Detailed Action
2. Claims 1-30 are pending.
Request for Continued Examination
Response to Amendment
4. This action is in response to the RCE filed on 09/18/2026. The amendment has been entered. Claims 1-5,21,22 and 29 have been amended. Claims 1-30 are pending, with claims 1,21 and 29 being independent in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's Arguments/Remarks filed on 09/18/2026 on page 8-9 regarding
35 U.S.C. 101 rejections have been fully considered and are found persuasive in view of amendments and presented Arguments/Remarks by the Applicants. Therefore, the previous rejection regarding 35 U.S.C. 101 being withdrawn in this current office action.
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks filed on pages 10-11 regarding 35 U.S.C. 103
rejections have been fully considered and are found persuasive in view of amendments and presented Arguments/Remarks by the Applicants. However, a new ground of rejections is necessitated by Applicant's claim amendments. Therefore, the previous rejections regarding 35 U.S.C.103 are being amended in this current office action. (See analysis below Claim Rejections-35 U.S.C. §103).
Examiner Notes
6. Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The entire reference is considered to provide disclosure relating to the claimed invention. The claims & only the claims form the metes & bounds of the invention. Office personnel are to give the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. Unclaimed limitations appearing in the specification are not read into the claim. Prior art was referenced using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning. Examiner's Notes are provided with the cited references to assist the applicant to better understand how the examiner interprets the applied prior art. Such comments are entirely consistent with the intent & spirit of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
7. Claims 1,2,4-6,8-10,12,13,18-22,24, and 27-30 are rejected under are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GREINER et al. (WO 2014159190 A1), (hereinafter GREINER) and in view of an NPL paper “3D Resist Reflow Compact Model for Imager Microlens Shape Optimization” by Bergery et al. (hereinafter Bergery).
Regarding Claim 1, GREINER teaches a non-transitory medium holding computer-executable instructions for performing reflow modeling in a virtual fabrication environment, the instructions when executed causing at least one computing device (GREINER disclosed in para [007]: “An execution of the virtual metrology measurement step of a virtual fabrication run for semiconductor device structure generates virtual metrology measurement data.” In para [00107] “Portions or all of the embodiments of the present invention may be provided as one or more computer-readable programs or code embodied on or in one or more non-transitory mediums.”).
GREINER teaches receive a selection of a process sequence in a process editor for a semiconductor device structure to be virtually fabricated, (GREINER disclosed in para [0055]: “In one embodiment a computing device-implemented method of virtually fabricating a semiconductor device structure includes receiving a selection of a process sequence in a process editor for a structure to be virtually fabricated and adding a user supplied measurement locator shape to a layer in 2D design data for the structure.”).
GREINER teaches perform with the computing device a virtual fabrication run that models an integrated process flow used to physically fabricate the semiconductor device structure by using the process sequence and 2D design data to simulate patterning, (GREINER disclosed in para [0042-0043] “The measurement may be taken using a locator shape previously added to a layer in the 2D design data 30. In an alternative embodiment the measurement location may be specified by alternate means such as (x, y) coordinates in the 2D design data or some other means of specifying a location in the 2D design data 30 instead of through the use of a locator shape. This virtual metrology measurement capability is provided by embodiments of the present invention during the processing sequence to extract a critical physical dimension at the correct point in the integrated process flow.”).
GREINER teaches material addition and/or material removal steps performed to physically fabricate the semiconductor device structure, the virtual fabrication run: (GREINER disclosed in para [003]: “Attempts have been made to use conventional mechanical computer-aided design (CAD) tools and specialized technology CAD (TCAD) tools to model semiconductor device structures, with the goal of reducing the efforts spent on fabricating experimental wafers. General-purpose mechanical CAD tools have been found inadequate because they do not automatically mimic the material addition, removal, and modification processes that occur in an actual fab. TCAD tools, on the other hand, are physics-based modeling platforms (virtual fabrication run) that simulate material composition changes that occur during diffusion and implant processes, but not all of the material addition and removal effects (material addition and/or material removal steps) that occur during other processes that comprise an integrated process flow.” In para [0071] “Sputter behavior refers to direct physical removal of material through bombardment by energetic ions and results in preferential removal of protruding edges (convex edges) (physically fabricate the semiconductor device structure)) and in some cases corners. Sputtering may be modeled with two parameters: the angle of maximum sputter yield, and the rate of sputter relative to the rate of vertical etching.” Please see para [0043]).
GREINER teaches executing the process sequence up until the reflow modeling step, the executing building a 3D structural model of the semiconductor device structure, the 3D structural model predictive of a result of a physical fabrication of the semiconductor device structure, (GREINER disclosed in para [0090]: “The virtual fabrication run builds a 3D structural model with a crystalline substrate seed surface by executing the process sequence prior to an epitaxial growth step (step 2004)…If the epitaxial growth is complete (step 2011), the remainder of the 3D model is built by executing the process sequence that follows the epitaxial growth step (step 2012). If the epitaxial growth rate is not complete, the growth rates on the growing surface are recomputed and the growing surface is further advanced. The growing surface may be evolved in a time-based manner or a non-time based manner.”).
GREINER teaches outputting the reflow data generated from the reflow modeling step. (GREINER disclosed in para [0043]: “The output data from this virtual metrology measurement can be used to provide quantitative comparison to other modeling results or to physical metrology measurements (input and output data related to the physical or numerical simulation of the reflow process). This virtual metrology measurement capability is provided by embodiments of the present invention during the processing sequence to extract.”).
However, GREINER does not explicitly teach the limitations “the process sequence including a user-specified reflow modeling step, the reflow modeling step indicating a step in the process sequence during a virtual fabrication run at which reflow modeling to be performed; and performing the reflow modeling step within a region of the 3D structural model by performing voxel replacement on the 3D structural model to simulate metal reflow, the reflow modeling step generating reflow data;”.
Bergery teaches the process sequence including a user-specified reflow modeling step, the reflow modeling step indicating a step in the process sequence during a virtual fabrication run at which reflow modeling to be performed; (Bergery disclosed in page 1 under ‘Abstract’ (4th and 5th para): “A 3D compatible and computation efficient reflow simulation software is proposed in this paper, in line with a Design Process Technology Co-optimization (DTCO) approach. It allows the fast 3D reflow simulations of hundreds of different resist patterns, taking as input a CAD design and returning the corresponding 3D microlens that will be formed. The purpose of this paper is to present the developed reflow modeling software solution and its calibration methodology.” In page 3 section 2 (2nd and 3rd para): “The photolithography technique is used to expose the 365nm photo-sensitive resist to form resist dots. An annealing step is then applied to the wafer during which the resist is heated above its glass transition temperature Tg. These two key steps resulting in the formation of the microlenses as illustrated by Figure 2. During the annealing step, the lithographically printed resist dots are reshaped into hemispherical-like structures, which correspond to the minimization of surface energy. … After cooling, the polymer constituting the microlens is hardened in a mechanical stable state with stronger adhesion. Throughout the rest of this paper, the succession of process steps consisting in the thermal reflow of the photoresist, its cross-linking and its cooling will be globally referred to as the melt step. Further in page 6 section 3: “a resist reflow simulation tool would permit to investigate in advance numerous design trials, anticipate their 3D shaping during the melt step and enable the design selection for the mask based on the simulation outputs. Figure 6 illustrates the proposition of such an alternative reflow simulation work flow for a microlens definition … To be relevant, the resist reflow modeling solution must be able to efficiently simulate in 3D the reflow of a resist dot, for a given CAD design input. The simulation software must also be capable of dealing with numerous different configurations to offer a large design screening possibility. To match industrial constraints, the user need to have the outputs of its simulation campaign in a relatively acceptable time.”).
and Bergery teaches performing the reflow modeling step within a region of the 3D structural model by performing voxel replacement on the 3D structural model to simulate metal reflow, the reflow modeling step generating reflow data; (Examiner would construe the claim element “voxel” as “pixel”, according to Specification of current Application para [066]. Further, the claim element “replacement” would be construed as modification or calibration as per conventional meaning in the art and under BRI.
Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 2.2.2 (2nd para): “Flow chart in Figure 3 describes the classical iterative loops that take place during microlens manufacturing. Assumption is that one given melt process already exists in the fab. The design of a new pixel to address arrives, accompanied by some specific characteristics the targeted microlens has to meet. Those specific dimensions (such as the maximum height, width and/or curvature) are usually previously defined by raytracing optical simulation software. … Using the best conditions determined through Focus Exposure Matrix (FEM), the mask is used for a full wafer exposure followed by the melt step, forming the ‘first generation’ of microlenses. Top-view CD-SEM is classically used to monitor the spreading of the resist and thus estimate the efficiency of the pixel coverage by the microlens”. In page 12-13 section 4.3: “Calibrating this part of the model consists in finding how, and how much, the edges of a pattern are smoothed during the reflow. This tricky problem has to be solved in 3D, since we know that the pattern changes depend on the altitude considered. While the basis has a tendency to spread, on the opposite the top tends to ‘shrink’ and becomes rounded because of the material relocation. … Here, choice was made to centre the calibration of our model on the dimension of our pixel size of interest: namely, around an ideal circular shaped microlens of 2.8µm of diameter. … CD-SEM images were taken for post-lithography patterns, while AFM data have been used to characterize the melted results of the same objects. Cylinder, square, cross and T-shape patterns were used to calibrate the diffusion model. Convex and concave patterns were used on purpose in order to anticipate at best the diminution of high frequencies, either inwards or outwards. Some typical experimental data collected for the calibration are displayed in Figure 14. As previously, the CD-SEM images were all taken at a constant field of view of 6x6µm², with a fixed square pixel size of 5x5nm². The four patterns have been inspected on 25 dies, leading to 100 CD-SEM images. AFM measurements have been made with a 45 degree angle for Cross and T-shapes patterns to ensure that the tip will efficiently catch the resist walls in the original concavity regions.”).
GREINER and Bergery are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER and Bergery to modify the process sequence to physically fabricate the semiconductor device structure in virtual fabrication run in GREINER’s teaching, to include a user-specified reflow modeling step, indicating steps during the process sequence for reflow modeling performed in Bergery’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Bergery because “The purpose of this paper was to introduce a 3D compact model solution to enable the fast and accurate simulation of thermal resist reflow, cornerstone industrial method in the process of manufacturing microlenses. An alternative low-cost production work flow was proposed, integrating the developed reflow simulation software, in order to replace the actual empirical approach used in a fab to optimize the complex shape of a microlens. The proposed simulation based work flow is in line with a DTCO approach in a sense that it allows RET engineers to investigate a large range of designs or post OPC trials beforehand. The 3D simulation of the actual state after melt is performed in few seconds for thousands of different patterns. Such methodology enables an effective way to identify the right pattern to put on a mask from the start to accurately fabricate the desired microlens.” (Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 6 (1st para)).
Regarding Claim 2, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1, wherein GREINER teaches the reflow modeling step performs interface recognition. (GREINER disclosed in para [0052] “The virtual metrology data 80 may be exported to a automatic data analysis tool for further processing or may be displayed to a user through a user interface such as the tabular and graphical metrology results view 124 or other view (step 512b).”).
Regarding Claim 4, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1, wherein GREINER teaches the reflow modeling step performs net recognition. (GREINER disclosed in para [0055] “As explained further below, process sequence 240 may include one or more electrical behavior modeling steps 245, 249 that indicate a point in the process sequence during a virtual fabrication run at which a determination of electrical behavior in a designated region of a 3D structural model will be made by the electrical modeling engine 279.” In para [0058] “Areas enclosed by shapes or polygons on each layer may represent regions where a photoresist coating on a wafer may be either exposed to light or protected from light during a photolithography step in the integrated process flow. The shapes on one or more layers may be combined (booleaned) to form a mask that is used in a photolithography step.” Further, in para [0062] “Some steps in the process sequence may be used to identify regions in the 3D virtual fabrication model that are relevant to electrical behavior modeling. In one embodiment the 3D modeling engine may automatically divide the partially built 3D structural model into electrical 'nets' of connected conductive material. These nets may, for instance, connect ports for individual devices such as transistors, capacitors, resistors, memory etc. that are located in the designated region of the 3D structural model.”).
Regarding Claim 5, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 however GREINER does not explicitly teach the limitation “the voxel replacement is based on a concavity of a given voxel and a material associated with the given voxel prior to the voxel replacement”.
wherein Bergery teaches the voxel replacement is based on a concavity of a given voxel and a material associated with the given voxel prior to the voxel replacement. (Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 2.2.2 (1st and 2nd para): “From one photoresist polymer, one technological stack, one melt process and one initial resist pattern, all of them combined will lead to one particular and fix final shape. That is why the knowledge and definition of the initial resist blocks is a crucial point when manufacturing microlens. … Flow chart in Figure 3 describes the classical iterative loops that take place during microlens manufacturing. Assumption is that one given melt process already exists in the fab. The design of a new pixel to address arrives, accompanied by some specific characteristics the targeted microlens has to meet.” In page 12 section 4.3: “Calibrating this part of the model consists in finding how, and how much, the edges of a pattern are smoothed during the reflow. This tricky problem has to be solved in 3D, since we know that the pattern changes depend on the altitude considered. While the basis has a tendency to spread, on the opposite the top tends to ‘shrink’ and becomes rounded because of the material relocation. In order to catch such effects, a diversity of shapes is considered. ... Here, choice was made to centre the calibration of our model on the dimension of our pixel size of interest: namely, around an ideal circular shaped microlens of 2.8µm of diameter. … Convex and concave patterns were used on purpose in order to anticipate at best the diminution of high frequencies, either inwards or outwards. Some typical experimental data collected for the calibration are displayed in Figure 14.”
Further, in page 18 section 5.2 (1st-3rd para): “In a same manner, Figure 21 represents the results of the reflow compact model assessment for previous cross patterns. As for the octagons, top view projection maps and horizontal cross-sectional cutlines are shown. One can see from the top view maps that the whole rounding of the initial Cross during annealing is well anticipated by the model: no signature of the high frequencies from the convex and concave angles are seen after simulation, just as in the process case. … The observations made from the results of these two pattern families show that a certain validity domain appears for our model within the covered CD range. Rather than CD, it is more a matter of surface. Regardless of the exact shape, with or without the presence of concavities, the model is able to correctly simulate the reflow of patterns whose surface belongs to a certain interval. … The strong concavities exhibited by such shapes were the main source of interest for our study. These concavities create progressive local CD variation in the pattern, thus leading to a continuous variation in the width-to-height aspect ratio alongside each branch”).
