DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Receipt of the Response and Amendment after Non-Final Office Action filed 5 August 2026 is acknowledged.
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendment stands as follows:
Pending claims: 36-37 and 39-55
Withdrawn claims: 48-55
Previously canceled claims: 1-35 and 38
Newly canceled claims: None
Amended claims: 39, 45-46, 48-49, 51, and 55
New claims: None
Claims currently under consideration: 36-37 and 39-47
Currently rejected claims: 36-37 and 39-47
Allowed claims: None
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36-37, 39, 42, 44, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lötzbeyer et al. (Lötzbeyer et al., "Towards printing a meat-like structure using sustainable plant proteins", http://3dfoodprintingconference.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/Anna-kn%C3%A4ulein.pdf, December 2016, 17 pages, cited on IDS filed 22 August 2022) in view of Nishimura et al. (US 2014/0010920 A1, cited on the IDS filed on 23 May 2024), McMindes et al. (US 2007/0269567 A1, cited on the IDS filed on 22 August 2022), and Miri et al. (Miri, T., Barigou, M., Fryer, P. J., & Cox, P. W. (2005). Flow induced fibre alignment in mycoprotein paste. Food research international, 38(10), 1151-1160. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.foodres.2005.04.005).
It is noted that the limitation “digitally printed” in claim 36 renders claim 36 and its dependent claims product-by-process claims. MPEP § 2113(I) states, “‘[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.’ In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).” Therefore, as long as the structure of the final product is the same between the claimed invention and the prior art, the method of production is non-limiting.
Regarding claim 36, Lötzbeyer teaches a meat substitute (p. 1, Title), comprising: one or more layers of protein-containing strands, wherein each layer of the one or more layers comprises a plurality of strands such that the plurality of strands are arranged essentially parallel along their longitudinal axis – strands of 3D printed plant protein are arranged in multiple layers, each comprising a plurality of strands that are arranged essentially parallel along the longitudinal axis thereof (p. 15, Images). The “Project Objective” indicates 3D printing a real meat structure, such as chicken breast (p. 4), therefore a whole muscle meat substitute.
Lötzbeyer does not teach that the strands comprise one or more bundles of axially aligned texturized protein fibers, wherein at least a portion of the axially aligned texturized protein fibers comprises elongated fibers having a length above 5mm; and wherein the axially aligned texturized protein fibers within a segment of a strand of the single strand or the plurality of strands have a nominal direction that is not more than ±45° from the direction of the segment of the strand when a bundle of the one or more bundles of axially aligned texturized protein fibers is viewed from a direction perpendicular to the segment's direction (i.e., side/horizontal view).
However, Nishimura teaches a meat-like foodstuff comprising texturized protein; and wherein at least a portion of the texturized protein comprises elongated fibers having a length of above 5 mm ([0015] – [0018]). The objective of the invention is to provide a meat-like foodstuff that provides a texture and appearance similar to that of natural meat ([0014]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3D printed meat substitute of Lötzbeyer to include texturized protein fibers in the protein composition forming the strand(s), including those having a length of above 5 mm. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to consult Nishimura to identify a way to give the 3D printed meat substitute a texture similar to animal meat. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success for doing so because Nishimura discloses that in a sensory evaluation of the prepared meat-like foodstuff comprising elongated fibers having a length of above 5 mm, the slices were found to provide a good fibrous sensation, firmness, and a preferable tough beef-like texture. ([0081]).
