DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed 5/22/2026. Currently, claims 1, 2, 13, 14, 16, 25, 99, 100, 102, 103, 113 and 115-117 are pending in the application. Claims 3-12, 15, 17-24, 26-98, 101, 104-112 and 114 are cancelled by Applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 is sufficient to overcome the previous objection to claim 1.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 25 is sufficient to overcome the rejection of claim 25 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph. Applicant’s amendment to claim 113 is sufficient to overcome the previous rejections of claim 113 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph. Applicant’s amendment to claim 115 is sufficient to overcome the rejection of claim 115 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph. Applicant’s amendment to claim 116 is sufficient to overcome the previous rejections of claims 116 and 117 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Applicant’s arguments that Locke et al. does not teach the hydrocolloid having a water-absorbing compound and a plasticizer have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration and in view of Applicant’s amendment, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of CHEN et al. (CN 107261186 A).
Applicant's remaining argument(s) filed 5/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that the sealing adhesive 144 of Locke et al. cannot be considered “ribs” because the sealing adhesive 144 has no shape apart from being coated onto the plurality of fibers 136, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The sealing adhesive 144 can be considered to form “ribs” inasmuch as the sealing adhesive 144 coated on the plurality of fibers 136 has the shape and appearance of rib(s) when coated on thereon. As evidenced by the attached definition, a “rib” is defined “something resembling a rib in shape” (see attached definition).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 99, 100, 102 and 103 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 99 recites “each rib of the plurality of ribs having an average cross-section length parallel to a first surface and a second surface of the liquid retaining polymeric film layer of between 1 to 6 mm.” No support is provided for this claim limitation in Applicant’s specification as originally filed. Applicant’s original disclosure does not teach that each rib (individually) has the claimed average cross-section length, which indicates that each rib itself can have varying cross-section length. Rather, Applicant’s original disclosure teaches that the ribs (collectively) have the claimed average cross-section length. Claims 100, 102 and 103 depend on claim 99 and therefore, include the same error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Locke et al. (WO 2015130471 A1) (first interpretation).
Regarding claim 1, Locke et al. teaches in Figures 1-3C, [0047-0048], [0051], and [0056-0057]
a first layer (film layer 124) having a first surface (top surface of film layer 124, as positioned in Figure 2) and a second surface (bottom surface of film layer 124, as positioned in Figure 2), said first layer (film layer 124) comprising a first polymer composition ([0047] teaches “the film layer 124 may be formed from numerous materials, such as one or more of the following: hydrophilic polyurethane (PU), cellulosics, hydrophilic polyamides, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, hydrophilic acrylics, hydrophilic silicone elastomers, and copolymers of these”);
a second layer (layer of a bonding adhesive 126) having a first surface (top surface of layer of a bonding adhesive 126, as positioned in Figure 2) and a second surface (bottom surface of layer of a bonding adhesive 126, as positioned in Figure 2), said second layer (layer of a bonding adhesive 126) comprising an adhesive ([0048] teaches “the bonding adhesive 126 may be a medically-acceptable, pressure-sensitive adhesive”); and
