from Sergio’841 teach the general structure of (S-[B/S]m)n-X may have the form (S-[B/S])n-X, where n is an integer from 2 to about 30 and X is a residual moiety from a coupling agent. Exercising the fact that the monovinyl aromatic monomer (S) may be styrene or p-methylstyrene or a combination of both, (S-[B/S])n-X thus becomes (styrene-[butadiene/p-methylstyrene])n-X. Converting the aforementioned compounds to their designated abbreviations as detailed in the instant application, this embodiment becomes [UVA-(CD-SVA)]n-X, resulting in the structure as required by the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the above disclosures from Sergio’841 into the teachings provided by Sergio’008, as Sergio’008 discloses copolymerization of conjugated diene and monovinyl aromatic monomers in the absence of a polar modifier will result in a tapered diblock copolymer and Sergio’841 discloses the applicable uses of the inventive diblock copolymer in fields and applications aligning with those detailed in Sergio’008.
Modification of Sergio’008 in view of Sergio’841 as detailed above results in the general structure as required by the claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and in a manner that overcomes the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) above.
Claim 6, dependent upon the independent base claim 1, is drawn to a modified diene copolymer (MDC) composition comprising the following structure:
UVA-[CD/SVA]-[CD/SVA/UVA]-[UVA/SVA-SVA] – (p. 3, Claim 6, lines 1-5).
Wherein the above structure is obtained by polymerizing a UVA monomer prior to copolymerizing the CD, SVA and UVA monomers, wherein said copolymerization results in the structure below:
[CD/SVA]-[CD/SVA/UVA]-[UVA/SVA-SVA] – (p. 1, Claim 1, lines 1-6).
The closest prior art is attributed to Sergio et al. (US 8,981,008 B2; hereinafter Sergio’008) and Sergio et al. (US 2017/0210841 A1; hereinafter Segio’841).
Sergio’008 teaches tapered triblock copolymers may be obtained by coupling, partial coupling, or with a multifunctional initiator. Examples of various embodiments of the invention are provided, however, none of the generic embodiments disclosed read on the structure as required by the claim. Further, although Sergio’008 teaches the use of a coupling agent &/or a multifunctional initiator, Sergio’008 fails to teach a UVA (i.e., styrene) as said coupling agent or multifunctional initiator (col. 10, lines 7-43).
Sergio’841 teaches tapered copolymers may be prepared via anionic polymerization and modified to cater to their intended applications. Sergio’841 also teaches coupling and polymerization with multifunctional imitators to directly synthesize polymers (p. 1, [0008]). Like Sergio’008, embodiments are provided (p. 7, [0060]), however, none of said embodiments read on the structure as required by the claim.
A thorough search of the prior art neither revealed nor identified any other reference or combination of references, including the closest prior art of Sergio’008 et al. (US 8,981,008 B2) & Sergio’841 et al. (US 2017/0210841 A1), which would anticipate, fairly teach, suggest or otherwise motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed invention. The teachings of Sergio’008 & Sergio’841 are inadequate & insufficient (independently or in view of one another) for one of ordinary skill in the art to anticipate or render obvious the composition that is claimed in the instant application.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTIAAN ROELOFSE/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762