DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-10, 15-18 and 23-26 were canceled in a previous communication. Claims 12, 20, and 28 have been cancelled.
Claims 11, 13-14, 19, 21-22, 27 and 29-31 are pending and currently under examination.
All rejections not reiterated have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13-14, 19, 21-22, 27 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (Asian Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Volume 10, Issue 5, 2015, Pages 405-414) in view of Mahboubian et al. (Iran J Pharm Res. 2010 Fall;9(4):369-78).
Applicant’s Invention
The applicant’s claims are drawn to a method for preparing a microsphere, comprising: dissolving donepezil and a biodegradable polymer in an organic solvent to prepare a dispersed phase; dissolving a salt and a water-soluble polymer in water to prepare a continuous phase; mixing and stirring the dispersed phase and the continuous phase to form an emulsion; removing the organic solvent; and drying, wherein the salt is sodium chloride (NaCl) or potassium chloride (KCl), and wherein the water-soluble polymer is polyvinyl alcohol.
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Regarding claims 11, 14, 19, 22, 27, and 30-31, Guo teaches developing a PLGA microsphere-based donepezil (DP) formulation which was expected to sustain release of donepezil for one week with high encapsulation efficiency; wherein the DP microspheres are administered via subcutaneous injection (abstract). Guo also teaches DP-loaded PLGA microspheres were prepared by a conventional O/W emulsion-solvent evaporation method. Briefly, 5 mg DP and 20 mg of PLGA (i.e., biodegradable polymer) were dissolved in 200 µl of dichloromethane (DCM) (i.e., organic solvent), then injected into 4 ml aqueous phase containing certain concentration of PVA (i.e., water-soluble polymer) as emulsifier and homogenized with a high speed dispersion homogenizer (i.e., mixed) under 1500 rpm for 4 min to form an O/W emulsion. The emulsion was subsequently transferred to a larger volume of distilled water or PVA solution to dilute the emulsion and avoid the aggregation of particles. After the emulsion was stirred for 4 h at room temperature to evaporate the solvent, the microspheres were collected by centrifugation under 252 g (1500 rpm) for 3 min (800-centrifuge, Jintan Ronghua instrument manufacture Co., Ltd. China), washed three times with redistilled water and then lyophilized (i.e., drying step), stored at −20 °C (2.3. Preparation of donepezil loaded PLGA microspheres section).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Guo does not teach dissolving a salt wherein the salt is sodium chloride or potassium chloride (instant claims 11, 13, 21, and 29). However this deficiency is cured by Mahboubian et al.
Mahboubian teaches that the present study describes the formulation of a sustained release microparticulate drug delivery system containing triptoreline acetate, using poly (D,L lactide-co-glycolide) (PLGA) (abstract). Mahboubian also teaches Triptoreline acetate-loaded microspheres were prepared by a double emulsion-solvent evaporation technique. Briefly, 500 mg PLGA was dissolved in 5 mL dichloromethane (oil phase). An aqueous solution containing different amounts of triptoreline acetate was prepared separately (inner aqueous phase or W1).
The first aqueous phase (w1) was emulsified into the oil phase (containing PLGA), using a high-speed homogenizer (T18 basic, IKA, Germany) at different speeds and time durations. Afterwards, the primary emulsion was added to 250 mL of 0.5% w/v poly-vinyl alcohol solution, while stirring with a mechanical mixer at different rates to form the w1/o/w2 double emulsion. Mixing was continued for 8 h at room temperature, until complete evaporation of dichloromethane. The resulted microparticles were collected by filtration, washed with water and dried overnight at room temperature. In some formulations, 2% w/v poloxamer 407, 1% or 10% v/v Span 20 were added to the first (w1/o) emulsion. In some formulations, 5% w/v sodium chloride was added to the external water phase (w2) in the presence or absence of emulsifier (Preparation of microspheres section).
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to dissolve sodium chloride in water to prepare a continuous phase in Guo’s PLGA microsphere-based donepezil (DP) formulation. The artisan of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Mahboubian teaches that the addition of NaCl resulted in a smoother surface with a lower porosity. The presence of pores on the surface of microspheres, in the absence of NaCl, could be attributed to the migration of w2 towards w1 due to the lower osmotic pressure of w2 (Results and discussion section, first paragraph). Mahboubian further teaches that the results indicated that the drug encapsulation efficiency and the cumulative drug release rates were affected by the presence of NaCl in the outer water phase, inner water phase volume, type and concentration of co-encapsulated surfactant. Ultimately, spherical PLGA microparticles with encapsulation efficiencies higher than 90% and prolonged triptoreline release over 45 days were obtained (In conclusion paragraph). The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Guo teaches a PLGA microsphere formulation for sustained release injections formulated using PLGA, dichloromethane, water, and polyvinyl alcohol in an emulsion and Mahboubian also teaches a PLGA microsphere formulation for sustained release injections formulated using PLGA, dichloromethane, water, and polyvinyl alcohol in an emulsion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Guo et al. (Asian Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Volume 10, Issue 5, 2015, Pages 405-414) in view of Mahboubian et al. (Iran J Pharm Res. 2010 Fall;9(4):369-78).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
AFUA BAMFOAA BOATENGExaminer, Art Unit 1617
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614