a plurality of ribs (plurality of fibers 136 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as taught in [0056]; shown in Figures 3B and 3C to have a rib structure; [0052] teaches “the mesh 128 may have a plurality of fibers 136;” [0056] teaches “the mesh 128 may be coated with a gel, such as a sealing adhesive 144”) formed from a polymeric gel adhesive ([0056] teaches “the mesh 128 may be coated with a gel, such as a sealing adhesive 144;” [0057] teaches “a sealing adhesive may be formed of a silicone gel (or soft silicone), hydrocolloid, hydrogel, polyurethane gel, polyolefin gel, hydrogenated styrenic copolymer gels, or foamed gels with compositions as listed, or soft closed cell foams (polyurethanes, polyolefms) coated with an adhesive (for example, 30 gsm - 70 gsm acrylic), polyurethane, polyolefin, or hydrogenated styrenic copolymers”) and defining a third layer (plurality of fibers 136 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as taught in [0056]) having a first surface (top surface of plurality of fibers 136 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as positioned in Figure 2) and a second surface (bottom surface of plurality of fibers 136 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as positioned in Figure 2), the plurality of ribs (plurality of fibers 136 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as taught in [0056]) further defining (as shown in Figure 3A; [0055] teaches “bonding apertures 134 may be formed through one or more fibers 136”) a plurality of perforations (bonding apertures 134), the plurality of ribs (plurality of fibers 136 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as taught in [0056]; shown in Figures 3B and 3C to have a rib structure; [0052] teaches “the mesh 128 may have a plurality of fibers 136;” [0056] teaches “the mesh 128 may be coated with a gel, such as a sealing adhesive 144”) being free from non-polymeric gel materials ([0056] teaches “the mesh 128 may be coated with a gel, such as a sealing adhesive 144;” [0057] teaches “a sealing adhesive may be formed of a silicone gel (or soft silicone), hydrocolloid, hydrogel, polyurethane gel, polyolefin gel, hydrogenated styrenic copolymer gels, or foamed gels with compositions as listed, or soft closed cell foams (polyurethanes, polyolefms) coated with an adhesive (for example, 30 gsm - 70 gsm acrylic), polyurethane, polyolefin, or hydrogenated styrenic copolymers;” these are polymer gel materials, making it clear that the coasted mesh 128 is free from non-polymeric gel materials; there are no gel materials present that are not polymeric);
wherein the second layer (layer of a bonding adhesive 126) is positioned between (as shown in Figure 2) the first layer (film layer 124) and the third layer (plurality of fibers 136 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as taught in [0056]).
Regarding claim 2, Locke et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Locke et al. teaches in Figure 2 and [0062] that the second surface (bottom surface of film layer 124, as positioned in Figure 2) of the first layer (film layer 124) is in contact (as shown in Figure 2; [0062] teaches “the bonding adhesive 126 may be coupled to the film layer 124”) with the first surface (top surface of layer of a bonding adhesive 126, as positioned in Figure 2) of the second layer (layer of a bonding adhesive 126) and/or the second surface (bottom surface of layer of a bonding adhesive 126, as positioned in Figure 2) of the second layer (layer of a bonding adhesive 126) is in contact with (as shown in Figure 2; [0062] teaches “the mesh 128 may be coupled to the bonding adhesive 126”) the first surface (top surface of plurality of fibers 136 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as positioned in Figure 2) of the third layer (plurality of fibers 136 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as taught in [0056]).
Regarding claim 14, Locke et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Locke et al. teaches in [0048] that the adhesive ([0048] teaches “the bonding adhesive 126 may be a medically-acceptable, pressure-sensitive adhesive”) is a high tack acrylic adhesive ([0048] teaches “the bonding adhesive 126 may also be a high-bond strength acrylic adhesive”), a color changing adhesive, and/or light-switchable adhesive.
Regarding claim 16, Locke et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Locke et al. teaches in [0056-0057] that the polymeric gel adhesive ([0056] teaches “the mesh 128 may be coated with a gel, such as a sealing adhesive 144;” [0057] teaches “a sealing adhesive may be formed of a silicone gel (or soft silicone), hydrocolloid, hydrogel, polyurethane gel, polyolefin gel, hydrogenated styrenic copolymer gels, or foamed gels with compositions as listed, or soft closed cell foams (polyurethanes, polyolefms) coated with an adhesive (for example, 30 gsm - 70 gsm acrylic), polyurethane, polyolefin, or hydrogenated styrenic copolymers”) comprises a polyurethane gel, polyurethane adhesive, a hydrogel, a hydrocolloid or any combination thereof.
Claim(s) 1 and 113 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Locke et al. (WO 2015130471 A1) (second interpretation).
