DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 4, 7-13, and 15-16 are under examination.
Claims 2-3, 5-6, and 14 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2020/0388891 A1 as previously cited), hereinafter Choi, in view of Choi et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2018/0331336 (A1), hereinafter Choi ‘336, in view of Yong et al. (KR20190106715 (A1) and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Yong.
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a battery module comprising: a battery cell stack comprising a plurality of battery cells (i.e., at least battery module ref. 100 including battery cell stack ref. 1, etc., as disclosed in [0040], whereby the battery cell stack ref. 1 is formed by stacking a plurality of battery cells ref. 10 illustrated in Fig. 4, etc., as disclosed in [0041], also see [0015], [0042]-[0046], [0064]-[0065], [0068], Fig. 2, 4-6),
a housing for the battery cell stack (i.e., at least case ref. 30, etc., as disclosed in [0040], lacking any further distinction thereof as to said housing, also see [0064], [0078], [0080]-[0081], [0090]-[0091], [0094]-[0095], Figs. 1-2),
and a heat conductive pad between an upper part of the housing and the battery cell stack (i.e., at least heat transfer member ref. 90 may be filled between the battery cells ref. 10 and the second plate ref. 40, etc., as disclosed in [0089] and as shown in at least Fig. 2, such that as disclosed in [0091] said heat transfer member ref. 90 may be disposed on the inner surface of the case ref. 30 in the form of a pad, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said heat transfer member is at least a heat conductive pad so as to be formed of a material having a relatively high thermal conductivity as disclosed in [0090], and lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0040], [0078], [0090]-[0096], Figs. 4-6).
Since Choi discloses in [0092] the second sealing portion ref. 2022 may be disposed in a form that is embedded in the heat transfer member ref. 90, etc., this at least provides the head conductive pad comprises a recessed pattern on a surface of the heat conductive pad facing the battery cell stack, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said heat conductive pad (i.e., at least heat transfer member as discussed above) at least comprises a recessed pattern on a surface of said heat conductive pad facing the battery cell stack so as to be embedded as shown in Annotated Fig. 4 (also see Fig. 6, [0053], [0058]-[0062], [0066]-[0067], [0092]-[0093]),
and wherein the recessed pattern corresponds to a first end part of each of the plurality of the battery cells (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0058] the second sealing portion ref. 2022 in which the electrode lead ref. 15 is not disposed, from among the sealing portions ref. 202 according to this embodiment, is folded twice and is then fixed by an adhesive member ref. 17, etc., and as shown in Annotated Fig. 4), lacking any further distinction thereof as to said first end part (also see [0059]-[0060], [0062], [0066]).
Choi further discloses each of the plurality of battery cells comprises a cell case and an electrode assembly in the cell case (i.e., at least receiving portion ref. 204 is formed to have a container shape to provide a quadrangular-shaped interior space, whereby the electrode assembly and the electrolyte are accommodated in the internal space of the receiving portion ref. 204, etc., as disclosed in [0050], lacking any further distinction thereof as to said cell case, electrode assembly, etc., also see [0043]-[0046], [0049], [0051], [0056], [0069], Fig. 3).
Choi further discloses each of the plurality of battery cells has a double-folded sealing part, wherein the double-folded sealing part is a sealing part of the cell case folded at least twice (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0058] the second sealing portion ref. 2022 in which the electrode lead ref. 15 is not disposed, from among the sealing portions ref. 202 according to this embodiment, is folded twice and is then fixed by an adhesive member ref. 17, etc., and as shown in Fig. 3) (also see [0013], [0057]-[0060], Fig. 4), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Choi further discloses the recessed pattern of the heat conductive pad comprises a plurality of recessed parts (See Annotated Fig. 4), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said heat conductive pad (i.e., at least heat transfer member as discussed above) comprises a recessed pattern on a surface of said heat conductive pad facing the battery cell stack so as to be embedded as shown in Annotated Fig. 4 (also see Fig. 6, [0053], [0058]-[0062], [0066]-[0067], [0092]-[0093]).
Choi further discloses each of the plurality of recessed parts includes a first inclined surface and a second inclined surface (See Fig. 4), such that first/second surface(s) may be any surface of said heat conductive pad (i.e., at least heat transfer member as discussed above), such as a left and right side of said first end part, and lacking any further structural distinction thereof as to said surface(s).
