Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 and 13-16 are currently pending;
Claim 12 is canceled;
Claims 1 and 13 are amended.
Status of Rejections and Objections Pending Since the Office Action of 07/29/2025
The objection of claim 15 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment;
The 112(b) rejection of claims 13-16 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment;
The 102(a)(1) rejections of claims 1, 10-12, 15, and 16 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment and argument, and have been replaced with a new 102(a)(1) rejection for claims 1, 10-11, and 16;
The 103 rejections of claims 2, 5, 6, and 9 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed10/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 10-12, 15, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hayashi (US-20100112424-A1) for claims 1, 10-11, and 16 and under Hayashi in view of Ju et al. (US-20200144570-A1) for claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 includes the limitation “wherein the side frame directly contacts an exterior surface of the first side of the module case” in lines 1-2. Claim 1, upon which claim 16 depends, already includes the limitation “a side frame having a first side, an entirety of the first side being outside the module case and directly contacting an exterior surface of a first side of the module case” in lines 8-10. All of the limitations of dependent claim 16 are already included in independent claim 1, therefore claim 16 does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi (US-20100112424-A1)
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi teaches a battery pack, comprising: a pack cover including: an upper cover (fig. 3; [0028] upper restraint band 51) and a lower cover (fig. 3; [0028] lower restraint band 56; alternatively [0031] lower casing 33 when the non-pictured embodiment is used that excludes 56 [0029]) and having an empty space inside (fig. 3), edge portions of each of the upper cover and the lower cover being coupled to each other (fig. 3; [0028] coupled at pin member 58; interpreting anything outside the battery module case 34 as the edge portion of the upper and lower covers); and a battery module including: a plurality of battery cells (fig. 3; [0024] battery cells 21), a module case in which the plurality of battery cells is received (fig. 3 [0024] battery holder 34), and a side frame having a first side ([0025] end plate 41), an entirety of the first side being outside the module case and directly contacting an exterior surface of a first side of the module case (fig. 3; [0025] end plate 41 is fully outside module case 34 and the first side fully directly contacts exterior surface of 34) and a second side interposed between the upper cover and the lower cover and configured to be coupled to the edge portions of each of the upper cover and the lower cover (fig. 3 [0025] the second side of end plate 41 is between the upper and lower covers 51 and 56 outside of the battery module, interpreted as the edge portions, and directly contacting, and therefore coupled to, the interpreted edge portions of 51 and 56), wherein the first side of the module case is between the first side of the side frame and the plurality of battery cells (fig. 3 [0024] module case 34 first side is between the plurality of battery cells and the side frame (end plate 41)).
Regarding claim 10, Hayashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Hayashi also teaches an electronic device comprising at least one battery pack of claim 1 ([0019]-[0020]).
Regarding claim 11, Hayashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Hayashi also teaches a vehicle comprising at least one battery pack according to claim 1 ([0020]; [0047]).
Regarding claim 16, Hayashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Hayashi also teaches wherein the side frame directly contacts an exterior surface of the first side of the module case (fig. 3; [0025] end plate 41 is fully outside module case 34 and the first side fully directly contacts exterior surface of 34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ju et al. (US-20200144570-A1), hereinafter Ju.
Regarding claim 15, Hayashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Hayashi fails to teach wherein the side frame includes a first insertion portion having a recess, the first side of the module case inserted into the recess.
Ju is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery packs ([0002]). Ju teaches wherein the side frame includes a first insertion portion having a recess, the first side of the module case inserted into the recess (fig. 6; fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hayashi such that the side frame includes a first insertion portion having a recess, the first side of the module case inserted into the recess. Doing so provides a way of securely mounting the battery module on the battery pack such as to improve energy density (Ju [0007]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, Hayashi teaches wherein the upper cover includes a first edge portion bent down to wrap an upper surface and a side of the side frame (fig. 3), wherein the lower cover includes a second edge portion bent up to wrap a lower surface and the side of the side frame (fig. 3). Hayashi fails to teach wherein the side frame includes, on the second side, a protrusion extending in a horizontal direction to the edge portions of each of the upper cover and the lower cover, wherein the upper cover includes a first edge portion bent down to wrap an upper surface and a side of the protrusion, wherein the lower cover includes a second edge portion bent up to wrap a lower surface and the side of the protrusion, and wherein the protrusion, the first edge portion and the second edge portion are fastened to one another. The addition of a secondary source would not cure the deficiencies of Hayashi since the end plate of Hayashi, interpreted as the side frame of the instant application, helps generate a fastening force in the stacking direction of the battery cells in combination with restraint band 50 (Hayashi [0027]). Therefore, it would not be obvious even with secondary art to modify the shape of the end plate/side frame of Hayashi such that it includes a protrusion on the second side, as such a protrusion would affect the function of the end plate to produce the fastening force in the stacking direction of the battery cells in combination with restraint band 50 as presented in Hayashi. As such, claim 2 is objected to as being allowable if rewritten in independent form. Claims 3-9 are also objected to due to being dependent on claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, Hayashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Hayashi also teaches a fixed frame extending along a second side of the module case (fig. 3; [0025]; end plate 40). Hayashi fails to teach a cross beam coupled to an inner side of the lower cover, wherein the fixed frame is coupled to the cross beam. The addition of a secondary reference such as Yamazaki (JP-2016219262-A) would also fail to cure the deficiencies of Hayashi because, while Yamazaki does teach that a cross beam coupled to an inner side of the lower cover, wherein the fixed frame is coupled to the cross beam (Yamazaki fig. 3 cross beam 27 is coupled to an inner side of the lower cover 10 and to a side of the fixed frame bracket 21; [0032]), Hayashi would not be able to be modified such that a cross beam is coupled to an inner side of the lower cover. In Hayashi, there is no space between the fixed frame and the lower cover that could accommodate a cross beam (fig. 3; no space between fixed frame 40 and lower cover 56; [0025]; [0028]). Consequently, someone of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to combine the cross beam of Yamazaki with the battery pack of Hayashi. Therefore, claim 13 is objected to as being allowable if rewritten in independent form. Claim 14 is also objected to due to being dependent on claim 13.
Conclusion
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722