DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2018-0110986 to Kim (with US Pub. No. 2020/0010741 cited as the English equivalent), in view of US Pub. No. 2003/0055171 to Overbeek and KR 2001-0068475 to Jun (as evidenced by the machine translation).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 6-10, Kim teaches an adhesive composition including, on the basis of the total weight thereof, 0.5 to 4.0% by weight of an epoxy compound, 1.0-8.0% by weight of an isocyanate compound, 1.7 to 22% by weight of a rubber latex, 1.0 to 8.0% by weight of a polyurethane dispersion resin, 0.1 to 2.0% by weight of an amine compound, and 69 to 92% by weight of a solvent (Kim, Abstract), the solvent being water (Id., paragraphs 0016-0017). Kim teaches a tire cord using the adhesive composition (Id., paragraphs 0010, 0040).
Kim does not appear to teach the average molecular weight of the polyurethane as claimed and the polyurethane being an alicyclic polyurethane as claimed. However, Kim teaches the use of a polyurethane dispersion resin (Kim, paragraph 0085), wherein the latex may comprise an acrylic latex (Id., paragraph 0069). Additionally, Overbeek teaches a similar aqueous polymer composition similar for use as adhesives comprising a combination of an aqueous latex of an acrylic polymer and a self-dispersible and radiation-curable polymer (Overbeek, Abstract, paragraphs, 0056, 0122). Overbeek teaches that the radiation-curable polymer is preferably a polyurethane, which is the chain-extended reaction product of an isocyanate-terminated urethane prepolymer, wherein the chain-extended polyurethane preferably has a Mw of at least 3000 g/mol, and more preferably 3,000 to 500,000 g/mol (Id., paragraphs 0071-0076). Overbeek teaches that the polyurethane is formed form reactants which comprise at least one organic polyisocyanate, such as a cycloaliphatic polyisocyanate including isophorone diisocyanate (Id., paragraphs 0077-0086), at least one polymeric polyol, preferably a polyester polyol (Id., paragraph 0090), ionic groups that can be neutralized with agents such as triethanolamine (Id., paragraph 0095), and carboxylate anionic dispersing groups especially dimethylol propionic acid (DMPA) and dimethylol butyric acid (DMBA) (Id., paragraphs 0073-0074, 0096).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the adhesive composition of Kim, wherein the polyurethane dispersion comprises ionomers and a molecular weight, such as within the claimed range, as taught by Overbeek, motivated by the desire of forming a conventional aqueous polymer adhesive composition having a dispersible polyurethane with properties known in the art as being predictably suitable for adhesive applications.
The prior art combination teaches the inclusion of dimethylol propionic acid (DMPA) and dimethylol butyric acid (DMBA). The prior art combination does not appear to teach the alicyclic polyurethane resin formed as claimed. However, Jun teaches a water dispersible polyurethane which is excellent in stability and can be used as an adhesive with good adhesion strength and heat resistance (Jun, Abstract). Jun teaches improving adhesive strength by increasing the molecular weight of the conventional water-dispersible polyurethane (Id., paragraph 0008). Jun teaches that the polyurethane is manufactured by reacting a polyol and isophorone diisocyanate (Id., paragraph 0013, Example 5). Jun teaches that dimethylol propionic acid is used in an amount of 6.0 to 14.0 parts by weight of polyol to introduce a hydrophilic group (Id., paragraph 0014), such as 12 g (Id., Example 5). Jun teaches neutralizing a prepolymer with triethylamine used as a neutralizing agent (Id., paragraphs 0015-0017), wherein diamines such as ethylenediamine is used as chain extenders (Id., paragraph 0018). Jun teaches that the water dispersion can exhibit excellent adhesive properties not only for bonding fibers, etc., by high-temperature curing, but also especially by low-temperature curing (Id., paragraph 0021).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the adhesive composition of the prior art combination, wherein the polyurethane includes dimethylol propionic acid in amounts, such as within the claimed range, as suggested by Jun, motivated by the desire of forming a conventional adhesive composition having predictably improved adhesive strength by increasing the molecular weight, suitable for the intended application.
The prior art combination does not appear to teach the claimed viscosity. However, the prior art combination teaches a substantially similar structure and composition as claimed, including substantially similar and overlapping amounts of each of the claimed constituents (as set forth below). Therefore, it is reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to expect that the claimed viscosity naturally flows from the adhesive composition of the prior art combination. Products of identical structure cannot have mutually exclusive properties. The burden is on Applicants to prove otherwise.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, as set forth above, the prior art combination teaches each of the claimed epoxy, latex, polyurethane, amine, and water, in overlapping amounts. It should be noted that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The existence of overlapping or encompassing ranges shifts the burden to Applicant to show that his invention would not have been obvious. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the adhesive composition of the prior art, and adjusting the weight percentages of epoxy, latex, polyurethane, amine, and water, such as within the claimed ranges, motivated by the desire of forming a conventional adhesive composition based on the totality of the teachings of the prior art.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches that the type of the amine compound is not particularly limited, for example at least one aliphatic amine, an alicyclic amine, and an aromatic amine (Kim, paragraphs 0089-0090). Note that amines set forth in Kim are similarly set forth in Applicants’ specification at page 11 lines 11-18. Therefore, the amines of Kim appear to comprise a chain structure.
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches that the isocyanate compound acts as a crosslinking agent (Kim, paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches that the water used as a solvent may be included in the content of 69 to 80% by weight based on the total weight of the adhesive composition (Kim, paragraph 0096).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed April 24, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argue that Overbeek is directed to general coating compositions, whereas the claimed invention is directed to adhesive compositions for tire cords, which must be compatible with rubber vulcanization processes under high-temperature and chemically reactive conditions. Additionally, Applicants argue that Overbeek does not address critical technical requirements specific to tire cord adhesive systems, including suppression of gelation, maintenance of compositional uniformity, and long-term dispersion stability.
Regarding Applicants’ arguments, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claimed invention is directed to an adhesive composition for a tire cord, wherein the invention itself is only directed to the adhesive composition. Although when used the adhesive composition may need to be compatible with rubber vulcanization processes under high-temperature and chemically reactive conditions, the claim itself does not require any of the recited properties.
Additionally, Kim establishes an adhesive composition including the claimed components, for use with tire cords, wherein the polyurethane necessarily comprises a molecular weight. Overbeek teaches and suggests that suitable molecular weights for use in similar aqueous adhesive compositions comprise molecular weights which overlap with the claimed range. Applicants have not established unexpected results within the claimed range.
Additionally, the claimed invention does not require properties including suppression of gelation, maintenance of compositional uniformity, and long-term dispersion stability. Therefore, Applicants’ arguments directed to those properties do not distinguish the claimed invention from the invention of the prior art.
Applicants argue that the parameters are not arbitrary but instead collectively determine the internal structure and stability of the adhesive system, such as adhesive strength and thermal fatigue resistance, as shown at Table 7. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Applicants rely on Table 7 to show unexpected results regarding adhesive strength and thermal fatigue resistance, as shown in at least Tables 1-6, each of seven different components are required, having varying mole ratios, where it is unclear if each of the components are within the scope of the claimed weights and/or moles. Additionally, at least Examples 2 and 8 require molecular weights which are outside the scope of the claimed molecular weights. Therefore, it is unclear if Applicants’ reliance on Table 7 is within the scope of the claimed invention, and necessarily establishes that the claimed components, in contrast to the recited combination of components in at least Tables 1-6, necessarily result in unexpected adhesive strength and thermal fatigue resistance as argued.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER Y CHOI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786