Regarding the axial alignment of the texturized protein fibers, McMindes teaches extrusion of plant protein products as a way to obtain “substantially aligned” fibers ([0008]), referring to the arrangement of protein fibers such that, in some embodiments, at least 90% of the fibers are contiguous to each other at less than approximately a 45° angle when viewed from a horizontal plane ([0069]). The structured protein products are used in a restructured meat composition ([0009]). McMindes further teaches that because the protein fibers are substantially aligned, the structured protein products generally have the texture and consistency of cooked muscle meat, and in extrudates having fibers that are randomly oriented or crosshatched, the texture is soft or spongy ([0070]). However, McMindes teaches that the aligned fibers are obtained by extrusion cooking of a plant protein slurry ([0037] – [0043]), which is in contrast to Lötzbeyer as modified by Nishimura, which is a raw plant protein slurry comprising protein fibers with a length of 5 mm or more. Nonetheless, McMindes teaches one of ordinary skill in the art that an extruded plant protein comprising fibers with at least 90% of the fibers being contiguous to each other at less than approximately a 45° angle when viewed from a horizontal plane is desirable because when the fibers are so aligned, the cooked product generally has the texture and consistency of cooked muscle meat, and when the fibers are not aligned, the texture is soft or spongy.
In the analogous art of using mycoprotein paste in the production of meat alternatives (p. 1151, col. 1, ¶ 2), Miri teaches that extrusion of native, isotropic, mycoprotein filamentous paste leads to a high degree of fiber alignment in the direction of flow with ∼80–90% of the fiber population being realigned (Abstract). Miri teaches that extruding a paste comprising fibers of about 200 µm in length (p. 1153, col. 2, last ¶) through a die with a diameter of 300 µm results in a fiber orientation ranging from -35° to +35° with a peak around 0° (p. 1156, col. 2, ¶ 3; see also Figs. 4, 7, and 9). Miri further teaches that die size determines fiber alignment (p. 1158, col. 1, ¶ 1), and decreasing the die size closer to the fiber length increases the fraction of the fiber population whose orientation is affected by the flow process (f) (p. 1157, Table 2), and thus the proportion of aligned fibers. Therefore, Miri teaches one of ordinary skill in the art that a fiber orientation ranging from -35° to +35° with a peak around 0° from the direction of extrusion can be readily achieved for fibrous pastes by controlling the extrusion die size.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified the 3D printed meat substitute of Lötzbeyer comprising the texturized protein fibers of Nishimura to incorporate the teachings of McMindes and Miri such that the texturized protein fibers are substantially aligned, having a nominal direction that is not more than ±45°, even not more than ±35° from the direction of the segment of the strand when viewed from a direction horizontal to the strand. First, Modified Lötzbeyer teaches a base product of a 3D printed meat substitute comprising strands comprising one or more bundles of axially aligned texturized protein fibers extruded through a 3D printer nozzle (pp. 12 & 14, Images). McMindes teaches thermal extrusion of plant protein such that the protein fibers of the extrudate are substantially aligned, and that structured protein products with substantially aligned fibers are seen as an improvement over structured protein products with randomly oriented of crosshatched fibers due to the former having the texture and consistency of cooked muscle meat. Miri teaches that a fiber orientation ranging from -35° to +35° with a peak around 0° from the direction of extrusion can be readily achieved for fibrous pastes by controlling the extrusion die size. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the teachings of McMindes and Miri to the composition of modified Lötzbeyer to further improve the texture and consistency of the 3D printed meat substitute. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed invention because Miri teaches how to align the fibers in a fibrous paste, such as that of modified Lötzbeyer, such that the fiber orientation ranges from -35° to +35° with a peak around 0° from the direction of extrusion.
Claim 36 is therefore rendered obvious.
Regarding claims 37, 44, and 45, Lötzbeyer, Nishimura, McMindes, and Miri teach the whole muscle meat substitute of claim 36.
Lötzbeyer also teaches that at least a portion of the segments of the plurality of strands are interconnected one to a neighboring strand thereof (re: claim 37), the whole muscle meat substitute further comprising two or more layers of said digitally printed protein-containing strands (re: claim 44), and wherein two or more layers are interconnected at one or more points along each layer (re: claim 45) – at least the 3rd image on p. 15 of Lötzbeyer shows that at least a portion of the plurality of strands among and between at least 3 layers are interconnected (i.e., making contact and held together). The instant specification provides that interconnection encompasses physical linkage including “any type of hydrogen bond or van der Waals forces” (p. 8, ¶1), as would be the case in Lötzbeyer.