Regarding claim 1, Locke et al. teaches in Figures 1-3C, [0047-0048], [0051], [0056-0057] and [0064]
a first layer (film layer 124) having a first surface (top surface of film layer 124, as positioned in Figure 2) and a second surface (bottom surface of film layer 124, as positioned in Figure 2), said first layer (film layer 124) comprising a first polymer composition ([0047] teaches “the film layer 124 may be formed from numerous materials, such as one or more of the following: hydrophilic polyurethane (PU), cellulosics, hydrophilic polyamides, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, hydrophilic acrylics, hydrophilic silicone elastomers, and copolymers of these”);
a second layer (layer of a bonding adhesive 126) having a first surface (top surface of layer of a bonding adhesive 126, as positioned in Figure 2) and a second surface (bottom surface of layer of a bonding adhesive 126, as positioned in Figure 2), said second layer (layer of a bonding adhesive 126) comprising an adhesive ([0048] teaches “the bonding adhesive 126 may be a medically-acceptable, pressure-sensitive adhesive”); and
a plurality of ribs (gel sealing adhesive 144 coated on the plurality of fibers 136, as taught in [0056]; the plurality of fibers 136, and therefore, the coating of gel adhesive 144 thereon, is shown in Figures 3B and 3C to have a rib structure; [0052] teaches “the mesh 128 may have a plurality of fibers 136;” [0056] teaches “the mesh 128 may be coated with a gel, such as a sealing adhesive 144”) formed from a polymeric gel adhesive ([0056] teaches “the mesh 128 may be coated with a gel, such as a sealing adhesive 144;” [0057] teaches “a sealing adhesive may be formed of a silicone gel (or soft silicone), hydrocolloid, hydrogel, polyurethane gel, polyolefin gel, hydrogenated styrenic copolymer gels, or foamed gels with compositions as listed, or soft closed cell foams (polyurethanes, polyolefms) coated with an adhesive (for example, 30 gsm - 70 gsm acrylic), polyurethane, polyolefin, or hydrogenated styrenic copolymers”) and defining a third layer (gel sealing adhesive 144 coated on the plurality of fibers 136, as taught in [0056]) having a first surface (top surface of gel sealing adhesive 144, as positioned in Figure 2) and a second surface (bottom surface of gel sealing adhesive 144, as positioned in Figure 2), the plurality of ribs (gel sealing adhesive 144 coated on the plurality of fibers 136, as taught in [0056]) further defining (as shown in Figure 3A; [0064] teaches “bonding apertures 134 of the sealing adhesive 144”) a plurality of perforations (bonding apertures 134), the plurality of ribs (gel sealing adhesive 144 coated on the plurality of fibers 136, as taught in [0056]; the plurality of fibers 136, and therefore, the coating of gel adhesive 144 thereon, is shown in Figures 3B and 3C to have a rib structure; [0052] teaches “the mesh 128 may have a plurality of fibers 136;” [0056] teaches “the mesh 128 may be coated with a gel, such as a sealing adhesive 144”) being free from non-polymeric gel materials ([0057] teaches “a sealing adhesive may be formed of a silicone gel (or soft silicone), hydrocolloid, hydrogel, polyurethane gel, polyolefin gel, hydrogenated styrenic copolymer gels, or foamed gels with compositions as listed, or soft closed cell foams (polyurethanes, polyolefms) coated with an adhesive (for example, 30 gsm - 70 gsm acrylic), polyurethane, polyolefin, or hydrogenated styrenic copolymers;” these are polymer gel materials, making it clear that the gel sealing adhesive 144 is free from non-polymeric gel materials; there are no gel materials present that are not polymeric);
wherein the second layer (layer of a bonding adhesive 126) is positioned between (as shown in Figure 2) the first layer (film layer 124) and the third layer (plurality of fibers 136 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as taught in [0056]).
Regarding claim 113, Locke et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Locke et al. teaches in [0057] the third layer (gel sealing adhesive 144 coated on the plurality of fibers 136, as taught in [0056]) consists essentially of polymeric gel adhesive ([0057] teaches “a sealing adhesive may be formed of a silicone gel (or soft silicone), hydrocolloid, hydrogel, polyurethane gel, polyolefin gel, hydrogenated styrenic copolymer gels, or foamed gels with compositions as listed, or soft closed cell foams (polyurethanes, polyolefms) coated with an adhesive (for example, 30 gsm - 70 gsm acrylic), polyurethane, polyolefin, or hydrogenated styrenic copolymers;” claim 17 teaches “the sealing adhesive comprises a silicone gel adhesive”) having a Shore value between 10 Shore 00 and 50 Shore 00 ([0057] teaches “a sealing adhesive may have a stiffness between about 5 Shore 00 and about 80 Shore 00”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 25 and 115 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke et al. (WO 2015130471 A1) (first interpretation).
