DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 1 is amended. Claim 9 is canceled. Claim 11 is newly added. Claims 1-8 & 10-11 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-8 & 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansen (US 2019/0280265 A1 as cited in the IDS on 09/13/2024) in view Lee (US 2022/0037728 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 7-8 & 10, Jansen teaches a battery pack comprising a battery module (28) comprising a battery cell stack (66) in which a plurality of battery cells (68) are stacked, and a module frame (90+90) housing the battery cell stack therein, wherein each of the plurality of battery cells comprise a pouch case and an electrode assembly housed in the pouch case; and wherein a foam pad layer (130), configured to control swelling of the battery module, is located at an outermost part of the respective pouch case and in contact with a side surface part of the module frame (Figs. 8-9; [0036], [0045] & [0050]-[0056]). Jansen is silent as to each pouch case being composed of a laminate sheet comprising the foam pad layer. Lee teaches a battery module comprising a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells (160) are stacked, wherein the plurality of battery cells comprise a pouch case (160+180) composed of a laminate sheet comprising a foam pad layer (180) comprising polyurethane on an outermost surface (Figs. 1-3; [0040]-[0042], [0045]-[0046], [0049], [0052], [0054] & [0056]-[0057]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use a pouch case composed of a laminate sheet comprising a foam pad layer on an outermost surface as an integrated structure for Jansen’s battery cells because the foam pad layer of Lee because uniform surface pressure may be applied to provide enhanced charging and discharging property within the pouch cell while achieving a sufficient space for an expansion of the pouch cell and further deformation of the pouch cells occurring in the large area may be more effectively suppressed and damages between the plurality of the pouch cells may be prevented as taught by Lee ([0050]).
Regarding claim 11, Jansen as modified by Lee teaches the battery module of claim 1. Lee further teaches that the foam pad layer of each pouch case can be the outermost part of an entirety of the respective pouch case ([0046]).
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansen (US 2019/0280265 A1) and Lee (US 2022/0037728 A1), as applied to claims 1, 7-8 & 10-11 above, and further in view of Tsumori (US 2020/0168857 A1).
Regarding claims 2-6, Jansen as modified by Lee teaches the battery module of claim 1 but is silent as to the pouch case having an inner resin layer, a metal layer an outer resin layer and a packaging sheet layer, wherein the inner resin layer and the metal layer is sequentially positioned between the electrode assembly and the foam pad layer in a direction toward the foam pad layer from the electrode assembly. Tsumori teaches a battery cell comprising a pouch case and an electrode assembly housed in the pouch case, wherein the pouch case comprises, from an inside of the battery case to the outside, a heat sealable resin layer such as a polypropylene layer, a barrier layer such as an aluminum layer, and a base material layer comprising a multilayer structure comprising a nylon layer and a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) layer ([0037], [0058]-[0061], [0071]-[0073], [0106]-[0109], [0156] & [0169]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to form a pouch case including a heat-sealable resin layer such as a propylene layer (i.e inner layer of the present invention), a barrier layer such as an aluminum layer (i.e metal layer of the present invention) and a base layer comprising a nylon layer and a PET layer (i.e outer layer + packaging sheet layer of the present invention) in order to respectively 1) improve pinhole resistance or insulation properties while ensuring that the outermost layer is not discolored, 2) improve the strength of the battery packaging material, as well as prevent the ingress of water vapor, oxygen, light, and the like into the battery, and 3) hermetically seal the battery as taught by Tsumori ([0060], [0072] & [0107]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 & 10-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendment to claim 1 has prompted a new ground of rejection in view of the newly cited Lee reference. As presently claimed, the subject matter of claims 1, 7-8 & 10-11 is found to be obvious over the combined teachings of Jansen and Lee with claims 2-6 being found obvious further in view of Tsumori. Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 1-8 & 10-11 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727