DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In accordance with Applicant’s amendment field 7/23/2026, claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 11-12, 14-16 are amended. Claims 2, 7-8, 10, 13 are canceled. Claims 26-30 are new. Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 11-12, 14-16, 26-30 are currently pending and presented for examination on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/23/2026 with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections of claim(s) 1 (and similar for new claim 26) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In light of Applicant’s amendment, which has introduced new limitations which have changed the scope of the claims, the search has been updated and new prior art has been identified and applied, as described in the rejections below.
Applicant submits that the dependent claims are allowable based on their dependency from the independent claims; however, the independent claims are not allowable over the prior art, as described in the rejections below. The dependent claims remain rejected.
Examiner notes that Applicant appears to have provided citations to the instant specification using paragraph numbers from the US publication (US 2022/0378126), and respectfully requests that future citations instead be made with reference to the specification as filed in the application, as the application file contains the most current copies of all the pending application documents and is the working file.
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 12, 15 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 9, the claim appears to be missing the word “in” between “wherein” and “an unfolded position” in lines 2-3. The claim has been interpreted as “wherein in an unfolded position of the garment”.
Further regarding claim 9, there is an extra space before the comma in line 3. The space should be deleted.
Regarding claim 12, there is an extra space and comma at the end of line 2. The extra space and extra comma should be deleted.
Regarding claim 15, the word “each” is repeated at the beginning of line 3. The extra instance of “each” should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites the limitation “at least two grippers in contact with the inner face of the garment in the trunk portion and laterally positioned”. It is unclear what it means for the grippers to be “laterally positioned” as it appears that they would need to be laterally positioned relative to some other structure that has not been clearly defined in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9, 11-12, 14-16, 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanneste (US 2011/0094005) in view of Romano (US 2020/0093245), Jariwala (US 2010/0034488), and Li (US 2013/0196135).
Regarding claim 1, Vanneste discloses: Protective equipment for a clean room or sanitised environment, comprising: a garment having an outer face intended to be in contact with the surrounding environment (“a clean room suit comprising an outer face provided for being in contact with a surrounding medium” paragraph 52) and an inner face arranged to be in contact with or oriented towards an operator (“a clean room suit comprising […] an inner face laid out so as to be in contact with a user or operator” paragraph 52), the garment being an overall (the suit 1 of Vanneste is an overall, see title “Overalls for cleanroom and the like”) comprising a body portion (body section 6) having a trunk portion and a leg portion (see annotated figure 1 below), the leg portion comprising a first leg section (first leg section 2) and a second leg section (second leg section 3), each leg section having a flank (see figure 1), two longitudinal edges on either side of the flank (see figure 1), and a continuous closure extending from an ankle area through a crotch area (“crotch area 14 is equipped with a zipper 10 and it comprises a placket (not shown) located below the zipper to avoid any contamination” paragraph 52; see figure 1 which shows the zipper extending from the ankle of one leg through the crotch area and to the ankle of the other leg), the continuous closure comprising a single continuous zipper (zipper 10) and being arranged to form substantially tubular leg sections when engaged together (see figure 1, the leg sections are substantially tubular when the zipper is closed), the first and second leg sections being connected via a linked end to the body portion (“the first leg section 2 also comprises a bound end 2a and the second leg section 3 also comprises a bound end 3a” paragraph 52; see figure 1), the garment further comprising a first sleeve (first sleeve 4) and a second sleeve (second sleeve 5) each connected to the body portion via a linked end (“the first sleeve is connected [to the body portion] through a bound end 4a and the second sleeve is connected [to the body portion] through a bound end 5a” paragraph 52), a head passage section in the body portion (“The suit also comprises a section 7 for letting through the head” paragraph 52), and at least one gripper in contact with the inner face in the trunk portion (first grasping means 16 and second grasping means 17; see figure 2); and a reusable and sterilizable pouch (casing 18).
