DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The Reply to Office Action filed August 25, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-16 and 18-21 were pending. Claims 1-2, 4-11 and 18-21 are being examined on the merits. Claim 3 is canceled. Claims 12-16 remain withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 25, 2026 have been fully considered.
The following objections and rejections are WITHDRAWN in view of Applicant’s arguments and amendments to the specification and claims:
Objections to Specification – sequence listing
Objections to Specification – embedded hyperlinks
Objections to Specification – trademarks
Objections to Specification – description of figures
The following rejections are MODIFIED in view of the instant claim amendments:
Prior art rejections
Response to arguments regarding prior art rejections
The prior art rejections are modified in view of the instant amendments to the claims. However, to the extent that Applicant’s arguments relate to the modified rejections below, the Examiner notes the following.
Applicant argues that the prior art rejections should be withdrawn because they disagree with the statement in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 25, 2026 that “given the lengths of primers and probes and given how short the template is … the ordinary artisan would understand that the prime and probes would have to overlap such that each primer/probe is long enough to anneal specifically to the target” (pp. 11-12). Rather, Applicant argues, that the conclusion is “unsubstantiated” and “only based on impermissible hindsight”, and that Kutyavin teaches that probe binding sites are comprised within the primer tail sequences and the Kutyavin probe could bind entirely in the primer tail region (Remarks, pp. 11-13).
The Examiner disagrees. Kutyavin teaches that the probe can hybridize to various binding sites, including, e.g., “a detection probe having specificity for a region of the target nucleic acid sequence or its complement” (para. 45; also para. 48). If the detection probe binds specifically to the target nucleic acid sequence, and is, e.g., 12-18 or 20-24 nucleotides in length (see paras. 97-98), and the target nucleic acid sequence is very short (e.g., the miRNA in Fig. 1 is 22 nucleotides long), then the probe and the primer sequences are going to overlap. Thus, while Kutyavin may teach embodiments where the probe binds upstream or downstream from the target sequence, e.g., in a primer tail region, it also teaches embodiments where it binds to the target sequence itself.
Applicant argues “Kutyavin is silent regarding the use of a probe that is 100%
complementary to a portion of the target miRNA sequence …” (Remarks, p. 13).
The Examiner disagrees for the reasons noted in the rejection below.
Applicant argues that …
(Remarks, p. 13).
The Examiner disagrees. Primer dimers are understood in the art to be undesirable because the dimers can be amplified during PCR, which results in non-specific side products and the depletion of reaction components needed for the target amplification. While a probe could hybridize to a primer, a probe cannot be extended. Thus, a primer-probe complex does not produce the same detrimental effect of primer dimers, because such a complex cannot be amplified.
Finally, Applicant argues that the secondary references do not cure the deficiencies of Kutyavin (Remarks, pp. 13-14).
Since the Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s characterization of the teachings of the primary reference, the Examiner disagrees with this argument, as well.
These arguments are not persuasive. The rejections are modified in view of the instant claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-11 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “wherein said probe … is sufficiently complementary to the cDNA products to hybridize under the selected reaction conditions”, and the claim also recites “wherein said probe is 100% complementary to a portion of the target miRNA sequence” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. That is, it is not clear if 100% complementarity is required, or if less than 100% complementarity is permitted as long as the probe can hybridize to its target binding site under the reaction conditions.
Claims 2, 5-10, 18 and 21 depend directly or indirectly from claim 1 and consequently incorporate the indefiniteness issues of claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein the bivalent primer comprises a first sequence … complementary to … the miRNA target … and a second sequence … adjacent to the side of 3’ terminus of said first sequence … which is non-complementary with the cDNA products and allows end-tagging the amplicon(s)”, the meaning of which is unclear. First, the meaning of “adjacent to the side” is unclear. Stated differently, what is the distinction between “adjacent to the 3’ terminus” and “adjacent to the side of 3’ terminus”? Second, the clause seems to be referring generally to a tailed primer, however, if the non-complementary sequence is adjacent to the 3’ end of the first sequence, it is not clear how the resulting amplicons will be end-tagged. Since the ordinary artisan would not be able to determine the metes and bounds of the claim, it is indefinite.
