DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
The Objection of Claims 16, 20 – 24 and 26 – 27 for the limitation “and the orientation property of the screen of each smartwatch includes identifying a broadcast direction of the main screen” is withdrawn in light of the amendment to at least Claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 20 – 24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii (U.S. PG Pub 2005/0174302) in view of Goel et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2014/0313103) in view of Vinmani et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2016/0366267).
Regarding Claim 16, Ishii teaches a method for managing a display interface (Figures 10 - 12, Elements 10-1 - 10-3. Paragraph 100) formed of a plurality of display screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) of a plurality of smartwatches (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 72) worn on parts of the body of users, which parts are capable of moving or are moving, said smartwatches (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 72) being capable of moving or moving (Paragraph 101) with respect to one another and being located in proximity of one another, wherein each of the plurality of smartwatches (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 72) includes one of a plurality of display screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72), the method comprising the following steps:
estimating at least one broadcasting property (Figure 3, Elements 17 and 18. Paragraph 78) of each display screen of the plurality of display screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) in said display interface (Figures 10 - 12, Elements 10-1 - 10-3. Paragraph 100) which they form together;
managing the display of a visual message (Figures 10 - 12, Element Apple. Paragraph 109) on the display interface (Figures 10 - 12, Elements 10-1 - 10-3. Paragraph 100) comprising a substep of generating portions (Seen in Figure 12) of said visual message (Figures 10 - 12, Element Apple. Paragraph 109) intended to be displayed on the display screen of each smartwatch (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 72) worn by a plurality of different users (Figure 17. Paragraph 168), the portions are generated as a function of measurement data (Paragraph 101) relating to the at least one broadcasting property (Figure 3, Elements 17 and 18. Paragraph 78), the at least one broadcasting property (Figure 3, Elements 17 and 18. Paragraph 78) includes each of a location property (Paragraphs 105 - 107) and an orientation property (Paragraph 101), the location property (Paragraphs 105 - 107) being a location of each watch relative to the other smartwatches (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 72) worn by a plurality of different users (Figure 17. Paragraph 168), the location property (Paragraphs 105 - 107) including a distance (Paragraph 175) between a plurality of screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) of the plurality of display screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) worn by a plurality of different users (Figure 17. Paragraph 168), the screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) form the display interface (Figures 10 - 12, Elements 10-1 - 10-3. Paragraph 100) and the orientation property (Paragraph 101) of the display screen of each smartwatch (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 72) includes identifying a broadcast direction of the display screen;
identifying a plurality of display screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) to be activated (Element not labeled, but is the display device within the predetermined distance. Paragraphs 174 – 176) and one or more screens of the plurality of display screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) to be in a second mode (Element not labeled, but is the display device not within the predetermined distance. Paragraphs 174 – 176), the identifying based on each of the distance (Element predetermined distance. Paragraphs 174 – 176) between the plurality of display screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) and the orientation property (Paragraph 101) of each display screen; and
broadcasting portions (Seen in Figure 12) of said message on each activated screen of the plurality of display screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) constituting this display interface (Figures 10 - 12, Elements 10-1 - 10-3. Paragraph 100);
wherein the display management step comprises a substep of designing a mapping relating to the position of all the smartwatches (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 72) of the activated screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) of the plurality of display screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) constituting and forming the display interface (Figures 10 - 12, Elements 10-1 - 10-3. Paragraph 100), said design substep comprising a phase of selecting screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) of the plurality of display screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) which are most suitable for (Paragraph 152) broadcasting the visual message (Figures 10 - 12, Element Apple. Paragraph 109) produced, based on the orientation (Paragraph 101) of the activated screens and of the distance (Paragraph 175) which separates the activated screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) of the plurality of display screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72), and
wherein each display screen is positioned in a corresponding watch strap (Seen in Figure 1) of the smartwatch (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 72).
Ishii is silent with regards to wherein the second mode is deactivated; wherein each of the plurality of smartwatch includes a main screen and one of the plurality of display screens, the main screen and the display screen for each smartwatch are spaced apart from each other; wherein the main screen is dedicated to the display of information specifically or exclusively intended for the user thereof.
Goel et al. teach wherein the second mode is deactivated (Figure 10E, Element power off. Paragraph 93).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the display device of Ishii with the display coordination of Goel et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Ishii with the teachings of Goel et al. is to save power, as taught by Goel et al. (Paragraph 93).
Vinmani et al. teach wherein each of the plurality of smartwatch includes a main screen (Figure 1, Element 106. Paragraph 31) and one of the plurality of display screens (Figure 1, Element 108. Paragraph 31), the main screen (Figure 1, Element 106. Paragraph 31) and the display screen (Figure 1, Element 108. Paragraph 31) for each smartwatch (Figure 1, Element 102. Paragraph 29) are spaced apart from each other (Seen in Figure 1), and wherein each display screen (Figure 1, Element 108. Paragraph 31) is a secondary display screen (Figure 1, Element 108. Paragraph 31) of these smartwatches, and each secondary screen (Figure 1, Element 108. Paragraph 31) is in a corresponding watch strap (Figure 1, Element not labeled, but is the strap. Paragraph 31) of the smartwatch (Figure 1, Element 102. Paragraph 29); and wherein the main screen (Figure 1, Element 106. Paragraph 31) is dedicated to the display of information specifically or exclusively intended for the user thereof (Seen in Figures 6a – 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of a user worn display device of Ishii and the display coordination of Goel et al. with the teachings of the multiple screen device of Vinmani et al. The motivation to modify the teachings of Ishii and Goel et al. with the teachings of Vinmani et al. is to provide the user with privacy or secrecy to the user, as taught by Vinmani et al. (Paragraph 48).