Vanneste does not explicitly disclose: the pouch being made of a fabric comprising polyester and antistatic carbon thread, the polyester being between 90% and 99.5% of the fabric and the antistatic carbon thread being between 0.5% and 10% of the fabric, the pouch comprising at least two walls joined to one another over a majority of their ends so as to define an interior cavity, a single opening providing access to the interior cavity, a closure arranged to close the single opening, a first surface, and a second surface opposite the first surface; wherein the pouch is located at the trunk portion and is attached to the garment by at least one fastener located on the first surface at a region of the pouch opposite the single opening, the at least one fastener being a seam or a weld attaching the first surface to the inner face of the garment in the trunk portion, and the pouch being invertible about the at least one fastener; wherein the protective equipment has a folded and packaged configuration in which the garment is in a folded position and is received in the interior cavity, the first surface bounds the interior cavity, the second surface is exposed to the surrounding environment, the inner face of the leg portion is exposed to the surrounding environment, the outer face of the leg portion is folded against the outer face of the body portion, and the at least one gripper is exposed to the operator proximate to the single opening; wherein, in the folded and packaged configuration, the pouch is transitionable between a closed position in which the single opening is closed by the closure and an open position in which the single opening is open and the at least one gripper is exposed to the operator through the single opening; wherein, upon withdrawal of the garment from the interior cavity by the at least one gripper, the pouch inverts about the at least one fastener such that the second surface comes to bound the interior cavity; and wherein the pouch is arranged to be enclosed inside the garment when the garment is worn by the operator, such that a contaminant on the second surface is contained in the interior cavity and the pouch is isolated from the surrounding environment exterior to the garment.
However, Romano teaches a garment (10) with an inner face and an outer face (see paragraph 28 which describes an interior portion; Examiner notes that every garment has an inner face and an outer face inherently), and a pouch (12) made of fabric comprising polyester (“the various wearable articles and pouch can be made of one or more of nylon, polyester, cotton” paragraph 44) and having a single opening providing access to an interior cavity (see figure 1A showing the opening which is closed by zipper 14) a closure arranged to close the single opening (zipper 14), a first surface, and a second surface opposite the first surface (the pouch 12 necessarily has an first and second surface); wherein the pouch is located at the trunk portion and is attached to the garment by at least one fastener located on the first surface at a region of the pouch opposite the single opening, the at least one fastener being a seam or a weld attaching the first surface to the inner face of the garment in the trunk portion (“the pouch can be integrated or sewn with the article” paragraph 27; “the athletic shirt 10 can have a pouch 12 that can be provided in an interior portion of the athletic shirt 10 (inner area) so that it is not visible when worn” paragraph 28; see figure 1A showing the pouch is located in a trunk region of the garment) and the pouch being invertible about the at least one fastener (“the athletic shirt 10 can be provided completely within the pouch 12, which can be closed and easily held or carried for portability” paragraph 28; see figure 1c; see also figures 3a-3d, which shows that the pouch has a different pattern when the garment is folded inside the pouch (figure 3c) compared to when the garment is outside the pouch (figure 3a), and how a band with buckle is revealed when the garment is put inside the pouch, both of which suggest that the pouch undergoes an inversion when the garment is placed inside or removed; therefore, when the garment is taken out of the pouch (see figures 3a-3d in the reverse order starting with figure 3d and ending with figure 3a which shows how the garment would be removed from the pouch), the faces of the pouch invert and any “contamination” that was present on the outer face (seen in figure 3d) would be contained within the pouch once the garment is fully removed because the outer face inverts and becomes the “inner face” (as shown in figure 3a); further, the italicized limitation is an intended use limitation, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (i.e., folded or turned inside out) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). See MPEP 2114(II). As the pouch of Romano has all of the claimed structural limitations, it reads on the limitation as written); and wherein said pouch is arranged to be enclosed inside the garment when the garment is worn by the operator (“the athletic shirt 10 can have a pouch 12 that can be provided in an interior portion of the athletic shirt 10 (inner area) so that it is not visible when worn” paragraph 28; see figure 1A), such that a contaminant on the second surface is contained in the interior cavity and the pouch is isolated from the surrounding environment exterior to the garment (since the pouch is on the interior portion of the garment and not visible when worn, it is isolated from the surrounding environment).