Claims 11 and 19-20 depend from claim 4 and consequently incorporate the indefiniteness issues of claim 4.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “wherein the RNA target nucleotide is a miRNA”. Claim 4,
from which claim 19 depends, has been amended to require that the target molecule is miRNA. Thus, claim 19 does not further limit claim 4 and, consequently, is in improper dependent form.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-10, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutyavin1 (US Patent App. Pub. No. 2010/0304442 A1) in view of Busk2 (A tool for design of primers for microRNA-specific quantitative RT-qPCR, BMC Bioinformatics, 15:29, 1-9, 2014), as evidenced by Thermo Fisher Scientific3 (Pfu DNA Polymerase, native, 2016).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kutyavin teaches …
A method for detecting or amplifying a miRNA target nucleotide in a sample performed in a one-step approach combining the reverse transcription and subsequent polymerase chain reaction in a single tube and buffer, wherein the method comprises: (Fig. 1; paras. 1-4, 6, 8-9, 20, 24, 36, 55-56, 83, 112, 115; claims 1, 10-11, 14);
a. carrying-out a retro-transcription reaction by using a bivalent primer that acts as a forward primer for the conservative step of retro-transcription of the miRNA target nucleotide and forms a first strand cDNA product from the said miRNA target nucleotide (Fig. 1; paras. 1-4, 6, 8-9, 20, 24, 36, 55-56, 83, 112, 115; claims 1, 10-11, 14);
and b. carrying-out a polymerase chain reaction by using a forward primer that hybridizes with the first strand cDNA product which is then extended to form a second cDNA strand product (Fig. 1; paras. 6, 8-9, 20, 24, 55-56, 83, 112, 115; claims 1, 10-11, 14);
wherein then the bivalent primer then continues the amplification reaction over the second strand product acting as a reverse primer for the polymerase chain reaction (Fig. 1; paras. 6, 8-9, 20, 24, 55-56, 83, 112, 115; claims 1, 10-11, 14);
wherein the bivalent primer comprises a first sequence of a given base length complementary to one primer portion of the miRNA target nucleotide that serves directly as the template upon which the primer can anneal and to one primer portion of the second strand or cDNA product that serves directly as the template upon which the primer can anneal (Fig. 1; paras. 1-4, 6, 8-9, 20, 24, 36, 55-56, 83, 112, 115; claims 1, 10-11, 14);
and a second sequence of a given base length provided adjacent to the side of 3' terminus of said first sequence which is non-complementary with the cDNA products and allows end-tagging the amplicon(s) obtained (Fig. 1; paras. 6, 8-9, 20, 24, 55-56, 83, 112, 115; claims 1, 10-11, 14).
Further, regarding the probe, Kutyavin additionally teaches that the detection probe is sufficiently complementary to the cDNA products to hybridize under the selected reaction conditions and is used for detecting the amplified PCR products (e.g., para. 92), and additionally suggests that the detection probe is from 13 to 21 nucleotides and in length, and is 100% complementary to a portion of the target miRNA sequence (paras. 97, 98: 12-18 or 20-24 nucleotides in length; paras. 45, 48: teaches a detection probe have specificity for a region of the target nucleic acid sequence – the ordinary artisan would understand that “specificity for … the target” would describe a range of sequence homology in the probe, up to and including 100% complementarity).
Kutyavin additionally suggests the limitation requiring that the probe complementarity overlaps in one, two or three nucleotides with the primer portion of the cDNA product that serves directly, or by virtue of its complement, as the template upon which the bivalent primer or the forward primer anneal. That is, given the lengths of primers and probe, discussed above, and given how short the template is (e.g., the miRNA in Fig. 1), the ordinary artisan would understand that the primers and probes would have to overlap such that each primer/probe is long enough to anneal specifically to the target. The ordinary artisan would have optimized the assay to arrive at the particular level of overlap.