Claims 37, 44, and 45 are therefore rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 39, Lötzbeyer, Nishimura, McMindes, and Miri teach the whole muscle meat substitute of claim 36.
Lötzbeyer and Nishimura do not discuss that the axially aligned texturized protein fibers within a segment of a strand have a nominal direction that is not more than ±45° from the direction of the segment of the strand when the bundle of axially texturized protein aligned fibers is viewed from a direction perpendicular to a plane defined by the layer comprising the segment of the strand (i.e., top horizontal view).
However, further modification of Lötzbeyer as modified by Nishimura with the teachings of McMindes and Miri, as described regarding claim 36, would also lead to the 3D printed meat substitute having axially aligned texturized protein fibers within a segment of a strand have a nominal direction that is not more than ±45° from the direction of the segment of the strand when the bundle of axially texturized protein aligned fibers is viewed from a direction perpendicular to a plane defined by the layer comprising the segment of the strand (i.e., top horizontal view), as claimed. This is at least because the extrusion head of Lötzbeyer produces cylindrical strands (pp. 12 & 14, Images). As such, fiber alignment would be in the same orientation when viewed perpendicularly to the direction of the strand from the side, top, or any angle around the circumference of the strand.
Therefore, claim 39 is obvious for the same reasons and with the same expectation of success as described regarding claim 36.
Regarding claim 42, Lötzbeyer, Nishimura, McMindes, and Miri teach the whole muscle meat substitute of claim 36.
Lötzbeyer and Nishimura do not teach that the whole muscle substitute has a modified shear resistance above 10N when measured in a P direction that is parallel to the strands' nominal direction.
However, McMindes teaches that “In addition to having protein fibers that are substantially aligned, the structured protein products also typically have shear strength substantially similar to whole meat muscle. In this context of the invention, the term ‘shear strength’ provides one means to quantify the formation of a sufficient fibrous network to impart whole-muscle like texture and appearance to the structured protein product.” ([0071]). McMindes further teaches that the structured protein products have an average shear strength of at least 1400 grams ([0072]). This is above the claimed 10 N, which equates to 1019.7 grams.
Given the teachings of McMindes, it is considered that the substantially aligned fibers contribute to the shear strength of the strands of modified Lötzbeyer. Moreover, the number of strands, dimensions of the strands, temperature, and properties of the ingredients used in making the whole muscle meat substitute are all contributing factors to the overall shear strength.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have adjusted at least the amount of texturized protein fibers in the strands of the whole muscle meat analogue by routine optimization. MPEP § 2144.05(II) states, “‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. McMindes teaches that the structured protein products typically have shear strength substantially similar to whole meat muscle ([0071]), measuring at least 1400 grams (i.e., 13.7N) ([0072]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have adjusted the amount of texturized protein fibers in the whole muscle meat substitute to arrive at a product with shear strength mimicking that of whole meat muscle (i.e., at least 1400 grams), including above 10N as claimed.
Claim 42 is therefore rendered obvious.
Claims 40, 41, 46 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lötzbeyer et al., Nishimura et al., McMindes et al., and Miri et al., as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of Vrljic et al. (US 2015/0305390 A1).
Regarding claim 40, Lötzbeyer, Nishimura, McMindes, and Miri teach the whole muscle meat substitute of claim 36.
The cited prior art does not teach that the whole muscle meat substitute has a modified tensile strength above 0.02MPa when measured in a direction parallel to the strand nominal direction.
