Response to Amendment
Amendment filed 4/30/2026 has been entered.
Claim(s) 9 is/are cancelled, claims 17-20 are withdrawn. Pending claims 1-8, 10-16, 21-22 are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 10-13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulliksson (US20230081826; with foreign priority dated 10/10/2019) in view of Zhang (CN209237239U).
Regarding claims 1 and 10-11, Gulliksson discloses a fire suppression system and method (fig. 3) for a vehicle (par. 3), the fire suppression system comprising:
a housing (17);
a plurality of battery cells (4, 6) positioned within the housing (17; see fig. 3) and configured to provide power to a system of the vehicle (par. 10);
an off-gas detector (fig. 3, 13 and/or 14) coupled to the housing (see fig. 3) and configured to detect a presence of off-gas in the housing (par. 77-78: “carbon monoxide and/or methane”);
one or more temperature sensors (15; see fig. 3; par. 186) configured to detect a temperature of at least some of the plurality of battery cells (4, 6); and
a controller (11) configured to:
receive signals from the off-gas detector indicating whether off-gas is detected in the housing (par. 167-168, 190);
activate a first fire suppression apparatus (9, 5 at top side of 17 as shown in fig. 3) to provide fire suppressant agent to any of an exterior or interior of the housing in response to detecting off-gas in the housing (see fig. 3);
activate a second fire suppression apparatus (9, 5 at bottom side of 17 as shown in fig. 3) to provide fire suppressant agent to any of an exterior or interior of the housing in response to detecting off-gas in the housing (see fig. 3; par. 173: “The control unit 11 is configured to … discharge the fire extinguishing fluid 5 on and/or into and/or fully around and/or partly around the electric battery cell 3 if the first comparison execution signifies that the detected gas character corresponds with the pre-set indicative gas character”).
1) In the cited embodiment of fig. 3, Gulliksson is silent regarding “activate the first fire suppression apparatus in response to (i) detecting off- gas in the housing below an off-gas threshold, and (ii) detecting the temperature of the plurality of battery cells exceeding a temperature threshold”.
However, Gulliksson disclsoes in another embodiment “Alternatively, the step of performing said first comparison execution is made simultaneously with the step of performing said second comparison execution” (par. 41, the first comparison execution is associated with gas detection and second comparison execution is associated with temperature detection). More specifically, shown in fig. 12, Gulliksson discloses that the gas detection is supported by the temperature detection by the control unit 11 for reliability and redundancy (par. 282-283: “the control unit 11 performing a first comparison execution regarding the gas detection and performing a second comparison execution regarding the temperature detection…In such way, the automotive fire suppression system is provided with reliability and redundancy”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulliksson to incorporate the teachings of the additional teaching in pars. 41 and 282 to provide activate the first fire suppression apparatus in response to (i) detecting off- gas in the housing below an off-gas threshold, and (ii) detecting the temperature of the plurality of battery cells exceeding a temperature threshold. Doing so would yield the predictable result of facilitating reliability and redundancy (See Paragraphs 41, and 282-283).
2) Gulliksson does not teach the suppression apparatus includes a first suppression apparatus providing a first suppressant agent and a second suppression apparatus providing a second suppressant agent different from the first suppression agent in response to detecting off-gas in the housing (claims 1 and 11), wherein the controller is configured to activate the first fire suppression apparatus to provide the first fire suppressant agent to the plurality of battery cells at a first time, and activate the second fire suppression apparatus to provide the second fire suppressant agent to the plurality of battery cells at a second time, wherein the second time occurs after the first time (claim 10).
However, Gulliksson does teach that each of the first suppression system and secondary suppression system are configured to trigger discharge of suppression fluid in response to detection of gas (par. 128 and par. 130).