GREINER and Bergery are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER and Bergery to modify the process sequence to physically fabricate the semiconductor device structure in virtual fabrication run in GREINER’s teaching, to include a user-specified reflow modeling step, indicating steps during the process sequence for reflow modeling performed in Bergery’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Bergery because “The purpose of this paper was to introduce a 3D compact model solution to enable the fast and accurate simulation of thermal resist reflow, cornerstone industrial method in the process of manufacturing microlenses. An alternative low-cost production work flow was proposed, integrating the developed reflow simulation software, in order to replace the actual empirical approach used in a fab to optimize the complex shape of a microlens. The proposed simulation based work flow is in line with a DTCO approach in a sense that it allows RET engineers to investigate a large range of designs or post OPC trials beforehand. The 3D simulation of the actual state after melt is performed in few seconds for thousands of different patterns. Such methodology enables an effective way to identify the right pattern to put on a mask from the start to accurately fabricate the desired microlens.” (Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 6 (1st para)).
Regarding Claim 6, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 wherein GREINER teaches the reflow modeling step includes user-specified parameters indicative of a wafer to be operated on and a material for reflow. (GREINER disclosed in para [0026] “Figure 17 depicts an exemplary process editor displaying input parameters for a silicon wafer that defines the orientation of the crystalline lattice within the wafer relative to the 3D coordinate system used in the virtual fabrication environment of the present invention.” In para [0087] “Figure 17 depicts an exemplary process editor displaying input parameters for a silicon wafer that defines the orientation of the crystalline lattice within the wafer relative to the 3D coordinate system used in the virtual fabrication environment of the present invention. The crystalline orientation has an essential impact on subsequent selective epitaxy processes. The process editor accepts input defining parameters associated with the silicon wafer. The input parameters surface plane 1702, notch vector 1704 and notch design direction 1706 together define the orientation of the crystalline lattice relative to the 3D model coordinate system.” Please see Figure 17:
Regarding Claim 8, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 however, GREINER doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation “the reflow modeling step includes a user-specified parameter indicative of a surface contact angle”.
wherein Bergery teaches the reflow modeling step includes a user-specified parameter indicative of a surface contact angle. (Bergery disclosed in page 3 section 2.2.1 heading ‘Physical Limitations’: “The resist reflow process could be seen, in simple term, as a process in which the vertical walls and edges of a resist pattern are smoothed to create a spherical structure. … since some physical constraints occur in the process of forming such complex 3D profiles. Result might as well be a hemisphere or an intermediate, transient state. This could depend on materials properties such as adhesion forces, wettability at the interfaces or the critical contact angle value at the intersection resist – substrate – ambient air.”).
GREINER and Bergery are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER and Bergery to modify the process sequence to physically fabricate the semiconductor device structure in virtual fabrication run in GREINER’s teaching, to include a user-specified reflow modeling step, indicating steps during the process sequence for reflow modeling performed in Bergery’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Bergery because “The purpose of this paper was to introduce a 3D compact model solution to enable the fast and accurate simulation of thermal resist reflow, cornerstone industrial method in the process of manufacturing microlenses. An alternative low-cost production work flow was proposed, integrating the developed reflow simulation software, in order to replace the actual empirical approach used in a fab to optimize the complex shape of a microlens. The proposed simulation based work flow is in line with a DTCO approach in a sense that it allows RET engineers to investigate a large range of designs or post OPC trials beforehand. The 3D simulation of the actual state after melt is performed in few seconds for thousands of different patterns. Such methodology enables an effective way to identify the right pattern to put on a mask from the start to accurately fabricate the desired microlens.” (Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 6 (1st para)).
Regarding Claim 9, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 however, GREINER doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation “the reflow modeling step is iteratively performed and includes a user-specified parameter defining a reflow total volume for each cycle”.
wherein Bergery teaches the reflow modeling step is iteratively performed and includes a user-specified parameter defining a reflow total volume for each cycle. (Bergery disclosed in page 1 heading ‘Abstract’: “The method consists in melting previously patterned photoresist dots in order to form the lenses. But the resist shaping into a microlens is not as straight forward, since the final microlens needs to match shaping criteria to maximize the device optical efficiency. The optimization of the microlens 3D shape is thus an empiric and iterative work, where several lithography and reflow process variations are explored. Photomask reorder might also be needed in order to finally reach the final targeted microlens. All of this results in a costly and time consuming process tuning work.” In page 4 section 2.2.2 (1st para): “Given all of these listed elements, one can envisioned that the melt of a resist pattern is a much more complex process as it first seems. From one photoresist polymer, one technological stack, one melt process and one initial resist pattern, all of them combined will lead to one particular and fix final shape. That is why the knowledge and definition of the initial resist blocks is a crucial point when manufacturing microlens. The determination of this optimized starting point is classically an empirical work in the fab.”
GREINER and Bergery are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER and Bergery to modify the process sequence to physically fabricate the semiconductor device structure in virtual fabrication run in GREINER’s teaching, to include a user-specified reflow modeling step, indicating steps during the process sequence for reflow modeling performed in Bergery’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Bergery because “The purpose of this paper was to introduce a 3D compact model solution to enable the fast and accurate simulation of thermal resist reflow, cornerstone industrial method in the process of manufacturing microlenses. An alternative low-cost production work flow was proposed, integrating the developed reflow simulation software, in order to replace the actual empirical approach used in a fab to optimize the complex shape of a microlens. The proposed simulation based work flow is in line with a DTCO approach in a sense that it allows RET engineers to investigate a large range of designs or post OPC trials beforehand. The 3D simulation of the actual state after melt is performed in few seconds for thousands of different patterns. Such methodology enables an effective way to identify the right pattern to put on a mask from the start to accurately fabricate the desired microlens.” (Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 6 (1st para)).
Regarding Claim 10, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 however, GREINER does not explicitly teach the limitation “the reflow modeling step simulates metal reflow to repair a void in a via or trench caused by metal deposition”.
wherein Bergery teaches the reflow modeling step simulates metal reflow to repair a void in a via or trench caused by metal deposition. (Examiner would construe the claim element “void” as curvature according to Specification of current Application para [0078-0079]. Under BRI and conventional meaning in the art the claim element “repair” would be construed as calibrate or modify.
Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 2.2.2 (2nd para): “The design of a new pixel to address arrives, accompanied by some specific characteristics the targeted microlens has to meet. Those specific dimensions (such as the maximum height, width and/or curvature) are usually previously defined by raytracing optical simulation software. Thus, a first guess of the future resist block’s size is made based on the size of the pixel to cover in the sensor design. … For 3D characteristics such as the maximum height or its curvature, the use of AFM scans or SEM cross-sectional images is common”. In page 18 section 5.2 (1st and 3rd para): “Figure 21 represents the results of the reflow compact model assessment for previous cross patterns. … for the intermediate CD of 2.3µm and 2.6µm, the reflow model outputs very well match the experimental results, both in term of overall 3D shaping and curvature. … Our model has also been confronted with purely curvilinear, geometric bigger patterns. … Figure 22 presents the results of this verification. … The strong concavities exhibited by such shapes were the main source of interest for our study. These concavities create progressive local CD variation in the pattern, thus leading to a continuous variation in the width-to-height aspect ratio alongside each branch. AFM results clearly show that some geometrical components from their initial shape are conserved: even though attenuated, the concavities still remain. … Calibrated on globally compact patterns, the model here is in its extrapolation domain. Also, since the model is based on a spectral domain approach, the symmetry orders are important to consider.”
It has been discussed in page 3 section 2.1 (last para) that a homogeneous polymer material, the final shape of the microlens would be a spherical surface. After cooling, the polymer constituting the microlens is hardened in a mechanical stable state with stronger adhesion. Further, in page 6 section 3.1 it has been discussed that the impact of the deposited layer thickness on the shape of the finally formed microlens have been shown which analytically modelled the surface formation of a microlens using heuristic polynomial approach).
