DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant’s filing dated June 12th, 2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/KR2020/015459 filed on November 6th, 2020; and claims benefit of foreign priority of KR10-2019-0141988 filed on November 7th, 2019. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 2-15 and 17-18 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on June 12th, 2026. Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s amendment of claims 2-15; and the cancelation of claims 1 and 16. Claims 17-18 remain withdrawn, as they are drawn to a non-elected group. Claims 2-15 read on the elected species, PPCBA-PEI-Arg, and will be examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al (US 2018/0243430 A1), cited in a previous Office Action; in view of Wonganan et al (Viruses, (2010), 2, 468-502), cited in a previous Office Action; as evidenced by Abdallah et al. (Human Gene Therapy, (1996), 7(16), 1947-1954), cited for evidentiary purposes only in a previous Office Action; as evidenced by Yun et al (Biomaterials, (2015), Volume 41, 53-68), cited for evidentiary purposes only in a previous Office Action.
Regarding claims 2-4, Yun teaches mPEG-piperazine-N, N’-cystaminebisacrylamide; PPCBA (page 7, paragraph [0112]), shown below:
Wherein an arginine-conjugated PEI polyethyleneimine is bound to the terminal end of CBA (page 10, paragraph [0145]). Yun further teaches PPCBA-PEI-Arg, is complexed (addressing instant claim 4) with a therapeutic agent, specifically a viral DNA of a tumor-selective oncolytic adenovirus RdB/Interleukin-12 (IL-12)/GMCSF, expressing IL-12 and GMCSF as adenovirus DNA (page 10, paragraph [0145]).
Yun states, “The disclosure of the cited papers and patent literatures are incorporated herein by reference in their entirety, and thus the level of the technological field including the present application and the scope of the present application are more fully described” (page 1, paragraph [0006]). Yun does not explicitly disclose the molecular weight of PEG used for the synthesis of PPCBA, the value of “n” or PEI being branched, but does directly cite the below papers regarding PEI used and compound preparation (page 2, paragraph [00226]; page 7, paragraph [0112]).
MPEP 2131.01 states:
When the claimed composition or machine is disclosed identically by the reference, an additional reference may be relied on to show that the primary reference has an “enabled disclosure.” In re Samour, 571 F.2d 559, 197 USPQ 1 (CCPA 1978) and In re Donohue, 766 F.2d 531, 226 USPQ 619 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Abdallah et al. (Human Gene Therapy. (1996), 7(16), 1947-1954), cited for evidentiary purposes only, teaches that PEI is a branched organic polymer (page 1948, left column, fourth paragraph) and can be used to introduce genes into the mature mammalian brain (page 1953, right column, third paragraph).
Yun et al. (Biomaterials, (2015) Volume 41, 53-68), cited for evidentiary purposes only, teaches that 2.0 kDa mPEG-acrylate was used for synthesis of PPCBA (page 54, right column, second paragraph). Yun further teaches the value of “n” is 6 stating, “The ratios of -OCH3 of PEG and -S-S-CH2-CH2-NH-CO- of alkyl chain were calculated by integrals of the two peaks, and value was identified as 1:6. These results suggest that the polymer is close to the expected composition, in a good agreement with MALDI-TOF data” (page 55, right column, second to last paragraph).
Yun does not teach the use of a PEG with a molecular weight of 5 kDa - 10 kDa.
Wonganan teaches that increasing PEG molecular weight increases circulation time and alters biodistribution (page 483, first paragraph and Table 4). Wonganan teaches that the protrusion of long chain PEG molecules likely minimizes cellular interactions and extending circulation half-life (page 483, last paragraph). Wonganan further teaches that conjugation with 5.0 kDa PEG “does not compromise transduction efficiency”, indicating conjugation with this molecular weight preserves the virus’ ability to deliver the genetic material and achieve functional gene expression (page 483, last paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the 2.0 kDa PEG taught by Yun as a starting point for optimizing the size of PEG utilized to escape immune reaction since Yun teaches 2.0 kDa PEG used for that purpose in synthesis of PPCBA and Wonganan teaches that using a PEG with a larger molecular weight is useful for increasing circulation time and improving biodistribution and are thus result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum molecular weight PEG (i.e. 5-10 kDa) would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the polymers and the criticality of the claimed range, the determination of the optimum or workable PEG molecular weight given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP 2144.05 [R-2](II)(A) and In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). ("[W]here the general conditions of claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
It is respectfully pointed out that a recitation of an intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Thus, the intended uses recited, namely that the drug delivery system is used for nasal administration, and for drug delivery to the brain as recited in instant claim 3, are not afforded patentable weight. See Pitney Bowes Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.2d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 378, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1554 and MPEP § 2112.02(II).