However, Vrljic teaches a meat substitute constructed from a muscle replica, a fat replica, and a connective tissue replica, or a sub-combination thereof. The muscle replica, adipose tissue replica, and/or connective tissue replica can be assembled in a manner that approximates the physical organization of meat ([0254]). The individual tissue replicas can be assembled in layers, sheets, blocks, and strings in defined positions and orientations ([0271]). Vrljic further teaches that the tensile strength of the fat replica can be increased by incorporation of fibers ([0214]), and the fiber-containing fat replica by itself had a tensile strength of 23 kPa (i.e., 0.023 MPa), whereas the fat replica without fibers had a tensile strength of 20 kPa (i.e., 0.020 MPa) ([0383]). Hard connective tissue replica had a tensile strength of 3 MPa, similar to animal connective tissue ([0444]), and soft connective tissue replica had a tensile strength of <0.1 MPa ([0446]).
Given the teachings of Vrljic, it is considered that the substantially aligned fibers contribute to the tensile strength of the strands of modified Lötzbeyer, and thereby the overall whole meat substitute. Moreover, the number of strands, dimensions of the strands, temperature, and properties of the ingredients used in making the whole muscle meat substitute are all contributing factors to the overall tensile strength.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have adjusted at least the amount of texturized protein fibers in the strands of the whole muscle meat analogue by routine optimization. MPEP § 2144.05(II) states, “‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. Vrljic teaches the tensile strength of the fat replica can be increased by incorporation of fibers ([0214]), measuring 0.023 MPa ([0383]). Therefore, analogously, one of ordinary skill in the art would have adjusted the amount of texturized protein fibers in the whole muscle meat substitute to arrive at a product with tensile strength mimicking that of whole meat muscle, including above 0.02 MPa as claimed.
Claim 40 is therefore rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 41, Lötzbeyer, Nishimura, McMindes, and Miri teach the whole muscle meat substitute of claim 36.
The whole muscle meat substitute would inherently have a first modified tensile strength value measured in a P direction that is parallel to the strands’ nominal direction and a second modified tensile strength value measured in a XP direction that is perpendicular to the strands’ nominal direction and parallel to a layer's plane by virtue of being a 3D physical structure. See MPEP § 2112(II), which states, “There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003)”.
The cited prior art does not teach that the first modified tensile strength value is at least 50% higher than the second modified tensile strength value.
However, Vrljic teaches a meat substitute constructed from a muscle replica, a fat replica, and a connective tissue replica, or a sub-combination thereof. The muscle replica, adipose tissue replica, and/or connective tissue replica can be assembled in a manner that approximates the physical organization of meat ([0254]). In some embodiments, the 3-dimensional matrix of fibers is stabilized by protein crosslinks to replicate the tensile strength of animal connective tissue ([0169]). Vrljic further teaches that the tensile strength of the fat replica can be increased by incorporation of fibers ([0214]), and the fiber-containing fat replica by itself had a tensile strength of 23 kPa (i.e., 0.023 MPa), whereas the fat replica without fibers had a tensile strength of 20 kPa (i.e., 0.020 MPa) ([0383]).
Given the teachings of Vrljic, it is considered that the substantially aligned fibers contribute to the tensile strength of the strands of modified Lötzbeyer, and thereby the overall whole meat substitute in the claimed P direction (i.e., first modified tensile strength). It is also considered that the degree of interconnectivity between the strands contributes to the tensile strength of the overall whole meat substitute in the claimed XP direction (i.e., second modified tensile strength). Moreover, the number of strands, dimensions of the strands, temperature, and properties of the ingredients used in making the whole muscle meat substitute are all contributing factors to the overall tensile strength.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have adjusted at least the amount of texturized protein fibers in the strands of the whole muscle meat analogue, as well as the degree of interconnectivity between strands, by routine optimization. MPEP § 2144.05(II) states, “‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. Vrljic teaches the tensile strength of the fat replica can be increased by incorporation of fibers ([0214]), measuring 0.023 MPa ([0383]), and the 3-dimensional matrix of fibers is stabilized by protein crosslinks (i.e., interconnectivity) to replicate the tensile strength of animal connective tissue ([0169]). Therefore, analogously, one of ordinary skill in the art would have adjusted the amount of texturized protein fibers in the whole muscle meat substitute and adjust the level of crosslinking to arrive at a product with tensile strength mimicking that of whole meat muscle. In this way, it is reasonable to expect that one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at a product wherein the first modified tensile strength value is at least 50% higher than the second modified tensile strength value, as claimed. Indeed, the 3D printed meat substitute of Lötzbeyer, which seems to be held together by van der Waals forces alone, likely already meets these criteria.