Romano teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of garments foldable into pouches. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to replace the pouch of Vanneste with the pouch as taught by Romano including the zipper closure, and to attach the pouch to the inner face of the garment in the lower portion of the trunk region, as shown and taught by Romano, in order to ensure that the pouch is not lost and can be kept together with the garment at all times for easy access to storage (see paragraph 3 of Romano which describes how having an easy access to storage make the garment easily and conveniently portable). Further, attaching it on the inside of the garment is preferable as taught by Romano “so that [the pouch] is not visible when worn” (paragraph 28, Romano). Further, since Vanneste is silent as to any particular material being used for the pouch, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to make the pouch of Vanneste out of polyester fabric, as taught by Romano, because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP 2144.07.
The pouch of Romano does not explicitly describe the construction of the pouch, so Vanneste as modified does not explicitly disclose: the pouch having at least two walls joined to one another over a majority of their ends to define an interior cavity.
However, Jariwala teaches a pouch to be permanently attached (“the bag 2 can have the pouch 1. Pouch 1 can be attached to bag 2 by a direct, fixed attachment. […] The fixed attachment can have one or more stitches” paragraph 50) to an article of clothing (“the article can be a […] shirt, pant, jumpsuit, other clothing” paragraph 48) that has at least two walls (3, 5) joined to one another over a majority of their ends (see securing element 7 in figure 7; see paragraph 58) to define an interior cavity (see figure 2 showing a hand in the interior cavity).
Jariwala teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of garments foldable into pouches. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to make the pouch of Romano specifically out of two pieces of material that are joined along the majority of their edges, as taught by Jariwala, in order to allow multiple fabrics with different colors, designs, or patterns to be used in the construction, which will add aesthetic appeal and customization to the pouch.
Examiner notes that, as modified, Vanneste teaches: wherein the protective equipment has a folded and packaged configuration in which the garment is in a folded position and is received in the interior cavity (Vanneste, as modified, the garment can be packaged in the pouch in a folded position), the first surface bounds the interior cavity, the second surface is exposed to the surrounding environment, the inner face of the leg portion is exposed to the surrounding environment, the outer face of the leg portion is folded against the outer face of the body portion, and the at least one gripper is exposed to the operator proximate to the single opening (Vanneste, “FIG. 2 illustrates the suit in the partly folded-back position. The inner face of the first leg section 2 and of the second leg section 3 are exposed toward the outside. The outer face of the first leg section 2 and the outer face of the second leg section 3 are exposed toward the outer face of the body section 6. Said opening of the crotch 14 provides access to the inside of the body portion 6 through a section called a waist section 15. In this way, the first grasping means 16 and the second grasping means 17 are exposed towards the operator” paragraph 55; see figure 2); wherein, in the folded and packaged configuration, the pouch is transitionable between a closed position in which the single opening is closed by the closure (the pouch of Romano has a zipper which can be closed) and an open position in which the single opening is open and the at least one gripper is exposed to the operator through the single opening (the pouch of Romano has a zipper which can be opened, and if the garment is inside, any part of the garment would become exposed through the opening of the pouch when the pouch is opened); wherein, upon withdrawal of the garment from the interior cavity by the at least one gripper, the pouch inverts about the at least one fastener such that the second surface comes to bound the interior cavity (Romano, “the athletic shirt 10 can be provided completely within the pouch 12, which can be closed and easily held or carried for portability” paragraph 28; see figure 1c; see also figures 3a-3d, which shows that the pouch has a different pattern when the garment is folded inside the pouch (figure 3c) compared to when the garment is outside the pouch (figure 3a), and how a band with buckle is revealed when the garment is put inside the pouch, both of which suggest that the pouch undergoes an inversion when the garment is placed inside or removed; therefore, when the garment is taken out of the pouch (see figures 3a-3d in the reverse order starting with figure 3d and ending with figure 3a which shows how the garment would be removed from the pouch), the faces of the pouch invert and any “contamination” that was present on the outer face (seen in figure 3d) would be contained within the pouch once the garment is fully removed because the outer face inverts and becomes the “inner face” (as shown in figure 3a); further, the italicized limitation is an intended use limitation, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (i.e., folded or turned inside out) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). See MPEP 2114(II). As the pouch of Romano has all of the claimed structural limitations, it reads on the limitation as written). Examiner notes that the italicized limitations are intended use limitations, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (i.e., folded or turned inside out) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). See MPEP 2114(II). As Vanneste as modified has all of the preceding claimed structural limitations, it reads on the claim as written. Moreover, the fact that an attached pouch is fully capable of inverting in the claimed manner is further evidenced by Jariwala, which shows the full process of inverting a permanently attached pouch so as to fully contain an article inside of the pouch in figures 8-18. Examiner submits that the pouch of Vanneste as modified is fully capable of being inverted in the same manner as the pouch is also permanently attached to the article via sewing (see paragraph 54 and figure 2 of Jariwala).
