DETAILED ACTION
Two sets of claims were filed on 05/05/2022. The amended claims appear to correct the multiple dependencies in the original claims.
Later, there appeared to be a concern from the Office regarding informalities in the application. The Office communicated the missing application requirements on 09/20/2022 and 10/27/2022 via two 371 Formalities Letters to the applicant. In the applicant’s responses to the notices of missing parts, two additional sets of claims were filed. These claims, filed on 10/17/2022 and 11/21/2022, appear to be identical to the original claims filed on 05/05/2022. The Office sent a 371 Acceptance Letter on 12/01/2022.
For clarity of the record, this office action includes an examination of the amended claim set of 05/05/2022. This assumption is based on the Claims Worksheet (PTO-2022) filed 09/20/2022. The claim sets filed on 10/17/2022 and 11/21/2022 are not considered because they do not amend the amended claims filed on 05/05/2022.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 05/05/2022, 05/25/2022, 11/18/2024, and 05/15/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“electric vehicle” (Claims 1, 10)
“at least one coupling power supply system” (Claim 1)
“charging power supply system” (Claim 5)
Method steps of Claim 9
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b).
The abstract should be limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The Claim 9 preamble states “A method for diagnosing a battery system (10) as claimed in ,” without identifying the claim from which claim 9 depends. Thus, it is unclear whether Claim 9 is independent or dependent. For examination purposes, claim 9 is assumed meant to state “as claimed in claim 1,”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 9-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 6, and 13 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,199,317 B2 (Krieg et al., hereinafter “Krieg”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claims 1-2 and 4 correspond to claim 1 of Krieg.
Note: The preamble of claim 1 (excerpt: “for an electric vehicle”) is not given patentable weight. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitations in the preamble are not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention's limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Claims 5-6 correspond to claim 3 of Krieg.
Claim 9 corresponds to claim 6 of Krieg.
Claim 10 corresponds to claim 13 of Krieg.
Instant Application
Krieg et al. (US 12,199,317 B2)
Claim 1
A battery system (10) for an electric vehicle, the battery system comprising:
a battery pack (5), which has a positive pole (22), a negative pole (21), at least one battery cell (2) and a pack voltage divider (25), and
at least one coupling power supply system, which has a negative terminal (11) and a positive terminal (12), wherein
the pack voltage divider (25) comprises a positive pack resistance (RP2) and a positive sub-pack resistance (RSP2), which are connected in series with one another between the positive pole (22) and a reference point (50), and
a negative pack resistance (RP1) and a negative sub-pack resistance (RSP1), which are
connected in series with one another between the negative pole (21) and the reference point (50),
wherein
the at least one coupling power supply system has
a coupling voltage divider (15), which comprises
a positive coupling resistance (RK2) and a positive sub-coupling resistance (RSK2), which are connected in series with one another between the positive terminal (12) and the reference point (50), and
a negative coupling resistance (RK1) and a negative sub-coupling resistance (RSK1), which are connected in series with one another between the negative terminal (11) and the reference point (50).
Claim 2
The battery system (10) as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the positive pole (22) is connectable to the positive terminal (12) by means of a positive pack switch (SP2), and
the negative pole (21) is connectable to the negative terminal (11) by means of a negative pack switch (SP1).
Claim 4
The battery system (10) as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the pack voltage divider (25) comprises
a positive measuring switch (SM2), by means of which the positive pack resistance (RP2)
and the positive sub-pack resistance (RSP2) are disconnectable from the positive pole (22) or the reference point (50), and
a negative measuring switch (SM1), by means of which the negative pack resistance (RP1) and the negative sub-pack resistance (RSP1) are disconnectable from the negative pole (21) or the reference point (50).
