DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5/6/2022. These drawings are accepted.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10 and 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 21, 2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Pressing assembly in claim 1; and
Frequency conversion module in claim 1.
Para. 0045 describes that the pressing assembly 20 includes a base 21, a moving mechanism 22, and a driving mechanism 23. The moving mechanism 22 is sleeved on a driving shaft 231 of the driving mechanism 23. The driving shaft 231 of the driving mechanism 23 rotates to drive the moving mechanism 22 to move along the driving shaft 231, and further to drive the two ultrasonic generators 30 to move towards the isolation chip 10 to make in contact with the outer surface of the first chamber 12 and the outer surface of the second chamber 13, respectively. The pressing assembly 20 in the present disclosure may realize a linkage of the two ultrasonic generators 30, which can reduce unnecessary positioning mechanisms and simplify a structure of the isolation device 100; and
Para. 0054 describes that the frequency conversion module 40 includes a frequency converter 41 and a valve 42 connected to the frequency converter 41.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 211784638) (provided by applicant in IDS dated in view of 1/17/2023; English translation provided) in view of Wu et al (CN 204690737).
With respect to claim 1 Chen discloses an isolation device for isolation of target particles from a liquid sample (see abstract), whereby the isolation device comprises:
an isolation chip (separation chip assembly 1, See Pg. 3 of translation) comprising:
a sample reservoir (sample pool 13, See Pg. 5);
at least one first chamber (first chamber 15) disposed on a side of the sample reservoir (See Fig, 1); and at least one second chamber (second chamber 17) (See Pg. 6),
wherein one of the at least one first chamber (15) closest to the sample reservoir is connected to the sample reservoir through a first filtration membrane (first filter film 14) (See Fig. 1 and Pgs. 5-6), one of the at least one second chamber (17) closest to the sample reservoir (13) is connected to the sample reservoir through another second filtration membrane (second filter film 16, See Fig. 1 and Pgs. 5-6), each of an average pore size of the first filtration membrane and an average pore size of each second filtration membrane is smaller than a size of the target particles (See Pgs. 5-6 for discussion of the pore size of the first and second filter films, wherein the size is selected for the type of liquid sample and the target particle to be captured);
an oscillation system (see component below) comprising:
two ultrasonic generators (vibrating members 20, See Pg. 6)
a differential pressure driving system (vacuum system 50, See Fig. 5 and Pgs. 6 and pgs. 7-8);
a frequency conversion module (frequency conversion module 40, See Fig. 6 and Pg. 8) connected to the outermost one of the at least one first chamber and the outermost one of the at least one second chamber through the differential pressure driving system, the frequency conversion module is configured to control the differential pressure driving system to generate differential pressure in the at least one first chamber and the at least one second chamber alternately (See Pg. 8 for discussion of how the frequency conversion module 40 is electrically connected with the vacuum system 50, the frequency conversion module 40 can control the power supply voltage supplied to the vacuum system 50, so that the first chamber 15 and the second chamber 17 alternately generate negative pressure); and
a controller (program module, See Pg. 7) configured to control the two ultrasonic generators to vibrate to generate two ultrasonic waves when the differential pressure driving system stops to generate differential pressure in the at least one first chamber of the at least one second chamber (See Pg. 8 for discussion of how the frequency conversion module 40 is electrically connected with the vacuum system 50, the frequency conversion module 40 can control the power supply voltage supplied to the vacuum system 50, so that the first chamber 15 and the second chamber 17 alternately generate negative pressure).
Chen fails to disclose a pressing assembly carrying the two ultrasonic generators (20), wherein the pressing assembly is configured to drive the two ultrasonic generators to move towards the isolation chip to make in contact with an outer surface of an outermost one of the at least one first chamber and an outer surface of an outermost one of the at least one second chamber.
Wu teaches an ultrasonic standing wave suspending clamping conveying mechanical arm (See abstract), wherein the ultrasound standing wave suspending clamping conveying manipulator using ultrasonic sound to clamp workpiece, ultrasonic standing wave suspending transducer comprising a bracket, on the bracket platform, which is located between the left and right side of the guide rail of the guide rail platform, a guide rail slide block guide way, on the guide rail slider, amplitude, driving a transducer horn along the guide rail direction of the driving component. the driving subassembly drives the transducer and amplitude along the amplitude axis direction close to or away from the rectilinear motion of clamping workpiece, performing the clamping and releasing action, and according to the weight of the work piece clamp to adjust the distance between a pair of horn, adjusting the proper distance of the horn through the numerical control system to control the drive motor to realize the synchronous movement of the two amplitude transformer so as to realize the automatic clamping and releasing work of the work piece (See Para. 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the ultrasonic generators of Chen onto the taught clamping conveying mechanism taught by Wu such that one can effectively control the position of the standing wave generated by the ultrasonic generators (See abstract and Para. 0018 of Chen).