Although Vanneste as modified teaches polyester fabric, it does not explicitly disclose: a fabric comprising polyester and antistatic carbon thread, the polyester being between 90% and 99.5% of the fabric and the antistatic carbon thread being between 0.5% and 10% of the fabric.
However, Li teaches a fabric comprising a blend of fibers including 1 wt. % antistatic carbon fibers (Suitable antistatic or electrostatic dissipative fibers include, but are not limited to, carbon fibers, such as P140 antistatic carbon fibers from DuPont. The antistatic or electrostatic dissipative fibers can be present in the fiber blend in any suitable amount. For example, the antistatic or electrostatic dissipative fibers can comprise about 1 wt. % to about 5 wt. % (e.g., about 1 wt. % to about 3 wt. %, or about 2 wt. %) of the fiber blend” paragraph 30).
Li teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of materials for protective garments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to make the fabric of the pouch of Vanneste as modified a blend of 99% polyester (as taught by Romano) and 1% antistatic carbon fibers, as taught by Li, in order to “[mitigate] electrostatic buildup that can occur in the process of blending the fibers and also imparting antistatic properties to the yarns and textile materials (e.g., fabrics) made from the fiber blend” (Li, paragraph 30), which will reduce the chance of any static electricity buildup or discharge which is undesirable in a clean room. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 3, Vanneste as modified discloses: The protective equipment for a clean room or sanitised environment according to claim 1, wherein said at least one fastener is a seam (Romano, “the pouch can be integrated or sewn with the article” paragraph 27; attachment by sewing constitutes a seam)
Regarding claim 9, Vanneste as modified discloses: The protective equipment for a clean room or sanitised environment according to claim 1, wherein an unfolded position of the garment, the first surface is against the inner face of the garment in the trunk portion and the second surface is arranged to be oriented towards the operator (see figure 1 of Vanneste, showing the suit being unfolded; when worn, one of the surfaces of the pouch would be against the inner face of the garment while the other surface of the pouch is oriented towards the operator, as the pouch is located on an inner surface of the garment). Examiner notes that the italicized limitations are intended use limitations, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (i.e., folded) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). See MPEP 2114(II). As Vanneste as modified has all of the claimed structural limitations, it reads on the claim as written.
Regarding claim 11, Vanneste as modified discloses: The protective equipment for a clean room or sanitised environment according to claim 1, wherein said at least one gripper comprises at least two grippers in contact with the inner face of the garment in the trunk portion and laterally positioned (Vanneste, the first and second grasping means 16, 17 are two grippers and they are located on the interior of the garment, see figure 2, therefore they are in contact with the inner face of the body portion at least at their attachment point).
