Applicant's response to the previous Office action, dated April 3, 2026, has been received. By way of this submission, Applicant has amended the specification and claims 1, 4-5, 11, and 14, and cancelled claims 6, 12, 23-24, and 26-28.
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-16, 18-22 and 25 are pending in the application. Claims 9, 11, 18, and 23-25 remain withdrawn from consideration, pursuant to the Restriction Requirement mailed May 27, 2025.
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, 13-16, and 19-22 are therefore under examination before the Office.
The rejections of record can be found in the previous Office action, dated January 6, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 3, 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the first Office action on the merits on January 6, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure was previously objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code.
Applicant's amendment to the specification has addressed this issue, and this objection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by June (US20150283178A1).
Applicant argues that June does not teach every aspect of the claims as amended; specifically, June does not teach a chimeric antigen receptor with a CD28 intracellular signaling region.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are not found to be persuasive.
June teaches a CAR comprising the anti-CD19 FMC63 scFv (para. 0306).
June further teaches that the CAR may possess a CD3 zeta signaling domain (para. 0341).
June further teaches that the CAR may also possess a CD28 intracellular signaling domain (para. 0344).
This rejection is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8, 10, 12, 14, 19, 20-22, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over June as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gore (Blood Cancer J. 2018 Aug 22;8(9):80), Kasagra (Bone Marrow Transplant. 2019 Nov;54(11):1868-1880), Paul (Symposium on neoplastic hematology and medical oncology, Volume 91, Issue 11 p1645-1666 November 2016), and Better (US20150344844A1).
Applicant argues that the field of CAR design is known to be unpredictable, citing reference to Guedan, Dotti, and Shah (cited by Applicant in IDS). Applicant further argues that the prior art teaches away from the use of CD28 as a costimulatory domain over 4-1BB. Applicant further argues that the claimed method produces unexpected results in both efficacy and safety in treating mantle cell lymphoma as compared to Minson (cited by Applicant in IDS), which describes treatment with tisagenlecleucel, another anti-CD19 CAR.
Applicant's arguments have been considered fully but are not found to be persuasive.
Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). "A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use." In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). MPEP 2123.
Guedan states that "CD28 and 4-1BB are the most widely used costimulatory endodomains in CARs. Clinical trials with CARs incorporating CD28 or 4-1BB intracellular domains showed similar response rates in patients with hematologic malignancies." (page 147, right column, last paragraph). While Guedan goes on to describe the functional differences between CD28 and 4-1BB, it was known that they performed a similar function, and both domains resulted in a functional CAR. This is not a lack of predictability in the field, the functions and differences were known according to Guedan. Guedan also suggests means by which the skilled artisan could choose which domain to use (page 148, left column, first paragraph: "The high effector function and self-limited expansion of CD28-based CARs may be ideal to transiently treat diseases with a rapid tumor elimination and short-term persistence of the CAR (i.e., as a bridge therapy for allogeneic hematopoietic stem cell transplantation). By contrast, 4-1BB-based CARs may be used to treat diseases in which complete responses require sustained T cell persistence."). Neither does Guedan discredit CD28 as an unworkable choice. Dotti and Sah concur with Guedan in that both CD28 and 4-1BB produced viable CARs.
With regards to Applicant's allegation of unexpected results, Minson states that tisagenlecleucel results in an overall response rate of 90% (page 1, last paragraph), which is comparable to Applicant's reported rate of 86% or 92%. Neelapu (The New England Journal of Medicine, December 28, 2017, pp. 2531-2544, Vol. 377, no. 26., cited in IDS), teaches that treatment with axicabtagene ciloleucel, an anti-CD19 CAR with a CD28 costimulatory region, results in 13% incidence of grade 3 or higher cytokine release syndrome (page 2531, "Results"), which is comparable with Applicant's reported 15% incidence of grade 3 or higher cytokine release syndrome.
"Expected beneficial results are evidence of obviousness of a claimed invention, just as unexpected results are evidence of unobviousness thereof." In re Gershon, 372 F.2d 535, 538, 152 USPQ 602, 604 (CCPA 1967). MPEP 716.02(c). There is nothing to indicate that the components of the claimed combination are performing anything other than their known, usual functions. As Applicant's results are comparable to the teachings of the prior art, they cannot be said to be unexpected.
This rejection is therefore maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, 13-16, and 19-22, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,156,887 in view of June, Gore, Kansagra, Paul, and Better.
Applicant argues that the claims as amended are nonobvious in view of the cited references, for reasons described above. This is not found persuasive, for reasons described supra.
This rejection is therefore maintained.
Claims 1-5 and 13-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-8, and 10 of copending Application No. 17/091,039 (reference application).
Applicant has asked that this rejection be held in abeyance. This rejection is therefore maintained.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER JOHANSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1644