DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim16,18 and 29-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 21-22,24-25, and 31-47 are allowed.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art, alone or in combination does not disclose the claimed air heating method or kit that generates hydrogen through electrolysis and combusts hydrogen with the generated oxygen and additional oxidants that have been combined with a venturi device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giacomini (US 2011/0183222) and Rusta-Salley et al. (US 2003/0207161).
Regarding claim 16, Giacomini (G) discloses a process for heating ambient air, comprising: electrolyzing water (Abstract), with effect that gaseous molecular hydrogen is produced (via 12, Figure 1,[0028]); emplacing reaction zone material within a reaction zone (via 18), wherein the reaction zone material includes the produced gaseous molecular hydrogen and an oxidant; igniting the reaction zone material combined fluid material, with effect that the reaction zone material is converted to reaction products via a reactive process, such that a post-reactive process gaseous material is produced ([0029]); wherein: the reactive process includes combustion of the gaseous molecular hydrogen effected by the oxidant (catalytic combustion); the reaction products include water vapour (moist air); the reactive process produces heat energy which heats the post-reactive process gaseous material such that a heated post-reactive process gaseous material is produced for heating of ambient air ([0029], via radiant heat); and the heated post-reactive process gaseous material includes the reaction products; disposing the heated post-reactive process gaseous material in heat transfer communication with a heat exchanger (via 10 ), but does not disclose drawing air across the heat exchanger with a fan, with effect that the air is disposed in indirect heat transfer with the heated post-reactive process gaseous material via the heat exchanger for heating the air, and the heating of the air with the heated post-reactive process gaseous material via indirect heat transfer is with effect that the water vapour of the reaction products is condensed, such that liquid water is obtained; wherein the electrolyzing includes electrolyzing of the liquid water that is obtained from the condensing of the water vapour of the reaction products.
However, Rusta-Salley (RS) disclose a hydrogen production system (Abstract) discloses drawing air across the heat exchanger with a fan (90, [0057] i.e., radiator which is an air cooled heat exchanger) with effect that the air is disposed in indirect heat transfer with the heated post-reactive process gaseous material via the heat exchanger for heating the air, and the heating of the air with the heated post-reactive process gaseous material via indirect heat transfer is with effect that the water vapour of the reaction products is condensed ([0058-0060]), such that liquid water is obtained; wherein the electrolyzing includes electrolyzing of the liquid water that is obtained from the condensing of the water vapour of the reaction products ([0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to combine the water recovery system of Rusta-Salley with the hydrogen burner of Giacomini because the resultant water is relatively pure and thus would increase the system’s efficiency by not having to remove as many impurities from the water before electrolysis as would be found in city water.
Regarding claim 18, Giacomini (G), as modified, discloses the process of claim 16, wherein: the electrolyzing of the water is with additional effect that oxygen is produced (G-[0034]); and the oxidant includes the produced oxygen ([0059]).
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giacomini (US 2011/0183222), Rusta-Salley et al. (US 2003/0207161), and Boyle (US 2008/0302670).
Regarding claim 29, Giacomini (G), as modified, disclose the process of claim 16, but not the step of transferring at least a portion of heat that is generated by the electrolyzing of the water to a heat sink ([0039]).
However, Boyle (B) discloses a hydrogen generator (abstract) that transfers at least a portion of heat that is generated by the electrolyzing of the water to a heat sink ([0039]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to remove thermal energy from the electrolyzer in order to allow it to operate at higher amperages.
Regarding claim 30, Giacomini (G), as modified, disclose the process of claim 29, wherein the heat sink includes a chiller ([0012]).
Conclusion
/JOHN E BARGERO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 ***
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762