Regarding claim 12, Vanneste as modified discloses: The protective equipment for a clean room or sanitised environment according to claim 1, wherein in said folded and packaged configuration, the continuous closure is in an open position at the crotch area forming a crotch opening providing access to an inside of the body portion (Vanneste, “first leg section 2 and second leg section 3 connected to each other through an opening in the crotch area 14 […] said opening of the crotch area 14 is equipped with a zipper 10” paragraph 52; “Said opening of the crotch 14 provides access to the inside of the body portion 6” paragraph 55; see figure 2; the zipper can be opened or closed), the inner face of the first and second leg sections being exposed to the outside and the outer face of the first and second leg sections being folded against the outer face of the body portion (Vanneste, “the inner face of the first leg section 2 and of the section leg section 3 are exposed toward the outside. The outer face of the first leg section 2 and the outer face of the second leg section 3 are exposed toward the outer face of body section 6. Said opening of the crotch 14 provides access to the inside of the body portion 6” paragraph 55; see figure 2). Examiner notes that the italicized limitations are intended use limitations, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (i.e., folded) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). See MPEP 2114(II). As Vanneste as modified has all of the claimed structural limitations, it reads on the claim as written.
Regarding claim 14, Vanneste as modified discloses: The protective equipment for a clean room or sanitised environment according to claim 1, wherein the closure of the pouch is selected from the group consisting of a zip (Romano, zipper 14), hook-and-loop fastener, and a series of press studs.
Regarding claim 15, Vanneste as modified discloses: The protective equipment for a clean room or sanitised environment according to claim 1, wherein each of the first and second sleeves comprises a self-tightener at a free end opposite said linked end, said self-tightener comprising an elastic fabric wrist cuff (Vanneste, “the first sleeve 4 comprises self-tightening means at the free end 4b in the form of cuffs 11 in elastic fabric. The second sleeve also comprises at the free end 5b a cuff 11 in elastic fabric” paragraph 53), and/or each of the first and second leg sections comprises a self-tightener at a free end opposite the linked end, the self-tightener comprising an elastic fabric ankle cuffs (Examiner notes that this limitation is not required, because the claim has the conjunction “and/or” which means that only one of the limitations (either the first one regarding the sleeves OR the second one regarding the legs) is required. Since Vanneste as modified teaches the limitation regarding the sleeves as described above, the limitation regarding the legs is not required).
Regarding claim 16, Vanneste as modified discloses: The protective equipment for a clean room or sanitised environment according to claim 1, wherein, in said folded position, said first and second leg sections are folded longitudinally onto themselves and transversely onto themselves into two or three portions (Vanneste, “the first leg section 2 is longitudinally folded back on itself and the second leg section is also longitudinally folded back on itself […] the thereby folded suit 1 according to the invention will then be folded back transversely on itself into all three portions” paragraph 57; see figure 3). Examiner notes that the italicized limitations are intended use limitations, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (i.e., folded) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). See MPEP 2114(II). As Vanneste as modified has all of the claimed structural limitations, it reads on the claim as written.
Regarding claim 27, Vanneste as modified discloses: The protective equipment for a clean room or sanitised environment according to claim 1, wherein the polyester is between 97% and 99.5% of the fabric and the antistatic carbon thread is between 0.5% and 3% of the fabric (as modified, the material is 99% polyester and 1% antistatic carbon fiber).
Regarding claim 28, Vanneste as modified disclose: The protective equipment for a clean room or sanitised environment according to claim 27, wherein the fabric comprises 99% polyester and 1% antistatic carbon thread (as modified, the material is 99% polyester and 1% antistatic carbon fiber).
Regarding claim 29, Vanneste as modified discloses: The protective equipment for a clean room or sanitised environment according to claim 1, wherein the pouch is located in a pelvic region of the trunk portion (as modified by Romano, the pouch is at the bottom of the trunk/torso portion (i.e., as shown in figure 1A of Romano) so it is considered to be in a pelvic region of the trunk portion insofar as claimed or described).
Regarding claim 30, Vanneste as modified discloses: The protective equipment for a clean room or sanitised environment according to claim 1, wherein the closure of the pouch comprises a zip (Romano, zipper 14).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanneste/Romano/Li/Jariwala as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Smith (US 2010/0019616).
Regarding claim 6, Vanneste as modified teaches attaching the pouch via stitching (“the pouch can be integrated or sewn with the article” Romano, paragraph 27), but does not explicitly disclose: The protective equipment for a clean room or sanitised environment according to claim 1, wherein said at least one fastener is a weld.