Regarding Claim 20, Ishii in view of Goel et al. in view of Vinmani et al. teach the method according to claim 16 (See Above). Ishii teaches wherein the estimation step comprises a substep of transmission (Figure 3, Element 18. Paragraph 78) by the smartwatches (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 72) of said measurement data (Paragraph 101) to a management server (Figure 7, Element 5. Paragraph 78) of the display interface (Figures 10 - 12, Elements 10-1 - 10-3. Paragraph 100).
Regarding Claim 21, Ishii in view of Goel et al. in view of Vinmani et al. teach the method according to claim 16 (See Above). Ishii teaches wherein the display management step comprises a substep of producing the visual message (Figures 10 - 12, Element Apple. Paragraph 109) to be displayed on said display interface (Figures 10 - 12, Elements 10-1 - 10-3. Paragraph 100).
Regarding Claim 22, Ishii in view of Goel et al. in view of Vinmani et al. teach the method according to claim 16 (See Above). Ishii teaches wherein the display screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) of the smartwatches (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 72) are each specifically dedicated to (Seen in Figure 12) and configured for the display of a portion of visual message (Figures 10 - 12, Element Apple. Paragraph 109) transmitted by the management server (Figure 7, Element 5. Paragraph 78).
Regarding Claim 23, Ishii in view of Goel et al. in view of Vinmani et al. teach the method according to claim 16 (See Above). Ishii teaches wherein the display screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) of the smartwatches (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 72) each have the sole function of (Seen in Figure 12) displaying a portion of the visual message (Figures 10 - 12, Element Apple. Paragraph 109) transmitted by the management server (Figure 7, Element 5. Paragraph 78).
Regarding Claim 24, Ishii in view of Goel et al. in view of Vinmani et al. teach the method according to claim 16 (See Above). Ishii teaches wherein the display screens (Figure 1, Element 11. Paragraph 72) of the smartwatches (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 72) each have the sole function and/or purpose of (Seen in Figure 12) constituting said display interface (Figures 10 - 12, Elements 10-1 - 10-3. Paragraph 100).
Regarding Claim 27, Ishii in view of Goel et al. in view of Vinmani et al. teach a non-transitory computer readable medium storing computer readable instructions thereon that when executed by a computer cause the computer to perform a method according to claim 16 (See Above). Ishii teaches when said program is executed by processing units (Figure 3, Element 14. Paragraph 74) of a smartwatch (Figure 1, Element 10. Paragraph 72) and a management server (Figure 7, Element 5. Paragraph 78) of the display interface (Figures 10 - 12, Elements 10-1 - 10-3. Paragraph 100).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the first argument, in which the applicant asserts that the prior art of record fails to teach at least the components of instant Claim 16. The applicant argues that Vinmani et al. fails to disclose at least an orientation property for the secondary display. The examiner notes that Vinmani et al. is not relied upon for teaching the orientation property. Ishii discloses “That is, the display device 10 according to the present embodiment differs from the display device 10 in the first embodiment in that a sensor 17 has a function serving as an operation unit, a function serving as a rotational position detector, and a receiver 104 and a transmitter 105 permitting short-distance radio communication having directivity. When the sensor 17 functions as the operation unit, it has an acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, etc., for example, as a sensor, and detects a state where the user swings his or her arm, for example, to perform various types of operations such as selection of a display image and start/stop of display. When the sensor 17 functions as the rotational position detector, at least one LED 60 and a plurality of photodiodes 61 are provided on each of both side surfaces of the display device, as shown in FIG. 11, for example, as a sensor. In FIG. 11, one LED 60 and 36 photodiodes 61 are arranged (Paragraph 101. Emphasis Added).” Since Ishii is relied upon and not Vinmani et al., Vinmani et al. need not teach the orientation property. The Office is unmoved by the applicant’s argument, and the rejection is maintained.
Regarding the second argument, in which the applicant asserts that there is no motivation or suggestion in the applied prior art to modify the structure of Ishii with the displays of Vinmani et al. The applicant alleges that the structure of Ishii would require a substantial redesign to accommodate the screens of Vinmani et al. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s assertion. Vinmani et al. discloses "The secondary display 108 is strategically embedded on the strap of the wearable device 102 at a position which offers the user privacy or secrecy when the user is wearing the wearable device 102. Thus, the indication of the incoming notification may not be directly visible to the user other than the user in possession of the wearable device 102 (Paragraph 48)." Therefore, the motivation from the Final Office Action (April 2, 2026), Paragraph 11. "to provide the user with privacy or secrecy to the user" is taken directly from Vinmani et al. The Office is unmoved by the applicant's argument, and the rejection is maintained.
All other arguments are considered moot in light of the above rejection and/or the response to the first argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mager et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2003/0017823) disclose a mobile device where a secondary display screen (Element 714) is used in a venue event in order for multiple users to make visible displays, similar to the instant invention.
DePrycker et al. (U.S. PG Pub 2009/0230895) disclose and LED unit that is used in an arena in order to make a visible display in the crowd, similar to the instant invention.
Chang (U.S. PG Pub 2014/0009366) disclose a plurality for display devices that are put in a matrix form in order to create a bigger display area, similar to the instant invention.
/A.B.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625