Regarding Claims 5-7 and 9-10, Yun and Wonganan render obvious the drug delivery system as described in the above rejection. It is respectfully pointed out that a recitation of an intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Thus, the intended use recited, namely that the drug delivery system is used for nasal administration, is not afforded patentable weight. See Pitney Bowes Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.2d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 378, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1554 and MPEP § 2112.02(II).
Yun further teaches the drug delivery system of PPCBA-PEI-Arg described above wherein the complexed therapeutic agent is a gene delivery system (addressing instant claim 5). Specifically, the gene delivery system is a viral DNA vector (addressing instant claim 6) of a recombinant tumor-selective oncolytic adenovirus (addressing instant claim 7); RdB/Interleukin-12 (IL-12)/GMCSF, expressing IL-12 (addressing instant claim 9) and GMCSF as adenovirus DNA (pages 10-11, paragraphs [0145-0149]).
Yun further teaches that the therapeutic agent can be an anti-cancer agent (addressing instant claim 10), selected from cisplatin, carboplatin, procarbazine, mechlorethamine, cyclophosphamide, ifosfamide, melphalan, chlorambucil, bisulfan. nitrosourea, dactinomycin, daunorubicin, doxorubicin, bleomycin, plicomycin, mitomycin, etoposide, tamoxifon, transplatinum, 5-fluorouracil, vincristin, vinblastin, and methotrexate (page 5, paragraph [0068]).
Regarding Claims 11-14, Yun and Wonganan render obvious the drug delivery system as described in the above rejection. It is respectfully pointed out that a recitation of an intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Thus, the intended uses, namely that the drug delivery system is used for nasal administration, and for the prevention or treatment of any one of a central nervous system disease, neurodegenerative disease or a brain tumor as recited in instant claims 11-14, are not afforded patentable weight. See Pitney Bowes Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.2d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 378, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1554 and MPEP § 2112.02(II).
Taken together, all this would result in a compound, drug delivery system and composition of instant claims 2-7 and 9-14 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al (US 2018/0243430 A1), cited in a previous Office Action; in view of Wonganan et al (Viruses, (2010), 2, 468-502), cited in a previous Office Action; further in view of Zhou et al (Biomaterials science, (2017), 5(3), 494–501), cited in a previous Office Action; further in view of Wang et al (Laser Physics Letters, (2016), 13(9), 1-8), cited in a previous Office Action for evidentiary purposes only.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Yun and Wonganan render obvious the drug delivery system as described in the above rejection. It is respectfully pointed out that a recitation of an intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Thus, the intended use recited, namely that the drug delivery system is used for nasal administration, is not afforded patentable weight. See Pitney Bowes Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.2d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 378, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1554 and MPEP § 2112.02(II).
Yun and Wonganan do not teach a delivery system wherein a photosensitizer selected from the group consisting of porphyrins, chlorins, bacteriochlorins, phthalcyanines, naphthalocyanines, and 5-aminolevulinic acid esters; or wherein a diagnostic agent is a near-infrared fluorescent material, a radio pharmaceutical, or a contrast.
Zhou teaches a polymeric gene delivery system comprising chlorin e6 (Ce6), a widely used photosensitizing agent, conjugated to a PEG-PEI copolymer to form PEG-PEI-Ce6 nanoparticles. Zhou teaches, “Free Ce6 has very low solubility in the aqueous phase which limits its practical use as a pharmaceutical agent. In view of this, a water-soluble Ce6 was prepared by conjugating it with a cationic PEG-PEI copolymer. Owing to the existence of numerous nitrogen atoms and PEG arms, PEG-PEI-Ce6 shows polyelectrolyte characteristics with good solubility in water. Benefiting from its good solubility in water, the Singlet Oxygen Generation (SOG, an important parameter for PDT) level of PEG-PEI-Ce6 is enhanced greatly compared with free Ce6” (page 497, right column).
Furthermore, Zhou teaches the use PEG-PEI-Ce6 nanoparticles in Photo-Dynamic Therapy (PDT) stating, “PEG-PEI-Ce6 displays very low cytotoxicity in human oral squamous cell carcinoma (KB) cells treated with PEG-PEI-Ce6 without laser irradiation. The viabilities for KB cells are more than 90%, even at a high concentration. After 670nm laser irradiation, the viabilities for KB cells gradually decrease with the increase of PEG-PEI-Ce6 concentrations, demonstrating the high efficacy of PEG-PEI-Ce6 mediated PDT (Fig. 5A). As silencing of Wnt-1 expression can inhibit cell survival, a decrease of cell viabilities in accordance with PEG-PEI-Ce6 concentration is also observed for cells treated with PEG-PEI-Ce6/siWnt-1 for gene therapy alone (Fig. 5B). Importantly, compared with single PDT or gene therapy, the combination of PDT and gene therapy shows a much higher cell killing effect (Fig. 5B), indicating the synergistic anticancer effect of gene therapy combined with PDT” (page 498, right column, last paragraph; page 499, Figure 5).
