DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 03/17/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-13 have been cancelled and new claims 14-25 have been added.
Newly submitted claims 21-25 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the original invention, as set forth in claims 14-20, is directed towards an implantable device, while the invention of claims 21-25 is directed towards a method of treating a regurgitation of blood flow through a diseased cardiac valve. The inventions are related as product and process of use; the inventions can be shown to be distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) the process for using the product as claimed can be practiced with another materially different product or (2) the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process of using that product. See MPEP § 806.05(h). In the instant case the product as claimed can be used in a materially different process as being placed in a venous valve and/or implanted such that the central member is perpendicular to a valve annulus, not extending obliquely.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 21-25 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the implantable device comprising an annular member, a central member, and at least one connection member fixedly supporting the central member from the annular member such that the entirety of a distal portion of the central member is permanently spaced apart from the annular member, and wherein the central member being configured with a curved shape to facilitate leaflet coaptation (claim 17), and the implantable device comprising an annular member, a central member, and at least one connection member fixedly supporting the central member from the annular member such that the entirety of a distal portion of the central member is permanently spaced apart from the annular member, and wherein the central member has a croissant shape (claim 18) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 14 sets forth the parameters of “at least one connection member fixedly supporting the central member” (emphasis added), on line 6, “the central member is permanently spaced apart from the annular member” (emphasis added), on the 2nd to last line, and the central member “is not pivotally mounted relative to the annular member” (emphasis added), on the last line of the claim; however, none of these parameters were ever mentioned in the originally filed disclosure. Specifically, the originally filed specification never specifically mentions that the at least one connection member “fixedly” supports the central member, nor is it ever mentioned that the central member is “permanently” spaced apart from the annular member, or that the central member is “not pivotally” mounted relative to the annular member.
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14 sets forth the parameters of “the central member is permanently spaced apart from the annular member” (emphasis added), on the 2nd to last line and the central member “is not pivotally mounted relative to the annular member” (emphasis added), on the last line of the claim; however, these parameters are found to be confusing since it is not clear what exactly is meant by the terms “permanently” and “not pivotally”. Specifically, does “permanently” mean that the central member is always connected to the annular member, i.e. it is not modular/removable, or does it mean that the central member is not movable in reference to/at a fixed distance from the annular member; and does “not pivotally” mean the same as “permanently”, or does it mean the central member is not movable in reference to/at a fixed distance from the annular member, or can it move, but not flex, or do these terms mean something else completely different. Furthermore, the originally filed disclosure does not aid in clarifying these terms since it is completely silent regarding these terms; thus, one having ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably be apprised of the scope of the invention, thereby rendering the claim indefinite.
Examiner’s Notes
It is to be noted that in device/apparatus claims only the claimed structure of the final device bears patentable weight, and intended use/functional language is considered to the extent that it further defines the claimed structure of the final device (see MPEP 2114).
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant(s) fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Navia (US PG Pub. 2015/0094803), as disclosed in the IDS dated 05/02/2022.
Regarding claims 14-18, Navia discloses an implantable device (10), illustrated in Figures 1A-1D, for repairing a cardiac valve having an annulus and two or more leaflets ([0083], Lines 1-4), the device (10) comprising an annular member (40) having a longitudinal axis (LA), the annular member (40) being dimensioned to attach to the annulus of the cardiac valve; a central member (60) having a longitudinal axis (CL), a distal portion (DP), a proximal portion (PP), a rigid or semi-rigid configuration and is configured with a curved/croissant shape to facilitate leaflet coaptation; and at least one connection member (62) fixedly supporting the central member (60) from the annular member (40); wherein the connection member (62) is configured such that the entirety of the distal portion of the central member (60) is permanently spaced apart from the annular member (40) and is not pivotally mounted relative to the annular member (40), and the connection member (62) is configured to maintain the longitudinal axis (CL) of the central member (60) at a predetermined angle (A), between 10 degrees and 60 degrees, relative to the longitudinal axis (LA) of the annular member (40) to induce the leaflets to contact toward the central member during systole, illustrated in Figures 1A-1D and modified figure 1D, below ([0084]; [0090]; [0091], Lines 1-2; [0097] & [0098]).
Claims 14, 15, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He (US PG Pub. 2010/0262233).