With respect to claim 5 the combination of Chen and Wu teaches that the two ultrasonic generators are located on a same horizontal plane (See Figs. 1-2 of Chen).
With respect to claim 6 the combination of Chen and Wu teaches each of the two ultrasonic generators comprises a horn (first cover body 110 and second cover body 120, See Pgs. 6-7) close to the isolation chip and a piezoelectric ceramic unit (See Pg. 6 for discussion of how the vibrating member can be a piezoelectric ceramic driver) connected to the horn.
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Chen and Wu does not specifically teach a plurality of first and second chambers and additional first and second filtration membranes. However, the courts have held In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) that even if a reference does not teach a plurality of a feature, a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 211784638) (provided by applicant in IDS dated in view of 1/17/2023; English translation provided) and Wu et al (CN 204690737) (provided by applicant in IDS dated 1/17/2023; English translation provided) in view of Lim et al (KR 2012/0139399) (English translation provided).
Refer above for the combined teachings of Chen and Wu.
With respect to claim 2, although the combination does teach that a frequency of each of the two ultrasonic waves is 15KHz to 80 KHz (See Pg. 6 of Chen for discussion of how the vibration frequency of the vibrating members is 1kHz to 10MHz), there is no teaching that within a period of each of the two ultrasonic waves, a duty cycle of each of the two ultrasonic waves is 10% to 90%.
Lim teaches a transonic stimulated perfusion flow culture chamber system for culturing adult stem cells in vitro to be similar to in vivo is provided to use a three-dimensional culture without applied stress and to optimize cell proliferation and differentiation (See abstract), wherein when ultrasonic waves are stimulated at various intensities, the cells do not grow well in the center portion of the plate culture, and the cells grow better in the edge portion. In other words, the cells grow better from the center to the edge. In addition, the cells at the edges of the nucleus are distinct and each cell grows larger and thicker than the control group without ultrasonic stimulation. This is expected to cause the cells to move to the edge due to ultrasonic stimulation in the central portion of the plate culture, which is just above the ultrasonic transducer. Therefore, only ultrasonic stimulation of appropriate intensity may have a positive effect on cell proliferation, and it is not easy to find an ultrasound condition optimized for cell differentiation and proliferation. The ultrasonic stimulation used in the present invention is preferably low intensity and the ultrasonic stimulation of a suitable distance from the ultrasonic sensor is preferable for cell proliferation. Additionally, the ultrasonic stimulation used in the present invention is preferably used within a range having a specific duty cycle. Specifically, the ultrasonic waves used in the present invention may be adjusted to a duty cycle of 5% or more and less than 50%, and preferably to a duty cycle of 5% or more and 30% or less. At 50% or more of the duty cycle, they may adversely affect the proliferation of stem cells (See Pgs. 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the duty cycle taught by Lim into the ultrasonic stimulation taught by combined Chen and Wu, specifically to be between 5-30%, such that the proliferation and viability of target cells is not adversely affected (See Pgs. 6-7 of Lim).
With respect to claim 3 the combination of Chen, Wu, and Lim teaches that a ratio of change between two frequencies of the two ultrasonic waves is less than or equal to 30%, and a ratio of change between two duty cycles of the two ultrasonic waves is less than or equal to 30% (See Pgs. 6-7 of Lim).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: There closest cited prior art of reference fails to disclose or teach that the controller is configured to power on and power off the two ultrasonic generators, within a period of the power on and the power off, a ratio of the power on is 10% to 100$ (claim 4). Additionally, the closest cited prior art of reference fails to disclose or fairly teach that the horn of claim 6 comprises a first horn portion, a second horn portion, a third horn portion, and a connecting portion connected with each other in that order, the connecting portion is connected to the piezoelectric ceramic unit, an end surface of the first horn portion away from the second horn portion is configured to make in contact with the outer surface of the outermost one of the at least one first chamber or the outer surface of the outermost one of the at least one second chamber, wherein along a direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the horn, a size of the second horn portion is respectively smaller than a size of the first horn portion and a size of the third horn portion (claim 7). There is no discussion or teaching that the piezoelectric ceramic unit comprises a plurality of piezoelectric ceramic sheets, a plurality of electrode sheets stacked with the plurality of piezoelectric ceramic sheets, an insulating sleeve, and a connector, the plurality of piezoelectric ceramic sheets are disposed alternately with the plurality of electrode sheets, the plurality of piezoelectric ceramic sheets and the plurality of electrode sheets are sleeved on the insulating sleeve, the connector penetrates through the insulating sleeve to detachably connect to the horn (claim 8). Claim 9 is dependent upon claim 8, and thus, inherits the same status.
Conclusion
/BRITTANY I FISHER/Examiner, Art Unit 1796 January 24, 2026