Claim 41 is therefore rendered obvious.
Regarding claims 46 and 47, Lötzbeyer, Nishimura, McMindes, and Miri teach the whole muscle meat substitute of claim 36.
The cited prior art does not teach that a fat-based component and/or a water-based component are disposed or dispersed in between said digitally printed protein-containing strands (re: claim 46) or that at least a portion of the one or more layers comprise said fat-based component (re: claim 47).
However, Vrljic teaches a meat substitute constructed from a muscle replica, a fat replica, and a connective tissue replica, or a sub-combination thereof. The muscle replica, adipose tissue replica, and/or connective tissue replica can be assembled in a manner that approximates the physical organization of meat ([0254]). The individual tissue replicas can be assembled in layers, sheets, blocks, and strings in defined positions and orientations ([0271]), and in some embodiments, the adipose tissue replica is added to the muscle tissue replica in strands and sheets to replicate the effect of “marbling” ([0281]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the 3D printed meat substitute of Lötzbeyer to incorporate a fat replica component as taught by Vrljic between the protein-containing strands such that at a portion of the layers comprise the fat component as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to consult Vrljic to identify additional components beyond protein fibers to add to the 3D printed meat substitute to give the product organoleptic properties closer to those of real meat. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success for doing so because Vrljic teaches that combining muscle tissue replicas and adipose tissue replicas provide different flavor profiles ([0268]) and can be combined to give the appearance of “marbling” (([0281]).
Claims 46 and 47 are therefore rendered obvious.
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lötzbeyer et al., Nishimura et al., McMindes et al., and Miri et al., as applied to claim 36 above, and further in view of Kivelä et al. (WO 2018/189161 A1, cited on the IDS filed on 23 May 2024).
Regarding claim 43, Lötzbeyer, Nishimura, McMindes, and Miri teach the whole muscle meat substitute of claim 36.
The whole muscle meat substitute would inherently have a first modified shear resistance value that is measured in a direction parallel to the strands’ nominal direction and a second modified shear resistance value that is measured in a direction perpendicular to the strands’ nominal direction and parallel to a layer's plane by virtue of being a 3D physical structure. See MPEP § 2112(II), which states, “There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003)”.
The cited prior art does not teach that the second modified shear resistance value is at least 100% greater than the first modified shear resistance value.
However, Kivelä teaches a ready-to-eat textured protein product prepared from legume protein material and comprising parallelly aligned fibers (Abstract). The product has resistance forces corresponding to bite resistance (i.e., shear resistance) described by peak positive force values (i.e., shear resistance values), that indicate similar structure and feel to beef jerky (p. 3, lines 22-31). A first peak positive force value is measured perpendicular to the length direction of the fibers (i.e., claimed second modified shear resistance value), and a second peak positive force value is measured parallel to the length direction of the fibers (i.e., claimed first modified shear resistance value) (p. 3, lines 22-31, see also Fig. 2). The ratio of the second peak positive force value (parallel direction) to the first peak positive force value (perpendicular direction) may be in the range of 40 - 85 %. This provides a pleasant biting experience, without making the product gum-like or too chewy. The first peak positive force value (perpendicular direction) may be, for example, in the range of 2000 - 8000 g and the second peak positive force (parallel direction) may be in the range of 1000 - 5000 g (p. 4, lines 1-7). Since the first and second value definitions are opposite between Kivelä and the instant claim, the ratio is also inverse. Therefore, since the disclosed range comprises a ratio of 50% (1:2), it also discloses the claimed ratio of at least 100% greater (2:1). For example, the disclosed ratio of 1000g (parallel) to 2000g (perpendicular) is inverted to 2000g (perpendicular) to 1000 g (parallel), which discloses the claimed second modified shear value being at least 100% greater than the first modified shear resistance value. Kivelä further teaches that the combination of protein content and fibrous structure enable pleasing chewy structure, as measured by peak positive forces (p. 9, lines 6-25).