Claim 1
A battery system (10) comprising at least one battery pack (5, 51, 52) that has a negative pole (21), a positive pole (22), at least one battery cell (2),
at least one coupling network that has a first negative terminal (11) and a first positive terminal (12), a pack voltage divider (25) and a coupling voltage divider (15), wherein the first positive terminal (12) is configured to be connected to the positive pole (22) by way of a positive main switch (SH+, SH1+, SH2+) and/or the first negative terminal (11) is configured to be connected to the negative pole (21) by way of a negative main switch (SH−, SH1−, SH2−), wherein the pack voltage divider (25) comprises a positive pack measurement resistor (RP+) and a positive sub-pack measurement resistor (RSP+) that are connected in series with one another between the positive pole (22) and a first reference point (50) and are configured to be disconnected from the positive pole (22) or the first reference point (50) by way of a positive pack measurement switch (SP+), and a negative pack measurement resistor (RP−) and a negative sub-pack measurement resistor (RSP−) that are connected in series with one another between the negative pole (21) and the first reference point (50) and are configured to be disconnected from the negative pole (21) or the first reference point (50) by way of a negative pack measurement switch (SP−), and wherein the coupling voltage divider (15) comprises a positive coupling measurement resistor (RK+) and a positive sub-coupling measurement resistor (RSK+) that are connected in series with one another between the first positive terminal (12) and the first reference point (50), and a negative coupling measurement resistor (RK−) and a negative sub-coupling measurement resistor (RSK−) that are connected in series with one another between the first negative terminal (11) and the first reference point (50), wherein the battery system (10) comprises a positive main fuse (42) and a first positive auxiliary voltage divider (44), wherein the positive main fuse (42) is connected between the positive main switch (SH+, SH1+, SH2+) and the first positive terminal (12), wherein the first positive auxiliary voltage divider (44) comprises a positive main fuse measurement resistor (RHS+) and a positive sub-main fuse measurement resistor (RSHS+) that are connected in series with one another between a first connection of the positive main fuse (42), which is connected to the positive main switch (SH+, SH1+, SH2+), and the first reference point (50), and/or the battery system (10) comprises a negative main fuse (43) and a first negative auxiliary voltage divider (45), wherein the negative main fuse (43) is connected between the negative main switch (SH−, SH1−, SH2−) and the first negative terminal (11), wherein the first negative auxiliary voltage divider (45) comprises a negative main fuse measurement resistor (RHS−) and a negative sub-main fuse measurement resistor (RSHS−) that are connected in series with one another between a first connection of the negative main fuse (43), which is connected to the negative main switch (SH−, SH1−, SH2−), and the first reference point (50).
Claim 5
The battery system (10) as claimed in claim 1, further comprising
a charging power supply system, which has a positive charging connection (32), a negative charging connection (31) and a charging voltage divider (35), wherein
the charging voltage divider (35) comprises
a positive charging resistance (RL2) and a positive sub-charging resistance (RSL2), which are connected in series with one another between the positive charging connection (32) and the reference point (50), and
a negative charging resistance (RL1) and a negative sub-charging resistance (RSL1), which are connected in series with one another between the negative charging connection (31) and the reference point (50).
Claim 6
The battery system (10) as claimed in claim 5, wherein
the positive charging connection (32) is connectable to the positive terminal (12) by means of a positive charging switch (SL2), and
the negative charging connection (31) is connectable to the negative terminal (11) by means of a negative charging switch (SL1).
Claim 3
The battery system (10) according to claim 1, further comprising a fast-charging network that has a negative fast-charging connection (31) and a positive fast-charging connection (32), and a charging voltage divider (35), wherein the positive fast-charging connection (32) is configured to be connected to the first positive terminal (12) by way of a positive charging switch (SL+) and/or the negative fast-charging connection (31) is configured to be connected to the first negative terminal (11) by way of a negative charging switch (SL−), and wherein the charging voltage divider (35) comprises a positive charging measurement resistor (RL+) and a positive sub-charging measurement resistor (RSL+) that are connected in series with one another between the positive fast-charging connection (32) and the first reference point (50), and a negative charging measurement resistor (RL−) and a negative sub-charging measurement resistor (RSL−) that are connected in series between the negative fast-charging connection (31) and the first reference point (50).