GREINER and Bergery are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER and Bergery to modify the process sequence to physically fabricate the semiconductor device structure in virtual fabrication run in GREINER’s teaching, to include a user-specified reflow modeling step, indicating steps during the process sequence for reflow modeling performed in Bergery’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Bergery because “The purpose of this paper was to introduce a 3D compact model solution to enable the fast and accurate simulation of thermal resist reflow, cornerstone industrial method in the process of manufacturing microlenses. An alternative low-cost production work flow was proposed, integrating the developed reflow simulation software, in order to replace the actual empirical approach used in a fab to optimize the complex shape of a microlens. The proposed simulation based work flow is in line with a DTCO approach in a sense that it allows RET engineers to investigate a large range of designs or post OPC trials beforehand. The 3D simulation of the actual state after melt is performed in few seconds for thousands of different patterns. Such methodology enables an effective way to identify the right pattern to put on a mask from the start to accurately fabricate the desired microlens.” (Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 6 (1st para)).
Regarding Claim 12, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 however, GREINER doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation “the reflow modeling step simulates Si reflow for Si nanowire formation”.
wherein Bergery teaches the reflow modeling step simulates Si reflow for Si nanowire formation. (Bergery disclosed in page 9 section 3.4: “To be predictive, the morphing operator implemented is 3D sensitive in a sense that it is actually varying throughout the pattern height. Indeed, it has to correctly represent the resist contraction on top of the pattern as well as the spreading of its bottom line. In order to accurately reproduce such considerations, the thermal resist reflow was approached like a diffusion type problem to be solved in the spectral domain.” In same page section 4.1: “All the experimental data presented in this paper have been obtained on 300mm short-loop wafers using a simplified lithography stack. A 300nm thickness of bottom anti-reflective has been spin-coated on a silicon substrate. … The compact model in the reflow simulation tool is calibrated on experimental data collected after lithography and melt steps.”).
GREINER and Bergery are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER and Bergery to modify the process sequence to physically fabricate the semiconductor device structure in virtual fabrication run in GREINER’s teaching, to include a user-specified reflow modeling step, indicating steps during the process sequence for reflow modeling performed in Bergery’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Bergery because “The purpose of this paper was to introduce a 3D compact model solution to enable the fast and accurate simulation of thermal resist reflow, cornerstone industrial method in the process of manufacturing microlenses. An alternative low-cost production work flow was proposed, integrating the developed reflow simulation software, in order to replace the actual empirical approach used in a fab to optimize the complex shape of a microlens. The proposed simulation based work flow is in line with a DTCO approach in a sense that it allows RET engineers to investigate a large range of designs or post OPC trials beforehand. The 3D simulation of the actual state after melt is performed in few seconds for thousands of different patterns. Such methodology enables an effective way to identify the right pattern to put on a mask from the start to accurately fabricate the desired microlens.” (Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 6 (1st para)).
Regarding Claim 13, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 wherein GREINER teaches reflow for lense formation or surface smoothing for planarization material. (GREINER disclosed in para [0094]: “it is apparent that many additional 2D DRCs are required to satisfy a criterion that is very simple to state in 3D: that the contact area between metal lines and vias must exceed a specified threshold value. The 2D DRC situation becomes even more complex when one considers that multiple manufacturing variations can affect the contact area, including over or under-exposure during lithography steps, mis-registration of the masks, planarization (via chemical mechanical polishing (CMP)) (lense formation or surface smoothing for planarization material) of the via layer, and the sidewall tapers produced by plasma etching.”).
However, GREINER doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation “the reflow modeling step simulates thermal reflow”.
Bergery teaches the reflow modeling step simulates thermal reflow. (Bergery disclosed in page 2 Section 2.1: “The formation of microlenses has been a large and active field of study for years. Many fabrication methods exist to manufacture microlens [2] - [5]. The most widely used by the semiconductor industry is the photoresist reflow method, as proposed by Popovic [6]. It is a cost effective process solution since it is a combination of photolithography and annealing steps, requiring an exposure tool and a hot plate – quite common tools in a production fab environment. The resist thermal reflow (thermal reflow) is a phenomenon …”. In page 7 Section 3.2 (2nd para): “To be compatible with an industrial production context where a fine and fast optimization is needed, a reflow modelling software must quickly give simulation outputs” (reflow modeling step simulates). Further, in page 14 Section 5.1: “A total of 200 CD-SEM images have been used for characterizing the lithography state for the above patterns (25 dies inspected), as well as 32 AFM scans (4 dies scanned for each of them). Octagon shapes (regular or not) are classical designs when defining microlens arrays, which is why this particular pattern has been included.”).
GREINER and Bergery are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER and Bergery to modify the process sequence to physically fabricate the semiconductor device structure in virtual fabrication run in GREINER’s teaching, to include a user-specified reflow modeling step, indicating steps during the process sequence for reflow modeling performed in Bergery’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Bergery because “The purpose of this paper was to introduce a 3D compact model solution to enable the fast and accurate simulation of thermal resist reflow, cornerstone industrial method in the process of manufacturing microlenses. An alternative low-cost production work flow was proposed, integrating the developed reflow simulation software, in order to replace the actual empirical approach used in a fab to optimize the complex shape of a microlens. The proposed simulation based work flow is in line with a DTCO approach in a sense that it allows RET engineers to investigate a large range of designs or post OPC trials beforehand. The 3D simulation of the actual state after melt is performed in few seconds for thousands of different patterns. Such methodology enables an effective way to identify the right pattern to put on a mask from the start to accurately fabricate the desired microlens.” (Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 6 (1st para)).
Regarding Claim 18, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 however GREINER doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation “the reflow modeling step includes multiple contact angles for multiple materials”.
wherein Bergery teaches the reflow modeling step includes multiple contact angles for multiple materials. (Bergery disclosed in page 3 section 2.2.1 (1st para): “The resist reflow process could be seen, in simple term, as a process in which the vertical walls and edges of a resist pattern are smoothed to create a spherical structure. … since some physical constraints occur in the process of forming such complex 3D profiles. Result might as well be a hemisphere or an intermediate, transient state. This could depend on materials properties such as adhesion forces, wettability at the interfaces or the critical contact angle value at the intersection resist – substrate – ambient air.”).
GREINER and Bergery are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER and Bergery to modify the process sequence to physically fabricate the semiconductor device structure in virtual fabrication run in GREINER’s teaching, to include a user-specified reflow modeling step, indicating steps during the process sequence for reflow modeling performed in Bergery’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Bergery because “The purpose of this paper was to introduce a 3D compact model solution to enable the fast and accurate simulation of thermal resist reflow, cornerstone industrial method in the process of manufacturing microlenses. An alternative low-cost production work flow was proposed, integrating the developed reflow simulation software, in order to replace the actual empirical approach used in a fab to optimize the complex shape of a microlens. The proposed simulation based work flow is in line with a DTCO approach in a sense that it allows RET engineers to investigate a large range of designs or post OPC trials beforehand. The 3D simulation of the actual state after melt is performed in few seconds for thousands of different patterns. Such methodology enables an effective way to identify the right pattern to put on a mask from the start to accurately fabricate the desired microlens.” (Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 6 (1st para)).