In addition, Zhang discloses a comparable battery safety protection (pg. 1) having two suppression apparatus including a first type of agent, agent (page 3: suppression drug canister 5), and a second type of agent, water (from water tank 7) and a control system (pg. 3, ln 6) configured to activate the first apparatus to provide the first type of agent (pg. 3: “When it is detected that an uncontrollable temperature rise or smoke generation occurs in the power battery in the test box, the signal of the thermal runaway suppression device is fed back, and the suppression agent is sprayed by the thermal runaway suppression device”) at a first time, and activate the second apparatus to provide the second type of agent at a second time after the first time (pg. 4: “When the above measures still cannot prevent the power battery from catching fire, …, the control unit sends a control signal, activates the booster pump, and performs water sprinkler”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulliksson to incorporate the teachings of Zhang to provide the second suppression agent different from the first suppression agent, and to provide discharge of the first and second agents at first and second times as claimed. Doing so would effectively address the battery overheating and fire risk potential in two stages for fire prevention and treatment to improve safety of user (abstract).
Note: all references made in parenthesis hereafter are referencing the primary reference Gulliksson, unless otherwise indicated.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Gulliksson, as modified above, teaches the fire suppression system of Claim 1, wherein the off-gas detector comprises a plurality of off-gas detectors (13, 14), wherein each of the plurality of off-gas detectors is configured to detect the presence of off-gas emitted by a corresponding plurality of battery cells (fig. 3 shows four gas detectors 13 to detect gas from cells 4/6).
Regarding claim 5, Gulliksson, as modified above, teaches the fire suppression system of Claim 1, wherein the off-gas detector (13, 14) is configured to detect a presence or concentration of any of a lithium-ion battery off-gas (par. 77-78: “methane”), carbon dioxide, methane, ethane, hydrogen, oxygen, nitrogen oxides, volatile organic compounds, ash, soot, hydrogen sulfide, sulfur oxides, ammonia, chlorine, propane, ozone, ethanol, hydrocarbons, hydrogen cyanide, combustible cases, flammable gases, toxic gases, corrosive gases, oxidizing gases, or an electrolyte vapor in an air sample.
Regarding claim 6, Gulliksson, as modified above, teaches the fire suppression system of Claim 1, wherein the controller (11) is configured to: receive signals from the off-gas detector indicating a concentration of off-gas (par. 238); compare the concentration of off-gas to a threshold value (par. 238, 293); and activate the fire suppression apparatus in response to the concentration of off-gas in an air sample exceeding the threshold value (par. 238).
Regarding claim 7, Gulliksson discloses the controller (11) is configured to deactivate the plurality of battery cells in response to detecting the off-gas in the housing (par. 87, 90, 206).
Regarding claims 12-13, Gulliksson discloses an electric motor (par. 97: “electric vehicle”) configured to draw power from the plurality of battery cells for one or more operations of the vehicle (claim 12); wherein the one or more operations of the vehicle powered by the electric motor and the plurality of battery cells comprise any of: a driving operation (par. 10, 145); lighting operations; accessory drive operations; or vehicle-specific operations (claim 13).
Claim(s) 2-3, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulliksson (US20230081826; with foreign priority dated 10/10/2019) in view of Zhang (CN209237239U), further in view of Brosig (WO2010025761A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Gulliksson, as modified above, teaches the fire suppression system of Claim 1, wherein the one or more temperature sensors (15) are configured to be positioned about the vehicle
Gulliksson does not teach the temperature sensors are outside the battery housing.
Brosig discloses a comparable fire protection system for a battery storage 2 having a plurality of battery cabinet 8, each cabinet housing a plurality of battery cells/modules 5 (fig. 2; pg. 9, ln 31-32). The system includes a plurality of temperature sensors 21a-21n positioned outside the housing/cabinets 8 at a plurality of locations about the battery storage (see fig. 2) to detect temperatures (pg. 11, ln 25-pg. 12, ln 7).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulliksson to incorporate the teachings of Brosig to provide the one or more temperature sensors outside the battery housing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to rearrange the temperature sensors 15 of Gulliksson to outside the battery housing in case faulty detection is a concern and/or for easy sensor replacement or repair.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Gulliksson, as modified above, teaches the fire suppression system of Claim 2, wherein the controller (Gulliksson’s controller 11, as modified in view of Brosig above) is configured to selectively activate the fire suppression apparatus to provide the fire suppressant agent to one or more of the plurality of locations about the vehicle based on the detected temperatures (Brosig, pg. 12, ln 25-29).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulliksson (US20230081826; with foreign priority dated 10/10/2019) in view of Zhang (CN209237239U) and Brosig (WO2010025761A1), further in view of Shinoda (US 20120049621).