Claim 9
A method for diagnosing a battery system (10) as claimed in , the method comprising:
measuring a positive pack voltage (UP2) in the form of a voltage drop across a positive sub-pack resistance (RSP2),
measuring a negative pack voltage (UP1) in the form of a voltage drop across a negative sub-pack resistance (RSP1),
measuring a positive coupling voltage (UK2) in the form of a voltage drop across the positive sub-coupling resistance (RSK2),
measuring a negative coupling voltage (UK1) in the form of a voltage drop across the negative sub-coupling resistance (RSK1), and
performing an evaluation of the measured voltages (UP1, UP2, UK1, UK2).
Claim 6
A method for diagnosing a battery system (10) including at least one battery pack (5, 51, 52), at least one coupling network, a pack voltage divider (25) and a coupling voltage divider (15), wherein the least one battery pack (5, 51, 52) includes a negative pole (21), a positive pole (22), and at least one battery cell (2), wherein the at least one coupling network includes a first negative terminal (11) and a first positive terminal (12), the method comprising the following method steps: a) measuring the following voltages: a positive pack measured voltage (UP+, UP1+, UP2+) dropped across the positive sub-pack measurement resistor (RSP+), a negative pack measured voltage (UP−, UP1−, UP2−) dropped across the negative sub-pack measurement resistor (RSP−), a positive coupling measured voltage (UK+) dropped across the positive sub-coupling measurement resistor (RSK+), a negative coupling measured voltage (UK−) dropped across the negative sub-coupling resistor (RSK−), a first positive auxiliary measured voltage (US1+) dropped across the positive sub-main fuse measurement resistor (RSHS+) and, if present, a first negative auxiliary measured voltage (US1−) dropped across the negative sub-main fuse measurement resistor (RSHS−), if present, a second positive auxiliary measured voltage (US2+) dropped across the positive sub-charging fuse measurement resistor (RSLS+) and/or a second negative auxiliary measured voltage (US2−) dropped across the negative sub-charging fuse measurement resistor (RSLS−), and if present, a positive charging measured voltage (UL+) dropped across the positive sub-charging measurement resistor (RSL+) and a negative charging measured voltage (UL−) dropped across the negative sub-charging measurement resistor (RSL−); b) Calculating the following voltages from the voltages (UP+, UP1+, UP2+, UP−, UP1−, UP2−, UK+, UK−, US1+, US1−, US2+, US2−, UL+, UL−) measured in method step a): a positive main switch voltage (USH+, USH1+, USH2+) dropped across the positive main switch (SH+, SH1+, SH2+), a negative main switch voltage (USH−, USH1−, USH2−) dropped across the negative main switch (SH−, SH1−, SH2−), a pack voltage (UP, UP1, UP2), a coupling voltage (UK), a positive main fuse voltage (UHS+) dropped across the positive main fuse (42), if present, a negative main fuse voltage (UHS−) dropped across the negative main fuse (43), if present, a positive charging fuse voltage (ULS+) dropped across the positive charging fuse (46) and/or a negative charging fuse voltage (ULS−) dropped across the negative charging fuse (47), if present, a positive charging switch voltage (USL+) dropped across the positive charging switch (SL+), a negative charging switch voltage (USL−) dropped across the negative charging switch (SL−), and a charging voltage (UL), and if present, a pack switch voltage (USPP) dropped across the pack switch (SPP); c) evaluating the calculated voltages (USH+, USH1+, USH2+, USH−, USH1−, USH2−, UP, UP1, UP2, UK, UHS+, UHS−, ULS+, ULS−, USL+, USL−, UL, USPP).