However, Choi appears silent as to each of the plurality of recessed parts includes a first inclined surface and a second inclined surface that are inclined at different angles. Furthermore, Choi is silent as to the battery module further comprises a heat conductive resin member between the recessed pattern of the heat conductive pad and the first end part of the battery cell, and wherein the heat conductive resin member is installed before curing a heat conductive resin by pressing the heat conductive pad onto the battery cell stack for minimizing an air gap between the heat conductive pad and the battery cell stack. Furthermore, Choi is silent as to the first inclined surface of each recessed part contacts the first end part of each battery cell, and the second inclined surface of each recessed part contacts the double-folded sealing part that is folded away from the first end part of each battery cell.
Choi ‘336 teaches a battery module (Title). Choi ‘336 further teaches each of the plurality of recessed parts includes a first inclined surface and a second inclined surface that are inclined at different angles (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Figs. 9 and 11, also see [0014], [0072], [0120]-[0121], [0131]-[0132], and lacking any further distinction thereof).
Choi ‘336 further teaches the battery module further comprises a heat conductive member between the recessed pattern of the heat conductive pad and the first end part of the battery cell, (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 9, also see [0072]-[0077], [0079]-[0083], [0091], [0095], [0109]-[0110], [0117], [0141]-[0142]).
Choi ‘336 further teaches the first inclined surface of each recessed part contacts the first end part of each battery cell, and the second inclined surface of each recessed part contacts the double-folded sealing part that is folded away from the first end part of each battery cell (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Figs. 9 and 11, also see [0014], [0072], [0120]-[0121], [0131]-[0132], and lacking any further distinction thereof).
Choi ‘336 further teaches in [0012] the present disclosure is directed to providing a battery module, which may secure an efficient cooling capability, have a simple and stable structure, facilitate reduction in weight and size, and save manufacturing costs, and a battery pack and an automobile including the battery module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi with the teachings of Choi ‘336, whereby the battery module including the heat conductive pad including a plurality of recessed parts as disclosed by Choi further includes each of the plurality of recessed parts includes a first inclined surface and a second inclined surface that are inclined at different angles, a heat conductive member between the recessed pattern of the heat conductive pad and the first end part of the battery cell, the first inclined surface of each recessed part contacts the first end part of each battery cell, and the second inclined surface of each recessed part contacts the double-folded sealing part that is folded away from the first end part of each battery cell as taught by Choi ‘336 so as to provide a battery module, which may secure an efficient cooling capability, have a simple and stable structure, facilitate reduction in weight and size, and save manufacturing costs, and a battery pack and an automobile including the battery module.
However, as discussed above, the combined teachings of Choi and Choi ‘336 are silent as to a heat conductive resin member. Yong teaches a battery module and its manufacturing method (Title). Yong further teaches in [0018] a heat transfer member can be applied in a state where the adhesion portion side is positioned on the upper side of the plurality of stacked battery cells, etc., and further teaches in [0053] the heat transfer member ref. 30 may include a resin layer such as a heat adhesive including a filler having heat transfer performance, etc., which at least provides the battery module further comprises a heat conductive resin member on the first end part of the battery cell (also see [0007], Fig. 6, [0009]-[0010], [0012], [0014]-[0016], [0019]-[0021], [0023], [0025], [0028]-[0029], [0031], [0032]-[0040], [0049], [0054]-[0055], [0073]-[0074], [0079]).
Yong further teaches in [0013] embodiments of the present invention provide a battery module and a manufacturing method thereof that can block the possibility of air pockets forming in a concave portion or the like formed on one surface of a battery cell after applying a heat transfer member, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi and Choi ‘336 further with the teachings of Yong, whereby the battery module including the heat conductive pad including a plurality of recessed parts, heat conductive member, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Choi and Choi ‘336 further includes a heat conductive resin member (i.e., at least resin layer such as a heat adhesive) adhered to the first end part of the battery cell, etc., as taught by Yong so as to provide a battery module and a manufacturing method thereof that can block the possibility of air pockets forming in a concave portion or the like formed on one surface of a battery cell after applying a heat transfer member, etc.
As to the limitation, the heat conductive resin member is installed before curing a heat conductive resin by pressing the heat conductive pad onto the battery cell stack for minimizing an air gap between the heat conductive pad and the battery cell stack, since the combined teachings of Choi and Choi ‘336 and Yong disclose the battery module including the heat conductive resin, heat conductive pad, battery cell stack and minimized air gap between the heat conductive pad and the battery cell stack as discussed above, this provides an identical and/or substantially identical product to that claimed, such that the method of making said product is not commensurate in scope with the product as claimed, and since this appears to be a product-by-process, the product is not limited by the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP 2113, I., II.), which is at least met by combined teachings of Choi and Choi ‘336 and Yong.