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 9, Kutyavin additionally teaches that the miRNA target nucleotide is between 18 to 25 nucleotides in length (paras. 35-36), and that the DNA polymerase used for carrying-out the polymerase chain reaction possesses a 3'-5' exonuclease activity (paras. 76-77: native polymerases, including Pfu, are useful for the method; Thermo Fisher Scientific, 2nd col., para. 1: Pfu has 3’ to 5’ exonuclease activity).
Regarding the probe, Kutyavin additionally suggests that the detection probe is about 17 to about 21 nucleotides in length (para. 97, 98: 12-18 or 20-24 nucleotides in length).
Regarding dependent claims 6 and 21, Kutyavin additionally teaches or suggests that the second sequence is between 9 and 31 nucleotides, and optionally 16 to 24 nucleotides, long, and that the first sequence is between 4 and 8 oligonucleotides long. That is, in Fig. 1A, the reverse primer has a second sequence that is 14 nucleotides in length, and a first sequence that is 10 nucleotides in length.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Kutyavin additionally teaches that the forward primer has a structure comprising a first sequence of a given base length complementary to one primer portion of the first cDNA product that serves directly as the template upon which the primer can anneal; and a second sequence of a given base length provided upstream of said first sequence which is non-complementary with the cDNA products and allows end-tagging the amplicon(s) obtained (Fig. 1; paras. 6, 8-9, 20, 24, 55-56, 83, 112, 115; claims 1, 10-11, 14).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Kutyavin additionally teaches or suggests that the second sequence (of the forward primer) is between 9 and 31 nucleotides long, and that the first sequence is between 4 and 8 oligonucleotides long. That is, in Fig. 1A, the forward primer has a second sequence that is 15 nucleotides in length, and a first sequence that is 12 nucleotides in length.
Regarding dependent claim 10, Kutyavin additionally teaches analyzing the results of the amplified products, and determining the presence or absence of the miRNA target nucleotide in the biological sample (Fig. 1; paras. 8, 18, 26, 27).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Kutyavin additionally teaches that the sample is a human biological sample (paras. 3, 30, 36).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the Kutyavin method to arrive at the instant primer and probe sequences. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to optimize the assay design through routine experimentation to customize the assay as desired. The ordinary artisan would have had an expectation of success as the design and modification of oligonucleotides used for the amplification and detection of miRNA is known in the art, as taught in Busk (e.g., Abstract, Implementation section). Optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation is obvious in the absence of a showing of unexpected results. MPEP 2144(II)(A).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutyavin (US Patent App. Pub. No. 2010/0304442 A1) in view of Busk (A tool for design of primers for microRNA-specific quantitative RT-qPCR, BMC Bioinformatics, 15:29, 1-9, 2014), as evidenced by Thermo Fisher Scientific (Pfu DNA Polymerase, native, 2016) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu4 (US Patent App. Pub. No. 2016/0265031 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Liu additionally teaches isolating or purifying the amplified products using the end-tag sequences of the amplicon(s) obtained to isolate (Fig. 1; paras. 6, 29).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the Kutyavin method to incorporate an isolation/purification step using the end-tag sequences of the amplicons. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so with the expectation that adding the isolation/purification step would result in the advantage of a product that would be useful in downstream applications, e.g., library preparation steps for next-generation sequencing. The ordinary artisan would have had an expectation of success as the design and modification of nucleic acid assays is well-known in the art.
Claims 4, 11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kutyavin (US Patent App. Pub. No. 2010/0304442 A1) in view of Liu (US Patent App. Pub. No. 2016/0265031 A1) and Busk (A tool for design of primers for microRNA-specific quantitative RT-qPCR, BMC Bioinformatics, 15:29, 1-9, 2014), as evidenced by Thermo Fisher Scientific (Pfu DNA Polymerase, native, 2016).