Claim 10
An electric vehicle, comprising a battery system (10) that includes
a battery pack (5), which has a positive pole (22), a negative pole (21), at least one battery cell (2) and a pack voltage divider (25), and
at least one coupling power supply system, which has a negative terminal (11) and a positive terminal (12), wherein
the pack voltage divider (25) comprises a positive pack resistance (RP2) and a positive sub-pack resistance (RSP2), which are connected in series with one another between the positive pole (22) and a reference point (50), and
a negative pack resistance (RP1) and a negative sub-pack resistance (RSP1), which are connected in series with one another between the negative pole (21) and the reference point (50),
wherein
the at least one coupling power supply system has
a coupling voltage divider (15), which comprises
a positive coupling resistance (RK2) and a positive sub-coupling resistance (RSK2),
which are connected in series with one another between the positive terminal (12) and the reference point (50), and
a negative coupling resistance (RKl) and a negative sub-coupling resistance (RSKl), which are connected in series with one another between the negative terminal (11) and the reference point (50).
Claim 13
A motor vehicle that comprises a battery system (10), the battery system including: at least one battery pack (5, 51, 52) that has a negative pole (21), a positive pole (22), at least one battery cell (2), at least one coupling network that has a first negative terminal (11) and a first positive terminal (12), a pack voltage divider (25), and a coupling voltage divider (15), wherein the first positive terminal (12) is configured to be connected to the positive pole (22) by way of a positive main switch (SH+, SH1+, SH2+) and/or the first negative terminal (11) is configured to be connected to the negative pole (21) by way of a negative main switch (SH−, SH1−, SH2−), wherein the pack voltage divider (25) comprises a positive pack measurement resistor (RP+) and a positive sub-pack measurement resistor (RSP+) that are connected in series with one another between the positive pole (22) and a first reference point (50) and are configured to be disconnected from the positive pole (22) or the first reference point (50) by way of a positive pack measurement switch (SP+), and a negative pack measurement resistor (RP−) and a negative sub-pack measurement resistor (RSP−) that are connected in series with one another between the negative pole (21) and the first reference point (50) and are configured to be disconnected from the negative pole (21) or the first reference point (50) by way of a negative pack measurement switch (SP−), and wherein the coupling voltage divider (15) comprises a positive coupling measurement resistor (RK+) and a positive sub-coupling measurement resistor (RSK+) that are connected in series with one another between the first positive terminal (12) and the first reference point (50), and a negative coupling measurement resistor (RK−) and a negative sub-coupling measurement resistor (RSK−) that are connected in series with one another between the first negative terminal (11) and the first reference point (50), wherein the battery system (10) comprises a positive main fuse (42) and a first positive auxiliary voltage divider (44), wherein the positive main fuse (42) is connected between the positive main switch (SH+, SH1+, SH2+) and the first positive terminal (12), wherein the first positive auxiliary voltage divider (44) comprises a positive main fuse measurement resistor (RHS+) and a positive sub-main fuse measurement resistor (RSHS+) that are connected in series with one another between a first connection of the positive main fuse (42), which is connected to the positive main switch (SH+, SH1+, SH2+), and the first reference point (50), and/or the battery system (10) comprises a negative main fuse (43) and a first negative auxiliary voltage divider (45), wherein the negative main fuse (43) is connected between the negative main switch (SH−, SH1−, SH2−) and the first negative terminal (11), wherein the first negative auxiliary voltage divider (45) comprises a negative main fuse measurement resistor (RHS−) and a negative sub-main fuse measurement resistor (RSHS−) that are connected in series with one another between a first connection of the negative main fuse (43), which is connected to the negative main switch (SH−, SH1−, SH2−), and the first reference point (50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ao (US 2018/0240629 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ao discloses a battery system (Fig. 9 with detailed sub-circuit views in Figs. 2 + 3; see annotated Fig. 2, included infra) for an electric vehicle (¶ [49]: “battery pack for electric vehicles”), the battery system comprising the following.