Annotated Figure 4 (Choi)
Annotated Figure 9 (Choi ‘336)
Annotated Figure 11 (Choi ‘336)
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 1. Choi further discloses an electrode lead protruding from at least one of both side surfaces of the plurality of battery cells disposed along a direction perpendicular to the first end part of the plurality of battery cells (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0053] the sealing portion ref. 202 may be divided into a first sealing portion ref. 2021 in which the electrode lead ref. 15 is disposed and a second sealing portion ref. 2022 in which the electrode lead ref. 15 is not disposed, etc., such that as shown in Figs. 2-3 the electrode leads refs. 15 at least protrude from at least one of both side surfaces of the plurality of battery cells ref. 10 disposed along a direction perpendicular to the first end part ref. 2022 of the plurality of battery cells, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0042], [0046]-[0048], [0056], [0058], [0069], [0081], [0097]),
wherein each of the plurality of battery cells has a rectangular shape with a longer side of the battery cell oriented in a direction in which the electrode lead protrudes (i.e., at least as shown in Figs. 2-3), such that as shown in Fig. 3 said battery cells at least have a rectangular shape with a longer side oriented in a direction in which the electrode protrudes, such as the electrode lead ref. 15 disposed along a cell center line ref. P1 passing through the center of the receiving portion ref. 204, etc., as disclosed in [0069], lacking any further distinction thereof (also see Abstract, [0050], [0055]).
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 1. Choi discloses the double-folded sealing part of each of the plurality of battery cells comprises a plurality of inclined surfaces (See Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 6, lacking any further distinction thereof), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that a doubled-folded sealing part at least has surfaces (under broadest reasonable interpretation) that are inclined so as to be folded as shown in Annotated Fig. 3, and lacking any further structural distinction as to said inclined and/or surface(s), etc.
Furthermore, since Choi at least discloses a double-folded sealing part of each of the plurality of battery cells including inclined surface(s), a mere duplication of parts (i.e., plurality of incline surface(s)) has no patentable significance lacking a new and unexpected result (MPEP 2144.04, VI., B., In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
Choi further discloses the plurality of inclined surfaces of the double-folded sealing part are in contact with a plurality of surfaces of the heat conductive pad (See Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 6 and Annotated Fig. 4 above in claim 1), such that since Choi discloses the double-folded sealing part as discussed above in claim 3, and the plurality of recessed parts as discussed above in claim 5, etc., and further discloses in [0092] the second sealing portion ref. 2022 may be disposed in a form that is embedded in the heat transfer member ref. 90, etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate that the plurality of inclined surfaces of the double-folded sealing part are at least in contact with a plurality of surfaces of the heat conductive pad (e.g., in contact with side and top of double-folded sealing part) so as to be embedded in said heat conductive pad, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
In the alternative, the combined teachings of Choi and Lee and Lee ‘289 and Yong disclose the battery module as discussed above in claim 6. Lee teaches a battery module (Title). Lee further teaches each of the plurality of recessed parts includes a first inclined surface and a second inclined surface that are inclined at different angles (See Annotated Fig. 11 above in claim 1, also see Fig. 3, [0048], [0086]-[0087], [0090], [0092]). Lee further teaches in [0092] the upper plate ref. 700 may have a concave-convex structure on a lower surface thereof, like the concave and convex portions formed on the upper portion of the cooling plate ref. 200, concave and convex portions may be formed on a lower portion of the upper plate ref. 700 as shown in Fig. 3, whereby in this case, the standing position of the pouch-type secondary cells ref. 110 provided in the cell assembly ref. 100 may be more stably maintained, and even when the battery module is impacted or moved, relative movement of the secondary cells ref. 110 may be limited, thereby effectively preventing the secondary cells ref. 110 and connection parts between the secondary cells ref. 110 from being damaged, whereby in particular, the concave and convex portions of the upper plate ref. 700 may correspond to an upper-side shape of the secondary cells ref. 110, and for example as shown in Fig. 3, the concave portions of the upper plate ref. 700 may have inclined surfaces corresponding to the folded shape of the sealing portions of the secondary cells ref. 110, and in addition, the convex portions of the upper plate ref. 700 may have inclined surfaces having a slope corresponding to the accommodation parts of the secondary cells ref. 110, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Choi and Lee and Lee ‘289 and Yong further with the teachings of Lee, whereby the battery module including the heat conductive pad including a plurality of recessed parts as disclosed by the combined teachings of Choi and Lee and Lee ‘289 and Yong further includes each of the plurality of recessed parts includes a first inclined surface and a second inclined surface that are inclined at different angles as taught by Lee so as to correspond to an upper-side shape of the secondary cells, such that the standing position of the pouch-type secondary cells provided in the cell assembly may be more stably maintained, and even when the battery module is impacted or moved, relative movement of the secondary cells may be limited, thereby effectively preventing the secondary cells and connection parts between the secondary cells from being damaged.
