DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asaba et al. US Publication 2016/0006961 (hereafter “Asaba”).
Referring to claims 1 and 9, Asaba discloses a gain modification device comprising:
a plurality of gain modification circuitries whose number corresponds to a number of a plurality of channels of a plurality of signals which are simultaneously input in parallel to the plurality of gain modification circuitries (paragraph 36, In the photoelectric conversion element 10, all of the pixels accumulate electric charges in a common exposure time, convert the electric charges to voltages, and store pixel signals in analog memories (capacitors) via switching elements), wherein each gain modification circuit of the plurality of gain modification circuitries is configured to modify a gain value used to amplify a corresponding signal of the plurality of signals based on a signal level of the corresponding signal (paragraph 31, The signal processing unit 14 includes n programmable gain amplifiers (PGAs) (amplifying units) 140, n analog-to-digital converters (ADCs) 142); and
a plurality of gain reflection control circuitries configured to change a timing at which the gain value is to be switched by the plurality of gain modification circuitries selectively for each channel of the plurality of channels (paragraph 36, A plurality of pixels (three pixels of red, green, and blue) constitute a single column, and are connected to the shared PGA 140 via the switching elements) such that:
the gain value of a first signal, of the plurality of signals and affecting a signal level a second signal of the plurality of signals due to a load change during switching of the gain value (paragraph 9, power, a ground voltage GND, and a reference voltage are supplied to the PGA and the ADC, and load fluctuation or a switching noise occurs in the PGA and the ADC when operation is performed. In this case, the operating state immediately before processing varies between the first pixel and the other subsequent pixels, so that the load fluctuation or the switching noise varies, resulting in a gain error between the pixels (between the colors) in the PGA and a conversion error between the pixels (between the colors) in the ADC), is switched at a first timing, and
the gain value of the second signal is switched at a second timing different from the first timing which reduces changes in the signal level of the second signal (paragraph 36, Signals read from the pixels are input to the PGA 140 in order of red, green, and blue in a time-sharing manner).
Referring to claim 2, Asaba discloses wherein the plurality of gain reflection control circuitries is further configure to determine that the gain value of the first signal is not to be switched by the plurality of gain modification circuitries (paragraph 47, the first red image signal is amplified as shown in FIG. 4).
Referring to claim 3, Asaba discloses wherein the plurality of gain reflection control circuitries delays a timing at which the gain value of the first signal is to be switched by the plurality of gain modification circuitries (paragraph 56, FIG. 9 shows a dummy pixel signal is input to the PGA 140 during the non-amplification period).
Referring to claim 4, Asaba discloses a signal processing unit comprising
the gain modification device according to claim 1,
wherein each one of the plurality of signals is a picture signal that is input for each one of a plurality of processing systems (paragraph 36, In the photoelectric conversion element 10, all of the pixels accumulate electric charges in a common exposure time, convert the electric charges to voltages, and store pixel signals in analog memories (capacitors) via switching elements).
Referring to claim 5, Asaba discloses a photoelectric converter a photoelectric converter configured to convert an incident light into a signal and output the signal (paragraph 29, FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating a photoelectric conversion element 10); and
the signal processing device according to claim 4,
wherein the signal output from the photoelectric conversion element is a picture signal of each color (paragraph 36, A plurality of pixels (three pixels of red, green, and blue) constitute a single column, and are connected to the shared PGA 140 via the switching elements).
Referring to claim 7, Asaba discloses an image reading device, comprising:
a light source to emit light (paragraph 64, The LED 602 emits light to a document); and
the imaging device according to claim 5.
Referring to claim 8, Asaba discloses an image forming apparatus, comprising:
a printer (paragraph 65, The image forming unit 70 includes a processing unit 80 and a printer engine 82); and
the image reading device according to claim 7.
Referring to claim 12, Asaba discloses wherein the plurality of gain reflection control circuitries changes the timing by determining that the gain value of the first signal is not to be switched while the gain value of the second signal is switched (paragraph 47, the second green image signal is amplified as shown in FIG. 4).
Referring to claim 13, Asaba discloses wherein after the gain value of the second signal is switched, the plurality of gain reflection control circuitries determines that the gain value of the second signal is not to be switched while the gain value of the first signal is switched (paragraph 47, the first red image signal is amplified as shown in FIG. 4).
Referring to claim 14, Asaba discloses wherein the plurality of gain reflection control circuitries changes the timing by delaying the switching of the gain value of the first signal relative to the switching of the gain value of the second signal (paragraph 56, FIG. 9 shows a dummy pixel signal is input to the PGA 140 during the non-amplification period).
Referring to claim 15, Asaba discloses a register which stores a value defining a length of the delay (paragraph 29, The photoelectric conversion element 10 includes a control unit (timing control unit) 16 [it is inherent that the imaging apparatus must store a value that the white light source 20 is turned on]).