NOTE: One can compare Figs. 2-3 and 9 to confirm that Figs. 2-3 are detailed sub-circuit views of Fig. 9. The resistors and switches are connected identically, even though different labels (“reference numerals”) are given to identify the switches and voltage nodes. Per ¶ [37], “like reference numerals refer to like elements throughout”.
Ao further discloses a battery pack (“battery pack” embodiment of “12”; Figs. 1-2), which has a positive pole (see annotated Fig. 2), a negative pole (see annotated Fig. 2), at least one battery cell (inherent for “battery pack”) and a pack voltage divider (combo of “R12”, “R13”, “R18”, and “R19”; Fig. 2; per Fig. 9, the resistive voltage dividers can be integrated into the “battery pack”).
Ao further discloses at least one coupling power supply system (combo of “High Voltage Load” and resistors “R14”, “R15”, “R18”, and “R19”; Fig. 2), which has a negative terminal (see annotated Fig. 2) and a positive terminal (see annotated Fig. 2).
Ao further discloses the pack voltage divider (combo of “R12”, “R13”, “R16”, and “R17”) comprises a positive pack resistance (“R12”) and a positive sub-pack resistance (“R13”), which are connected in series with one another between the positive pole (see annotated Fig. 2) and a reference point (“reference ground GND”; Fig. 2).
Ao further discloses the pack voltage divider (combo of “R12”, “R13”, “R16”, and “R17”) further comprises a negative pack resistance (“R16”) and a negative sub-pack resistance (“R17”), which are connected in series with one another between the negative pole (see annotated Fig. 2) and the reference point (“GND”).
Ao further discloses the at least one coupling power supply system (“High Voltage Load” + “R14”, “R15”, “R18”, and “R19”) has a coupling voltage divider (combo of “R14”, “R15”, “R18”, and “R19”; Fig. 2).
Ao further discloses the coupling voltage divider (combo of “R14”, “R15”, “R18”, and “R19”) comprises a positive coupling resistance (“R14”) and a positive sub-coupling resistance (“R15”), which are connected in series with one another between the positive terminal (see annotated Fig. 2) and the reference point (“GND”).
Ao further discloses the coupling voltage divider (combo of “R14”, “R15”, “R18”, and “R19”) further comprises a negative coupling resistance (“R19”) and a negative sub-coupling resistance (“R18”), which are connected in series with one another between the negative terminal (see annotated Fig. 2) and the reference point (“GND”).
Regarding Claim 2, Ao discloses the positive pole (see annotated Fig. 2) is connectable to the positive terminal (see annotated Fig. 2) by means of a positive pack switch (“main positive relay S11” in Fig. 2; “K82” in Fig. 9; ¶ [49]).
Ao further discloses the negative pole (see annotated Fig. 2) is connectable to the negative terminal (see annotated Fig. 2) by means of a negative pack switch (“main negative relay S13”; Fig. 2; “K81” in Fig. 9; ¶ [49]).
Regarding Claim 5, Ao discloses the battery system (Fig. 9 with detailed sub-circuit views in Figs. 2 + 3; see annotated Fig. 3, included infra) further comprising a charging power supply system (combo of “Charger” and resistors “R24”, “R25”, “R28”, and “R29” of Fig. 3; drawn in Fig. 9 as incorporated into the battery system with the battery pack and coupling power system).
Ao further discloses the charging power supply system (combo of “Charger”, “R24”, “R25”, “R28”, and “R29”) has a positive charging connection (see annotated Fig. 3), a negative charging connection (see annotated Fig. 3) and a charging voltage divider (combo of “R24”, “R25”, “R28”, and “R29”; Fig. 3).
Ao further discloses the charging voltage divider (combo of “R24”, “R25”, “R28”, and “R29”) comprises a positive charging resistance (“R24”) and a positive sub-charging resistance (“R25”), which are connected in series with one another between the positive charging connection (see annotated Fig. 3) and the reference point (“GND”).
