DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 5/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/30/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements dated 5/3/2022 and 7/11/2023 have been considered and made of record.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a squeezing-diluting-unpacking module” in claim 1;
“at least one settling module” in claim 1; and
“a thickening/dewatering module” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wiljan et al. (US 5,377,917).
The reference of Wiljan et al. discloses:
An apparatus (Figs. 1 and 2) for pretreatment of organic waste from the Organic Fraction of Municipal Solid Waste and/or from food industries, upstream of an anaerobic digester, the apparatus comprising:
- a squeezing-diluting-unpacking module (11, 12, 13) configured to receive an input waste stream of packaged waste (11) and a dilution fluid (process water)(50), to lacerate packaging of the packaged waste, and to output a coarser non-digestible stream (28) and a comparatively dirty and comparatively liquid slurry (24) (Note: As discussed previously, the claim element is considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f) and the structure of Wiljan et al. is considered a functional equivalent to that of the instant disclosure),
- at least one settling module (14, 18, 19, 20) connected to receive the comparatively dirty and comparatively liquid slurry (24) and configured to allow inerts in the comparatively dirty and comparatively liquid slurry (24) to sediment and to output a finer inerts stream (21) and a comparatively refined slurry (lightweight substances)(col. 7, lines 28-34) (Note: As discussed previously, the claim element is considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f) and the structure of Wiljan et al. is considered a functional equivalent to that of the instant disclosure),
- a thickening/dewatering module (35) connected to receive the comparatively refined slurry (lightweight substances) and configured to separate and output a liquid stream (36) and a comparatively dewatered slurry (38) wherein the comparatively dewatered slurry (38) is output to the anaerobic digester (43) and the liquid stream (36) is connected to supply liquid making up at least part of the dilution fluid (process water)(50) received at squeezing-diluting-unpacking module (11, 12, 13)(Figs. 1 and 2) (Note: As discussed previously, the claim element is considered to invoke 35 USC 112(f) and the structure of Wiljan et al. is considered a functional equivalent to that of the instant disclosure).
With respect to claim 4, in the absence of further positively recited structure, the apparatus disclosed by the reference of Wiljan et al. is considered to be structurally capable of providing the operating conditions required of claim 4. Note: Statements on intended use do not carry patentable weight in apparatus-type claims if the structure is the same and capable of providing the same intended conditions.
With respect to claim 11, the plant includes an anaerobic digester (43) is provided downstream of the thickening/dewatering module (35).
With respect to claim 13, the plant includes a buffering unit (39) arranged between thickening/dewatering module (35) and the anaerobic digester (43), the buffer unit (39) comprising a tank storing comparatively dewater slurry (38) and a pump (44) selectively pumping the comparatively dewatered slurry (38) through at least one grinder (45) to the downstream anaerobic digester (43).
With respect to claim 14, the buffer unit (39) lacks any recirculation of the comparatively dewatered slurry (38) through a sand trap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiljan et al. (US 5,377,917) in view of Gray et al. (US 7,410,583).
The reference of Wiljan et al. has been discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 11.
With respect to claims 5-10, the reference of Wiljan et al. does not disclose the specific features of claims 5-10.
The reference of Gray et al. discloses the following:
With respect to the settling module of claims 5 and 6, the reference of Gray et al. discloses a device for a similar anaerobic digestion system comprising a settling module that includes an elongate basin, the basin including at least one chamber, a worm screw extending on the bottom thereof and a motor operable to drive rotation of the worm screw at a comparatively low speed for collecting the inerts that sediment from the comparatively dirty slurry (Figs. 1-3) and the bottom portion of the elongate basin of the settling module is divided into at least two chambers, each chamber having tapered walls, and the worm screw is a first worm screw extending on the bottom of one respective chamber and one or more other worm screws respectively extend on the bottom of the other respective ones of the chambers (Figs. 8 and 9).
With respect to claim 7, the reference of Gray et al. discloses the squeezing-diluting-unpacking module includes an upwardly conveying worm screw rotating at a comparatively high speed within a cylindrical filter enclosed by a nozzled manifold for inletting the dilution fluid (Fig. 11).
With respect to claim 8, the reference of Gray et al. discloses the thickening/dewatering module includes a solid separator that includes a case under pressure, a fine filter and a coaxially inner worm screw being arranged in case, the inner worm screw rotating at a comparatively low speed (Figs. 4 and 5).
With respect to claims 9 and 10, the reference of Gray et al. discloses the squeezing-diluting-unpacking module, said at least one settling module, and said thickener/dewatering module are all included in a single structure, forming one and the same machine (Fig. 6); and the structure of said machine is formed from plural frames assembled together, wherein each of said squeezing-diluting-unpacking module, said at least one settling module, and said thickener/dewatering module has such a size as to allow shipment with a standard shipping container, or wherein the squeezing-diluting-unpacking module and the settling module together have such a size as to allow shipment with a standard shipping container (Fig. 6).
In view of the above teachings and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system disclosed in Wiljan et al. by incorporating the known machine structures disclosed by Gray et al. to affect pre-treatment as would have been conventional in the art as evidenced by the reference of Gray et al.
With respect to claim 12, the reference of Wiljan et al. discloses the treatment of the wastewater from the anaerobic digester (Fig. 1) but does not disclose a solid separator and/or returning of the liquid as process water.
The reference of Gray discloses that it is known in the art to provide a solid separator (63) in communication with an anaerobic digester (60) and return the separated liquid as process water (Fig. 1).
In view of these teachings and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the plant of the primary reference with a solid separator and waster water treatment plant as is conventional in the art for treating and returning surplus water to the initial processing station as is conventional in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2 and 3 would be allowable because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest an apparatus for pretreatment of organic waste, in the claimed environment or scope of claim, that includes a dry matter content sensor arranged between said squeezing-diluting-unpacking module and said at least one settling module and a controller configured to receive an output signal from the dry matter content sensor and to provide a control signal input to a control valve configured to meter the dilution fluid input to the squeezing-diluting-unpacking module.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references of Josse et al. (US 2016/0346788) and Grotebevelsborg (WO 2017/076514) are cited as organic waste processing devices.
/William H. Beisner/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1799
WHB