Regarding Claim 19, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 however GREINER doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation “the reflow modeling step includes user-specified parameters for multiple contact angles for multiple materials”.
wherein Bergery teaches the reflow modeling step includes user-specified parameters for multiple contact angles for multiple materials. (Bergery disclosed in page 3 section 2.2.1 (1st para): “The resist reflow process could be seen, in simple term, as a process in which the vertical walls and edges of a resist pattern are smoothed to create a spherical structure. … since some physical constraints occur in the process of forming such complex 3D profiles. Result might as well be a hemisphere or an intermediate, transient state. This could depend on materials properties such as adhesion forces, wettability at the interfaces or the critical contact angle value at the intersection resist – substrate – ambient air.”).
GREINER and Bergery are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER and Bergery to modify the process sequence to physically fabricate the semiconductor device structure in virtual fabrication run in GREINER’s teaching, to include a user-specified reflow modeling step, indicating steps during the process sequence for reflow modeling performed in Bergery’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Bergery because “The purpose of this paper was to introduce a 3D compact model solution to enable the fast and accurate simulation of thermal resist reflow, cornerstone industrial method in the process of manufacturing microlenses. An alternative low-cost production work flow was proposed, integrating the developed reflow simulation software, in order to replace the actual empirical approach used in a fab to optimize the complex shape of a microlens. The proposed simulation based work flow is in line with a DTCO approach in a sense that it allows RET engineers to investigate a large range of designs or post OPC trials beforehand. The 3D simulation of the actual state after melt is performed in few seconds for thousands of different patterns. Such methodology enables an effective way to identify the right pattern to put on a mask from the start to accurately fabricate the desired microlens.” (Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 6 (1st para)).
Regarding Claim 20, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 however GREINER doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation “the output reflow data is displayed in a 3D view”.
wherein Bergery teaches the output reflow data is displayed in a 3D view. (Bergery disclosed in page 16 section 5.2: “Figure 20 displays some of the graphical representations obtained at the end of the verification flow for the octagons patterns, with a progressive increment in CD.” Please see Figure 20 and Figure 22).
GREINER and Bergery are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER and Bergery to modify the process sequence to physically fabricate the semiconductor device structure in virtual fabrication run in GREINER’s teaching, to include a user-specified reflow modeling step, indicating steps during the process sequence for reflow modeling performed in Bergery’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Bergery because “The purpose of this paper was to introduce a 3D compact model solution to enable the fast and accurate simulation of thermal resist reflow, cornerstone industrial method in the process of manufacturing microlenses. An alternative low-cost production work flow was proposed, integrating the developed reflow simulation software, in order to replace the actual empirical approach used in a fab to optimize the complex shape of a microlens. The proposed simulation based work flow is in line with a DTCO approach in a sense that it allows RET engineers to investigate a large range of designs or post OPC trials beforehand. The 3D simulation of the actual state after melt is performed in few seconds for thousands of different patterns. Such methodology enables an effective way to identify the right pattern to put on a mask from the start to accurately fabricate the desired microlens.” (Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 6 (1st para)).
Regarding Claim 21, the same ground of rejection is made as discussed in claim 1 for substantially similar rationale, therefore claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GREINER and Bergery as discussed above for substantially similar rationale. In addition, claim 21 recites following limitations:
GREINER teaches a computing device-implemented method for performing reflow modeling in a virtual fabrication environment, (GREINER disclosed in para [006]: “In one embodiment a computing device-implemented method of virtually fabricating a semiconductor device structure includes receiving a selection of a process sequence in a process editor for a structure to be virtually fabricated and adding a user supplied measurement locator shape to a layer in 2D design data for the structure.” [007]: “An execution of the virtual metrology measurement step of a virtual fabrication run for semiconductor device structure generates virtual metrology measurement data.”).
However GREINER doesn’t explicitly teach the limitations “the process sequence including a user-specified reflow modeling step, the reflow modeling step indicating a step in the process sequence during a virtual fabrication run at which reflow modeling to be performed; and performing the reflow modeling step within a region of the 3D structural model by performing voxel replacement on the 3D structural model to simulate metal reflow, the reflow modeling step generating reflow data;”.
Bergery teaches the process sequence including a user-specified reflow modeling step, the reflow modeling step indicating a step in the process sequence during a virtual fabrication run at which reflow modeling to be performed; (Bergery disclosed in page 1 under ‘Abstract’ (4th and 5th para): “A 3D compatible and computation efficient reflow simulation software is proposed in this paper, in line with a Design Process Technology Co-optimization (DTCO) approach. It allows the fast 3D reflow simulations of hundreds of different resist patterns, taking as input a CAD design and returning the corresponding 3D microlens that will be formed. The purpose of this paper is to present the developed reflow modeling software solution and its calibration methodology.” In page 3 section 2 (2nd and 3rd para): “The photolithography technique is used to expose the 365nm photo-sensitive resist to form resist dots. An annealing step is then applied to the wafer during which the resist is heated above its glass transition temperature Tg. These two key steps resulting in the formation of the microlenses as illustrated by Figure 2. During the annealing step, the lithographically printed resist dots are reshaped into hemispherical-like structures, which correspond to the minimization of surface energy. … After cooling, the polymer constituting the microlens is hardened in a mechanical stable state with stronger adhesion. Throughout the rest of this paper, the succession of process steps consisting in the thermal reflow of the photoresist, its cross-linking and its cooling will be globally referred to as the melt step. Further in page 6 section 3: “a resist reflow simulation tool would permit to investigate in advance numerous design trials, anticipate their 3D shaping during the melt step and enable the design selection for the mask based on the simulation outputs. Figure 6 illustrates the proposition of such an alternative reflow simulation work flow for a microlens definition … To be relevant, the resist reflow modeling solution must be able to efficiently simulate in 3D the reflow of a resist dot, for a given CAD design input. The simulation software must also be capable of dealing with numerous different configurations to offer a large design screening possibility. To match industrial constraints, the user need to have the outputs of its simulation campaign in a relatively acceptable time.”).
and Bergery teaches performing the reflow modeling step within a region of the 3D structural model by performing voxel replacement on the 3D structural model to simulate metal reflow, the reflow modeling step generating reflow data; (Examiner would construe the claim element “voxel” as “pixel”, according to Specification of current Application para [066]. Further, the claim element “replacement” would be construed as modification or calibration as per conventional meaning in the art and under BRI.
Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 2.2.2 (2nd para): “Flow chart in Figure 3 describes the classical iterative loops that take place during microlens manufacturing. Assumption is that one given melt process already exists in the fab. The design of a new pixel to address arrives, accompanied by some specific characteristics the targeted microlens has to meet. Those specific dimensions (such as the maximum height, width and/or curvature) are usually previously defined by raytracing optical simulation software. … Using the best conditions determined through Focus Exposure Matrix (FEM), the mask is used for a full wafer exposure followed by the melt step, forming the ‘first generation’ of microlenses. Top-view CD-SEM is classically used to monitor the spreading of the resist and thus estimate the efficiency of the pixel coverage by the microlens”. In page 12-13 section 4.3: “Calibrating this part of the model consists in finding how, and how much, the edges of a pattern are smoothed during the reflow. This tricky problem has to be solved in 3D, since we know that the pattern changes depend on the altitude considered. While the basis has a tendency to spread, on the opposite the top tends to ‘shrink’ and becomes rounded because of the material relocation. … Here, choice was made to centre the calibration of our model on the dimension of our pixel size of interest: namely, around an ideal circular shaped microlens of 2.8µm of diameter. … CD-SEM images were taken for post-lithography patterns, while AFM data have been used to characterize the melted results of the same objects. Cylinder, square, cross and T-shape patterns were used to calibrate the diffusion model. Convex and concave patterns were used on purpose in order to anticipate at best the diminution of high frequencies, either inwards or outwards. Some typical experimental data collected for the calibration are displayed in Figure 14. As previously, the CD-SEM images were all taken at a constant field of view of 6x6µm², with a fixed square pixel size of 5x5nm². The four patterns have been inspected on 25 dies, leading to 100 CD-SEM images. AFM measurements have been made with a 45 degree angle for Cross and T-shapes patterns to ensure that the tip will efficiently catch the resist walls in the original concavity regions.”).