Chlorin e6 is a well-known near-infrared (NIR) fluorescent material. Wang, cited for evidentiary purposes only, teaches that covalently incorporated Chlorin e6 molecules (conjugated to PEI) retained their functional properties for near-infrared (NIR) fluorescence imaging and PDT (page 1, Abstract).
“[T]he rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the chlorin e6 photosensitizer taught by Zhou into the PPCBA-PEI-Arg delivery system rendered obvious by Yun and Wonganan in order to enable the added benefit of photodynamic therapy and near-infrared fluorescent imaging, while maintaining gene delivery functionality. Ce6 is a well-known chlorin class photosensitizer and near-infrared fluorescent compound, as evidenced by Wang. Zhou teaches that Ce6 retains its photodynamic activity and exhibits improved aqueous solubility when conjugated to PEI-based polymers, a platform structurally similar to Yun’s PPCBA-PEI-Arg system. Given the chemical and structural similarity between Yun and Zhou’s delivery systems, and the well-known NIR behavior of Ce6, its incorporation into Yun’s delivery system represents a predictable combination of known elements yielding expected results, enabling photodynamic therapy and NIR functionality.
Taken together, all this would result in the drug delivery system of instant claims 8 and 15 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues:
Applicant contends that the instantly claimed polymer (with a PEG MW of 5-10 kDa) may be advantageously used as a nasal drug delivery system, particularly for nose to brain delivery. Drawing 1 discloses pH dependent performance of PPCBA5/PPA5 vs PPCBA2/PPA2; specifically, it is alleged that the 5 kDa formulations exhibit high Gene Transfer Efficiency (GTE) at pH 6.0 and low GTE at pH 7.4, while the 2 kDa formulations exhibit the same high GTE at both pH 6.0 and pH 7.4. The applicant contends that the region wherein gene delivery takes place is deep within the nasal cavity as illustrated by Drawing 2, thus the pH dependent performance of the 5 kDa formulation is advantageous.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
With regard to the data provided in the arguments, the images provided in Drawing 1 are completely illegible; furthermore, the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The Examiner notes that in a review of the instant specification, the data/figures provided in the arguments do not appear to be disclosed in the original specification. Moreover, in a review of the cited reference, the data/figures provided in the arguments do not appear to be disclosed in the cited references. Thus, it is not clear from where the figures were obtained and if the data provided was publicly available prior to the filing date of the invention. It is respectfully noted, MPEP 716.01(c) states:
“Objective evidence which must be factually supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration to be of probative value includes evidence of unexpected results, commercial success, solution of a long-felt need, inoperability of the prior art, invention before the date of the reference, and allegations that the author(s) of the prior art derived the disclosed subject matter from the inventor or at least one joint inventor.”
Applicant argues:
Applicant contends polymers exhibiting high pH sensitivity exhibit improved delivery efficiency to various brain tissues upon intranasal administration compared to control polymers lacking such pH sensitivity as disclosed in Drawing 3, which corresponds to Figure 18 of the instant specification.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
The data disclosed in every provided image in the application of Drawing 3/Figure 18 is largely illegible. A legible copy must be provided for proper consideration. Further elaboration and discussion is required of the formulations tested (e.g. 1-5), desired target delivery (which tissues are most desirable to obtain the most intense display of fluorescence), as well as relevant comparisons (2 kDa vs 5 kDa) to persuade the Examiner of the alleged advantageous effects.
Applicant argues:
Applicant contends that increasing PEG MW is unpredictable because PEGylation is known to be disadvantageous in reducing cellular attachment, cellular uptake, transfection efficiency and inhibition of endosomal escape as disclosed by Exhibit 1; and that PEGylation does not always improve delivery efficiency and may instead inhibit cellular uptake and intracellular delivery, as disclosed in Exhibit 2.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
It is noted that, obviousness does not require absolute predictability, only a reasonable expectation of success, i.e., a reasonable expectation of obtaining similar properties. See, e.g., In re O’Farrell, 853 F.2d 894, 903, 7 USPQ2d 1673, 1681 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
Applicant argues:
Applicant contends that Wonganan cited Exhibit 3, which states transduction efficiency decreases when PEG molecular weight is increased to 5, 20 and 35 kDa; and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have had a reasonable expectation of success because the gene delivery would not have been as effective.
Examiner's response:
The above argument has been carefully considered and has not been found persuasive.
Wonganan explicitly states, “conjugation with 5.0 kDa PEG “does not compromise transduction efficiency”, indicating conjugation with this molecular weight preserves the virus’ ability to deliver the genetic material and achieve functional gene expression (page 483, last paragraph).
Conclusion
Claims 2-15 are rejected.
No claim is allowed.
/C.L.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691