Given the teachings of Kivelä, it is considered that the texturized protein fibers contribute to the shear strength of the strands of modified Lötzbeyer, and thereby the overall whole meat substitute. Moreover, the number of strands, dimensions of the strands, temperature, and properties of the ingredients used in making the whole muscle meat substitute are all contributing factors to the overall shear strength resistance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have adjusted at least the amount of texturized protein fibers in the strands of the whole muscle meat analogue by routine optimization. MPEP § 2144.05(II) states, “‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. Modified Lötzbeyer teaches a 3D printed meat substitute comprising strands of texturized protein fibers as described regarding claim 36. Kivelä teaches that the combination of protein content and fibrous structure enable pleasing chewy structure, as measured by peak positive forces (p. 9, lines 6-25), and that a protein product comprised of parallelly aligned legume protein material exhibits a modified shear resistance value in the perpendicular direction of the strands is at least 100% greater than a modified shear resistance value in the parallel direction of the strands (see above). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have adjusted the amount of at least the texturized protein fibers in the whole muscle meat substitute to arrive at a product with shear strength mimicking that of whole meat muscle. In this way, it is reasonable to expect that one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at a product that exhibits a modified shear resistance value in the perpendicular direction of the strands is at least 100% greater than a modified shear resistance value in the parallel direction of the strands, as claimed.
Claim 43 is therefore rendered obvious.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicant’s arguments filed on 5 August 2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the application of the cited prior art in the rejections of the present claims, Applicant submitted that “the relevant question is whether the cited references teach or suggest the same final product structure limitation, namely, the combination of:
(i) layers of protein-containing strands;
(ii) strand segments arranged essentially parallel along their longitudinal axis;
(iii) bundles of axially aligned texturized protein fibers within the strands;
(iv) elongated fibers above 5 mm; and
(v) local alignment of the fibers within a strand segment to within ±45° of the direction of that strand segment.” (p. 6, ¶ 6 – p. 7, ¶ 1).
Applicant argued that the PTO has not demonstrated that the combination of the cited references teaches or suggests this final-product structure (p. 7, ¶ 2). In support of this assertion, Applicant first argued against each of Lötzbeyer (p. 7, ¶ 3), Nishimura (p. 7, ¶ 4 – p. 8, ¶ 1), McMindes (p. 8, ¶ 2 – p. 11, ¶ 3), and Miri (p. 11, ¶ 4 – p. 14, ¶ 1) individually for failing to teach the structural elements (i) – (v) above.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The rejection of independent claim 36 is based on Lötzbeyer, Nishimura, McMindes, and Miri. These arguments are therefore not persuasive.
Applicant argued that McMindes does not preserve or create the claimed local fiber-to-strand alignment in a final printed layered structure, but rather appears to teach structured protein extrudates that may be hydrated, shredded, mixed into a homogenous mass, and formed into conventional restructured meat products is inconsistent with the PTO’s use of McMindes to cure the deficiencies of Lötzbeyer (p. 10, penultimate ¶).
In response, McMindes is relied upon for its teachings that an extruded plant protein comprising fibers with at least 90% of the fibers being contiguous to each other at less than approximately a 45° angle when viewed from a horizontal plane is desirable because when the fibers are so aligned, the cooked product generally has the consistency of cooked muscle meat, and when the fibers are not aligned, the texture is soft or spongy ([0069] – [0070]). This provides motivation to align the fibers of Lötzbeyer modified by Nishimura.