However, Smith teaches a protective garment (10) and “Typical seams used for such garments 10 include serged, sewn, bound, taped, welded, and heat sealed seams” (paragraph 55).
Smith teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of protective garments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to substitute the stitched seam taught by Romano for a weld, as taught by Smith, because it would have been the simple substitution of one known fastening method for another that would have yielded only the predictable result of attaching two pieces of material as is well known in the art. Further, a weld may provide a more liquid-proof bond than stitching which is useful in preventing the permeation of liquid contaminants through the seam.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanneste (US 2011/0094005) in view of Romano (US 2020/0093245), Jariwala (US 2010/0034488) and Banks (5715536).
Regarding claim 26, Vanneste discloses: Protective equipment for a clean room or sanitised environment, comprising: a garment having an outer face intended to be in contact with the surrounding environment (“a clean room suit comprising an outer face provided for being in contact with a surrounding medium” paragraph 52) and an inner face arranged to be in contact with or oriented towards an operator (“a clean room suit comprising […] an inner face laid out so as to be in contact with a user or operator” paragraph 52), the garment being an overall (the suit 1 of Vanneste is an overall, see title “Overalls for cleanroom and the like”) comprising a body portion (body section 6) having a trunk portion and a leg portion (see annotated figure 1 provided with 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 1 above), the leg portion comprising a first leg section (first leg section 2) and a second leg section (second leg section 3), each leg section having a flank (see figure 1), two longitudinal edges on either side of the flank (see figure 1), and a continuous closure extending from an ankle area through a crotch area (“crotch area 14 is equipped with a zipper 10 and it comprises a placket (not shown) located below the zipper to avoid any contamination” paragraph 52; see figure 1 which shows the zipper extending from the ankle of one leg through the crotch area and to the ankle of the other leg), the continuous closure comprising a single continuous zipper (zipper 10) and being arranged to form substantially tubular leg sections when engaged together (see figure 1, the leg sections are substantially tubular when the zipper is closed), the first and second leg sections being connected via a linked end to the body portion (“the first leg section 2 also comprises a bound end 2a and the second leg section 3 also comprises a bound end 3a” paragraph 52; see figure 1), the garment further comprising a first sleeve (first sleeve 4) and a second sleeve (second sleeve 5) each connected to the body portion via a linked end (“the first sleeve is connected [to the body portion] through a bound end 4a and the second sleeve is connected [to the body portion] through a bound end 5a” paragraph 52), a head passage section in the body portion (“The suit also comprises a section 7 for letting through the head” paragraph 52), and at least one gripper in contact with the inner face in the trunk portion (first grasping means 16 and second grasping means 17; see figure 2); and a reusable and sterilisable pouch (casing 18).
Vanneste does not explicitly disclose: the pouch being made of a fabric comprising monofilament polyester, the pouch comprising at least two walls joined to one another over a majority of their ends so as to define an interior cavity, a single opening providing access to the interior cavity, a closure arranged to close the single opening, a first surface, and a second surface opposite the first surface; wherein the pouch is located in the trunk portion and is attached to the garment by at least one fastener located on the first surface at a region of the pouch opposite the single opening, the at least one fastener being a seam or a weld attaching the first surface to the inner face of the garment in the trunk portion, and the pouch being invertible about the at least one fastener; wherein the protective equipment has a folded and packaged configuration in which the garment is in a folded position and is received in the interior cavity, the first surface bounds the interior cavity, the second surface is exposed to the surrounding environment, and the at least one gripper is exposed to the operator proximate to the single opening; wherein, upon withdrawal of the garment from the interior cavity by the at least one gripper, the pouch inverts about the at least one fastener such that the second surface comes to bound the interior cavity; and wherein the pouch is arranged to be enclosed inside the garment when the garment is worn by the operator, such that a contaminant on the second surface is contained in the interior cavity and the pouch is isolated from the surrounding environment exterior to the garment.