GREINER and Bergery are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER and Bergery to modify the process sequence to physically fabricate the semiconductor device structure in virtual fabrication run in GREINER’s teaching, to include a user-specified reflow modeling step, indicating steps during the process sequence for reflow modeling performed in Bergery’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Bergery because “The purpose of this paper was to introduce a 3D compact model solution to enable the fast and accurate simulation of thermal resist reflow, cornerstone industrial method in the process of manufacturing microlenses. An alternative low-cost production work flow was proposed, integrating the developed reflow simulation software, in order to replace the actual empirical approach used in a fab to optimize the complex shape of a microlens. The proposed simulation based work flow is in line with a DTCO approach in a sense that it allows RET engineers to investigate a large range of designs or post OPC trials beforehand. The 3D simulation of the actual state after melt is performed in few seconds for thousands of different patterns. Such methodology enables an effective way to identify the right pattern to put on a mask from the start to accurately fabricate the desired microlens.” (Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 6 (1st para)).
Regarding Claim 22, GREINER and Bergery teach the method of claim 21, is incorporating the rejections of claim 5, because claim 22 has substantially similar claim language as claim 5, therefore claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GREINER and Bergery as discussed above for substantially similar rationale.
Regarding Claims 24,27 and 28, GREINER and Bergery teach the method of claim 21, are incorporating the rejections of claims 9,19 and 20 respectively, because claims 24,27 and 28 have substantially similar claim language as claims 9,19 and 20, therefore claims 24,27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GREINER and Bergery as discussed above for substantially similar rationale.
Regarding Claim 29, the same ground of rejection is made as discussed in claim 1 for substantially similar rationale, therefore claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GREINER and Bergery as discussed above for substantially similar rationale. In addition, claim 29 recites following limitations:
GREINER teaches a system for performing reflow modeling in a virtual fabrication environment, (GREINER disclosed in para [007]: “In another embodiment, a virtual fabrication system includes a computing device equipped with a processor and configured to receive input data for a 3D modeling engine. … An execution of the virtual metrology measurement step of a virtual fabrication run for semiconductor device structure generates virtual metrology measurement data.”).
However GREINER doesn’t explicitly teach the limitations “the process sequence including a user-specified reflow modeling step, the reflow modeling step indicating a step in the process sequence during a virtual fabrication run at which reflow modeling to be performed; and performing the reflow modeling step within a region of the 3D structural model by performing voxel replacement on the 3D structural model to simulate metal reflow, the reflow modeling step generating reflow data;”.
Bergery teaches the process sequence including a user-specified reflow modeling step, the reflow modeling step indicating a step in the process sequence during a virtual fabrication run at which reflow modeling to be performed; (Bergery disclosed in page 1 under ‘Abstract’ (4th and 5th para): “A 3D compatible and computation efficient reflow simulation software is proposed in this paper, in line with a Design Process Technology Co-optimization (DTCO) approach. It allows the fast 3D reflow simulations of hundreds of different resist patterns, taking as input a CAD design and returning the corresponding 3D microlens that will be formed. The purpose of this paper is to present the developed reflow modeling software solution and its calibration methodology.” In page 3 section 2 (2nd and 3rd para): “The photolithography technique is used to expose the 365nm photo-sensitive resist to form resist dots. An annealing step is then applied to the wafer during which the resist is heated above its glass transition temperature Tg. These two key steps resulting in the formation of the microlenses as illustrated by Figure 2. During the annealing step, the lithographically printed resist dots are reshaped into hemispherical-like structures, which correspond to the minimization of surface energy. … After cooling, the polymer constituting the microlens is hardened in a mechanical stable state with stronger adhesion. Throughout the rest of this paper, the succession of process steps consisting in the thermal reflow of the photoresist, its cross-linking and its cooling will be globally referred to as the melt step. Further in page 6 section 3: “a resist reflow simulation tool would permit to investigate in advance numerous design trials, anticipate their 3D shaping during the melt step and enable the design selection for the mask based on the simulation outputs. Figure 6 illustrates the proposition of such an alternative reflow simulation work flow for a microlens definition … To be relevant, the resist reflow modeling solution must be able to efficiently simulate in 3D the reflow of a resist dot, for a given CAD design input. The simulation software must also be capable of dealing with numerous different configurations to offer a large design screening possibility. To match industrial constraints, the user need to have the outputs of its simulation campaign in a relatively acceptable time.”).
and Bergery teaches performing the reflow modeling step within a region of the 3D structural model by performing voxel replacement on the 3D structural model to simulate metal reflow, the reflow modeling step generating reflow data; (Examiner would construe the claim element “voxel” as “pixel”, according to Specification of current Application para [066]. Further, the claim element “replacement” would be construed as modification or calibration as per conventional meaning in the art and under BRI.
Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 2.2.2 (2nd para): “Flow chart in Figure 3 describes the classical iterative loops that take place during microlens manufacturing. Assumption is that one given melt process already exists in the fab. The design of a new pixel to address arrives, accompanied by some specific characteristics the targeted microlens has to meet. Those specific dimensions (such as the maximum height, width and/or curvature) are usually previously defined by raytracing optical simulation software. … Using the best conditions determined through Focus Exposure Matrix (FEM), the mask is used for a full wafer exposure followed by the melt step, forming the ‘first generation’ of microlenses. Top-view CD-SEM is classically used to monitor the spreading of the resist and thus estimate the efficiency of the pixel coverage by the microlens”. In page 12-13 section 4.3: “Calibrating this part of the model consists in finding how, and how much, the edges of a pattern are smoothed during the reflow. This tricky problem has to be solved in 3D, since we know that the pattern changes depend on the altitude considered. While the basis has a tendency to spread, on the opposite the top tends to ‘shrink’ and becomes rounded because of the material relocation. … Here, choice was made to centre the calibration of our model on the dimension of our pixel size of interest: namely, around an ideal circular shaped microlens of 2.8µm of diameter. … CD-SEM images were taken for post-lithography patterns, while AFM data have been used to characterize the melted results of the same objects. Cylinder, square, cross and T-shape patterns were used to calibrate the diffusion model. Convex and concave patterns were used on purpose in order to anticipate at best the diminution of high frequencies, either inwards or outwards. Some typical experimental data collected for the calibration are displayed in Figure 14. As previously, the CD-SEM images were all taken at a constant field of view of 6x6µm², with a fixed square pixel size of 5x5nm². The four patterns have been inspected on 25 dies, leading to 100 CD-SEM images. AFM measurements have been made with a 45 degree angle for Cross and T-shapes patterns to ensure that the tip will efficiently catch the resist walls in the original concavity regions.”).