Applicant further argued that Miri does not provide the missing teaching or reasonable expectation of success because 1) Miri concerns microscopic mycoprotein hyphae around 200 µm in length, not texturized protein fibers above 5 mm, 2) Miri itself teaches that fiber orientation is not a universally predictable result of extrusion in that the orientation distribution and spatial configuration of the fibers are determined by the volume fraction of fibers, fiber aspect ratio, and hydrodynamics of the process, 3) Miri’s die size teaching is tied to its own micro-scale system and does not teach that fibers above 5 mm can be aligned in a digitally printed product simply by selecting a die size (p. 12, ¶¶ 3-4). Applicant asserted that applying Miri’s die size principle to much longer, thicker, texturized fibers would raise technical concerns, including folding, cutting, clogging, or failure to retain elongated fibers in the final product (p. 12, ¶ 4).
Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but they are not persuasive. Regarding 1) and 3), the physical principles of alignment through an extrusion die are expected to be the same at Miri’s scale of about 200 µm and the claimed above 5 mm scale. Miri states, “Indeed, intuitively, one would expect narrower dies to affect more fibres and generate better fibre alignment in the direction of flow.” (p. 1157, col. 2, ¶ 2). The teaching of Miri is that die size determines fiber alignment (p. 1158, col. 1, ¶ 1), and decreasing the die size closer to the fiber length increases the fraction of the fiber population whose orientation is affected by the flow process (f) (p. 1157, Table 2), and thus the proportion of aligned fibers. One of ordinary skill in the art using fibers above 5mm would select a die size close to the length of those fibers, not specifically the die sizes used by Miri. Regarding 2), where Miri discloses that the orientation distribution and spatial configuration of the fibers are determined by the volume fraction of fibers, fiber aspect ratio, and hydrodynamics of the process, Miri teaches additional result-effective variables which to adjust as necessary such that the fibers are aligned.
Applicant further argued that Miri is evidence against predictability (p. 13, ¶ 2).
Applicant’s argument has been considered, but it is not persuasive. The statements of Miri cited by Applicant are from the Introduction of Miri prior to Miri presenting the findings that extrusion die size can be regulated to promote fiber alignment. It is further noted that Applicant’s reference to the discussion of “squeezing” in the Abstract is a different method than extrusion. See Miri pp. 1154-55, §§ 2.3-2.4.
Applicant next argued, regarding the direction of the segment of the strand, that the PTO improperly equates extrusion direction with the final strand segment direction (p. 13, ¶ 4), that the relevant orientation is the direction of the segment of the strand in the final product, not merely the direction of flow through a die, and the cited art does not show that extrusion direction, nozzle direction, and final strand-segment direction are necessarily the same for a digitally printed strand product (p. 14, ¶ 2). Applicant argued that the cited references do not establish that the claimed local fiber-to-strand orientation necessarily arises from combining Lötzbeyer, Nishimura, McMindes, and Miri, and at most, the references suggest that extrusion can produce some fiber alignment in certain extruded products or microscopic fibrous pastes, which does not establish that the claimed final product structure is necessarily produced (p. 14, ¶ 3).
Applicant’s argument has been considered, but it is not persuasive. The instant specification at p. 24, lines 1-5 states, “Irrespective of whether the protein containing material is prepared on line or off- line, it is expelled/dispensed from the printer head such that the nominal direction of the bundle of fibers within the protein containing material is aligned with the direction of flow of the protein containing material through the printer head, i.e. with the nominal direction of the dispensed strands.” As such, Applicant recognizes and defines that the direction of flow through the printer head (i.e., extruder die or nozzle) is the nominal direction of the dispensed strands of the product. Therefore, where the cited prior art teaches that the fibers are aligned with the direction of extrusion, the prior art fulfills the requirement that the fibers are aligned with the nominal direction of the dispensed strands, and therefore also segments of the strands. Applying the aspect of controlling extrusion die size taught by Miri to the nozzle of Lötzbeyer when extruding the paste comprising Nishimura’s texturized protein fibers of length greater than 5 mm is expected to result in the fibers being aligned as claimed.