Referring to claim 16, Asaba discloses wherein the length of the delay is based on a duration of the load change (paragraph 50, In the first operation of the photoelectric conversion element 10 of the first modification, the switch 21 is turned on and the dummy load is connected to the voltage Vrefa to cause a dummy load current to flow during a non-amplification period (a period in which the PGA 140 does not operate)).
Referring to claim 17, Asaba discloses wherein a variation between a ground and a power supply of the plurality of gain modification circuitries is based on the load change (paragraph 9, power, a ground voltage GND, and a reference voltage are supplied to the PGA and the ADC, and load fluctuation or a switching noise occurs in the PGA and the ADC when operation is performed. In this case, the operating state immediately before processing varies between the first pixel and the other subsequent pixels, so that the load fluctuation or the switching noise varies, resulting in a gain error between the pixels (between the colors) in the PGA and a conversion error between the pixels (between the colors) in the ADC).
Referring to claim 18, Asaba discloses a level detection circuit configured to detect a level of digital data output from an analog-to-digital converter coupled to an output of each of the plurality of gain modification circuitries (paragraph 31, The signal processing unit 14 includes n programmable gain amplifiers (PGAs) (amplifying units) 140, n analog-to-digital converters (ADCs) 142), wherein
the gain value is determined based on the detected level (paragraph 33, The CDS unit 144 performs a CDS process of calculating and outputting a difference between a reset level of the photoelectric converter 12 (a reference level that is output independently of light), which is indicated by the digital signals input from the A/D converter 142 and a signal level stored in each of the pixels (the pixels 120, 122, and 124)).
Referring to claim 19, Asaba discloses wherein changing the timing comprises deactivating switching of the gain value for the first signal while switching the gain value for the second signal (paragraph 47, the second green image signal is amplified as shown in FIG. 4).
Referring to claim 20, Asaba discloses wherein changing the timing comprises delaying the switching of the gain value for the first signal for a predetermined length of time relative to the switching of the gain value for the second signal (paragraph 56, FIG. 9 shows a dummy pixel signal is input to the PGA 140 during the non-amplification period).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asaba et al. US Publication 2016/0006961 as applied to claims 5 and 10 above, and further in view of Kudo et al. US Publication 2018/0302571 (hereafter “Kudo”).
Referring to claim 6, Asaba discloses wherein the picture signal of each color includes:
a picture signal output upon receiving a visible light (paragraph 36, A plurality of pixels (three pixels of red, green, and blue) constitute a single column, and are connected to the shared PGA 140 via the switching elements), but does not disclose expressly wherein the picture signal of each color includes a picture signal output upon receiving an invisible light.
Kudo discloses wherein the picture signal of each color includes:
a picture signal output upon receiving a visible light (paragraph 29-31, The image sensor 116 performs photoelectric conversion to the R light and generates an R-imaging signal that is an electrical signal. The image sensor 117 performs photoelectric conversion to the G light and generates a G-imaging signal that is an electrical signal. The image sensor 118 performs photoelectric conversion to the B light and generates a B-imaging signal that is an electrical signal. In the following description, the R-imaging signal, G-imaging signal, and B-imaging signal are also referred integrally to as RGB imaging signals that are electrical signals obtained by receiving white light), and
a picture signal output upon receiving an invisible light (paragraph 32, The image sensor 119 performs photoelectric conversion to the IR light and generates an IR imaging signal that is an electrical signal).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to output a picture signal upon receiving an invisible light. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable receiving fluorescent pixels that are excited by infrared light that are common in medical images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kudo with Asaba to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Referring to claim 10, Asaba discloses wherein the second signal is a picture signal output upon receiving a visible light (paragraph 36, A plurality of pixels (three pixels of red, green, and blue) constitute a single column, and are connected to the shared PGA 140 via the switching elements), but does not disclose expressly wherein the first signal is a picture signal output upon receiving an invisible light.
Kudo discloses wherein the first signal is a picture signal output upon receiving an invisible light, and
the second signal is a picture signal output upon receiving a visible light (paragraph 75-76, Specifically, in time period 301, the white light source 20 is turned on (white light is output), and the IR source 22 is turned off (IR light is not output). In time period 302 subsequent to the time period 301, the white light source 20 is turned off, and the IR source 22 is turned on).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to output a picture signal upon receiving an invisible light. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable receiving fluorescent pixels that are excited by infrared light that are common in medical images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kudo with Asaba to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Referring to claim 11, Asaba discloses wherein the visible light includes red, green, and blue light(paragraph 36, A plurality of pixels (three pixels of red, green, and blue) constitute a single column, and are connected to the shared PGA 140 via the switching elements).
Kudo discloses wherein the invisible light is infrared light and the visible light includes red, green, and blue light (paragraph 21, The prism 111 is, for example, a dichroic prism which splits the reflective light and fluorescence from the subject P into three primary colors light, R (red) light, G (green) light, and B (blue) light).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER K HUNTSINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682