GREINER and Bergery are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER and Bergery to modify the process sequence to physically fabricate the semiconductor device structure in virtual fabrication run in GREINER’s teaching, to include a user-specified reflow modeling step, indicating steps during the process sequence for reflow modeling performed in Bergery’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Bergery because “The purpose of this paper was to introduce a 3D compact model solution to enable the fast and accurate simulation of thermal resist reflow, cornerstone industrial method in the process of manufacturing microlenses. An alternative low-cost production work flow was proposed, integrating the developed reflow simulation software, in order to replace the actual empirical approach used in a fab to optimize the complex shape of a microlens. The proposed simulation based work flow is in line with a DTCO approach in a sense that it allows RET engineers to investigate a large range of designs or post OPC trials beforehand. The 3D simulation of the actual state after melt is performed in few seconds for thousands of different patterns. Such methodology enables an effective way to identify the right pattern to put on a mask from the start to accurately fabricate the desired microlens.” (Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 6 (1st para)).
Regarding Claim 30, GREINER and Bergery teach the system of claim 29 however GREINER doesn’t explicitly teach the limitation “a display surface in communication with the at least one computing device, the display surface configured to display the reflow data”.
further Bergery teaches a display surface in communication with the at least one computing device, the display surface configured to display the reflow data. (Bergery disclosed in page 2 heading ‘Introduction’: “Image sensors comprise large pixel arrays, themselves composed of thousands of unitary pixels. The pixel is thus the main component of a CMOS image sensor. A pixel consists of a silicon photodiode area responsible of the photon collection, and a second neighboring transistors area which measures the charges generated by and transferred from the photodiode. The photodiode is the only light-sensitive element of the pixel, which means not all the pixel surface actively participates in the photon collection.” In page 16 Section 5.2: “While performing a verification, we are interested in checking if our compact model solution is able to correctly predict the 3D shaping of patterns either through shapes and/or CD variations. Figure 20 displays some of the graphical representations obtained at the end of the verification flow for the octagons patterns, with a progressive increment in CD.”).
GREINER and Bergery are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER and Bergery to modify the process sequence to physically fabricate the semiconductor device structure in virtual fabrication run in GREINER’s teaching, to include a user-specified reflow modeling step, indicating steps during the process sequence for reflow modeling performed in Bergery’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Bergery because “The purpose of this paper was to introduce a 3D compact model solution to enable the fast and accurate simulation of thermal resist reflow, cornerstone industrial method in the process of manufacturing microlenses. An alternative low-cost production work flow was proposed, integrating the developed reflow simulation software, in order to replace the actual empirical approach used in a fab to optimize the complex shape of a microlens. The proposed simulation based work flow is in line with a DTCO approach in a sense that it allows RET engineers to investigate a large range of designs or post OPC trials beforehand. The 3D simulation of the actual state after melt is performed in few seconds for thousands of different patterns. Such methodology enables an effective way to identify the right pattern to put on a mask from the start to accurately fabricate the desired microlens.” (Bergery disclosed in page 4 section 6 (1st para)).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GREINER and Bergery and in view of an NPL by A. Esfandyari et al. (Simulation, optimization and experimental verification of the over-pressure reflow soldering process) (hereinafter Esfandyari).
Regarding Claim 11, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 however GREINER and Bergery do not explicitly teach the limitation “the reflow modeling step simulates metal reflow for bump/solder ball formation”.
wherein Esfandyari teaches the reflow modeling step simulates metal reflow for bump/solder ball formation. (Esfandyari disclosed in page 565 heading ‘Introduction’ (2nd para): “The reflow thermal profile can be divided into four stages namely preheating, soaking, peak, and cooling stages. An adequate set-up i.e. proper heating and cooling gradients during the process stages will avoid several soldering defects. A minimized soaking zone for example can lead to reduced voiding, good wetting, reduces solder balling and open connections. The use of low peak temperature lessens charring, delamination, intermetallic formations, leaching and void building. A rapid cooling rate helps reducing intermetallics, charring, leaching and grain size.”).
GREINER, Bergery and Esfandyari are analogous art because they are related to deal with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER, Bergery and Esfandyari, to modify the process sequence including a user-specified reflow modeling step, the reflow modeling step indicating a point during the process sequence for reflow modeling to be performed in GREINER’s teaching, to include the benefits of doing so ensures absolutely reproducible, virtually void-free solder joints Esfandyari’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Esfandyari because “An over-pressure reflow oven as shown in Fig. 1 is used to perform the experiments. his new concept ensures absolutely reproducible, virtually void-free solder joints. This innovative concept forces the residual gases i.e. voids to escape the solder connections.” (Esfandyari disclosed in page 566 Section 2.1 heading ‘Over-pressure reflow soldering process’ (right col.)).
Claims 3,7,16,17,23, and 26 are rejected under are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GREINER and Bergery and further view of a journal “A reflow process for glass microlens array fabrication by use of precision compression molding”, by Yang Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding Claim 3, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 however, GREINER and Bergery do not explicitly teach the limitation “the reflow modeling step performs surface curvature calculation”.
wherein, Chen teaches the reflow modeling step performs surface curvature calculation. (Chen disclosed in page 4 section 3 (right col.): “The geometry and the boundary conditions used in the reflow model are shown in figure 8. It was assumed that the surface tension induced deformation is local to the microlens. The fluid domain (i.e., glass) is axisymmetric. Due to this axis symmetry, only half a cross-section is shown in the model. The boundary conditions on the symmetries are zero normal velocity and zero tangential stress, i.e., vn = ˆn · v = 0 and fs = ˆn · σ · ˆs = 0, where ˆn and ˆs are unit normal and tangential vectors and σ is the total stress tensor.”).
GREINER, Bergery and Chen are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER, Bergery and Chen, to modify reflow modeling in GREINER’s teaching, to include the reflow modeling step by performing surface curvature calculation in Chen’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Chen because “A new method for high-volume microlens array production using P-SK57 glass was presented by combining the glass compression molding and thermal reflow processes. According to the experimental results, a desirable microlens curve could be obtained within the temperature range with a 400 s holding time. The method presented in this study may be used for fabricating glass microlens arrays with controllable diameters and sagittal height with good optical performance and, the new process is suitable for mass production of various micro glass optical elements at a low cost”. (Chen disclosed in page 7 section 5).
Regarding Claim 7, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 however, GREINER and Bergery do not explicitly teach the limitation “the reflow modeling step includes a user-specified parameter indicative of a radius to be used for surface curvature calculation”.
wherein Chen teaches the reflow modeling step includes a user-specified parameter indicative of a radius to be used for surface curvature calculation. (Chen disclosed in page 4 section 3 (right col.): “The geometry and the boundary conditions used in the reflow model are shown in figure 8. It was assumed that the surface tension induced deformation is local to the microlens. The fluid domain (i.e., glass) is axisymmetric. Due to this axis symmetry, only half a cross-section is shown in the model. The boundary conditions on the symmetries are zero normal velocity and zero tangential stress, i.e., vn = ˆn · v = 0 and fs = ˆn · σ · ˆs = 0, where ˆn and ˆs are unit normal and tangential vectors and σ is the total stress tensor.”).
GREINER, Bergery and Chen are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER, Bergery and Chen, to modify reflow modeling in GREINER’s teaching, to include the reflow modeling step by performing surface curvature calculation in Chen’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Chen because “A new method for high-volume microlens array production using P-SK57 glass was presented by combining the glass compression molding and thermal reflow processes. According to the experimental results, a desirable microlens curve could be obtained within the temperature range with a 400 s holding time. The method presented in this study may be used for fabricating glass microlens arrays with controllable diameters and sagittal height with good optical performance and, the new process is suitable for mass production of various micro glass optical elements at a low cost”. (Chen disclosed in page 7 section 5).