Regarding claim 13, Locke et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Locke et al. does not teach that the first layer has an areal weight of 30 to 100 grams per square meter (gsm).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to provide that the first layer has an areal weight of 30 to 100 grams per square meter (gsm), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention would find it obvious that the areal weight of the first layer could be modified as necessary to provide preferred strength and quality of the first layer.
Regarding claim 25, Locke et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Locke et al. does not teach that the third layer has a water absorption rate of 0.5 g/g to 5 g/g, dry adhesive strength of 5N/25 cm to 15N/25 cm, density of 0.9 g/cc to 1.5 g/cc or any combination thereof.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to provide that the third layer has a water absorption rate of 0.5 g/g to 5 g/g, dry adhesive strength of 5N/25 cm to 15N/25 cm, density of 0.9 g/cc to 1.5 g/cc or any combination thereof, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention would find it obvious that water absorption rate, dry adhesive strength and/or density of the third layer could be modified as necessary to meet the needs of a specific use.
Regarding claim 115, Locke et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Locke et al. teaches in [0050] that the plurality of perforations (bonding apertures 134) “may be numerous shapes, for example, circles, squares, stars, ovals, polygons, slits, complex curves, rectilinear shapes, triangles, or other shapes.”
Locke et al. does not explicitly teach that the plurality of perforations comprise irregular shapes.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to provide that the plurality of perforations comprise irregular shapes, since it has been held that a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Dailey, 357 F. 2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 99, 102 and 103 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke et al. (WO 2015130471 A1) (first interpretation) in view of CHEN et al. (CN 107261186 A) (with reference to the attached translation).
Regarding claim 99, Locke et al. teaches in Figures 1-3C, [0046-0048], [0050-0051], [0055-0057] and [0062]
a liquid barrier layer (film layer 124; [0046] teaches “the film layer 124 may be liquid-impermeable”) comprising a polymeric film ([0047] teaches “the film layer 124 may be formed from numerous materials, such as one or more of the following: hydrophilic polyurethane (PU), cellulosics, hydrophilic polyamides, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, hydrophilic acrylics, hydrophilic silicone elastomers, and copolymers of these”);
an adhesive layer (bonding adhesive 126) in contact with (as shown in Figure 1; [0048] teaches “the bonding adhesive 126 may be coupled directly to the film layer 124”) the liquid barrier layer (film layer 124); and
a plurality of ribs (plurality of fibers 136 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as taught in [0056]; shown in Figures 3B and 3C to have a rib structure; [0052] teaches “the mesh 128 may have a plurality of fibers 136;” [0056] teaches “the mesh 128 may be coated with a gel, such as a sealing adhesive 144;” [0050] teaches “the mesh 128 may be a polymeric mesh;” [0057] teaches that the gel sealing adhesive 144 may be “hydrophilic”) forming (as shown in Figures 3A and 3B; [0052] teaches “the mesh 128 may have a plurality of fibers 136”) a liquid retaining polymeric film layer (mesh 128 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as taught in [0056]; [0050] teaches “the mesh 128 may be a polymeric mesh;” [0057] teaches that the gel sealing adhesive 144 may be “hydrophilic”) in contact with (as shown in Figure 1; [0062] teaches “the mesh 128 may be coupled to the bonding adhesive 126”) the adhesive layer (bonding adhesive 126), the plurality of ribs (plurality of fibers 136 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as taught in [0056]) defining ([0055] teaches “bonding apertures 134 may be formed through one or more fibers 136”) a plurality of perforations (bonding apertures 134) through the liquid retaining polymeric film layer mesh 128 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as taught in [0056]; [0050] teaches “the mesh 128 may be a polymeric mesh;” [0057] teaches that the gel sealing adhesive 144 may be “hydrophilic”), the liquid retaining polymeric film layer (mesh 128 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as taught in [0056]; [0050] teaches “the mesh 128 may be a polymeric mesh;” [0057] teaches that the gel sealing adhesive 144 may be “hydrophilic”) comprises a hydrocolloid ([0056] teaches “the mesh 128 may be coated with a gel, such as a sealing adhesive 144;” [0057] teaches “a sealing adhesive may be formed of a silicone gel (or soft silicone), hydrocolloid, hydrogel, polyurethane gel, polyolefin gel, hydrogenated styrenic copolymer gels, or foamed gels with compositions as listed, or soft closed cell foams (polyurethanes, polyolefms) coated with an adhesive (for example, 30 gsm - 70 gsm acrylic), polyurethane, polyolefin, or hydrogenated styrenic copolymers”); and
each rib (each fiber 136 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as taught in [0056]) of the plurality of the ribs (plurality of fibers 136 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as taught in [0056]) having an average cross-section length (diameter 127; shown in Figure 3B to be the diameter of each individual fiber 136) parallel to (as shown in Figures 3A and 3B) a first surface (top surface of mesh 128 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as positioned in Figure 2) and a second surface (bottom surface of mesh 128 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as positioned in Figure 2) of the liquid retaining polymeric film layer (mesh 128 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as taught in [0056]; [0050] teaches “the mesh 128 may be a polymeric mesh;” [0057] teaches that the gel sealing adhesive 144 may be “hydrophilic”) of between 1 to 6 mm ([0051] teaches “the diameter 127 may be no greater than about 1 mm,” which is understood to include the claimed distance of 1 mm).