However, Romano teaches a garment (10) with an inner face and an outer face (see paragraph 28 which describes an interior portion; Examiner notes that every garment has an inner face and an outer face inherently), and a pouch (12) made of fabric comprising polyester (“the various wearable articles and pouch can be made of one or more of nylon, polyester, cotton” paragraph 44) and having a single opening providing access to an interior cavity (see figure 1A showing the opening which is closed by zipper 14) a closure arranged to close the single opening (zipper 14), a first surface, and a second surface opposite the first surface (the pouch 12 necessarily has an first and second surface); wherein the pouch is located at the trunk portion and is attached to the garment by at least one fastener located on the first surface at a region of the pouch opposite the single opening, the at least one fastener being a seam or a weld attaching the first surface to the inner face of the garment in the trunk portion (“the pouch can be integrated or sewn with the article” paragraph 27; “the athletic shirt 10 can have a pouch 12 that can be provided in an interior portion of the athletic shirt 10 (inner area) so that it is not visible when worn” paragraph 28; see figure 1A showing the pouch is located in a trunk region of the garment) and the pouch being invertible about the at least one fastener (“the athletic shirt 10 can be provided completely within the pouch 12, which can be closed and easily held or carried for portability” paragraph 28; see figure 1c; see also figures 3a-3d, which shows that the pouch has a different pattern when the garment is folded inside the pouch (figure 3c) compared to when the garment is outside the pouch (figure 3a), and how a band with buckle is revealed when the garment is put inside the pouch, both of which suggest that the pouch undergoes an inversion when the garment is placed inside or removed; therefore, when the garment is taken out of the pouch (see figures 3a-3d in the reverse order starting with figure 3d and ending with figure 3a which shows how the garment would be removed from the pouch), the faces of the pouch invert and any “contamination” that was present on the outer face (seen in figure 3d) would be contained within the pouch once the garment is fully removed because the outer face inverts and becomes the “inner face” (as shown in figure 3a); further, the italicized limitation is an intended use limitation, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (i.e., folded or turned inside out) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). See MPEP 2114(II). As the pouch of Romano has all of the claimed structural limitations, it reads on the limitation as written); and wherein said pouch is arranged to be enclosed inside the garment when the garment is worn by the operator (“the athletic shirt 10 can have a pouch 12 that can be provided in an interior portion of the athletic shirt 10 (inner area) so that it is not visible when worn” paragraph 28; see figure 1A), such that a contaminant on the second surface is contained in the interior cavity and the pouch is isolated from the surrounding environment exterior to the garment (since the pouch is on the interior portion of the garment and not visible when worn, it is isolated from the surrounding environment).
Romano teaches Romano teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of garments foldable into pouches. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to replace the pouch of Vanneste with the pouch as taught by Romano including the zipper closure, and to attach the pouch to the inner face of the garment in the lower portion of the trunk region, as shown and taught by Romano, in order to ensure that the pouch is not lost and can be kept together with the garment at all times for easy access to storage (see paragraph 3 of Romano which describes how having an easy access to storage make the garment easily and conveniently portable). Further, attaching it on the inside of the garment is preferable as taught by Romano “so that [the pouch] is not visible when worn” (paragraph 28, Romano). Further, since Vanneste is silent as to any particular material being used for the pouch, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to make the pouch of Vanneste out of polyester fabric, as taught by Romano, because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP 2144.07.
The pouch of Romano does not explicitly describe the construction of the pouch, so Vanneste as modified does not explicitly disclose: the pouch having at least two walls joined to one another over a majority of their ends to define an interior cavity.
However, Jariwala teaches a pouch to be permanently attached (“the bag 2 can have the pouch 1. Pouch 1 can be attached to bag 2 by a direct, fixed attachment. […] The fixed attachment can have one or more stitches” paragraph 50) to an article of clothing (“the article can be a […] shirt, pant, jumpsuit, other clothing” paragraph 48) that has at least two walls (3, 5) joined to one another over a majority of their ends (see securing element 7 in figure 7; see paragraph 58) to define an interior cavity (see figure 2 showing a hand in the interior cavity).
Jariwala teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of garments foldable into pouches. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to make the pouch of Romano specifically out of two pieces of material that are joined along the majority of their edges, as taught by Jariwala, in order to allow multiple fabrics with different colors, designs, or patterns to be used in the construction, which will add aesthetic appeal and customization to the pouch.