Regarding Claim 16, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 however, GREINER and Bergery do not explicitly teach the limitation “the reflow modeling step simulates the effect of gravity during reflow”.
wherein Chen teaches the reflow modeling step simulates the effect of gravity during reflow. (Chen disclosed in page 4 section 3 (1st para left col.): “Reflow of a molten glass article can be driven by gravity and/or surface tension. The relative importance of each factor depends on the size of the flow domain”).
GREINER, Bergery and Chen are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER, Bergery and Chen, to modify reflow modeling in GREINER’s teaching, to include the reflow modeling step by performing surface curvature calculation in Chen’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Chen because “A new method for high-volume microlens array production using P-SK57 glass was presented by combining the glass compression molding and thermal reflow processes. According to the experimental results, a desirable microlens curve could be obtained within the temperature range with a 400 s holding time. The method presented in this study may be used for fabricating glass microlens arrays with controllable diameters and sagittal height with good optical performance and, the new process is suitable for mass production of various micro glass optical elements at a low cost”. (Chen disclosed in page 7 section 5).
Regarding Claim 17, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 however, GREINER and Bergery do not explicitly teach the limitation “the reflow modeling step includes a user- specified gravity parameter”.
wherein Chen teaches the reflow modeling step includes a user- specified gravity parameter. (Chen disclosed in page 4 section 3 (1st para left col.): “Reflow of a molten glass article can be driven by gravity and/or surface tension. The relative importance of each factor depends on the size of the flow domain”).
GREINER, Bergery and Chen are analogous art because they are related to dealing with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER, Bergery and Chen, to modify reflow modeling in GREINER’s teaching, to include the reflow modeling step by performing surface curvature calculation in Chen’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Chen because “A new method for high-volume microlens array production using P-SK57 glass was presented by combining the glass compression molding and thermal reflow processes. According to the experimental results, a desirable microlens curve could be obtained within the temperature range with a 400 s holding time. The method presented in this study may be used for fabricating glass microlens arrays with controllable diameters and sagittal height with good optical performance and, the new process is suitable for mass production of various micro glass optical elements at a low cost”. (Chen disclosed in page 7 section 5).
Regarding Claims 23, GREINER and Bergery teach the method of claim 21, is incorporating the rejections of claims 6,7 and 8, because claim 23 has substantially similar claim language/limitations as claims 6,7 and 8, therefore claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GREINER, Bergery and in view of Chen as discussed above for substantially similar rationale.
Regarding Claim 26, GREINER and Bergery teach the method of claim 21, is incorporating the rejections of claim 16, because claim 26 has substantially similar claim language as claim 16, therefore claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GREINER, Bergery and in view of Chen as discussed above for substantially similar rationale.
Claims 14, 15, and 25 are rejected under are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GREINER, Bergery and further in view of an NPL paper “Improvement of Process Control using Wafer Geometry for Enhanced Manufacturability of Advanced Semiconductor Devices” by H. Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 14, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 however GREINER and Bergery do not explicitly teach the limitation “the reflow modeling step performs local distance control of reflow modeling”.
wherein Lee teaches the reflow modeling step performs local distance control of reflow modeling. (Lee disclosed in page 2 heading ‘Introduction’: “Thus by controlling the IPD contribution of the upstream processes, it is possible to control the overlay at downstream lithography operations. Also, when controlling the IPD contribution of upstream processes is challenging, it may be possible to generate scanner corrections based on the IPD data for feeding forward to the scanner to be applied at the downstream lithography operation, likely in combination with the typical scanner corrections. Another key metric is local shape curvature (LSC), which qualifies the stress within a localized region on a wafer from shape changes within that localized region of the wafer.”).
GREINER, Bergery and Lee are analogous art because they are related to deal with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER, Bergery and Lee, to modify the reflow modeling in GREINER and Bergery’s teaching, to include the reflow modeling step performs local distance control of reflow modeling in Lee’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Lee because “Aggressive advancements in semiconductor technology have resulted in integrated chip (IC) manufacturing capability at sub-20nm half-pitch nodes. With this, lithography overlay error budgets are becoming increasingly stringent. The delay in EUV lithography readiness for high volume manufacturing (HVM) and the need for multiple-patterning lithography with 193i technology has further amplified the overlay issue. Thus there exists a need for technologies that can improve overlay errors in HVM.” (Lee disclosed in page 1 heading ‘Abstract’).
Regarding Claim 15, GREINER and Bergery teach the medium of claim 1 however GREINER and Bergery do not explicitly teach the limitation “the reflow modeling step includes a user- specified parameter for local distance control of reflow modeling”.
wherein Lee teaches the reflow modeling step includes a user- specified parameter for local distance control of reflow modeling. (Lee disclosed in page 94240M-9 heading ‘Conclusion’: “We used high-resolution wafer geometry measurements and the in-plane distortion (IPD) metric to monitor process induced overlay errors in a production flow. The technique provided sufficient throughput for monitoring wafers in a high volume manufacturing setting. Process steps that induced significant overlay errors and those that led to substantial wafer-to-wafer variation were identified using wafer geometry monitoring. A PECVD process step that led to significant overlay errors was selected for process optimization. Tool-to-tool and station-to-station variability was characterized using the local shape curvature (LSC) metric that relates to stress non-uniformities induced by wafer processing. Process settings that enable optimized overlay contribution from the PECVD process were determined using IPD and LSC monitoring.”).
GREINER, Bergery and Lee are analogous art because they are related to deal with experimental wafers that are used in a trial-and-error scheme to develop individual processes for the fabrication of a device structure and also to develop the total, integrated process flow in a virtual fabrication environment. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of GREINER, Bergery and Lee, to modify the reflow modeling in GREINER and Bergery’s teaching, to include the reflow modeling step performs local distance control of reflow modeling in Lee’s teaching. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious by Lee because “Aggressive advancements in semiconductor technology have resulted in integrated chip (IC) manufacturing capability at sub-20nm half-pitch nodes. With this, lithography overlay error budgets are becoming increasingly stringent. The delay in EUV lithography readiness for high volume manufacturing (HVM) and the need for multiple-patterning lithography with 193i technology has further amplified the overlay issue. Thus there exists a need for technologies that can improve overlay errors in HVM.” (Lee disclosed in page 1 heading ‘Abstract’).
Regarding Claim 25, GREINER and Bergery teach the method of claim 21, is incorporating the rejections of claim 15, because claim 25 has substantially similar claim language as claim 15, therefore claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GREINER, Bergery and in view of Lee as discussed above for substantially similar rationale.
Conclusion
8. The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. An NPL paper “CFD Aided Reflow Oven Profiling for PCB Preheating in a Soldering Process” by Ilja Belov et al. focused on the development and application of a reflow oven profile prediction algorithm, which combines both the analytic approach and computational fluid dynamics. Modelling results for preheating of a populated PCB with non-uniform distribution of component thermal mass in an air convection reflow oven. The algorithm provides reliable prediction of both the reflow oven profile and the PCB preheating profile, provided that the validated CFD model of the solder reflow oven and a high-quality PCB model are availabe as the input. The main idea of the algorithm is to fit the one dimensional function for the temperature rise in a material during the heat cycle to the CFD calculated temperature data for the coldest and the hottest reference points on the PCB, with the local time constant as the curve fitting parameter.
/NUPUR DEBNATH/Examiner, Art Unit 2186
/RENEE D CHAVEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2186