Ao further discloses the charging voltage divider (combo of “R24”, “R25”, “R28”, and “R29”) further comprises a negative charging resistance (“R28”) and a negative sub-charging resistance (“R29”), which are connected in series with one another between the negative charging connection (see annotated Fig. 3) and the reference point (see annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 6, Ao discloses the battery system (Fig. 9 with detailed sub-circuit views in Figs. 2-3; see annotated Fig. 9, included infra).
Ao further discloses the positive charging connection (see annotated Fig. 9) is connectable to the positive terminal (see annotated Fig. 9) by means of a positive charging switch (“charging positive relay K85”; Fig. 9; on-state “K85” connects “positive charging connection” to “positive terminal” when “K82” also in on-state).
Ao further discloses the negative charging connection (see annotated Fig. 9) is connectable to the negative terminal (see annotated Fig. 9) by means of a negative charging switch (“charging negative relay K84”; Fig. 9; on-state “K84” connects “negative charging connection” to “negative terminal” when “K81” also in on-state).
Regarding Claim 9, Ao discloses a method (“cross voltage sampling” per ¶ [10] is disclosed as an improvement to “a method of voltage sampling” in prior art per ¶ [7-9]) for diagnosing a battery system (detailed sub-circuit view of Fig. 2; can also extend to the larger circuit view of Fig. 9), the method comprising the following.
Ao further discloses measuring (¶ [94]: “output voltage signals V11 and V12 are input to the comparison circuit composed of comparator U1, comparator U12”) a positive pack voltage (“V11”; Fig. 2) in the form of a voltage drop (“V11” ref. to “GND”) across a positive sub-pack resistance (“R13”; Fig. 2).
Ao further discloses measuring (¶ [96]: “output voltage signals V13 and V14 are input to the comparison circuit composed of comparator U14, comparator U15”) a negative pack voltage (“V13”; Fig. 2) in the form of a voltage drop (“V13” ref. to “GND”) across a negative sub-pack resistance (“R17”; Fig. 2).
Ao further discloses measuring (¶ [94]: “output voltage signals V11 and V12 are input to the comparison circuit composed of comparator U1, comparator U12”) a positive coupling voltage (“V12”; Fig. 2) in the form of a voltage drop (“V12” ref. to “GND”) across a positive sub-coupling resistance (“R15”; Fig. 2).
Ao further discloses measuring (¶ [96]: “output voltage signals V13 and V14 are input to the comparison circuit composed of comparator U14, comparator U15”) a negative coupling voltage (“V14”; Fig. 2) in the form of a voltage drop (“V14” ref. to “GND”) across the negative sub-coupling resistance (“R18”; Fig. 2).
Ao further discloses performing an evaluation of the measured voltages (¶ [13]: “obtain a diagnosis result of each relay”).
Regarding Claim 10, Ao discloses an electric vehicle (per Abstract: “electric vehicle power supply end”), comprising a battery system (Fig. 9 with detailed sub-circuit views in Figs. 2 + 3; see annotated Fig. 2, included infra) that includes the following.
Ao further discloses a battery pack (“battery pack” embodiment of “12”; Figs. 1-2), which has a positive pole (see annotated Fig. 2), a negative pole (see annotated Fig. 2), at least one battery cell (inherent for “battery pack”) and a pack voltage divider (combo of “R12” and “R13”; Fig. 2; per Fig. 9, the resistive voltage dividers can be integrated into the “battery pack”).
Ao further discloses at least one coupling power supply system (combo of “High Voltage Load” and resistors “R14”, “R15”, “R18”, and “R19”; Fig. 2), which has a negative terminal (see annotated Fig. 2) and a positive terminal (see annotated Fig. 2).
Ao further discloses the pack voltage divider (combo of “R12”, “R13”, “R16”, and “R17”) comprises a positive pack resistance (“R12”) and a positive sub-pack resistance (“R13”), which are connected in series with one another between the positive pole and a reference point (“reference ground GND”; Fig. 2).