Furthermore, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would appreciate that the plurality of inclined surfaces of the double-folded sealing part(s) as disclosed by the combined teachings of Choi and Lee and Lee ‘289 and Yong are at least in contact with a first and/or second inclined surfaces of each of the plurality of recessed parts of the heat conductive pad as taught by Lee so as to correspond to an upper-side shape of the secondary cells, such that the standing position of the pouch-type secondary cells provided in the cell assembly may be more stably maintained, and even when the battery module is impacted or moved, relative movement of the secondary cells may be limited, thereby effectively preventing the secondary cells and connection parts between the secondary cells from being damaged, and furthermore since Choi provides the express motivation in [0092] of the second sealing portion ref. 2022 disposed in a form that is embedded in the heat transfer member ref. 90 so that heat is released through the second sealing portion ref. 2022 and quickly transferred to the first and second plates refs. 50 and 40 through the heat transfer member ref. 90, the combined teachings of Choi and Lee and Lee ‘289 and Yong provide motivation so as to contact inclined surface(s) of the double-folded sealing part(s) with first/second inclined surface(s) of each of the plurality of recessed part(s) of the heat conductive pad so that heat is released through the second sealing portion and quickly transferred to the first and second plates through the heat transfer member (i.e., at least heat conductive pad).
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 1. Choi further discloses the heat conductive pad (i.e., at least heat transfer member as discussed above in claim 1) has a first surface facing the upper part of the housing (i.e., ref. 90 has a first surface facing an upper part of the second plate ref. 40 of the housing ref. 40 as shown in Annotated Fig. 4 above in claim 1, also see [0064], [0081], [0089]),
and a second surface facing the battery cell stack (See Annotated Fig. 4 above in claim 1),
and the first surface and the second surface are at least asymmetric with respect to each other (See Annotated Fig. 4 above in claim 1), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said heat conductive pad (i.e., at least heat transfer member as discussed above) at least comprises asymmetric surface(s) so as to provide a second surface of said heat conductive pad facing the battery cell stack, whereby said ref. 2022 are embedded as shown in Annotated Fig. 4 above in claim 1 (also see Fig. 6, [0053], [0058]-[0062], [0066]-[0067], [0092]-[0093]).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 8. Choi further discloses the first surface of the heat conductive pad has a surface parallel to the upper part of the housing (i.e., at least ref. 90 is parallel to ref. 40 as shown in Annotated Fig. 4 above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 1. However, Choi is silent as to the recessed pattern has a sawtooth shape.
Choi ‘336 teaches the recessed patterned has a sawtooth shape (See Annotated Figs. 9 and 11 above in claim 1), lacking any further structural distinction thereof as to said sawtooth shape as claimed. Choi ‘336 further teaches in [0012] the present disclosure is directed to providing a battery module, which may secure an efficient cooling capability, have a simple and stable structure, facilitate reduction in weight and size, and save manufacturing costs, and a battery pack and an automobile including the battery module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi with the teachings of Choi ‘336, whereby the battery module including the heat conductive pad including a plurality of recessed parts as disclosed by Choi further includes the recessed patterned has a sawtooth shape as taught by Choi ‘336 so as to provide a battery module, which may secure an efficient cooling capability, have a simple and stable structure, facilitate reduction in weight and size, and save manufacturing costs, and a battery pack and an automobile including the battery module.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since the combined teachings of Choi and Choi ‘336 disclose the recessed pattern as discussed above, that a change in shape is a matter of obvious engineering design choice so as to provide a battery module, which may secure an efficient cooling capability, have a simple and stable structure, facilitate reduction in weight and size, and save manufacturing costs, and a battery pack and an automobile including the battery module, and lacking any further structural distinction thereof (MPEP 2144.04, IV., B.).