Locke et al. does not teach the hydrocolloid having a water-absorbing compound and a plasticizer.
However, CHEN et al. teaches in the abstract an analogous device wherein the hydrocolloid having a water-absorbing (hydrophilic) compound and a plasticizer (the abstract teaches “hydrocolloid adhesive further comprises 5-50 % of 5-50 % of plasticizer material, 0-50 by weight of synthetic or natural tackifying resin, 5-60 wt % of hydrophilic polymer”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the hydrocolloid of Locke et al. to have a water-absorbing compound and a plasticizer as taught by CHEN et al. because this element is known to be a hydrocolloid adhesive utilized in medical applications that functions for “suppressing or absorbing peculiar smell,” as CHEN et al. teaches in the abstract.
Regarding claim 102, Locke et al. and CHEN et al. teach the apparatus of claim 99. Locke et al. teaches in Figure 3A, [0050] and [0055] that the liquid retaining polymeric film layer (mesh 128 coated with gel sealing adhesive 144, as taught in [0056]) forms a web pattern or reticulated pattern (as shown in Figure 3A; [0050] teaches “the mesh 128 may be formed with bonding apertures 134;” [0055] teaches “the bonding apertures 134 may have a uniform pattern”).
Regarding claim 103, Locke et al. and CHEN et al. teach the apparatus of claim 99. Locke et al. teaches in [0048] that the adhesive layer (bonding adhesive 126) comprises an acrylic adhesive ([0048] teaches “the bonding adhesive 126 may also be a high-bond strength acrylic adhesive”), a color changing adhesive, and/or a light switchable adhesive.
Claim(s) 100 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke et al. (WO 2015130471 A1) (first interpretation), in view of CHEN et al. (CN 107261186 A) (with reference to the attached translation) and further in view of EDWARDS et al. (US 2022/0079815 A1).
Regarding claim 100, Locke et al. and CHEN et al. teach the apparatus of claim 99. Locke et al. and CHEN et al. do not teach that the liquid retaining polymeric film layer further comprises a polyurethane gel.
However, EDWARDS et al. teaches in [0057] an analogous device wherein the liquid retaining polymeric film layer (patient interface layer 200 and fluid management core 400; [0057] teaches that the patient interface layer 200 includes an inner surface that is coupled to the fluid management core 400; [0057] teaches “patient interface layer 200 may be made from a polymer film”) further comprises a polyurethane gel ([0057] teaches “the patient interface layer 200 may include a suitable low tack adhesive (e.g., silicone or polyurethane gel)”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the liquid retaining polymeric film layer of Locke et al. as modified by CHEN et al. to further comprise a polyurethane gel as taught by EDWARDS et al. because this element is known in the art to be “a suitable low tack adhesive” that can be included in the layer “to facilitate bonding with the skin surrounding the wound,” as EDWARDS et al. teaches in [0057].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 116 and 117 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 116, the prior art does not teach wherein the plurality of ribs comprise: a center rib; an annulus having a center positioned at the center rib, the annulus being square; and four radial ribs, each radial rib of the four radial ribs coupling the center rib to a respective corner of the annulus. Claim 117 depends on claim 116 and therefore, would also be allowable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTORIA HICKS FISHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786 8/13/2026