Ao further discloses the pack voltage divider (combo of “R12”, “R13”, “R16”, and “R17”) further comprises a negative pack resistance (“R16”) and a negative sub-pack resistance (“R17”), which are connected in series with one another between the negative pole and the reference point (“GND”).
Ao further discloses the at least one coupling power supply system (“High Voltage Load” + “R14”, “R15”, “R18”, and “R19”) has a coupling voltage divider (combo of “R14”, “R15”, “R18”, and “R19”).
Ao further discloses the coupling voltage divider (combo of “R14”, “R15”, “R18”, and “R19”) comprises a positive coupling resistance (“R14”) and a positive sub-coupling resistance (“R15”), which are connected in series with one another between the positive terminal (see annotated Fig. 2) and the reference point (“GND”).
Ao further discloses the coupling voltage divider (combo of “R14”, “R15”, “R18”, and “R19”) further comprises a negative coupling resistance (“R19”) and a negative sub-coupling resistance (“R18”), which are connected in series with one another between the negative terminal (see annotated Fig. 2) and the reference point (“GND”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ao (US 2018/0240629 A1) in view of Song (US 2020/0217893 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Ao discloses the pack voltage divider (combo of “R12”, “R13”, “R18”, and “R19”; Fig. 2).
Ao further discloses the coupling voltage divider (combo of “R14”, “R15”, “R18”, and “R19”; Fig. 2).
Ao does not disclose “wherein a resistance ratio of the pack voltage divider differs from a resistance ratio of the coupling voltage divider”.
Song teaches a resistance ratio (R11/R12 = 99 per ¶ [64]) of the first voltage divider (combo of “first voltage measuring unit 210” and “second voltage measuring unit 220”; Fig. 7) differs from a resistance ratio (R22/R21 = 1/99 per ¶ [60]) of the second voltage divider (combo of “second diagnosis circuit 240” and “third diagnosis circuit 250”; Fig. 7).
NOTE: The claim language “a resistance ratio of the [pack/coupling/charging] voltage divider” is subject to a broad, reasonable interpretation. The claim language does not define which resistances (or combination thereof) are in the numerator and denominator of each ratio.
Song further teaches these resistance ratios of the voltage dividers for the advantage of protecting the detection resistors from high voltages (¶ [64]). The voltage dividers accordingly include a protection resistor and a detection resistor ¶ ([16-17, 23, 55, 64]).
NOTE: The two voltage dividers taught by Song are not explicitly a “pack voltage divider” and a “coupling voltage divider”. However, they are both used to measure voltages in a high voltage battery system and are arranged similarly to the claimed voltage dividers. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the teachings of Song regarding the voltage dividers can be extended to any of a “pack voltage divider”, a “coupling voltage divider”, and/or a “charging voltage divider”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pack voltage divider and the coupling voltage divider disclosed by Ao to incorporate the resistance ratios as taught by Song, for the advantage of protecting the resistors from high voltages.
Regarding Claim 7, Ao discloses the charging voltage divider (combo of “R24”, “R25”, “R28”, and “R29”; Fig. 3).
Ao further discloses the pack voltage divider (combo of “R12”, “R13”, “R18”, and “R19”; Fig. 2).
Ao does not disclose “wherein a resistance ratio of the charging voltage divider differs from a resistance ratio of the pack voltage divider”.
Song teaches a resistance ratio (R11/R12 = 99 per ¶ [64]) of the first voltage divider (combo of “first voltage measuring unit 210” and “second voltage measuring unit 220”; Fig. 7) differs from a resistance ratio (R22/R21 = 1/99 per ¶ [60]) of the second voltage divider (combo of “second diagnosis circuit 240” and “third diagnosis circuit 250”; Fig. 7).
Song further teaches these resistance ratios of the voltage dividers for the advantage of protecting the detection resistors from high voltages (¶ [64]). The voltage dividers accordingly include a protection resistor and a detection resistor ¶ ([16-17, 23, 55, 64]).