Examiner notes that, as modified, Vanneste teaches: wherein the protective equipment has a folded and packaged configuration in which the garment is in a folded position and is received in the interior cavity (Vanneste, as modified, the garment can be packaged in the pouch in a folded position), the first surface bounds the interior cavity, the second surface is exposed to the surrounding environment, the inner face of the leg portion is exposed to the surrounding environment, the outer face of the leg portion is folded against the outer face of the body portion, and the at least one gripper is exposed to the operator proximate to the single opening (Vanneste, “FIG. 2 illustrates the suit in the partly folded-back position. The inner face of the first leg section 2 and of the second leg section 3 are exposed toward the outside. The outer face of the first leg section 2 and the outer face of the second leg section 3 are exposed toward the outer face of the body section 6. Said opening of the crotch 14 provides access to the inside of the body portion 6 through a section called a waist section 15. In this way, the first grasping means 16 and the second grasping means 17 are exposed towards the operator” paragraph 55; see figure 2); wherein, in the folded and packaged configuration, the pouch is transitionable between a closed position in which the single opening is closed by the closure (the pouch of Romano has a zipper which can be closed) and an open position in which the single opening is open and the at least one gripper is exposed to the operator through the single opening (the pouch of Romano has a zipper which can be opened, and if the garment is inside, any part of the garment would become exposed through the opening of the pouch when the pouch is opened); wherein, upon withdrawal of the garment from the interior cavity by the at least one gripper, the pouch inverts about the at least one fastener such that the second surface comes to bound the interior cavity (Romano, “the athletic shirt 10 can be provided completely within the pouch 12, which can be closed and easily held or carried for portability” paragraph 28; see figure 1c; see also figures 3a-3d, which shows that the pouch has a different pattern when the garment is folded inside the pouch (figure 3c) compared to when the garment is outside the pouch (figure 3a), and how a band with buckle is revealed when the garment is put inside the pouch, both of which suggest that the pouch undergoes an inversion when the garment is placed inside or removed; therefore, when the garment is taken out of the pouch (see figures 3a-3d in the reverse order starting with figure 3d and ending with figure 3a which shows how the garment would be removed from the pouch), the faces of the pouch invert and any “contamination” that was present on the outer face (seen in figure 3d) would be contained within the pouch once the garment is fully removed because the outer face inverts and becomes the “inner face” (as shown in figure 3a); further, the italicized limitation is an intended use limitation, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (i.e., folded or turned inside out) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). See MPEP 2114(II). As the pouch of Romano has all of the claimed structural limitations, it reads on the limitation as written). Examiner notes that the italicized limitations are intended use limitations, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed (i.e., folded or turned inside out) does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). See MPEP 2114(II). As Vanneste as modified has all of the preceding claimed structural limitations, it reads on the claim as written. Moreover, the fact that an attached pouch is fully capable of inverting in the claimed manner is further evidenced by Jariwala, which shows the full process of inverting a permanently attached pouch so as to fully contain an article inside of the pouch in figures 8-18. Examiner submits that the pouch of Vanneste as modified is fully capable of being inverted in the same manner as the pouch is also permanently attached to the article via sewing (see paragraph 54 and figure 2 of Jariwala).
Although Vanneste as modified teaches a polyester fabric, it does not explicitly disclose: a fabric comprising monofilament polyester.
However, Banks teaches a protective garment made of a fabric comprising monofilament polyester (“The static elimination garment of the present invention is constructed of a one hundred percent polyester monofilament fabric material which is intended to be worn as an overgarment covering clothes worn by the user.” column 1, lines 38-44).
Banks teaches analogous art to the instant application in the field of protective garments. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to make the polyester material as taught by Romano specifically a monofilament polyester, as taught by Banks, in order to “minimize static electricity generating in a controlled environment (clean room)” (Banks, column 1, lines 6-10), which will improve safety for the user when working in a controlled environment. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIANNA T. DUCKWORTH/Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/PATRICK J. LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732