DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill (GB 2331141) in view of Balandier (EP 0895742) and Song (CN 204192354 U).
Regarding claim 1, Hill discloses “a kettle” (figs.1-2) “for heating liquid” (intended use), “the kettle” (figs.1-2) comprising:
“a base” (7) comprising “a base connector” (annotated fig.2) with electrical contact that is connectable to a power source” (the base is configured to connect with power. Abstract, i.e., An electric kettle K is pivotally mounts on a stand 7 and fed through the stand with water from a mains water supply 5), and
“a vessel” (item K) “for holding the liquid” (functional language) and comprising “a heating element” (16) “for heating the liquid” (functional language), “the vessel” (item K) further comprising “a vessel connector with another electrical contact” (annotated fig.2 shows the vessel connector, the vessel connector has an upper portion with another electrical contact in order to connected to heating element 16) connected to “the heating element” (16);
wherein “the vessel” (item K) is pivotably connected to “the base” (7) “such that by pivoting the vessel relative to the base” (fig.2 shows pivoting the vessel K relative to the base 3), “the liquid in the vessel flows through an opening located at a top portion of the vessel” (1 pointed at lid of the vessel. On page 2, i.e., The vessel has a pouring spout 12), and
wherein “the vessel connector comprises a receptacle” (14) into which “the base connector” (fig.2 shows the base 7 has connector (14 pointed at connector at the base)) is received in “the engaged position” (See fig.1) such that when “the base connector” (annotated fig.2) of “the base” (7) is in “the engaged position” (fig.1), “the base connector” (annotated fig.2) engages with “the vessel connector” (annotated fig.2) to activate “the heating element” (16) and “restrict pivotal movement of the vessel” (examiner noted that when the vessel connector and the base connector are connected, the pivotable movement of the device relative to the base is generally restricted or limited due to mechanical integrity which imposes physical constraint on the movement of the connected parts), and when “the base connector” (annotated fig.2) is in the disengaged position, “the vessel is pivotable relative to the base for pouring the liquid through the opening of the vessel” (fig.2 shows the vessel K is pivotable relative to the base 7 for pouring the liquid through the opening or spout the vessel).
Hill is silent regarding electrical power is supplied through the base connector, the base connector of the base being movable between an engaged position and a disengaged position.
Balandier teaches “electrical power is supplied through the base connector” (fig.2 shows the vessel placed on the base the shaft 51 pivot and moves the base connector 22 for supplying electricity), “the base connector” (figs.1-2, at least 22) of the base being movable between “an engaged position and a disengaged position” (See figs.1-2 with respect to the shaft 51 movement in relation to the base connector 22). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Hill with Balandier, by replacing Hill’s connectors mechanism with Balandier’s connectors mechanism, to provide automatic electrical connection and disconnection (see figs.1-2) as taught by Balandier.
Hill is silent regarding the vessel is pivotably connected to upper ends of first and second support members that extend upwardly from the base and are located adjacent opposite sides of the vessel between an upper end and a lower end of the vessel, such that by pivoting the vessel relative to the base about the upper ends of the first and second support members.
Song teaches “the vessel” (kettle 5) is pivotably connected to “upper ends of first and second support members” (fig.1, 4. [0017], i.e., the base body 1 on the end edge at two ends are symmetrically provided with fixed support 4) that extend upwardly from “the base” (fig.1, 1) and “are located adjacent opposite sides of the vessel between an upper end and a lower end of the vessel” ([0017], i.e., the base body 1 on the end edge at two ends are symmetrically provided with fixed support 4. This paragraph suggest two supports 4. Fig.1 shows the support members 4 are located adjacent opposite sides of the vessel between an upper end and a lower end of the vessel 5), such that “by pivoting the vessel relative to the base about the upper ends of the first and second support members” (fig.2 shows by pivoting the vessel 5 relative to the base about the upper ends of the first and second support members 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Hill with Song, by replacing Hill’s hinge with Song’s sidewall with hinge, to provide structural stability.