Regarding claim 14, He discloses an implantable device, illustrated in Figures 5A-5F, for repairing a cardiac valve having an annulus and two or more leaflets, illustrated in Figures 3A-4B ([0019] – [0022]), the device comprising an annular member (4.1) having a longitudinal axis (AL), the annular member being dimensioned to attach to the annulus (2.1) of the cardiac valve (2); a central member (4.2) having a longitudinal axis (CL), a distal portion, and a proximal portion; and at least one connection member (CM) fixedly supporting the central member (4.2) from the annular member (4.1); wherein the connection member (CM) is configured such that the entirety of the distal portion of the central member (4.2) is permanently spaced apart from the annular member (4.1) and is not pivotally mounted relative to the annular member (4.1), illustrated in Figures 5A-8, 12A-12C and modified figure 12A, below ([043] – [0045]; [0052] – [0055] & [0060]).
Regarding claim 15, He discloses the device according to claim 14, wherein the connection member (CM) is configured to maintain the longitudinal axis (CL) of the central member (4.2) at a predetermined angle (q) relative to the longitudinal axis (AL) of the annular member (4.1) to induce the leaflets (2.2/2.3) to contact toward the central member (4.2) during systole, illustrated in Figures 6A, 8, 12A-12C and modified figure 12A, above ([0053]; [0054]; [0056] & [0060]).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, He discloses the device according to claim 14, wherein the central member (4.2) has a rigid/semi-rigid configuration and is configured with a curved/croissant shape to facilitate leaflet coaptation, illustrated in Figures 5A-5F ([0053]).
Regarding claim 20, He discloses the device according to claim 14, wherein the entire central member (4.2) is dimensioned to be placed entirely between the leaflets (2.2/2.3), illustrated in Figures 6B and 8.
Claims 14, 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chau et al. (US PG Pub. 2011/0137397), hereinafter Chau.
Regarding claim 14, Chau discloses an implantable device (3000), illustrated in Figures 71-74, for repairing a cardiac/mitral valve having an annulus (8) and two or more leaflets (12), illustrated in Figure 74 ([0158] & [0165]), the device (3000) comprising an annular member (3012&3014) having a longitudinal axis (AL), the annular member being dimensioned to attach to the annulus of the cardiac/mitral valve; a central member (3004) having a longitudinal axis (CL), a distal portion (DP), and a proximal portion (PP); and at least one connection member (3006) fixedly supporting the central member (3004) from the annular member (3012&314); wherein the connection member (3006) is configured such that the entirety of the distal portion (DP) of the central member is permanently spaced apart from the annular member (3012&314) and is not pivotally mounted relative to the annular member (3012&314), illustrated in Figures 71-74 and modified figure 71, below ([0159]; [0161] & [0163]).
Regarding claim 15, Chau discloses the device according to claim 14, wherein the connection member (3006) is configured to maintain the longitudinal axis (CL) of the central member (3004) at a predetermined angle relative to the longitudinal axis (AL) of the annular member (3012&314) to induce the leaflets (12) to contact toward the central member (3004) during systole, illustrated in Figures 71-74, 79 and modified figure 71, above.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Chau discloses the device according to claim 14, wherein the central member (3004) has a rigid or semi-rigid configuration and is configured with a curved/croissant shape to facilitate leaflet coaptation, illustrated in Figure 71 ([00159]).
Regarding claim 19, Chau discloses the device according to claim 14, wherein the proximal portion (PP) of the central member (3004) is configured to be placed in an atrium (4) and the distal portion (DP) is configured to traverse the leaflets (12) into a ventricle (6), illustrated in Figure 71, 79 and modified 71, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over He.
Regarding claim 16, He discloses the device according to claim 15, wherein the predetermined angle is between 10 degrees and 60 degrees, illustrated in Figures 12A-12C and modified figure 12A, above. It is to be noted that the angles depicted in Figures 12A-12C visual represent angles between 10 degrees and 60 degrees; and though it is not specifically stated that the angles are between 10 degrees and 60 degrees, it would have been obvious, and well within the capability of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to determine an appropriate predetermined angle, including between 10 degrees and 60 degrees, based on specific patient need/anatomy, and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chau.
Regarding claim 16, Chau discloses the device according to claim 15, and though it is not specifically disclosed that the predetermined angle is between 10 degrees and 60 degrees, this parameter is deemed to be a mere matter of normal design choice, not involving a novel, inventive step. It would have been obvious, and well within the capability of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to determine an appropriate predetermined angle, including between 10 degrees and 60 degrees, based on specific patient need/anatomy, and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
/DINAH BARIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 09/30/2026