Claims 1-38 are presented for examination.
Applicants’ drawings and preliminary amendment filed May 5, 2022 have been received and entered.
Applicants’ information disclosure statement filed September 1, 2022 has been received and entered.
Applicants’ election filed July 24, 2025 in response to the restriction requirement of March 25, 2025 has been received and entered. The applicants elected the invention described in claims 1-27 (Group I) without traverse.
Claims 28-38 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to the non-elected invention (37 CFR 1.142(b)).
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10 and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2018/0369097 A1, hereby known as Zinger (A5) of PTO-1449.
Zinger teaches treatments of palmar and plantar hyperhidrosis (par. 3, 8) and discloses as a solution to this problem the topical application of an anti-cholinergic compound selected from oxybutynin (par. 35). In a preferred embodiment, the anti-cholinergic compound is coated or impregnated on a garment worn next to the skin such as a sock or a glove (par. 47, 105 and 106). Clearly, the cited reference anticipated applicants’ instant invention; therefore, applicants’ instant invention in unpatentable.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 10 and 22-27 are not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0369097 A1, hereby known as Zinger (A5) of PTO-1440 in view of EP 3023538 A1, hereby known as Taylor et al. (C2) of PTO-1449.
Zinger was discussed above supra for the palmar or plantar administration of anti-cholinergic compound in a human to treat palmar hyperhidrosis and/or plantar hyperhidrosis and the anti-cholinergic compound is coated or impregnated on a garment worn next to the skin such as a glove or sock.
The instant invention differs from the cited reference in that the cited reference does not teach the garment, such as a glove or sock, is made from cotton, nitrile, polyethylene, latex, butyl rubber, neoprene, wool, rayon, acrylic fiber, and combination thereof. However, the secondary reference, Taylor et al., teaches anti-perspirant gloves made out of polymeric materials such as nitrile rubber, nitrile latex, natural latex, latex, neoprene is well-known in the art.
Claims 1-10 are not allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0369097 A1, hereby known as Zinger (A5) of PTO-1449 in view of EP 3023538 A1, hereby known as Taylor et al. (C2) of PTO-1449 and further in view of Bobrove et al. (6,433,003 B1) or WO 2017/015485 A1, hereby known as Bodor et al.
Zinger was discussed above supra for the palmar or plantar administration of anti-cholinergic compound in a human to treat palmar hyperhidrosis and/or plantar hyperhidrosis and the anti-cholinergic compound is coated or impregnated on a garment worn next to the skin such as a glove or sock.
The secondary reference, Taylor et al., teaches anti-perspirant gloves made out of polymeric materials such as nitrile rubber, nitrile latex, natural latex, latex, neoprene is well-known in the art.
The instant invention differs from the cited references in that the cited references do not teach other anti-cholinergic compounds such as glycopyrronium compound(s) and sofpironium compound(s). However, the tertiary reference(s), Bobrove et al. or Bodor et al., each individually teach anti-cholinergic compounds are well-known in the art for topical administration to treat hyperhidrosis. Bobrove et al. teach topical administration of anti-cholinergic compound(s) such as glycopyrrolate compounds, and Bodor et al. teach topical formulation of sofpironium compounds such as sofpironium bromide. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use any anti-cholinergic compound to treat palmar and/or plantar hyperhidrosis with a predictable expectation of successful treatment due to the compounds’ functional similarities.
The instant invention differs from the cited references in that the cited references do not teach the dosage amounts of anti-cholinergic compound. However, to determine the dosage amounts may be calculated according to body weight, body surface area or organ sizes. Further refinement of the calculations necessary to determine the appropriate dosage involving the above anti-cholinergic compound is routinely made by those of ordinary skill in the art and is within the ability of tasks routinely performed by them without undue experimentation.
Claims 1-27 are not allowed.
KEVIN E. WEDDINGTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1629
/KEVIN E WEDDINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629