Regarding independent claim 4 and dependent claim 11, Kutyavin teaches …
A method for isolating or purifying amplified products of a miRNA target nucleotide of between 18 to 25 nucleotides in length, in a sample performed in a one-step approach combining the reverse transcription and subsequent polymerase chain reaction in a single tube and buffer, wherein the method comprises: (Fig. 1; paras. 1-4, 6, 8-9, 20, 24, 35-36, 55-56, 83, 112, 115; claims 1, 10-11, 14);
a. carrying-out a retro-transcription reaction by using a bivalent primer that acts as a forward primer for the conservative step of retro-transcription of the miRNA target nucleotide and forms a first strand cDNA product from the said miRNA target nucleotide (Fig. 1; paras. 1-4, 6, 8-9, 20, 24, 55-56, 83, 112, 115; claims 1, 10-11, 14);
b. carrying-out a polymerase chain reaction by using a forward primer that hybridizes with the first strand cDNA product which is then extended to form a second cDNA strand product; wherein then the bivalent primer then continues the amplification reaction over the second strand product acting as a reverse primer for the polymerase chain reaction (Fig. 1; paras. 6, 8-9, 20, 24, 55-56, 83, 112, 115; claims 1, 10-11, 14);
wherein the DNA polymerase used for carrying-out the polymerase chain reaction possesses a 3'-5' exonuclease activity (paras. 76-77: native polymerases, including Pfu, are useful for the method; Thermo Fisher Scientific, 2nd col., para. 1: Pfu has 3’ to 5’ exonuclease activity);
Regarding the probe, Kutyavin additionally teaches that the detection probe is used for detecting the amplified PCR products (e.g., para. 92), and additionally suggests that the detection probe is from 13 to 21 nucleotides in length, and is 100% complementary to a portion of the target miRNA sequence (paras. 97, 98: 12-18 or 20-24 nucleotides in length; paras. 45, 48: teaches a detection probe have specificity for a region of the target nucleic acid sequence – the ordinary artisan would understand that “specificity for … the target” would describe a range of sequence homology in the probe, up to and including 100% complementarity).
Kutyavin additionally suggests the limitation requiring that the probe complementarity overlaps in one, two or three nucleotides with the primer portion of the cDNA product that serves directly, or by virtue of its complement, as the template upon which the bivalent primer or the forward primer anneal. That is, given the lengths of primers and probe, discussed above, and given how short the template is (e.g., the miRNA in Fig. 1), the ordinary artisan would understand that the primers and probes would have to overlap such that each primer/probe is long enough to anneal specifically to the target. The ordinary artisan would have optimized the assay to arrive at the particular level of overlap.
Liu teaches isolating or purifying the amplified products (Fig. 1; paras. 6, 29).
Finally, regarding the “and wherein the bivalent primer comprises …” clause, as noted above, the meaning of these limitations is unclear. Nevertheless, Kutyavin teaches using tailed primers (e.g., para. 32).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the Kutyavin method to arrive at the instant primer and probe sequences. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to optimize the assay design through routine experimentation to customize the assay as desired. The ordinary artisan would have had an expectation of success as the design and modification of oligonucleotides used for the amplification and detection of miRNA is known in the art, as taught in Busk (e.g., Abstract, Implementation section). Optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation is obvious in the absence of a showing of unexpected results. MPEP 2144(II)(A).
It would have been additionally obvious to further modify the Kutyavin method to incorporate an isolation/purification step using the end-tag sequences of the amplicons. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so with the expectation that adding the isolation/purification step would result in the advantage of a product that would be useful in downstream applications, e.g., library preparation steps for next-generation sequencing. The ordinary artisan would have had an expectation of success as the design and modification of nucleic acid assays is well-known in the art.
Regarding dependent claims 19 and 20, Kutyavin additionally teaches that the RNA target nucleotide is a miRNA (paras. 1-4, 36), as recited in claim 19, and that the sample is a human biological sample (paras. 3, 30, 36), as recited in claim 20.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 4-11 and 18-21 are being examined and are rejected. No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAROLYN L GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681
1 Kutyavin was cited in the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited mailed February 25, 2026.
2 Busk was cited in the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited mailed February 25, 2026.
3 Thermo Fisher Scientific was cited in the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited mailed February 25, 2026.
4 Liu was cited in the Information Disclosure Statement submitted January 23, 2026.