DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtani et al. (US 2016/0060582 A1) in view of Borrello (US 4,396,521).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 8-9, Ohtani teaches a liquid detergent composition for textile (abstract, 13, 143) comprising; a)- surfactants such as anionic (a.1) and nonionic (a.2) in the amounts of 3.5-50% and 0.5-50% respectively; [60, 51], wherein (instant claims 2-4) the instantly claimed ratio of (a1)/[(a1+a2)] is rendered obvious by a considerable overlap of values for the above ratio; [62]. c)- Ohtani teaches the instantly claimed (instant 1 & 8-9) antibacterial (a non-quaternary ammonium salt) compound with diphenyl ether backbone; [21-32].
b)- Ohtani does not teach the instantly claimed 1-dodecanol (or lauryl alcohol) but it teaches a low water soluble 1-2 propane diol which has a relative solvent properties, to 1-dodecanol, in amounts such as 1.2, 2.5 or 6%%; [Tables 3-4],. However, the analogous art of Borrello teaches a laundry detergent composition (3: 36, 56, 14: 7-8) comprising water insoluble solvent of lauryl alcohol (1-dodecanol) as cleaning ingredient: [9: 31]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to add lauryl alcohol of Morikawa to Ohtani’s composition to enhance its detersive and stain removing characteristics for lipophilic soils from textiles. This would, also, render (instant claim 5) the instantly claimed ratio of b/a by a considerable overlap with calculation using the corresponding amounts above
Regarding claim 7, Ohtani teaches the instant formula (I) for the nonionic surfactant as alkoxylated ether surfactant with R1 = C6-C22 wherein R2 = R3 of reference= H, CH3 and n=1-20; [52].
Regarding claim 10, Ohtani teaches the same method of washing (i.e. using); [71, 76], and rinsing; [90]. Furthermore Morikawa teaches the instant method similarly; [22: 62-67, 23: 1-10], and thus at the time before the effective filing date of invention it would have been obvious to apply it on textiles with composition of Ohtani as taught above.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtani et al. (US 2016/0060582 A1) Borrello (US 4,396,521), as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Morikawa et al. (US 11,124,743 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Ohtani does not teach the internal olefin sulfonate of claimed carbon numbers. However, analogous art of Morikawa teaches a liquid detergent composition for treating textiles (abstract, column 2, claims 1-2) comprising the nonionic surfactant of alpha olefin sulfonate of C10 to C18 alpha olefin sulfonate; [10: 60-64], which is a safe and a chemical ingredient with excellent foaming ability and hard water compatibility and is obvious to be add to Ohtani’s composition to remove the build ups as taught by Morikawa above.
Relevant art cited
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See all of cited references in PTO-892 which teach Lauryl alcohol (1-dodecanol).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection rely on new combination of references not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2025/09/12
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767