NOTE: The two voltage dividers taught by Song are not explicitly a “charging voltage divider” and a “pack voltage divider”. However, they are both used to measure voltages in a high voltage battery system and are arranged similarly to the claimed voltage dividers. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the teachings of Song regarding the voltage dividers can be extended to any of a “pack voltage divider”, a “coupling voltage divider”, and/or a “charging voltage divider”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging voltage divider and the pack voltage divider disclosed by Ao to incorporate the resistance ratios as taught by Song, for the advantage of protecting the resistors from high voltages.
Regarding Claim 8, Ao discloses the charging voltage divider (combo of “R24”, “R25”, “R28”, and “R29”; Fig. 3).
Ao further discloses the coupling voltage divider (combo of “R14”, “R15”, “R18”, and “R19”; Fig. 2).
Ao does not disclose “wherein a resistance ratio of the charging voltage divider differs from a resistance ratio of the coupling voltage divider”.
Song teaches a resistance ratio (R11/R12 = 99 per ¶ [64]) of the first voltage divider (combo of “first voltage measuring unit 210” and “second voltage measuring unit 220”; Fig. 7) differs from a resistance ratio (R22/R21 = 1/99 per ¶ [60]) of the second voltage divider (combo of “second diagnosis circuit 240” and “third diagnosis circuit 250”; Fig. 7).
Song further teaches these resistance ratios of the voltage dividers for the advantage of protecting the detection resistors from high voltages (¶ [64]). The voltage dividers accordingly include a protection resistor and a detection resistor ¶ ([16-17, 23, 55, 64]).
NOTE: The two voltage dividers taught by Song are not explicitly a “charging voltage divider” and a “coupling voltage divider”. However, they are both used to measure voltages in a high voltage battery system and are arranged similarly to the claimed voltage dividers. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the teachings of Song regarding the voltage dividers can be extended to any of a “pack voltage divider”, a “coupling voltage divider”, and/or a “charging voltage divider”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging voltage divider and the coupling voltage divider disclosed by Ao to incorporate the resistance ratios as taught by Song, for the advantage of protecting the resistors from high voltages.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ao (US 2018/0240629 A1) in view of Sun et al. (US 2019/0064280 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Ao discloses the pack voltage divider (combo of “R12”, “R13”, “R18”, and “R19”; Fig. 2).
Ao does not disclose “wherein the pack voltage divider comprises a positive measuring switch, by means of which the positive pack resistance and the positive sub-pack resistance are disconnectable from the positive pole or the reference point, and a negative measuring switch, by means of which the negative pack resistance and the negative sub-pack resistance are disconnectable from the negative pole or the reference point”.
Sun teaches the pack voltage divider (combo of “first positive sampling unit F1” and “first negative sampling unit F2”; see annotated Fig. 3, included infra) comprises a positive measuring switch (“first switch K1”; Fig. 3), by means of which the positive pack resistance (“R1”; Fig. 3) and the positive sub-pack resistance (“R2”; Fig. 3) are disconnectable (¶ [80-81]) from the positive pole (positive terminal of “power battery pack”; see annotated Fig. 3).
Sun further teaches a negative measuring switch (“second switch K2”; Fig. 3), by means of which the negative pack resistance (“R4”; Fig. 3) and the negative sub-pack resistance (“R3”; Fig. 3) are disconnectable (¶ [82-83]) from the reference point (“GND”; Fig. 3).
Sun further teaches the arrangement of the positive/negative measuring switches in the pack voltage divider to enable control over which voltage divider is used to measure the sampled voltage signal (¶ [80-83]), which improves the safety of the battery system by the use of the measurements (¶ [179, 181) to identify failing insulation resistances (¶ [184-185]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pack voltage divider disclosed by Ao to incorporate the positive/negative measuring switches, as taught by Sun, to improve the safety of the battery system based on the measurements enabled by the functionality of the switches.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P MCFARLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859