Applicant next argued that the combination is hindsight-driven and lacks a reasoned path to the claimed structure (p. 14, ¶ 4). Applicant argued that the rejection appears to reconstruct claim 36 from separate teachings: Lötzbeyer is used for 3D printed plant-protein strands; Nishimura is used for fibers above 5 mm; McMindes is used for general alignment of protein fibers in an extruded structured protein product; and Miri is used for alignment of microscopic mycoprotein fibers by controlling die size (p. 14, ¶ 5). Applicant argued that claim 36 is not a mere aggregation of these features and requires that the elongated texturized protein fibers above 5 mm are arranged in bundles within the printed strands, and that their nominal direction within each strand segment is within ±45° of the direction of that segment (Id.). Applicant argued that none of the cited references teaches or suggests this coordinated final-product structure would necessarily or predictably arise from the proposed combination (p. 14, ¶ 6).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Referring to the structural elements (i) – (v) above, Lötzbeyer teaches the structure of (i) layers of protein-containing strands and (ii) strand segments arranged essentially parallel along their longitudinal axis (p. 15, Images). Nishimura teaches that a meat-like foodstuff comprising elongated texturized protein fibers having a length above 5 mm provides a texture and appearance similar to that of natural meat ([0014]-[0018]). Modification of Lötzbeyer with the cited teachings of Nishimura as described regarding claim 36 renders obvious protein-containing strands comprising (iv) elongated fibers above 5 mm. McMindes teaches that an extruded plant protein comprising fibers with at least 90% of the fibers being contiguous to each other at less than approximately a 45° angle when viewed from a horizontal plane is desirable because when the fibers are so aligned, the cooked product generally has the consistency of cooked muscle meat, and when the fibers are not aligned, the texture is soft or spongy ([0069] – [0070]), and Miri teaches that a fiber orientation ranging from -35° to +35° with a peak around 0° from the direction of extrusion can be readily achieved for fibrous pastes by controlling extrusion die size (Abstract; p. 1153, col. 2, last ¶; p. 1156, col. 2, ¶ 3; p. 1157, Table 2; p. 1158, col. 1, ¶ 1). Further modification of Lötzbeyer with these teachings as described regarding claim 36 leads one of ordinary skill in the art to a meat substitute further comprising (iii) bundles of axially aligned texturized protein fibers within the strands and (v) local alignment of the fibers within a strand segment to within ±45° of the direction of that strand segment. It is noted that a “strand” may comprise a single “bundle of axially aligned texturized protein fibers” as provided by the instant specification on p. 10, lines 2-4, which state, “Specifically, Figure 1A illustrated that the strand 10 comprises a single bundle 12 of fibers 14 that are essentially distributed along the strand 10”. The scope of claim 36 includes such an embodiment, and the cited prior art renders obvious at least this embodiment. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “bundle”, which may be any closely associated protein fibers, it is considered that the cited prior art also renders obvious a strand or strands comprising more than one bundle of axially aligned texturized protein fibers. Thus, all final product structural limitations are taught or suggested by the prior art, and the reconstruction does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure. Therefore, such a reconstruction is proper.
Applicant further argued that the dependent claims are patentable over the cited references by virtue of their own separately claimed subject matter and also for depending from the allegedly patentable independent claim 36 (p. 14, last ¶).
In response, Applicant’s arguments toward independent claim 36 are not persuasive, and the rejection of record is maintained. Thus, the dependent claims are not allowable.
In summary, the rejections of claims 36-37 and 39-47 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are maintained. No claims are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P. SHELLHAMMER/Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793