Regarding claim 2, modified Hill discloses “the base connector comprises a plug having the electrical contact of the base” (Balandier, figs.1-2 shows the base connector 21 pointed at the connector portion comprises a plug (21 pointed at the plug structure having a top horizontal surface) having electrical contact 22 of the base 3), “the plug” ((21 pointed at the plug structure having a top horizontal surface)) being received into “the receptacle of the vessel connector” (15 and 16 pointed at the receptacle of the vessel connector 12) in the engaged position.
Regarding claim 17, modified Hill teaches “the kettle has a central vertical axis and is configured such that the vessel is rotatable about the central axis relative to the base” (Song, fig.1, the kettle has an imaginary central vertical axis and the vessel 5 is configured to rotate about the central axis relative to the base 1).
Regarding claim 18, modified Hill discloses “the heating element being incorporated within a wall portion of the vessel” (Hill, the heating element 16 being incorporated within exterior of kettle wall of kettle (item K)).
Hill is silent regarding the kettle comprises an electrical switch for connecting the electrical contacts of the vessel and the base to activate the heating element in the vessel, the heating element being incorporated within a wall portion of the vessel.
Balandier teaches “the kettle” (2) comprises “an electrical switch” (22) “for connecting “the electrical contacts of the vessel” (12) and “the base” (21 pointed at the base) to activate the heating element in the vessel” (figs.1-2, 41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Hill with Balandier, by replacing Hill’s connectors mechanism with Balandier’s connectors mechanism, to provide automatic electrical connection and disconnection (see figs.1-2) as taught by Balandier.
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill (GB 2331141) in view of Balandier (EP 0895742) and Song (CN 204192354 U) as applied in claims 1-2 and 17-18 above, and further in view of Su (CN 203027509).
Regarding claim 6, modified Hill discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above except for the kettle is configured such that force needs to be applied to move the base connector from the engaged position to the disengaged position and that the base connector automatically returns to the engaged position.
Su teaches “the kettle is configured such that force needs to be applied to move the base connector from the engaged position to the disengaged position and that the base connector automatically returns to the engaged position” ([0147] Picture 3 displays the electrifying state user operation three-dimensional cutaway view of actuator assembly 800, wherein through the user, for example, when first actuator 801 pushed inward to actuate the control device 60, the control device 60 of the over-centre mechanism interacts with the second actuator 802 and provides a force, so that the second actuator 802 is opposite along the radial direction outward and away from the instrument sub base 19 surface movement, so the indicator is in the on state. [0149] advantageously, for example, if the liquid reaches a predetermined temperature or boiling condition is detected, then the actuators 801, 802 in response to the control device 60 the thermal actuator to the over-centre mechanism combined with the unlocking rod 594 function returns to the off state. See fig.15p and fig.15q, 594). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Hill with Su, by adding Su’s control mechanism to Hill’s base, to provide automatic return to off state to prevent overheating (para.0149) as taught by Su.
Regarding claim 7, modified Hill discloses the base comprises “a handle” (Su, 801 and 802) “for facilitating to move the base connector from the engaged position to the disengaged position” (Su, [0148] control device 60 may be through a user pressing the second actuator 802 returns to the off state).
Claim(s) 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill (GB 2331141) in view of Balandier (EP 0895742) and Song (CN 204192354 U) as applied in claims 1-2 and 17-18 above, and further in view of Lim (US 2012/0091119).
Regarding claim 19, modified Hill discloses “the vessel comprises a handle for holding the vessel” (Hill, vessel comprises a handle. See figs.1-2).
Hill is silent regarding wherein the handle comprises a protrusion located at a top portion of the handle that is configured to facilitate pivoting of the vessel by manually pushing against the protrusion.
Lim teaches “the handle” (40 and 42) comprises “a protrusion” (42) located at “a top portion of the handle” (40) that is “configured to facilitate pivoting of the vessel by manually pushing against the protrusion” (figs.12-14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Hill with Lim, by modifying Hill’s handle according to Lim’s handle, to facilitate easy rotate the kettle downwardly to pour liquid in the mug (para.0056) as taught by Lim.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill (GB 2331141) in view of Balandier (EP 0895742) and Song (CN 204192354 U) as applied in claims 1-2 and 17-18 above, and further in view of Xu (CN 109171464).
