Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9-10, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0125029 in view of Chou, U.S. Patent No. 8,772,401, JP 2018-015149A, Gilbert et al, U.S. Patent No. 3,735,511 and Cohen, U.S. Patent No. 4,405,730.
Edwards discloses a material suitable for use in making shoes. See paragraph 0002. Edwards teaches the composition can include polyolefin copolymers including random or block copolymers and polyvinyl acetate copolymers and mixtures thereof. See paragraph 0138-0143.
With regard to the claims as amended 1/23/26, the polymer can further comprise acid-modified polyethylene, (see paragraph 0132 which teaches employing a polyethylene copolymer derived from monomers of monolefins and diolefins copolymerizing with acrylic acid or methacrylic acid which are carboxylic acids), however, Edwards does not teach employing maleic acid to modify the polyethylene.
However, Chou teaches that in addition to acrylic acid or methacrylic acid, it was known to modify polyolefins with maleic acid. See col. 2, line 59 – col. 3, line 7.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used other known and useful carboxylic acids such as maleic acid to modify the polyethylene of Edwards, in view of the teaching of Chou that maleic acid was a known equivalent to acrylic acid and methacrylic acid for use in forming compositions for use in shoes.
The composition can further comprise fillers such as talc, calcium and magnesium carbonate and silica and cellulose fibers. See paragraph 0148.
Edwards differs from the claimed invention because it does not teach that the cellulose fibers are nanofibers.
However, JP 2018-015149A teaches that cellulose fibers having a fiber diameter of 2-1000 nm and a length of 0.1-1000 microns are suitable for use as filler in shoes and that the nanocellulose improves the anti-slip properties of the shoe and also decreases the weight of the shoe. See paragraph 0020 of the translation supplied in the IDS filed 5/3/22.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed nano sized cellulose fibers in the composition of Edwards in order to improve the anti-slip properties and reduce the weight of the shoe.
Edwards differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose that the resin is foamed.
However, Gilbert teaches employing foamed resins to form a portion of a shoe. See col. 4, line 32 – col. 5, line 56. Gilbert teaches that the resulting shoes have excellent comfort and adhesion of the various layers together. Further, one of ordinary skill would have expected that the shoes comprising foam would be lighter and have more cushioning properties due to the presence of the foam.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have foamed the resin of Edwards in order to provide a shoe having excellent comfort, adhesion between layers, which was also lighter and had good cushioning. Further, with regard to new claims 13-14, Gilbert teaches employing the foamed polymers as soles and insoles and therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed the structure of Edwards as modified as an insole or midsole or outer sole in a footwear structure, in order to provide a comfortable, strongly bonded midsole to the shoe.
Edwards teaches silica particles but does not clearly teach fumed silica.
However, Cohen teaches employing fumed silica as a filler in polymer compositions comprising cellulose flock which are useful for forming shoes. See abstract and Table III.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have added fumed silica in the composition of Edwards in view of its art recognized suitability as a filler for such compositions.
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 1/23/26 have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the previous rejection. A new rejection is set forth above.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789