DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The claims are newly amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-12, filed 3/16/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11, 17-19 under the non-final have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the references cited below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 10, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. “Gasification characteristics of glass fibre-reinforced plastic wastes in a microwave plasma reactor”.
Yun describes a method of gasifying glass fiber-reinforced plastic (GFRP) wastes in a microwave plasma reactor (title). As to the composite matrix and the technical fiber, the reinforced plastic may be considered the composite matrix and the glass fiber can be considered the technical fiber. The process gasifies the waste components (section 1 on pg. 2758 “Effect of oxygen/fuel ratios”, para. 1). Yun explains that the following reactions take place (1), (2), (6), (7), (8) and (9) as well as (10) and (11) (see pages 2758-2760). In these reactions, Yun shows that the compound is broken down into CO, H2, OH-, H+, e- and other by-products (see equations 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11 from pages 2758-2760). This can be considered to meet the feature “the composite material being completely broken down technically into its basic constituents”.
Yun then teaches that equation 6 occurs upstream at high temperatures and is endothermic (page 2759, section 2, para. 2), while equations 1 and 7 are downstream at lower temperatures and is an exothermic reaction (page 2759, section 2, para. 2). During this process, Yun teaches that oxygen is fed to the system (page 2758, right col, para. 2). This can be considered to meet the feature that the “composite matrix being broken down in a first step, and in a subsequent step, the remaining starting materials and intermediate products being broken down thermally”. Yun explains that in equation 7, the downstream exothermic reaction at low temperature, the gas is supplied with a steam supply, which increases the H2 and CO2 (page 2759, right col, section 2, para. 1, 2 and equation 7). This meets the feature “the remaining starting materials and intermediate products being broken down thermally and reacted with added process gases, a reactive ags being supplied at least in the subsequent step and the subsequent step being conducted endothermically” of Claim 1.
The reactive gas may include nitrogen plasma (see page 2760, left col, para. 1, where nitrogen plasma is used to break down the composition (see section 2 on page 2758). In all the reaction steps, oxygen, steam and nitrogen plasma were added (see page 2758, section 2, para. 1 “oxygen used as an oxidant was introduced into the plasma reactor”). Therefore, one of these can be considered the process gases and the other can be considered the reactive gas.
As to Claim 5, the specification of this application explains that pyrohydrolysis is a clean separation method for separating non-metals directly from a solid matrix and that hydropyrolysis is a known process by which halogens in particular can be separated from solid matrices at temperatures between 900 and 1,200° C. in the presence of water (para .3).
Yun teaches heating the waste in the presence of steam (see section 2 on page 2759) at a temperature range in excess of 900 degrees C (see page 2760, left col, last full para).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same process used the same way would produce the same results.
As to Claim 10, Yun teaches that in the prior art different power inputs are shown (see table 1). In the table, Yun shows that a value of 5 kW enables the highest about of H2 and CO and the lowest amount of CH4 (table 1, under Yoon). However, these were not for GFRP wastes. In the process of Yun, a power of 1-1.6kW was used (page 2757, left col, para. 1). Yun states that residence time was more important to decomposition than reactor temperature (see page 2762, section 4, para. 3). However, Fig. 12 shows decomposition at a power of 1.4kW (see (g)) with a greater oxygen to fuel ratio (Fig. 12, (g)).
Therefore, although Yun does not specifically describe use of a maximum energy corresponding to the composite material, since Yun shows analyzing the by-products made based on power levels (see Fig. 10) and analyzing the decomposition rate (see Fig. 12), It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that this is an optimizable feature.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum value of a cause effective variable such as maximum energy for decomposition through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to Claim 17, Shinichi teaches that this process is used to recover valuable metal (title). In their process, Shinichi teaches that plastic waste is converted into a molten compound (page 12, para. 5) and that metals, which is in the form of residue is then sent to a residue discharge port and discharged fro the pyrolysis oil for collection and reuse (page 12, para. 6).
As to Claim 18, Yun teaches that downstream of the plasma gasifier, steam and plasma partially oxidize hydrocarbons to lower molecular weight compounds and that H2 and Co are produced as a result (page 2760, left col, last full para).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Takeuchi (US Pub.: 2004/0237405).
Takeuchi teaches a gasification process (title). The process is used to gasify glass fiber reinforced plastics (para. 43). The process explains that CO and H2 are produced with other combustion gases and then fed to a gas purification section, where gases, such as HCl are adsorbed and separated (para. 162). The remaining CO and H2 are purified and used as fuel or for methanol synthesis (para. 162).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to separate and isolate HCl from gasified glass fibers reinforced plastic, as taught by Takeuchi for use with the process of Yun because Takeuchi explains that purified CO and H2 is useable for fuel or methanol synthesis.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun and Takeuchi as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Masayuki (JP 2004/155872).
Yun and Takeuchi disclose isolating gaseous hydrogen halide, but they do not teach isolation by use of an alkaline washing solution.
Masayuki describes a process for isolating a halogen from a substance, that can include glass fiber reinforced plastic (para. 1). The halogen that is removed reacts with an alkali metal or alkaline earth metal (para. 1, under para. 53). Masayuki explains that the alkali is provided to halogen gas in the form of a spray (para. 2 under para. 77). As a result, alkali-containing halogen are discharged from the system (para. 53, para. 7-9). The result produces a gas that contains a large amount of hydrogen that can be used for energy (para. 4, under para. 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to isolate halides using an alkaline washing solution, as taught by Masayuki for use with the process of Yun and Takeuchi because Masauki explains that an alkali-containing washing solution used to remove halogen is effective in producing a gas stream that contains a large amount of hydrogen that can be used for energy.
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun and Takeuchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takeuchi (US Pub.: 2004/0237405).
Yun does not describe the specific temperature ranges employed in their different reaction steps.
Takeuchi describes a process for the gasification of glass fibers reinforced plastic (title). The process first heats in the presence of oxygen and steam at a temperature of 650-750 degrees C (abstract) and then heats at a higher range of 700-1,000 degrees C in the presence of oxygen and steam in order to obtain CO and H2 products (abstract).
Therefore, since Yun does not describe the temperature ranges, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to heat the gasification reaction at a first range of 650-750 degrees C, followed by heating at a higher range of 700-1,000 degrees C in the presence of oxygen and steam, as taught by Takeuchi for use with the process of Yun and Takeuchi because these temperature ranges are known to be effective for use in gasification of these wastes.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun and Takeuchi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yasuaki (JP 2006/223972).
The references do not teach use of mechanical energy.
Yasuaki describes a method of pyrolyzing (abstract) wastes, to include glass fiber reinforced plastics (page 4, para. 5). In one embodiment, Yasuaki teaches use of a gasification/decomposition apparatus (page 10, para. 4) where there employs a compression means to not generate voids (page 10, para. 4). Additionally, Yasuaki teaches that it is advisable to provide a mixing function for appropriately mixing the material during pyrolysis (page 10, para. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ compression and mixing during pyrolysis, as taught by Yasuaki for use with the process of the gasification of Yun and Takeuchi because this removes voids and facilities pyrolysis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Yun describes the process described above, which uses gasification. Yun and the prior art does not teach use of low oxygen levels that are a maximum of 8 vol. % or that the metal isolated therefrom is uranium.
Conclusion
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 October 26, 2026