Regarding claim 8, Gulliksson, as modified above, teaches the fire suppression system of Claim 1, but does not teach the plurality of battery cells are removable from the housing.
Shinoda discloses a comparable battery management apparatus on a vehicle wherein a battery 511 is detachable from the battery housing 510 (par. 79).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulliksson to incorporate the teachings of Shinoda to provide the plurality of battery cells are removable from the housing. Doing so would allow ease of replacement when the installed batteries malfunction.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulliksson (US20230081826; with foreign priority dated 10/10/2019) in view of Zhang (CN209237239U) and Brosig (WO2010025761A1), further in view of Kim (US 20180289996).
Regarding claims 12-13, Gulliksson, as modified above, teaches the vehicle of Claim 11, but does not explicitly teach an electric motor configured to draw power from the plurality of battery cells for one or more operations of the vehicle (claim 12); wherein the one or more operations of the vehicle powered by the electric motor and the plurality of battery cells comprise any of: a driving operation; lighting operations; accessory drive operations; or vehicle-specific operations (claim 13).
Kim discloses an electric car is configured to include, in general, a battery, a power converter (inverter), and a motor. The battery is an energy storage device and the power converter is a device for converting electric energy of the battery to generate a required driving force, and the electric energy is used to drive the motor and the vehicle (par. 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulliksson to incorporate the teachings of Kim to provide an electric motor configured to draw power from the plurality of battery cells for one or more operations of the vehicle (claim 12); wherein the one or more operations of the vehicle powered by the electric motor and the plurality of battery cells comprise any of: a driving operation; lighting operations; accessory drive operations; or vehicle-specific operations (claim 13), doing so would yield the predictable result of facilitating generation of driving force in alternative to gasoline.
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulliksson (US20230081826; with foreign priority dated 10/10/2019) in view of Zhang (CN209237239U), further in view of Cordani (US 20190319234).
Regarding claims 21-22, Gulliksson, as modified above, teaches the vehicle of respective claims 1 and 11, but is silent regarding further comprising an automatic activation system comprising a fusible link coupled to the first fire suppression apparatus, wherein activation of the fusible link causes activation of the first fire suppression apparatus configured to provide the first fire suppressant agent to any of an exterior or interior of the housing.
Cordani discloses a suppression system for lithium ion battery (figs. 1-2) wherein the system includes fusible links (fusible plugs 20) coupled to the fire suppression apparatus (16, 18, 22), wherein activation of the fusible link causes activation of the fire suppression apparatus configured to provide the first fire suppressant agent to the battery inside the housing (par. 20-21).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gulliksson to incorporate the teachings of Cordani to provide an automatic activation system comprising a fusible link coupled to the first fire suppression apparatus, wherein activation of the fusible link causes activation of the first fire suppression apparatus configured to provide the first fire suppressant agent to any of an exterior or interior of the housing. Doing so would yield the predictable result of facilitating an additional redundant quick activation in case the controller malfunction, consequently preventing the battery passing into a thermal runaway so that the battery does not reach the stage of spontaneous combustion (paragraph 21).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Remarks pages 9-10 against the combination of Gulliksson in view of Zhang: applicant argues that Zhang fails to teach or suggest activate the first fire suppression apparatus in response to (i) detecting off- gas in the housing below an off-gas threshold, and (ii) detecting the temperature of the plurality of battery cells exceeding a temperature threshold.
This is found not persuasive. Upon reconsideration of primary reference Gulliksson, an alternative embodiment disclosed in paragraphs 41, 282-283 suggests system activation in response to simultaneous detection of gas and temperature for reliability and redundancy. See new rejection above. The rejections of claims 1 and 11 are therefore maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection, via alternate embodiment in Gulliksson, presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUONGMINH N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752