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 1. Choi further discloses a heat conductive resin layer (i.e., at least heat transfer member as discussed above in claim 1) between the lower part of the housing and the battery cell stack (i.e., at least ref. 90 located between a first plate ref. 50(52) and battery cells as shown in Fig. 4, also see [0064], [0081]-[0082], [0085]-[0089] ), whereby as disclosed in [0090] the heat transfer member ref. 90 is formed of a material having a relatively high thermal conductivity, whereby, for example, the heat transfer member ref. 90 may be formed of any one of an epoxy resin, etc., which at least provides a heat conductive resin layer, such that said layer is at least shown in Fig. 4, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 12, Choi discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 11. Choi further discloses the housing comprises a frame including a bottom part and two side parts facing each other (See Annotated Fig. 2, also see [0064], [0081]-[0082], [0085]-[0086], [0088], Figs. 1 and 4-6),
and an upper plate covering an open upper part of the frame (See Annotated Fig. 2, also see [0064], [0081]-[0082], [0085]-[0086], [0088], Figs. 1 and 4-6),
and the heat conductive resin layer (see claim 11 above) is between the bottom part of the frame and the battery cell stack (See Annotated Fig. 2, also see [0089], [0091], [0096], Figs. 1 and 4-6).
Annotated Figure 2 (Choi)
Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 12. Choi further discloses the bottom part and the side parts of the frame member are integrally formed (See Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 12), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that since said first plate ref. 50 may include a lower plate ref. 52 disposed below the battery cell ref. 10 to support the lower surface of the battery cells ref. 10, and side plates ref. 58 supporting the sides of the battery cells ref. 10 on which the receiving portions ref. 204 are disposed, etc., that this at least provides said bottom part and side parts of the frame members are integrally formed so as to provide said frame as shown in Fig. 2, and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said integrally formed.
Regarding claim 16, Choi discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 1. However, Choi is silent as to the heat conductive pad is a compression pad.
The combined teachings of Choi and Choi ‘336 and Yong disclose the battery module as discussed above in claim 1. Lee ‘289 further teaches in [0052]-[0060] the cartridge (i.e., at least heat conductive pad as discussed above in claim 1) may be made of a composite material in which a general polymer is mixed with thermally-conductive fillers, whereby the filler may include silicon compound, etc., which at least provides a heat conductive pad that is a compression pad (i.e., as evidenced by the instant specification on Page 7:L18-22 whereby said heat conductive pad ref. 330 may be formed of a silicon-based material, etc.), such that since said heat conductive pad is identical and/or substantially identical to that claimed, properties and/or functions such as compression are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I., II.), lacking any further distinction thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Choi and Choi ‘336 and Yong further with the teachings of Lee ‘289, whereby the battery module including the heat conductive pad including a plurality of recessed parts as disclosed by the combined teachings of Choi and Choi ‘336 and Yong further includes heat conductive pad (i.e., at least cartridge) is a compression pad as taught by Lee ‘289 so that the heat of the secondary battery may be easily transferred to the cartridge, etc.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Choi ‘336 and Yong as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2018/0076493 A1), hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 15, Choi discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 1. However, Choi is silent as to a battery pack comprising the battery module of claim 1.
The combined teachings of Choi and Choi ‘336 and Yong disclose the battery module as discussed above in claim 1. Park teaches a battery module (Title). Park further teaches in [0004] when secondary batteries are used for medium and large equipment such as vehicles or power storage systems, many battery cells are electrically connected to each other to form a battery module or a battery pack to increase capacity and output. Park further teaches in in [0088] yet another aspect of the present invention also provides a battery pack, for example, a battery pack including two or more of the above-described battery modules, etc. (also see [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Choi and Choi ‘336 and Yong with the teachings of Park, whereby the battery module as disclosed by the combined teachings of Choi and Choi ‘336 and Yong further includes a battery pack that includes a battery module as taught by Park so as to increase capacity and output.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 11-13, and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Choi and Lee and Lee ‘289 and Yong have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Therefore, in light of the amendment(s) to the claims, a new grounds of 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections is made in view of Choi and Choi ‘336 for claims 1, 4, 7-13, and 16. See the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record for the claims that depend therefrom.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2011/0070474 A1) discloses a battery module of improved safety (Title), whereby as disclosed in [0046] two or more battery cells are folded in a stacked structure, and the folded battery cells are surrounded by a cell cover, to manufacture a plurality of unit modules, etc.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727