DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are currently pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 1-4, filed 12/15/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3 under Sharutin et al as well as claims 1-2, 4 and 6 under Furukawa et al have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sharutin et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharutin et al (see Russian Journal of General Chemistry, 2002, Vol. 72, No. 12, p. 1925-1926). Sharutin et al teach the reaction
and exemplifies adding pentaphenylantimony (2.17 mmol) and diphenyl-bismuth 4-methylbenzenesulfonate (2.17 mmol) to give triphenylbismuth. Although Sharutin et al does not teach a substoichimetric amount of the arylbismuth precursor relative to the nucleophile, it would have been prima facie obvious to vary the amount of bismuth compound to the antimony compound to optimize the yield of the process. According to MPEP 2144.05, Section II, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” MPEP 2144.05 citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton et al (see Tetrahedron, 1986, Vol 42, No. 12, p. 3111-3122, see IDS filed 06/24/2022).
Barton et al teach synthesis of di-p-tolylphenyl bismuth from di-p-tolylbismuth chloride (4.8 g = 11.2 mmol) and phenylmagnesium bromide from bromobenzene (1.76 g = 11.2 mmol) and magnesium (0.28 g = 11.5 mmol) - see p. 3119. Although Barton et al does not teach a substoichimetric amount of the arylbismuth precursor relative to the nucleophile, it would be obvious to vary the amount of bismuth compound to the nucleophile (i.e. phenylmagnesium bromide) to optimize the yield of the process. According to MPEP 2144.05, Section II, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” MPEP 2144.05 citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barton et al (see Tetrahedron, 1986, Vol 42, No. 12, p. 3111-3122, see IDS filed 06/24/2022) in view of Sharutin et al (see Russian Journal of General Chemistry, 2002, Vol. 72, No. 12, p. 1925-1926).
The teachings of Sharutin et al are described in the above 103 rejection. Regarding the use of R2 as a tosyl group, Barton et al teach a chloro group instead. However Sharutin et al teaches that reaction of a diarylbismuth precursor having a tosyl group as a leaving group with an organometal nucleophile is known. Thus, a chloro and tosyl group would be considered equivalents as they both function as leaving groups and it would have been prima facie obvious to substitute one for the other. See MPEP 2144.06.
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilman et al (see J. Am. Chem Soc, 1941, Vol. 63, No. 1, p. 207-211).
Gilman et al teach the reaction diphenylbismuth chloride (0.01 mol) with α-naphthylmagnesium bromide (0.01 mol) to give diphenyl-α-naphthylbismuth. Although Gilman et al et al does not teach a substoichimetric amount of the arylbismuth precursor relative to the nucleophile, it would be obvious to vary the amount of bismuth compound to the nucleophile (i.e. α-naphthylmagnesium bromide) to optimize the yield of the process. According to MPEP 2144.05, Section II, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” MPEP 2144.05 citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilman et al (see J. Am. Chem Soc, 1941, Vol. 63, No. 1, p. 207-211) in view of Sharutin et al (see Russian Journal of General Chemistry, 2002, Vol. 72, No. 12, p. 1925-1926).
The teachings of Sharutin et al are described in the above 103 rejection. Regarding the use of R2 as a tosyl group, Gilman et al teach a chloro group instead. However Sharutin et al teaches that reaction of a diarylbismuth precursor having a tosyl group as a leaving group with an organometal nucleophile is known. Thus, a chloro and tosyl group would be considered equivalents as they both function as leaving groups and it would have been prima facie obvious to substitute one for the other. MPEP 2144.06.
Conclusion
/KAREN CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623