Regarding claim 20, modified Hill discloses all the features of claim limitations as set forth above except for a light source for emitting light, wherein a frequency of the emitted light is selected based on a temperature of the liquid within the vessel.
Xu teaches “a light source for emitting light, wherein a frequency of the emitted light is selected based on a temperature of the liquid within the vessel” (on page 2, i.e., temperature display module 1 and a water quantity display module 2 is an LED display screen or an LCD display screen, a screen is provided with the light emitting diodes of different colours. It is inherently and necessarily that different colors having different frequencies). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Hill with Xu, by adding Xu’s LED display screen to Hill’s vessel, to allow user to know the kettle temperature (on page 2) as taught by Xu.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill (GB 2331141) in view of Balandier (EP 0895742) and Song (CN 204192354 U) as applied in claims 1-2 and 17-18 above, and further in view of Xu (CN 109171464) and Li (US 2011/0265562).
Regarding claim 21, modified Hill discloses “a light source for emitting light onto at least one defined surface area” (Xu, on page 2, i.e., temperature display module 1 and a water quantity display module 2 is an LED display screen or an LCD display screen, a screen is provided with the light emitting diodes of different colours. It is inherently and necessarily that different colors having different frequencies. Examiner noted that at least one defined surface area can be the surface of the vessel) in proximity of “the base” (Hill, 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Hill with Xu, by adding Xu’s LED display screen to Hill’s vessel, to allow user to know the kettle temperature (on page 2) as taught by Xu.
Modified Hill is silent regarding wherein the at least one defined surface area is indicative of a position receiving liquid when the vessel is pivoted to pour liquid through the opening of the vessel
Li teaches “the at least one defined surface area is indicative of a position receiving liquid when the vessel is pivoted to pour liquid through the opening of the vessel” (the sidewall of vessel having a water window 140 indicates the position of receiving liquid when user pivots the vessel to pour liquid the opening or spout of the vessel). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Hill with Li, by adding Li’s water window to Hill’s vessel, to allow user to know the kettle water level (abstract) as taught by Li.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill (GB 2331141) in view of Balandier (EP 0895742) and Song (CN 204192354 U) as applied in claims 1-2 and 17-18 above, and further in view of Haroni (US 2018/0310748) and Zhang (CN 101972108 A)
Regarding claim 22, modified Hill discloses all the claim features as set forth above except for the vessel comprises a light source for illuminating liquid within the vessel and a battery for powering the light source, wherein the kettle is configured such that when the base connector is in the disengaged position the light source is powered by the battery.
Haroni teaches “the vessel comprises a light source for illuminating liquid within the vessel” ([0079], i.e., The light emitting portion S1, S2, S3 of the sensor may illuminate the kettle form inside or form outside). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Hill with Haroni, by adding Haroni’s light emitting portion S1-S3 to Hill’s vessel, to allow user visually indicate the specific preselected temperature (para.0079) as taught by Haroni.
Zhang teaches “a battery for powering the light source, wherein the kettle is configured such that when the base connector is in the disengaged position the light source is powered by the battery” ([0018] indication lamp 4 is provided with a user water of respectively represent green habit grade, orange, red three. the microcomputer control chip 2 by a detachable battery, being able to charge battery. [0030] can display the user utilization habit of the heat water, micro-computer control chip is detachable, capable of repeatedly charging battery or photovoltaic energy power supply even under the condition of cutting off the power. Examiner noted that the indication lamp is on the vessel and the indication lamp is operatable even under cutting off the power from the power base 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Hill with Zhang, by adding Zhang’s display with battery to Hill’s vessel, to indicate water level even under power has been cut off so that user can visually determine the habit of water level based on user preference (para.0012 and abstract) as taught by Zhang.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 10-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
(1) Applicant argues “Claim objection … As amended, claim 1 recites … 35 USC 112 … claim 1 has been amended … 35 USC 103 … ” on pages 6-12.
In response, the amendment to claim changed the scope of invention and overcome prior rejections and claim objections. However, examiner has provided a new reference in current rejection.
Conclusion
/JIMMY CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761